Port Costa house rental - Front of135 Prospect, Mercedes in guest parking spot, gate open to deck & garden
Front of135 Prospect, Mercedes in guest parking spot, gate open to deck & garden
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Port Costa House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4 with privacy, 6 with daybed or sunroom couch

Relaxed, charming turn-of-the-century home on a hilltop above the SF Bay at The Carquinez Straits. Master bedroom has Lux Queen bed, 1 fine Englander Double in the Middle bedroom,

1 pull-out daybed in parlor sleeps two plus a large soft leather couch in the large sun room, waking to views of passing kayaks, sailboats, tugs & great ships on SF Bay, along with rolling California hills. Clean comfortable, quiet, convenient house with expansive decks, BBQ & multi-level deck & gardens, bordered by Regional Parkland. Fully equipped bright, airy kitchen with breakfast table. Shower over tub & new plumbing in tiled bathroom off middle bedroom and sunroom.. Sunny washer dryer laundry room with ironing board. Nice china and cookware and plenty of glassware for any type entertaining.

SF 38 miles by car on Hwy 80 to the heart of downtown or a fun 1 hr. Ferry ride to Fishermans Wharf. Normally 25 minutes to central Napa & Wine Country tours. John Muir mansion & Jack London's cabin both a 20 minute ride. Redwoods 1 hour. 2-3 hours on coast Hwy to Carmel, Monterey Bay & Hearst Castle

.

Port Costa is SF East Bay’s secret get away: population of 190, boasts 2 unique Barbary Coast style restaurant/ bars and the old time Burlington Hotel on the Straits has been refurbished, right across from the quaint post office . Bull Valley Roadhouse is open Wed – Sunday for dinner. Warehouse Cafe is famous for the giant polar bear in a glass cage by the pool talbes in the bar. Plentiful reasonable food served with hundreds of beers. Our historic restored school hosts social, art, car & bicycle club events. Short bike ride or drive to fish at Eckley’s Pier (no license required), picnic & hike: secluded Coastline Park. Crockett Hills Regional Park's covers 2000 acres. Experience John Muir historic mansion & farm. This National park is 10 miles away, off Hwy 4: Alhambra Ave in Martinez.

What is near by: Tennis courts and public pool in Crockett 3 miles from Port Costa along the Carquinez Scenic Drive: Three miles to Hwy 80, 29 miles to downtown San Francisco. Tour the bay & get to SF via Ferry: Cross Zampa bridge to Vallejo Terminal and catch a one hour 1/2 Ferry ride to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. Bay Area Rapid Transit parking 15 minutes from Port Costa. Marine World, 20 minutes. Oakland International Airport, 34 miles, 40 miles to SFO and downtown Napa is 20 miles.

Situated along the bay train coastline in between California Regional Parks, this property has nothing but acres of open space between its upper garden and the lower edge of the East Bay Regional Park trail. Hike directly up and take a walk above an unforgettable stretch of San Francisco bay coastline. The official park entrance is along the winding Carquinez Scenic Drive on your way into Port Costa. Landing area leads down to Eckley Pier for another gem of a coastline park at water’s edge for fishing (no license required) and picnics and hiking. Bird life abounds with red wing black birds, humming birds, finches, mockingbirds, kestrel, and a pair of golden eagles, whose offspring often fly above the house in Port Costa.

Crockett Hills Regional Park is the second park just 3 miles away along Carquinez Scenic drive and it offers mountain bike trails, horseback riding and organized treks to reach the summits where, on a clear day, you can see the entire SF Bay and across San Pablo bay to Mount Tamalpais, above Mill Valley.

What’s to Do: Sit on the deck or in the sunroom and watch water traffic. Take walks. There are numerous close park trail gates.

Port Costa has 2 restaurants 'downtown' on Canyon Lake Drive. The largest and 'wildest' one is the Warehouse Cafe, famous for budget Alaskan crab legs & weekend steak deals. Large bar has 100s of beers. A 2 story high white polar bear stands on its hind legs by the pool table in a class cage, since 1960.

A romantic, more upscale eating experience is Bull Valley Roadhouse new owners from SF. Nice decor. Have a drink, sitting at the bar, a tourist attraction in itself, with Tiffany lamps, brought down from the Gold Rush country, by the Port Costa house owner’s grandmother- perfect for the early California Barbary Coast decor. Open for dinner Wed - Sunday

Drive 3 miles to Crockett & discover: Nantucket, local seafood and drinks favorite, by the fishing boats on the pier. The Dead Fish, on San Pablo Avenue (at Pomona Street at freeway ramp from Hwy 80) is an upscale SF chain for glitzy cocktails & fish dinners with bay, Zampa Bridge & Naval Academy water views.

More Details
Hide Details

Port Costa July 4 parade Sonny and I outfitted our old Mercedes with my late great aunt Mimi's monkey doll collection and won first place. Mimi Pauls Popouri was the 1st antique store in town in the early1960s

I've been executive director for LITA of Contra Costa since 2002. Terrace gardening is my passion. Fortunate, as house is on top of a hill. My parents purchased the Port Costa house as their first home in 1963 after completing a lifetime of traveling to different countries with my Dad's outfit, Utah International Mining and Construction. In those days Port Costa was a thriving antique center, connected by Carquinez Scenic Drive to Martinez, the county seat. A storm washed out the road near Martinez in the 1970's keeping Port Costa at a very small population of 180 inhabitants, which is how most folks in town like it.

My brother and I wanted to continue our folks favorite retirement occupation: having guests stay over to enjoy the home they both loved so much. My younger brother lives in Pacific Palasades but visits often. My partner Sonny and I live in an apartment below the main house which my Dad built for my grandmother and later served to accommodate any extra guests. There is a connecting interior spiral staircase which leades down our pantry and laundry room. A sturdy oak door at the foot of the stairs is for rental guests privacy.

Since 2002 I have been Executive Director for LITA 'Love is The Answer' of CC

which serves a growing number of convalescent and nursing hospitals around the county. We bring one on one volunteer visitors, pets, musicians, dancers, elementary and middle school groups of children to visit on a regular basis. The 80 volunteers and 30 skilled nursing facilities keep me busy. Gardening is my passion, which is a good thing since there are so many gardens on the property. Other hobby is sitting in the garden watching the sparkling water.

Victoria Ryan purchased this house in 1963

I inherited the 'Last Resort along with my brother from my parents. The decision to make the top level a vacation rental was natural one since every guests who ever visited was astonished by the views, loved the house and and couldn't get over how close it was to every point of interest in the Bay area. With a bit of planning, it is an easy ride into San Francisco, up to Bolinas or to Napa Valley and Sonoma for the Wine Country tours. We have another property on south shore of Lake Tahoe which is just 3 hours from Port Costa. Monterey and Carmel by the Sea are 2.5 hours away. Yet Port Costa really feels like it is 'out in the country'.

33 Reviews of Property 229012 in Port Costa, California

San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
average rating of 4.969697 based on 33 reviews
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
Sacramento, CA, USA
5

Better than a home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
What can I say about this place! It was just as peaceful & charming as described. Victoria & Sonny (the owners) could not have been nicer, more genuine people. I did not want for anything.

Although my purpose for being in the area was work-related my 4-week stay in Port Costa left me more relaxed & rested than I've been in a long time. The view from the sunroom (day & night) was incredible and with the aid of binoculars provided by the hosts I had fun watching the various ways people have fun on the water.

I could've stayed here forever... I recommend this "home away from home" to anyone looking for a clean, well-maintained, perfectly located, beautiful spot to fall. By the way, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept on!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This guest really took advantage of the restorative energy of both house and all the views which we were so happy to hear about.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

wonderful house in perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our entire experience with this vacation rental was absolutely enjoyable, from booking the stay, to communicating with the owner, to actually residing in the home.

Victoria was friendly, helpful, and extremely responsive -- without being intrusive in the least.

The pictures accurately display the house -- which is utterly charming. It's nicely decorated in a style appropriate to its vintage, notably with an impressive collection of antique radios. It doesn't feel cluttered at all; just a pleasant change from the sterile hotel-feel of some vacation homes I've been in. The home takes full advantage of its perch overlooking the strait, with an enormous outdoor deck and indoor sunroom facing the water (and the sunrise). We got up early our first morning to watch dawn from there; it was a beautiful experience.

The home was very clean and in excellent condition. We didn't make any meals there, but the kitchen appeared to be very well stocked and easy to use.

Driving up the steep hill and parking in the small spot at the top is a bit of a harrowing experience, but we were amply warned about that, and it certainly is doable -- and so worthwhile: the views cannot be beaten. Nor can the location: you're in a peaceful, quiet location but the conveniences of the city are within very easy distance. You're perfectly poised to explore either the bay area or wine country from this home (we did both).

In summary, I would wholeheartedly recommend this home to anyone who enjoys a homey-feeling home in a peaceful, natural environment, and I hope to be back myself someday!
Owner's Response: Delighted the Port Costa house met all your expectations. Perhaps we can meet person next time. I was happy the house was set up to work for you even without a house tour.We hope to welcome you back again one day soon
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was a great find for us. Everything was so well though out. It was clean and had a great view. We appreciated how well furnished everything was...especially the kitchen! We enjoyed talking to Sonny and Victoria. We would definitely stay here again
Owner's Response: Thank you for using the place well. I hope we will see your family again one day soon.
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
Auburn, California
5

A Delightful Gem of a House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, son, and I very much enjoyed our three nights in November at this house. We live in Northern California so are familiar with San Francisco and the general Bay Area, but had never explored this specific part. We were delighted.

The house is charming, quiet, and comfortable -- an older house with modern appliances and accoutrements, spotlessly clean, and, obviously, lovingly cared for. The sun room, with its magnificent view of the Carquinez Strait and the public lands behind the house, is just amazing. It was my favorite room. There is a lovely outside terrace perfect for dining, having a glass of wine, and gazing at the view and the stars. Everything was as advertised and we could not have been more pleased. Victoria was prompt, professional, and friendly in our dealings with her. The house contains some interesting books about the area -- one in particular is a photo history of Port Costa, once an historic, bustling port, about which we had known nothing before our visit.

We very much enjoyed driving to the top of Mt. Diablo, which is not terribly far away, and also we visited the John Muir National Historic Site in nearby Martinez. If we'd had more time, the historic sites across the strait in Benicia would have been on our list. We enjoyed dinner one night at the well-known Dead Fish Restaurant just several miles away in Crockett.

Our son had outpatient surgery in San Francisco so we did drive into the City and back one day. Our advice? Take advantage of the nearby BART station, or use the Vallejo ferry service, as Victoria advises. Anything to avoid the traffic on the bridges. It's pretty easy to get around in San Francisco without a car -- walk, bus, cable car -- so do yourself a favor.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and relatives.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review of the house and our little corner of the SF Bay area. We will be most happy to host you again any time.

I noticed your husbnad taking photos off the decks and if you got any especially nice ones, please feelfree send me a few so I can share.

Best wishes for a wonderful holiday and and even
better New Year!
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

Peace, tranquility, and relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I had a most wonderful relaxing stay at the house at last resort! Everything was wonderful and very comfortable. The five of us had plenty of room to spread out.

Our fondest memories were gathering on the large deck in the immaculately maintained garden in the evenings and sharing stories and memories of Port Costa, how much has both changed and yet, stayed the same in my old home town of Port Costa.

The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable as was all of the furniture throughout the house.

The kitchen was nicely stocked with sufficient utensils and dishes cook and feed my family plus extras!

Everything was perfect clean, tidy and comfortable!

The wonderful views overlooking the town and the bay are always so relaxing at all hours of the day. From dawn watching the colors in the sky as the sun rises, to seeing the lights of Benicia reflecting in the dark waters of the bay late at night, the quiet gives one time to relax from the busy world.

I would recommend the last resort to both Family and Friends!

Thank you Victoria, for making your family home available for us enjoy.
Owner's Response: What a thoughtful and thorough review. I hope we'll have the chance to host
your family at "the last resort" for many reunions to come as time passes. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

A great place to stay and to explore the Bay area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had an unforgettable stay in Port Costa! Port Costa is a lovely little village just off I80, very easy to access and also very beautiful and quiet and peaceful. Thanks Victoria for having us, a family of five, we undertook a lot of daytrips and we were always happy to come back, it really felt like our home. We enjoyed the yard sales in Crockett and Port Costa, the nice people we met there and we brought back with us all the Star Wars lego we bought there! We would definitely recommend this house on the hill with its beautiful overview of the bay, perfect location so nearby all the fun things to do and see and yet still exclusive and authentic. Love to come back one day!
Owner's Response: Amigos de Amsterdam,
We truly hope to see you again one day. Your family wins the all time prize for getting out and catching the unique flavor of
Port Costa and Crockett. Great suggestion of yours to put a pull out clothsline in the laundry room and one for outside.
Always looking for ways to save energy and the planet. Googled and I found the perfect design so thanks for the idea.
Have a wonderful remainder of 2013
Victoria
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

Secluded Historic Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed it, - spent many times on the porch watching over Carquinez Strait. The house has a view of the waters from both sides, front and back. Post Costa is a secluded, private community and at night has just enough porch lights to see the light sparkles around on the remote shores, very peaceful. In April, gardens were carrying the many scents of a California spring. We did guessing games about the cows, on which areas of the hills they would retreat for tonight and about the load of the ships leaving the harbor on the remote shore or waiting for clearance.

This hilltop house is the perfect retreat after a busy day in the Bay Area. You will want to change your plans and stay right there for the rest of your vacation. The house itself has lots of interesting things to explore about times past, - books and photos about Port Costa and Californian history. Not to mention it has been a pleasure to know Victoria, the owner, who has been straightforward and punctual in all dealings, from reservation to supplying us with plenty of directions for road, travel and shopping. We hope to come again.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, not only for writing a great review, but for really observing and getting the most from the dear old place.
I do hope you find your way back again in the not too distant future. I enjoyed meeting the entire family and having you as our guests.
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
Lennox, SD
5

Relaxation and Peace!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our stay was delightful. Victoria was wonderful to work with all through the rental and arrival process. We visited the area in light of our oldest daughter's high school graduation in South Dakota. We desired to take a trip before she headed off to college. The home was bright, well stocked for cooking, and the views are breathtaking. It was so great to return to peace after being in the city. Our favorite place in the house was overlooking the water and seeing all of the green pastures. Thank you for everything! We were able to rest and relax during our stay in Port Costa and make memories that will last a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I enjoyed meeting you and your family. I was really impressed by your kids who were not at all formal but I could tell had really good manners. So happy "The Last Resort" worked for you. Please come again one day!
Victoria
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

What a way to start your vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What a great place. When you read such good reviews, you sometimes wonder whether a rental may be too good to be true. This house was fantastic. We stayed here for the first week of our vacation and what a relaxing week it was. The house is close enough to all amenities but enables you to really get away if that is your wish. The owners were so hospitable and the area is so beautiful it would be hard not to have an amazing time. Even though we had no reason to bother Victoria, it was lovely to know we only had to ask if we needed anything. Having lived in and visited California so many times before, I was excited to discover this new area. It provided a superb base for visiting friends in the area and trips back to Napa and San Francisco were so easy, as was heading east.

Everything was as described but even still the place was such a nice surprise, I cannot speak highly enough about it.

The highlight certainly had to be lazy afternoons in the garden over looking the gorgeous view! And there is even a real American porch!

I really hope to visit again soon. Thank you Victoria for such a brilliant stay (and apologies for the delay in reviewing)!
Owner's Response: We count ourselves lucky in the near 5 years of renting Port Costa house to have had nothing but the greatest guests. I really appreciate the time and thoughtfulness it took to write us such a glowing review. We pledge to keep our place just as it is, hoping you will return again one day
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
San Francisco Bay View Hilltop Home near the Wine Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229012
+1 925 212-4573
Port Costa The Bay Area
5

Everything we needed and more!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Where to start...

From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked a great property and a great location to enjoy our final few days in America.

Victoria was so welcoming upon our arrival and immediately put us at ease by telling us to relax and enjoy ourselves and to treat her home as if it was our own. And it really did feel like our own home for the few days we were there...it had everything!! And I do mean everything! The cupboards were stocked with all the cooking essentials including herbs, spices and olive oil and all the pots and pans and cooking utensils you would need. Victoria told us there were some fresh herbs growing in the garden and so we picked some of the basil to put in our pasta dish on the first night - the basil was tastier and more fragrant than any basil I've bought in the supermarket before.

The house is so cosy and comfortable. The bed was more comfortable than mine at home!! The sun room was a lovely place to eat breakfast each morning with that gorgeous view! We used the fire at night too which gave the whole place an even cosier feel.

On our last night we bought a nice bottle of wine and took it outside to the patio to enjoy while the sun went down. It was so beautiful and peaceful out there. The views all around are magnificent and Port Costa is so lovely and quiet. We could have stayed there for weeks!

After 5 weeks of travelling round America we were looking for somewhere to relax and chill out for our last few days before heading home...well Victoria and her lovely home certainly allowed us to do just that. We didn't want to leave!

And to top things off - on the morning of our departure Victoria popped in to say that we could stay for as long as we wanted as the housekeeper wasn't due until 3pm. Our flight wasn't until 7:30pm so we really appreciated the extra time she gave us to relax and pack and prepare for the long journey ahead.

All in all, I would say this truly is a home away from home! It has everything you need for a wonderful stay and more! We loved our time here and were very sad to leave.

Lovely owners, great property, beautiful views and amazing location! What more could you ask for?
Owner's Response: Cant than you enough for your splendid review. We feel fortunate to have such extra fine people like you both finding their way here year after year. Hope you return one day soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2