Beverly Hills house rental - House, as seen from Rodeo Drive
House, as seen from Rodeo Drive
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Beverly Hills House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

On Rodeo Drive, one block south of the Beverly Hills Hotel in the most exclusive neighborhood of Beverly Hills. Built in 1912, this elegant old Hollywood estate was once home to Joseph Kennedy and his paramour Gloria Swanson. Guests have included Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall, Frank Sinatra and John Kennedy. Since its illustrious days as a Hollywood watering hole the house has been restored to perfection with an emphasis on comfort and warmth.

A country house in the middle of the city. Hardwood floors and early American antiques throughout. Large open rooms that flow into each other, huge windows. A light filled dining room with long table for entertaining. Adjacent pantry and comfortable eat-in kitchen fully equipped with a Viking Range for those who love to cook. A library lined with books and den, with leather chairs and a flat screen TV.

Master bedroom with fireplace. Four other cheerful bedrooms and a nursery adjacent to the master. Firm yet comfortable beds with crisp white sheets. 2 full baths and 2 half baths. One of the bedrooms doubles as an office, fully equipped with fax and highspeed internet that enables guests to work while on vacation. Ideal for creative individuals with children, looking for an informal but elegant home away-from-home. Housekeeping included 3 mornings per week.

Backyard is a secluded half-acre meadow, shaded by mature trees. Perfect for dining under the stars on warm summer nights. Also includes a heated pool long enough for laps (40' x 20') with a salt water filtration system that's gentle on the skin.

Offers a centrally located and elite address. Within walking distance to all shops and restaurants in downtown Beverly Hills. An easy drive to Venice, Malibu, downtown LA, theme parks and the San Fernando Valley. Also serves as a comfortable home base for day trips to Santa Barbara, Newport Beach, the San Diego Zoo and Sea World. In short, a blissful oasis in the middle of teeming Los Angeles. Great for gathering together an extended family who want to come together for big meals and easy conversation. The perfect way to vacation with children.

Keywords: villa, house, estate, historic property, architectural property, mansion, European, beverly hills, Hollywood, stars, charm, luxury, wedding, reception.

More Details
Hide Details

Deborah is a documentary writer and director for the History Channel and Discovery. Dale is a screenwriter and novelist. We have three children and have lived in our home for twenty years.

Over the years the house has been a magnet for famous Hollywood screenwriters and directors, who have gathered here for meals and parties and to collaborate on projects. It's open, spacious, and warm vibe has nurtured many creative endeavors.

Deborah Blum purchased this house in 1989

Historic property located on one of the most exclusive streets in the world. Safe, beautiful and tranquil neighborhood but centrally located and within walking distance to downtown Beverly Hills.

This house has been in Deborah's family since 1941. Deborah's father was a Hollywood screenwriter who wrote STALAG 17 with Billy Wilder. We bought it from her parents 22 years ago. It's a well known house in Beverly Hills because it's one of two examples of the Craftsman style in the city. People often tell us it's their favorite house in Beverly Hills.

Although tranquil and serene inside, the house is centrally located. Easy walking to the cafes and shops of Beverly Hills. In spite of the glitz and glamor of BH, the feeling of living in a beautiful village. When traveling by car, convenience to the beach, downtown and the Valley.

7 Reviews of Property 226964 in Beverly Hills, California

Rodeo Drive Villa
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
Los Angeles
5

Home way from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This place is amazing and really make you feel as if you were at home. My family came from France for our wedding and stayed there for a week. The place was perfect and spacious enough to accomodate 9 adults and two small kids. The house is as beautiful as on the pictures close to Beverly Hills, very clean, well maintained and in a quiet area.
But more than the place itself, the owners really made this week amazing. Debbie and Dale are extremely friendly and very helpful.
I would recommend this place without hesitation to any of my friends.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
New York
5

Walk to Rodeo Drive

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We had great expectations and the house turned out even better than what we had hoped for. We arrived after dark so couldn't see the rooms or grounds. The first clue that things were going to go right was the bed. I'm very particular when it comes to beds, and the bed in the master was as comfortable as ours at home. We awoke to find ourselves in a beautiful room, gazing up at great art on the walls (unexpected). The room felt peaceful and still, although it looks out over the world famous Rodeo Drive. The kitchen was cheerful, a great place to cook and enjoy time with friends. The backyard was spacious and lovely. We were delighted. The other couples we were were traveling with found their stay equally as enjoyable. Our hosts Debbie and Dale were very helpful. If you like good architecture, historic charm and a great location, I fully recommend this house. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
London
5

Rodeo Drive Shangri-la

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Perfect house, perfect location. I recommend for anyone who likes a house with character, grace and history. The photos tell the story; large rooms with lots of light, tastefully furnished. The property was clean and well-maintained. The dining room and pool were perfect for entertaining. It was great to be able to walk out the door and stroll down Rodeo Drive anytime we felt like it. We will come back the next time we vacation in Los Angeles!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/10
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
United Kingdom
5

Beverley Hills Classic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful property. We were in a quiet location in a very attractive street, within easy walking distance of both Sunset Boulevard and the shops and restaurants of Rodeo Drive. The house is full of period character and charm, and is very clean, comfortable and spacious. The owners were exceptionally helpful and welcoming, and we would unreservedly recommend a stay here.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
Washington, DC
5

Bliss in Beverly Hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This house rocks! It feels very European, like a villa in the south of France. The rooms are big, open and comfortable. The garden is a field of green. We had many special requests and the owners bent over backwards to arrange everything the way we wanted it. They supplied a great housekeeper. The rooms were immaculate, the kitchen very functional. Their hospitality made us feel so welcome. The next time we visit Los Angeles, either for work or pleasure, we will book ourselves into Rodeo Drive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
New York
5

Location, Location, Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The location is the first thing we loved about this house, and so will you! We wanted to find a place that was convenient to downtown Beverly Hills and yet in a tranquil residential section. Well, this villa couldn't have been more perfectly situated. It's got the charm of an old world mansion and when you step inside you feel transported to a romantic era, when architects put their heart and soul into designing a home. But even though it's old, all the amenities have been updated. Our family of five was perfectly comfortable and I would recommend this house to anyone with children- both young and in their teens. It's not too formal and, above all, it's safe. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The house was immaculate and they provided the services of a great housekeeper. We look forward to coming back and staying longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Rodeo Drive Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226964vbi
310-490-3171
Beverly Hills Los Angeles County
Austin, Texas
5

Paradise Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Words can't describe how much we liked this house. In the past we'd stayed at the Beverly Hills Hotel and loved the neighborhood (the most exclusive in Beverly Hills). We'd noticed this elegant house while driving down Rodeo Drive. It really stood out. Old world charm, character and grace. So we felt quite comfortable booking our vacation here. The spacious rooms, the great art on the walls, and the comfortable beds made it perfect. The dining room is quite unusual- full of light from a huge window that looks out over the garden. We also liked the eat-in kitchen for breakfast and meals with the kids. Our children range from three to sixteen, and the house turned out to be perfect for all ages. The little one was safe running around and the teenager could go off on her own down into Beverly Hills. The shops and restaurants are a five minute walk from the house so it couldn't be more convenient. And the owners were exceedingly helpful and generous. I would say if you want to find paradise in Los Angeles, this is it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8