Mission Bay apartment rental - Nearby Sandcastle Competition
Nearby Sandcastle Competition
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Mission Bay Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

This lovely, two-bedroom, two-bath, vacation rental home-away-from-home, located at 811 Vanitie Ct in Mission Beach, is steps to our beautiful Mission Bay and a few more steps to the Pacific Ocean. It comprises the entire floor of our brand-new custom building on a charming court in North Mission Beach, San Diego, California, offering a private fenced yard with pieceful fountain, and a private, bay view,dining area with gas barbecue.

AND, it is within a five- to ten-minute walk to a wide variety of restaurants and shops, and a short drive to Sea World and other local attractions. It is a perfect getaway!

You are comfortable in our hideaway regardless of the season. It is light and airy, with ceiling fans in each room for warmer days, and a fireplace and central thermostat heating during the cooler days. Granite counters & vanities. Purified water from every tap & to icemaker in fridge.

You have off-street parking for one car, a private washer/dryer, and much more:

* Master bedroom with queen-size bed, TV/cable/VCR, and private full bath

* Second bedroom with two twin beds and TV/cable. Aerobed available in living room for 5th person - $25/day fee

* Separate full bath with tub/shower.

* Fully-equipped kitchen for casual or gourmet cooking. Gas oven/stove, toaster oven, crock pot, blender, etc. Granite counters and an island with bar stools adjacent to indoor eating area.

* Separate inside eating area seating four comfortably, also with fireplace view.

* Cable Flatscreen HDTV/VCR/DVD/stereo in living room. Comfortable Leather Loveseat and Recliner Lounge near fireplace.

* FAX/copy services available if needed.

* WiFi High Speed Internet Access.

* Beach 'toys' including bicycles, chairs, etc., and a library of videos, books, puzzles, and games.

* Tandem Kayak with life vests available on request.

* $16 discount coupon available for Saska's Steak & Seafood Restaurant - 1 block away

* Coupons available for Bahia Belle Paddlewheeler - Nightly Entertainment on Mission Bay.

GENERAL POLICIES:

* A maximum of five individuals is allowed.

* Check-in time is 3:30 PM and Check-out time is 10:30 AM.

* No pets are allowed.

* No smoking is allowed inside the rental.

PAYMENT POLICIES:

* A deposit of 25% of total reserved time, based on above rates, is required at time of reservation.

* A $175, Cleaning & Security deposit is required, of which $100 is Refundable.

* Balance of payment is due 30 days prior to scheduled check-in date.

* Payments:

* U.S. - Personal check or money order preferred; Credit card payment, with 3% fee, available - please see missionbayhideaway website identified below & click on PayPal link.

* Non-U.S.: U.S Bank Check or Int'l Money Order preferred. Credit card payment, with 4% fee available - request with reservation & a PayPal link will be returned by email.

* Upon receipt of payment, we will send an instruction sheet with directions, answers to FAQ, etc.

CONTACT US at the phone numbers provided below. We look forward to hearing from you!

Keywords: Apartment - 1st Floor of Duplex Home

More Details
Hide Details

Calina is a Native San Diegan, and Bill arrived in San Diego with the Navy in 1975. We married in 1977, and vowed to someday move to the Beach. We loved taking long walks on the bay or beach and watching gorgeous sunsets. We built our dream home in North Mission Beach in 2002 and built the first floor as an apartment for Calina’s parents. We made sure that Mom and Dad’s place had all the same modern conveniences as we had upstairs. When Mom and Dad decided to move further inland, we converted the apartment to a Vacation Rental. 'Mission Bay Hideaway', is the newest, cleanest and nicest apartment in Mission Bay. Since then, we have had the pleasure of hosting hundreds of families, from all over the world, to enjoy wonderful vacations in Mom and Dad’s apartment. Bill & Calina, San Diego, CA

Bill & Calina Eckert purchased this apartment in 2002

Our Mission Bay Hideaway, in North Mission Bay, affords the vacationer all the best of the San Diego Beach and Bay atmosphere. Virtually everything is within a very short walking distance: the beach and bay with every conceivable water sport, marinas, bicycle paths, children’s playground, dozens of excellent restaurants and night clubs, lots of shops, a modern supermarket, internet café, local library, Post Office, Metro Bus Stop, and an amusement park and combination gym, indoor pool and wavehouse recreation facility. Most nights of the year, you can watch the evening fireworks from Sea World, a few miles away. Most other attractions in and around San Diego are just a short drive away.

27 Reviews of Property 229477 in Mission Bay, California

Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
average rating of 4.9 based on 27 reviews
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Northern NJ
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
When I first came across this rental I was slightly hesitant about owners residing upstairs, you would never even know they were there, but they were available if you had a problem. Gave us an over veiw of where things were, how to operate garbage disposal etc and were gone.

Unit is very clean & neat, close to everything. The photos in listing are very accurate, no suprises. What you see in photos is what you get.

Only downside is parking is very tight, my husband decided to upgrade his car rental to a Lincoln town car...very tight to park, so if you can make do with a full size car like the size of an Impala or smaller you will be fine.
.
After long days of sight seeing it was a pleasure to come back here, grill some dinner, throw some clothes in the washer & sit outside & relax with a glass of wine. Oh that was a huge plus not to come home with a suitcase full of dirty clothes.

This unit is excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend to family & friends. I would not hesitate to rent again on my next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having Rich & Kate stay at our Mission Bay Hideaway and hope that they hurry back really soon. Bill especially enjoyed reminiscing with Rich about their days in the Navy - both had been on aircraft carriers deployed to Vietnam in the late 60's.
As for the parking - everyone in the beach areas in San Diego vie for each inch of parking space. The space on the side of our house for the rental is actually quite roomy when our neighbor remembers not to crowd us with his large van. This will automatically improve in the very near future since he's in the process of selling the van and moving back east. We also have an arrangement with our neighbor, Hank, 2 doors down, on the corner lot, to swap parking spaces with our tenants, and let them use his large parking space when they have a large vehicle that needs extra room.
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Cincinnati, OH
5

Quiet yet steps from bay and yards from ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We arrived on a Tuesday and stayed until Saturday. The place was clean, nice, and in a wonderful location in Mission Beach. Closer to the bay side, the street is quiet. The hustle, noise, and college age drama of the beach was absent. We were literally steps from walking along the bay with our coffee in the morning. We could be on the beach walk in two blocks.

Off street parking space is a huge plus (Toyota Corolla fit fine), and the owners are very nice and responsive. Bikes, kayak, beach toys all available. Outdoor grill on patio. Ralph's grocery 8 blocks away so we were stocked in a couple of hours for the week. Kitchen is fine and well appointed with pots and pans.

We would recommend to anyone.
Owner's Response: We truly appreciate these kind remarks from our guest. The things that Eric highlights are some of the exact reasons that we located here, and that we mention in our profile on Homeaway.com. We originally built the downstairs 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment for Mom & Dad, so they could enjoy the same amenities as we enjoy in our upstairs home. Since their passing, some years ago, we've been able to offer these same amenities to countless guests from all over the world, and have made many new friends in the process. We recently made several upgrades in the apartment, and have planned many more in the upcoming weeks to keep it fresh and new for forthcoming guests.


Sincerely, Bill & Calina
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Phoenix, AZ
5

Amazing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
For 12 years we were timeshare owners so that is how we vacationed. For the most part we could expect to get clean accomodations which were what we were most concerned about...nothing fancy but clean. The downside was that we had to stay wherever they were located...which were never in the places we wanted to vacation. We finally got wise and sold our timeshares. I have to admit it was a little scary booking our first vacation on-line and selecting a property from photos and because it was in an ideal location. Boy-oh-boy, did we hit the jackpot? Why didn't we sell our timeshare sooner. 3 doors in from the bay and just a few doors away from the beach once you cross Mission Blvd. Another bonus was that we only had to walk a few steps to get to a crosswalk crossing Mission Blvd. (That's always a concern when you have children.) Now let's get to the condo...The beds were so soft and comfy. The pillows were clean and fluffy. The furniture was just like home. Flatscreen TV's. Direct TV. Private lush couryard to enjoy our morning coffee. We felt so lucky to have found such a gem of a vacation spot that on the drive back home to Phoenix we called and booked for next year. We weren't about to lose our spot in heaven!

Fans for life!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were honored to host Julie & Ben and their 2 kids for this week, and so pleased to read this review. We really try to make our guests feel at home and are as responsive as possible to their requests. In this case, we feel privileged to know that Julie & Ben have booked for next summer. We now have 5 families who come back every summer to enjoy our Mission Bay Hideaway, some for two weeks. We feel like we're family, since we've watched their chidren grow over the years, and love to here them refer to our apartment as their "summer place". We look forward to Julie & Ben's return next year.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Chicago Il
5

A wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of 4 just returned from this rental, and we highly recommend it! Everything is just as promised, the rental is in perfect shape, super clean and has everything a family with kids could need. We arrived very very late at night, and Bill made sure that a bed rail was already installed on one of the twins beds, for our little one. I really love that the second bedroom had two twin beds, as my kids sleep so much better if they each have their own bed.

We all slept great, it was fantastic to have two bathrooms and a washing machine & dryer. The location is perfect for accessing all that San Diego has to offer, but I'd also encourage you to take the time to enjoy the immediate area (Mission Beach). This rental is around 60 feet to the peaceful bay side, and less than 2 blocks to the ocean.

It is so handy to have a parking spot. Sure, it is small, but that is the nature of the neighborhood. I had rented a small car but ended up with a minivan, and it still fit perfectly fine.

You won't regret renting this unit, and Bill was fantastic to work with. We will definitely return!
Owner's Response: We enjoyed hosting Dawn and her family and look forward to their next visit. We're glad the late arrival worked out as well as it did.

We consider the arrival time crucial to our tenant's stay. If the guests have special needs, like a crib, high chair, car seat, bed side rail, etc., or just need last minute directions or instructions on how best to park, we like to make these things available at a moment's notice.
We know that most tenants come to Mission Beach to enjoy the water and the local attractions, like Sea World, the Zoo, Belmont Park, and nearby theme parks like Legoland and the Wild Animal Park; however, we also know that providing things like bikes, chairs, 2 man kayak, and beach toys for the kids, make the stay a little more enjoyable.

Over the years, our guests have told us the things that are most important to them, and we've done our best to provide them.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
The Woodlands, TX
5

Beautiful spot in Mission Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family (kids 2 and 6) had a great week at the Hideaway. Location is as promised, about 100 feet from the bay side beach, and maybe three times as far to the ocean/boardwalk. Everything was clean, neat, new, and in perfect shape. The place is bigger than it looks in the pictures. Owners were extremely friendly, discreet, and attentive.

Pros:
1. incredible location, walking to beach/bay/Belmont Park/PB
2. Great "staging" location for local Seaworld/Zoo/Coronado trip
3. Bikes on site! Lots of fun on the boardwalk
4. Nice local cafes for AM/lunch/coffee
5. Stroller, bed rails, high chair, kids bike, puzzles all provided, very kid-friendly setup!
6. neighborhood is quiet at night

Cons:
1. As noted, keep the rental car small (escape sized suv was ok, anything bigger would have been a problem)

not a lot of cons. we'd go back in a heartbeat. Wonderful place to soak up the San Diego vibe for a week.
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
5

fantastic place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was a wonderful place to stay. It was very clean. The kitchen and living room were the right size for 4 people. Everything was lovely. The beds were very comfy and the kids slept well. The bay is one block to the right and the ocean/beach is 3 blocks to the left. It was a few houses from a road but you can't hear any noise from inside. Each morning we would make breakfast, walk along the beach or boardwalk to the grocery store and startbucks (about a 10-15min walk) to get groceries. the parking spot might be tight if you have a large vehicle but we parked a mid-size car there each night with ease. The wifi came in clear.There is in-house laundry so we could pack light and the towels provided were excellent. The location to sea world, main interstates, Belmont Park, grocery, and beach were fantastic!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We were privileged to have hosted Brad & Jilian and their two kids and we appreciate their kind comments. We take great pride in providing as many amenities as possible to make our visitors' stay as comfortable as possible, and our closeness to Mission Bay, Mission Beach, the super market, shops and restaurants makes this a lot easier. Parking is tight for everyone in the beach area, and having a mid-size car makes parking a little easier; however, we've accommodated large vans and SUV's in the past - it just takes a little practice backing into the spot on the side of our home from our alleyway.
We always appreciate helpful suggestions, and shortly, we'll be providing a couple of new items to our kitchen repertoire - the cookie sheet and bigger oven mitts, that were requested by Jilian.
We look forward to Brad & Jilian's return in the not-too-distant future.
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Northern Ohio
5

Mission Bay Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Never been to San Diego before and liked how centrally located we were. Everything we did was only 10-15 minute car ride. The beaches are much closer than I realized. Mission Bay is seconds away while the Pacific Ocean is only a few minutes. The furnishings were comfortable--the beds and pillows especially. Parking is premium and nice to have a spot. We have no reservations about recommending this place to anyone.
Owner's Response: We thank Mike for his kind comments about our Mission Bay Hideaway. He highlights some of the things in which we take great pride and are pleased to provide to our guests.

Over the years, we have been fortunate to meet some wonderful families from all over the world, and several have returned year after year.

We look forward to Mike and his family returning soon as well.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
Fort Worth Texas
4

Spring break San Diego/Mission Beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Clean cozy property with owners on site. At first we only had one set of keys for 4 adults, but that was fixed. The WIFI was not very dependable although they tried to get it up and running. It was a little hard to figure out how to find the property initially, but easy after we found it the first time. Parking was extremely tight, but characteristic of the neighborhood in general and not this property alone. Great beach access to both the bay and the ocean. Just wish the weather had been warmer while we were there. Really don't recommend spring break in San Diego - next time we will have to plan a summer trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having Maureen & her family. Unfortunately, the weather went cold & rainy for a couple of days. We always provide 2 sets of keys for visitors, with a Ralph's discount card on the key chain. Things got confused the night Maureen arrived and the second set was provided the next day.
Both WiFi and High Def TV come from ATT Uverse, which is great normally, since 4 different TV channels can be watched or taped at the same time. Occasionally, the ATT Modem has to be rebooted to reacquire the WiFi or TV; however, this is few and far between. To assist first time visitors, we'll be updating the directions on our FAQ Flyer to make it easier to find our Mission Bay Hideaway.
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
cedar rapids, iowa 52402
5

Dennis & Carol (Iowa)

Dennis & Carol (Iowa)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had the pleasure of staying here Jan & Feb of 2012.
The only downside is the parking and I agree with the recomendation of a mid-sized car (MAX).
That being said, after you park the car, you are within walking distance of (almost) everything. [starbucks, grocery store (the RALPHS cards save you TONS), Mission Beach walkway, the Boardwalk on the ocean and restaurants & bars too numerous to mention.
The owners are friendly & prompt when needed but otherwise not noticeable.
The accomodations were as advertised and everything was in good working order. We grilled out on numerous occasions.
We like the location, because not a lot of people walking by (like on ocean or bay front) but near these activities. Owners supplied bed rails and stroller for our visiting grandson and we used the stroller at Sea World.
I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone considering Mission Beach/Bay
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having Dennis & Carol stay with us and eagerly await their next visit. We enjoy providing the extra items for children, and this has saved time and expense for many travellers with toddlers. As they have statetd, our Mission Bay Hideaway offers privacy and separation from traffic, while also being close to all of the amenities Mission Beach offers.
Parking in the Beach area is a battle for everyone,and we've done our best to remove all obstacles, including moving the gas meters this past year. A midsize car is ideal; however,we've had large cars & pickups park here-It just takes extra care when backing into the spot.
Sincerely, Bill & Calina
business
Mission Bay Hideaway - Sparkling New & Full of Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229477
+1 8583443024
Mission Bay San Diego County
South Lake Tahoe CA
5

Very clean,there's nothing that we can say we didn't like

Very clean,there's nothing that we can say we didn't like
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Perfect for my wife and two kids, near all the spots that you want to go to in San Diego,and the price is the best. The owners are very acomodating,they are there to help you with all your needs,the parking wont be a problem,you'll get the hang of it. Mission bay is beautiful and fun to explore. This property has everything that you need and more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed hosting Rodolfo & his family and hope they hurry back. We were able to provide them 2 car seats, a stroller, and high chair for their two little ones, and had a porta crib available if they chose to use it. They were also able to use these items for a side trip to Disneyland over a weekend. It gives us a warm feeling to be able to help our tenants save time & money by not having to transport these items.