Santa Barbara house rental - 1920 SB Spanish Colonial designed by Plunket, architect SB airport
1920 SB Spanish Colonial designed by Plunket, architect SB airport
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Santa Barbara House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 4, additional single aerobed available

For the discerning traveler, experience the essence of Santa Barbara's unique beauty and character in historic 1920 Spanish colonial 2 bedroom home set in prime Riveria location next to Mission/Rose Gardens and magnificent mountains while enjoying total privacy on outdoor patios offering breath taking ocean, channel Island, and city views. Take pleasant 30 minute walk to center of town offering gardens, historic sites, shops, restaurants, theaters galore. Walks in neighborhood are amazing too. Magnificent Henry's Beach is just 6 miles away.

Home flows beautifully between indoors and outdoors and you will find yourself content to just relax and maybe not leave the property at all - except to attend Saturday Farmer's market where you can bring back the freshest food to cook and then eat outside under the stars. Lovely outdoor patios and ocean views.

7 Reviews of Property 229740 in Santa Barbara, California

1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Bradenton, Fl
5

Absolutely perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed in this home over the Christmas holidays. This home is perfect in every way! The decor is warm, upscale yet so comfortable. The kitchen has the most beautiful unique painted dishes, the stove is a cooks dream. The linens and beds are luxurious and comfy. The views of the ocean, channel islands and surrounding foothills are breathtaking and can be seen from almost every room. We had our Christmas dinner outside in the garden surrounded by roses and lush landscaping. Our favorite spot was the porch off the master bedroom where we watched the sunrise and drank our morning coffee. There is so much loving attention to detail in this home that its hard to list it all. We have stayed in many VRBO homes and this one does NOT feel like a typical rental! It felt more like we were VIP guests in a very upscale resort. The homeowner was very attentive and a joy to work with. We would definitely stay here again!
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

An elegant home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
With its stunning views over the city, its proximity to the Mission and State Street, its beautifully terraced gardens dotted with fragrant plants and its exquisitely decorated interior, this house was a real find!

Our daughter is a big fan of Spanish colonial architecture and this is what drew us to this home in the first place. But we stayed because of its utterly relaxing atmosphere, the fires we could light in the chimney, the nice meals we could cook on top notch appliances and enjoy on the hand painted china, the balcony with its views of the bay, the comfy beds... I could go on, but suffice it to say that we spent way more time at the house than we did in exploring Santa Barbara :)

Recommend it highly. Owners are very responsive and polite and pleasant to deal with as well. We spent a memorable Thanksgiving vacation here.
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Boise
5

Quality, comfort, and ease

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Quality - built in the 1920's, beautifully maintained. Landscaping, construction, furnishings, linens, all top-notch. Comfort - chairs, sofas, beds, were all immediately comfortable and lush. Ease - from the flow of the house to the grounds and furnishings, this home was designed with simplicity and peace in mind. Just under 2,000 sq. feet, it is very manageable. This house opens wonderfully to the outdoors where you will find additional spaces for dining or relaxing. Other - walking or biking into town is possible but would be a hike for most as it sits above the city. Places for walking in the neighborhood are abundant. Finding parking on the street is generally not a problem. The street is narrow with houses close together. The landscaping keeps you very private although noise could be a problem for some. Others have mentioned steps to front door as well as tile steps to the upstairs master - would be a consideration for those with mobility issues. Above all else we found this house to be one of the most liveable homes we have experienced and highly recommend to those wanting to be very close to town and beach activities without being in the middle of it.
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

Incredibly Elegant Hideaway for a Couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a very special house, and by no means your average rental. The couple who own this home have exquisite taste, and clearly appreciate the best of everything. You will never find a better decorated or equipped house for a couple that likes to cook and entertain. Everything that can be upgraded, has been, from bathroom fixtures to lighting. There are many lovely outdoor spaces that are conducive to reading and relaxing, trees and shrubs burst with flowers and fruits, and the overall location is excellent for exploring Mission and Rivera area (the El Encanto hotel is only a short walk away). The house, designed by Santa Barbara's most famous 1920s architect, has a great flow, and we comfortably sat 13 at dinner on the backyard dining table. There are also two first-class mountain bikes, along with helmets and saddle bags, for use of guests. Potential renters should be aware that there are a lot of steps, both in the house, and in the yard, and the home is not appropriate for people with mobility issues. Nor is it really ideal for families with small children, or more than one child, since the second bedroom is on a different floor from the palatial master suite (and its lovely ocean views), and there is only one bed in the second bedroom. There is, however, a mostly enclosed lower yard that is perfect for children to play soccer on, and my two children (who were not thrilled to share a bed) had a marvelous time exploring the yard and house and making fresh orange juice with oranges from the garden. The house could definitely work for two couples. Overall I have to say that this is an astoundingly beautiful house and one I would return to with pleasure.
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Fresno
5

Wonderful patio and views of the city/ocean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I stayed in this house "up on the hill" to celebrate my 54th birthday. We enjoyed ourselves so much that it was really hard to return home to Fresno. The house has a beautiful yard area and we spent most of our time outdoors enjoying all of our meals. The views of the city and ocean are spectacular! The accomodations were fantastic and we slept with the french doors open in the master bedroom. Note: Be prepared to walk up stairs and carry up your luggage in order to gain entry into the house although it was good exercise! It was one of our best vacations ever and we still talk about it and can't wait until we return. Thank you Margaret for opening up your home to us and we look forward to our return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Madison Wisconsin
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My wife and I just recently stayed at this beautiful house for 10 days. We have been coming to Santa Barbara each year for 10 years and this was the best home we have stayed in. It has fantastic views of the city and the ocean. There are great outside areas for sitting in the sun or outside dining. The house is beautifully decorated with comfortable furniture and beds. It is an easy walk to the Mission, movie theater, and great walking neighborhoods. I would recommend this home to everybody who loves the feel of Santa Barbara.
Owner's Response: Thank you for not only writing a review but also for being great guests!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
1920 Santa Barbara Spanish Colonial on Riveria next to Mission/Rose Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229740
+1 860 6510494
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Pasadena, CA
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Our weekend at this lovely home was wonderfully relaxing. The home is beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. It is located within walking distance to the Santa Barbara Mission and a short drive to downtown Santa Barbara. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend this home!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11