Murphy cabin rental - Secluded but Close to Town
Secluded but Close to Town
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 5

Nestled in the Smoky mountains just 10 Minutes from Murphy, this Chalet styled Cabin offers Easy Paved access day/night. The full Wall of Windows that faces to the West provides an excellent view of the Mountains, From the Living room, Kitchen and the Upstairs Loft Bedroom. We offer a Full Kitchen w/coffee maker,microwave, Dish Washer, and ice maker,and a gas BBQ on the Large deck, with all the pots/pans/utensils needed for an enjoyable stay. The Upstairs Loft Bedroom is furnished with a Rustic Log style Queen bed, with soft,600 TC Sheets and has a Private bath/shower, walk in closet and Sitting area. The View from this bedroom is Breathtaking! The Main floor Bedroom is furnished with a Twin over top of a Full bunk Bed in Rustic log Decor. Additionally there is a Twin trundle bed with 2 more Twin mattresses. Total of 4 can sleep in this Fun room. Another Bathroom/tub w/shower are located just across the hall.

The Gas FIREPLACE in the Living area is easy to use!

We absolutely love our home in the mountains! We live in Florida but travel to the cabin at least once every 2-3 months. We have decorated in the cabin style which is comfortable and relaxing and hope that those who stay in our home will enjoy it as much as we do. With so much to do in the area or the choice to do nothing but listen to the birds sing and watch the ever changing view, we hope each visit to Red Dog Cabin is just as you have envisioned! Enjoy!

More Details
Hide Details

We choose this home for 2 reason: no road noise and a beautiful Western view of the Mountains!

17 Reviews of Property 229144 in Murphy, North Carolina

Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Clearwater FL
5

Real Mountain Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I must write this review even though I do not want to share this beautiful mountain hideaway. The entire experience was wonderful. The house was immaculate and very well furnished. I can only say it really deserves the 5 stars. It is also nice to have a host who really cares about your visit. Claudia was great.We shall return.

Thanks,
Rich and Tina
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! We love our home and enjoy sharing it with caring folks like you. I take all my guests' vacation time very seriously. Glad you found the home clean and welcoming! And we hope your book again with us in the near future! The winter months are wonderful too!
Thanks again!
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Lexington, South Carolina
5

Good time.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a good time. Nice location and close to town. Very quite and enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Safety Harbor
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wonderful chalet!! The home was impeccably maintained and many extras available for renters use! The evening sunsets were priceless and the walk down to the main road each morning was a great way to get the heartrate going!! Great location to visit the many beautiful natural settings in and around Murphy! River Walk and Shoebooties in Murphy are MUSTS! Nice neighbors also - except for the two dogs that were loose and scared the pooooo out of me and my small dog!

Many thanks to the owners!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Safety Harbor
5

Great hideaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Enjoyed a terrific week! The chalet had everything necessary for an enjoyable & worry free vacation! Location was quiet & peaceful and the sunsets were awesome! Took trips to Nantahala, Chatuge & other beautiful parks! River Walk in Murphy was delightful and try Shoebooties for unique meal! I highly recommend this rental!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jan! So glad you enjoyed your stay in our cabin. Sounds like you many of the fun things to do while visiting the area. We hope you will come back and visit again soon!
Thanks!
Claudia
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Silver Spring, Maryland
5

Great cabin, great owners.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The cabin (chalet, I guess) is just as advertised, and is excellent. We slept up in the loft, and the kids (4 and 6yrs old) slept in the downstairs room. The loft is quite roomy, but felt even roomier with the lovely view of the mountains through the wall of windows.

Communication with the owners was easy and prompt. Claudia is a wealth of information, and very responsive. We arrived near midnight, and had difficulties with the electronic lock. I felt bad for calling her, but Claudia picked right up and was very helpful and nice even though it was obvious we had woken her up. A tip about the lock--if the door hasn't been opened for a while and you're having problems unlocking it, try quite gently pushing/pulling on the door as you operate the lock. I think the bolt gets pushed up against the jamb and needs to be "unstuck" so the little motor can pull the bolt out.

We spent most of our days hiking in the Nantahala National Forest (Fires Creek area, if my memory serves), and spent some time at the John C. Campell Folk School.

We mostly ate in the cabin or on the trail. The kitchen is fully stocked and nicely laid out.

The driveway is a bit steep. Not a problem, but I can imagine it might be tricky in the snow or ice.

Overall, a VERY good experience. My 6-year old and I chose this chalet on VRBO. We were wavering between several, but she picked this one. We're all glad--it turned out great.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review Welch Family! The tip about the door is much appreciated and I will check into making that a non issue in the near future. I enjoyed working with you and am so glad you had a great time while in our mountain home!
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Houston, TX
5

Thanksgiving trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We just returned from spending a lovely week in this property. It was so nice to enjoy Thanksgiving in this setting with my family. Everything was as described...very clean, cozy and homey. The kitchen had absolutely everything I needed to prepare dinner for my family. We enjoyed sunsets on the deck, the local flea market and the town of Murphy as well as travelling further afield.

Claudia goes above and beyond to make sure that you have all the information you could need and are comfortable...great owners to deal with! Would definitely recommend to friends or family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words! We always try to have folks enjoy our home as we have enjoyed it! The area is wonderful too. I know my vacation time is precious to me and my family, and I take seriously the responsibility of helping families that rent our home have the most enjoyable time possible while visiting the town of Murphy and our mountain home!
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Our week in Murphy NC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I found the listing for this cabin by chance and we are so glad we did. The cabin was beautifully situated, very clean and stocked with essentials. The view was magnificent and when we were there full of fall color.

It was central to the NC, GA and TN places we wished to visit and we spent several days not leaving the mountaintop but walking and sitting on the deck.

We have already sent the link to this cabin to friends and we will continue to do so.

We received a welcome text to make sure all was well and felt that if we needed anything that Claudia would try to make it happen.

We would definitely make a return trip.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We enjoyed having you visit our home in the Mountains! We hope you will return and recommend our place to friends and family!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Nokomis, FL
5

Renter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The facility was comfortable and well furnished. All you need is groceries because the owner has provided all the little necessities needed for a short vacation. As mentioned by many, the sunsets were beautiful. Murphy is a small town but has everything needed for a pleasant vacation. A great Ingles Grocery Store, Lowes, and plenty of Flea Markets.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review! AND for the helping hands YOU provided to me. Please come back and visit again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Wonderful Place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our Stay in Murphy was great. Claudia the owner was great, she provided us with a lot of information that made our trip a success. The Chalet was very well maintained and cleaned. She has everything that you would find in your own house in this Chalet. All the information that she provided to us was correct and very useful. Even though we did not get to see snow, we did encounter some heavy rain storms and she was nice enough to check on us to make sure we made it safely. We traveled to Franklin, and its a nice city to visit. It has a great place for kids called Fun Factory. The waterfalls around Murphy and adjacent cities are very pretty and worth the trip to go and see. The view of the mountains were priceless, and this Chalet is so warm and cozy. I would recommend this Chalet and I look forward to visiting it again.
business
Beautiful Sunsets, Long Mtn Views! It's Cooler in the Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229144
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Relax or not...the choice is yours!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Claudia made getting in and finding stuff to do easy. The chalet is beautiful, spacious and well decorated. No need for a bike for cardio....just run the hill daily and you are set! Lots of things to do in Murphy and the surrounding areas. Try Highlands for the waterfalls, Bryson City for tubing, and points south for Kayaking at Rolling Thunder, rafting the middle Ocoee with NOC, zip-lining in the canopy with N. GA canopy tours, and hiking the nearby A.T.! Lots of beautiful waterfalls including Sliding Rock in Pisgah National Forest. Remember to wear shorts and a t-shirt as the water is freezing and you will tear up your bathing suit. Not feeling adventurous? Enjoy sunrises and sets on the porch and watching the birds come to the feeders. Wednesday nights is karaoke at Chevelle's in town. The shrimp was awesome and the guys liked the wings. The Chop House in town was also very good. We hope you enjoy your time at this cabin as much as we enjoyed ours. PS: Bring games for the evenings and secretly unscrew the satelite dish! Hahaha! Tell him it must be cloud cover! :O)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Terry and Roland! Glad your family had an awesome week the cabin!