Brooklyn apartment rental - Living room #1
Living room #1
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps11
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights
 

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 2 - 8 max

This wonderful Brooklyn brownstone is located in one of New York's most serene and historic neighborhoods. You will enjoy the feel of old world charm and a friendly neighborhood.

The apartment is a two-floor garden level home with a sprawling backyard (please reserve your smoking for the garden) and all the comforts of home. Conveniently located just five subway stops from Manhattan and just a 10 - 15 minute drive from Manhattan. Nearby you'll find the world famous Brooklyn Museum, the world renown Prospect Park, the famous Brooklyn Bridge, world class Restaurants and the best bookstores and coffee shops in all of New York. The wonderful thing about Brooklyn is it is so close to Manhattan, but has a style and a charm all its own.

22 Reviews of Property 230065 in Brooklyn, New York

Superb New York Living
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 22 reviews
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

Loved staying here! A great home base.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I brought my teenage daughter and her three friends to stay here in February. Michelle made us feel right at home and was very responsive to my calls and questions about how things worked in the house and about getting around the City. My daughter and her friends really loved the house, and the neighborhood. They had their own bedrooms which was perfect. The beds were very comfy. The house is in a very serene part of the City. In fact, when you're inside, you wouldn't know that you are just 15 minutes away from the bustling City streets of Manhattan by subway. It is a nice retreat to come home to after a busy day of sightseeing. My concerns about safety in Brooklyn were quickly dispelled. Walking around day and night with three teen girls we always felt quite safe. We enjoyed eating at Peaches a couple of times - just a block away from the house. We also met Michelle's neighbor Al who owns the house next door. He was very friendly and helpful as were all of the neighbors we met. We will visit again for sure!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I rented this place for a big group of friends visiting NY for a wedding. I was sure that the description was too good to be true, but decided to take a chance on it anyway b/c the price was right. It was just as described, if not better. It has a spacious layout, plenty of beds, and a bathroom on each floor. The backyard and grill were a plus, too. Each bedroom had its perks, but I would have been happy to stay in any of them. We were there at a really hot time of year, but the AC units did the trick in every room.

Michelle was an excellent host. She even emailed me to see if we were okay when our plane was a few hours late. She met us there, even though it was late, and gave us some restaurant suggestions. She made sure to let us know we could call her if we needed anything, and checked in via email halfway through our stay.

I really enjoyed the neighborhood, and it has a couple of great restaurants in walking distance. People were very friendly everywhere we went. We really enjoyed Peaches, and had an amazing late night at Brown Sugar.

I would absolutely recommend this place. Every single one of my friends loved it. I hope to return some day!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

Amazingly charming!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I had the pleasure to stay at Michelle's property for the weekend. It is a stunningly beautiful property with many of the original finishes adorned throughout the apartment. It was very spacious and lovely with streaming sunlight coming through the windows. Michelle was fantastic to deal with, she was very accomodating and responsive to any questions that we had. This stay added something wonderful to my visit and I would definitely return!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

Loved it here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is the perfect spot for a stay of any length. We only had two days in NY, but will definitely return and stay at Michelle's place again. The area is very quiet, but there are also plenty of restaurants and places to go and meet the locals - just around the corner. The neighbors (a true melting pot!) were quite friendly and the neighborhood really had the feeling of old New York. 150 year old houses - lots of families and young people on the sidewalks and stoops enjoying the NY weather. The subway was close by and very reliable - taking about 15 minutes to get to the City (make sure to take the A express). At the house there were air-conditioners in each room, three flat screen TVs and a nice sitting room and large kitchen - which is actually where we spent most of our time. The backyard is beautiful and a nice place to spend your evenings with a glass of wine - but don't forget the bug spray! Michelle was very attentive and called to make sure we were settled in well. She was also easily reachable whenever we had questions. All-in-all this was a great house for a mini holiday. Thank you Michelle!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
In London
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I came with a group of my friends in May 2013 and loved staying at Michelle’s amazing house. There was plenty of room for 7 of us…the bathrooms worked a treat, as did the comfy beds.  The kitchen was just what we needed and it opens out to a gorgeous back yard space. We spent some great nights and mornings in this quiet space.  All in all, Michelle’s place felt like being in a home, ; were very comfortable. She was also very accommodating with our very annoying questions (thanks Michelle).  The house is in a relatively quiet and diverse neighborhood of Brooklyn. The subway is only a few blocks away; to get there you pass by the very cool café for the coffee and lunch supplies. There are some lovely restaurants near the house and delis as well as a pretty good supermarket for the house supplies. We spent most of our days in Manhattan catching plenty of New York city art, music, sights, shopping and traffic…so, Michelle’s house became the place to return to chill (and sleep very well). I’ve stayed in plenty of apartments and hotels before, and Michelle’s place was unique for its style, amenity, and location. It was a pleasure to visit and stay. 
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

Beautiful NY home. Highly Recommend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We visited New York for 10 days with our families (two couples and their 4 kids). When we arrived, felt very pleased with our choice. The area is very easy to live in and get around. We mostly used the subway which was close to Macon Street. The set-up of the house was perfect for us. There was plenty of privacy and space across the three floors, so the families, kids and adults could hang out comfortably and not get in each other’s way . The kids had plenty of space to spread out, watch tv (there are 3) or go outside into the surprisingly spacious rear garden. The kitchen space has a cottage feel to it and was more than adequate for our needs with enough appliances and kitchenware to look after 8 people. It was very easy living at Michelle’s. There was a washing machine and dryer, which was very convenient for our families and of course, 2 bathrooms and three toilets were exactly what we needed. I would recommend Michelle’s place to families or large groups who want to escape the noise and business of Manhattan, or Williamsburg and experience a very special part of New York. We took the kids to the movies to see 42 (the story of Jackie Robinson) and we found out he lived one block away from Michelle’s in Macdonough Street!
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
Carroll, IA
3

Not that great

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I feel this home is misrepresented on this site. It is much shabbier than the pictures depict. It was clean except for the heap of laundry the cleaning ladies apparently left in the laundry room. We tried to dry some of it, but it was stacked into the washer and dryer and smelling by the time we got there. The basement was musty and a couple who were planning to sleep down in the basement ended up on couches. We did run the dehumidifier but it never seemed to get better. There were some nails sticking up in the floor. We texted Michelle about our problems including being unable to get the TV's to work except for the one in the musty basement. Never received an answer and did not hear from her all week. The neighborhood was also shabbier than expected but the people were just lovely. Never felt unsafe in the short walk to the Utica station (which is the one to use). Did go to Peaches, very good. There is not much for grocery stores in the neighborhood either. All in all, if Michelle had just helped us with our concerns I would have rated it better but as was, I was disappointed in the service we received. Would not recommend.
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that this guest felt this way about their stay in my home. I always make every effort to respond immediately to any guest concerns or needs before, during and after their stay. In fact, I keep my phone on all night just in case there is an emergency of some kind at the house at anytime of day or night. I have four properties on Homeaway.com and never one bad review until this one, and in fact, if you read my other reviews you will see that I am usually commended for my responsiveness. Also, I am not sure who wrote this review as they did not put their name, but I checked my e-mails and text messages for the dates they claim to have stayed in my apartment, and I never received one call or text or e-mail from anyone during that time. Therefore, I can only guess that there was a mix up in terms of the number these guests were calling to try to reach me. I absolutely love my house and renting to guests from out-of-town and overseas. Unfortunately, you cannot please everyone all the time, but I take great pride in doing my best to make sure that each and every one of my guests have a wonderful stay, and I can guarantee that staying in my beautiful Brooklyn home will provide an excellent experience for everyone who chooses to rent with me.
- Michelle
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We were a group of 10 and we rented the main apartment plus the attic studio from Michelle's house. Everything was great, clean and roomy. The place is so big we could have done without the studio. Funnily we only spent our first and last evenings in the living room for we enjoyed the kitchen a lot (even though the table was a bit small for 10 people) with the backyard. Even if it was only late february, we enjoyed quite a few sunny mornings on the deck.
Michelle made everything easy for us and was super quick in responding to a boiler breakdown.
The walk to the Utica Avenue subway station was nice, short and easy (we tried Kingston Throop once, not twice :(
The ride to south Manhattan was about 20 minutes.
We absolutely would recommend this place especially for a group of travelers on a budget like us. Don't listen to people who tell you scary things about the neighborhood and that you should stay in Manhattan or at least closer to it. We never once felt unsafe, even walking home late at night or taking the subway.
New York is not all about Manhattan and Brooklyn is definitely worth a visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

A very pleasant stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I stayed at this home for 7 days with 11 of my family members. We rented the main three flats plus the individual apartment on the top floor. We had more than plenty beds for everyone. The home was cozy and full of character. It also has all the amenities we needed and could expect. The neighborhood really has the timeless NY atmosphere and was surprised at how energetic and friendly the neighborhood shops, bodegas and restaurants nearby are. Highly recommend it for any large groups. Thank you Michelle for making this resource available to NY visitors. Best regards, Jose
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb New York Living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p230065
+1 7187109464
Brooklyn New York City
5

LOCATION A RECOMMANDER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Nous sommes arrivés directement de JFK via le air train puis la lgne A. La station Utica Av. est à 10 minutes à pied. L'appartement est absolument superbe sur 3 niveaux avec un jardin et ses écureuils où nous avons pu manger le soir (temps superbe cette semaine là), On peut très bien se reposer car la nuit il n'y a pas de bruit. Le quartier et le métro sont très rassurants et si vous voyez un attroupement dans le fulton park ceux sont des joueurs d'échec.
Il y a un supermarché à proximité et une épicerie où vous pouvez acheter à manger chaud 24h/24h.
La propriétaire est absolument charmante et répond à la moindre demande.
Nous reviendrons et si nous sommes moins nombreux (nous étions 4 adultes et 3 ado) elle a aussi un autre plus petit appartement au dessus.
Helpful votes: 2/3