Great Guana Cay house rental - You can't beat a Shore Thing
You can't beat a Shore Thing
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Great Guana Cay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A SHORE THING. If you want to be in a peaceful and secluded setting with ocean views, 'Shore Thing' is the place for you. Located on the south end of Great Guana Cay, where there are very few houses and you could have the beach to yourself.

This newly built three bedroom house is surrounded by a covered porch that is the perfect spot to watch the sunrise with your favorite cup of coffee from the fully equipped kitchen, or the spot to relax out of the sun after a day on the beach that is only 250 feet from the house. After dinner you could retire to one of the two master bedrooms with queen size beds and sliding glass doors that you could leave open to hear the sounds of the ocean and feel the ocean breezes.

Shore Thing is about two miles from the quaint settlement of Great Guana Cay which has restaurants, dive & snorkel shops, boat renting and site-seeing tours. Visit the grocery and liquor stores, Tiki bars and the famous 'Nipper's' bar. Golf cart recommended.

Keywords: Island Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

37 Reviews of Property 229463 on Great Guana Cay, Bahamas

Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 37 reviews
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Boston, MA -USA
5

Lovely pink house with great ocean view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed for a week in January and enjoyed the Shore Thing and Guana Cay immensely. The house was so nicely designed with a huge deck that provided lovely mornings and evenings of ocean views. Its a very short walk to a fabulous beach with fine, white sand. Three of us stayed in the 3 bedrooms, all nicely furnished. The house is in excellent condition and the kitchen and living room are huge -but you'll want to spend most of your time on the wide deck in the front and side of the house. We highly recommend this wonderful Bahamas house for your vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Greenville, South Carolina
5

Charming and as advertised!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were very pleased with the accommodations at Shore Thing. Everything was as advertised and we were not wanting for anything in the home. We would highly recommend Shore Thing to anyone looking to take a vacation on Great Guana Cay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Ocala, Florida
5

Great Home, Great Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is very private and comfortable. Just a 2 minute walk to your own private beach. Michael the home owner was very quick to respond to every email & question we had. He also was quick to return our deposit. Sally Ann the caretaker was also wonderful. She checked in on us & even supplied a great recipe for Tuna. As for the home, it was everything we needed and more. Most importantly the beds were comfortable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Stuart, fla.
5

"ShoreThing"is a sure thing

"ShoreThing"is a sure thing
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We chose the Abacos for a family vacation because we really enjoy the out island style experience . No casinos, no straw markets and no itinerary.
Shore Thing is a newer construction home on the south end of Guana Cay. With access to a beautiful small beach and a golf cart ride to anywhere else made it the perfect choice for our family. Days were spent snorkeling and spearfishing . Nights were spent relaxing under a million stars.
Thanks for a great week.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Shasta, CA
4

Shore Thing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Property was exactly as advertised and met all of our needs and expectations. A snorkeling beach was a short walk away and the snorkeling was superb. It was nice that the property is located on the quiet end of the island and you actually have to go through a gated community to access it. The house was well maintained but we did have to purchase paper towels and toilet paper. The only real disappointment was the poor flow of cold water which was either a trickle or non-existent. It turns out that a filter in the water system was plugged which was the source of the problem. During a heavy rain there was also a small roof leak in one of the bedrooms. The owner was wonderful to work with and tried very hard to respond to all of our questions and needs. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone seeking beautiful scenery and total peace and quiet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for bringing the roof leak and the low water pressure to our attention. The water filter was changed and the pressure is now good. The roof has also been repaired. We normally put two rolls of toilet paper in each bathroom and one extra roll of paper towels under the kitchen sink. We thought this would be a sufficient amount.
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Private and excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
There are other reviews here that clearly describe this private and well-maintained house. To be honest, first-timers to Great Guana are going to be pretty easy to please with any property, since it's such a great island. But those who travel frequently can sometimes be more critical, so it's to those people we direct the following comments. This house is great!! It's very private, to the point of being able to stroll out on your deck naked (gasp!) with your morning coffee, if you're so inclined. It's very well equipped with almost everything you'll need for living and relaxing here. It's also clean, homey and up-scale all at the same time. We've already booked here again for next year, which should tell you how much we liked it. The only downside is that the last mile of "road" (=path) leading to the house is quite rough, which makes for a bouncy ride on the golf cart. And you will need to rent a golf cart to travel the 3 miles to the grocery store and dock.

If you like casinos, night life and man-made attractions, Great Guana is not going to be your first choice. But if you value a quiet, relaxing vacation with 90-second access to a world-class beach (at which you're likely to be the only people), excellent snorkellng right from the beach, superb scuba diving a short boat ride away, and a place that feels like a luxury home on the rare days when a thunderstorm keeps you inside, you're going to love this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
5

"ShoreThing" is a Sure Thing!

"ShoreThing" is a Sure Thing!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Big WOW factor when renting this cottage. Caretakers met us at the dock with our golf cart rental and helped us get settled in. Lovely vacation home with all the amenities and casual, comfortable d├ęcor. A lot of attention to detail went into this home and Mike, the owner, was so easy to work with. The views from the wraparound porch were beautiful and the bigger beach - Caysera - was great for snorkeling, walking or beachcombing. Saw big grouper, lots of colorful tropical fish, a ray and a 5 1/2 foot barracuda who "joined" us for our snorkeling adventure. We fondly named him "Bob". Locals were great - we felt very welcome and participated in the Wednesday Pot Luck Dinner at the Pirates Cove. Well worth the trip to visit this beautiful island with its pristine beaches and welcoming locals!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

The Great Guana Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Upon arrival to Great Guana Cay we were met at the ferry and escorted to the house...on the way I could not contain myself exclaiming the beauty of the surroundings. The house was all it showed in the pictures and more..I was speachless; and for me that is a surprise. The place was clean and fresh smelling and well maintained; it looked brand new! Sally Ann and Dan were most helpful to point out the the essentials needed ...especially in case of a lights out situation; which by the way did happen twice during our stay; but only for a brief period of time. The was one day when there was a distinct drop in voltage but it zoomed right back up.This place is certainly wonderful to relax, do some beach time and just recharge your batteries. I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone wanting a different and unique vacation. All I can say the Abacos is a most beautiful place in particular Great Guana Cay and the locals are most friendly! We hope to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Cambridge, ON, Canada
5

Shore Thing, Great Guana Cay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed at Shore Thing for a month. The house is very clean and comfortable and the caretaker was very helpful. There is ocean view from the wrap around porch and the walk to the beach is a couple of hundred yards (meters). The reef offers amazing snorkeling and is an easy swim out, being about 100 yards or so from either the big beach or the small Secret beach. We saw sea turtles, sting rays, an octopus and puffer fish among a host of other sea life on this healthy coral reef. We also had good snorkeling on the leeward side of the island (go to the right in the water) - a couple of hundred yards in the other direction on windy days when the ocean side waves were big. You need to rent a golf cart to get around. Town offers a small grocery store, very small liquor store and a couple of souvenir shops as well as a few restaurants. Fridays are the day when the fresh vegies etc arrive at the store. We can recommend Nippers or Grabbers for lunch. Other than snorkeling, beach-combing and going to the small town, there is little to do so prepare to have a very relaxing time. Bring insect repellent for the hour at dawn and at dusk when the no-seeums are out.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Shore Thing, (Secluded and Peaceful) Newer Construction
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229463vb
(631) 924-9024 ( New York )
Great Guana Cay Abaco
Oxford, Ohio
5

Shore Thing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned relaxed and refueled from beautiful Great Guana Cay before the hustle and stress of the Holiday Season. Our VRBO rental "Shore Thing" was the perfect "headquarters" as we explored the island by golf cart! Each day we headed to Caysera Beach (most days we were the only ones on the beach) for sunning, reading, swimming, and off shore snorkeling (beautiful coral reefs, turtles, and tropical fish). No need to rent a boat.Thanks for use of the beach chairs, cooler, and beach towels! We were delighted that that the water was warm enough to swim in at this time of year, but we did use wetsuits some of the time. We were lucky to have wind conditions enabling us to snorkel on the Atlantic side most days. During a different season we would be sure to explore the Sea of Abaco by kayak.
We started each day sitting outside on the front porch, sipping coffee, watching the sunrise and looking and listening to the ocean. Saw several rainbows. At night the star gazing was spectacular! We had one rainy day which we enjoyed inside. It was fun to sift through the paperbacks, old magazines, and sea glass collection. Watched some movies from the trunk full of of DVDs and VCR tapes and found the cards and dominoes. When the lights went out briefly we were delighted to find a stash of candles, flashlights, and lanterns.
We brought lots of food with us and found everything in the well equipped kitchen needed to prepare most of our meals. We did find our way to all island restaurants and loved the sunsets from hammocks at Grabbers and the Tiki Bar at Pirates Cove. We also made visits to the local grocery, drug store, liquor store, gift shops, and Milos fruit stand.
Most enjoyable of all were the people we met from local island residents, (including caretakers Sally Ann and Dan) and "second home-owners" on the island who included us in a weekly "pot-luck" dinner and were eager to share their love of the island with us.
Hard to believe a place like this still exists! A real mix of modern convenience meets isolated tropical paradise. Amazing to spend our entire vacation without using a computer or our cell phones! Thank you Mike and Maureen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2