St George Island cottage rental - 'Boardwalk' from the street
'Boardwalk' from the street
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights
 

St George Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 6 - 8 (2 king, 1 queen, 1 queen sofa-bed)

Advance to Boardwalk! Two spacious and luxurious bedrooms, one spacious loft (adults can stand in the loft), three bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi), directly on the beach with boardwalk through the grass, multiple TVs, VCR's, and DVD' s, free wireless high speed internet access, plenty of rockers on the beach-overlooking decks. Hot and cold outdoor shower.

Great central island location, just steps to island playground, shops, and restaurants. There is no need to take a chance anywhere else!

St. George Island has no highrises and is a family friendly, relaxing break in the Gulf of Mexico. It is central to Florida's largest eco-tourism area. Come try it out! Once people discover the area they always come back.

House name: 'Boardwalk'

St George Island!: St. George Island was ranked the #2 family beach by Travel Advisor. (We of course think it is #1.) Come enjoy the uncrowded family-friendly beaches where even the family dog is welcome! Enjoy truly fresh and famous Apalachicola Bay oysters, or any other of your favorite seafood at the area's restaurants. Go fishing. Shop for fishing gear, souvenirs, beach stuff. Go antiquing in Apalachicola. Visit any of the area's many nature preserves.

2014 RENTAL SEASONS (See Rates Below)

----------------------------------------------------

Spring: February 28 - May 25, 2014

Spring Break: March 22 - April 13, 2014

(Summer rates apply)

Summer: May 25 - August 10, 2014

Late Summer: August 10 - August 31, 2014

Fall: August 10 - November 2, 2014

Winter: November 2, 2014 - February 27, 2015

Thanksgiving: November 23 - 30, 2014

(Spring rates apply - 5 Night Minimum)

Christmas and New Year's: December 21, 2014 - January 4, 2015

(Fall rates apply - 5 Night Minimum)

NOTE: Rates do not include 9% tax

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

-----------------------------------------------------

LENGTH OF RENTAL

Boardwalk offers only weekly stays for Summer (June, July, the last week of May, and the first week of August.)

Reservations for shorter periods of time may be made for Spring and Fall depending upon property availability and approval. (It is usually available to be booked within 2 month of the arrival day.)

There is also a 5 night minimum stay during some holidays except last minute.

There is a $50 dog fee for up to two dogs and $50 for each additional dog.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of 4 living in the Metro Atlanta area. We're all nature lovers and love traveling and spending time outdoors. In the summer of 2003 we vacationed on SGI and loved it completely and returned a month later to look for a place to call our own and we bought 'Hang Ten' in September.

Hang Ten is so popular with return guests that we had little chance to visit it ourselves. We began looking for another house to balance with Hang Ten and in 2007 we bought a cottage called 'Boardwalk'. With two houses on SGI we are able to go there often and take care of the properties and enjoy sharing them with guests.

Our goal is to make our guests happy.

In 2013 we will start to manage the properties ourselves, with the help of Community Management Services, Inc. (CMSI). We are very fortunate to have found CMSI - a very experienced, St. George Island-based company - to handle the housekeeping and maintenance for us. They can provide a more cusotmized service for our houses and their goals include a very welcoming house upon your arrival and no need for service calls.

Reggie Ratcliff purchased this cottage in 2007

30 Reviews of Property 228828 in St George Island, Florida

'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
average rating of 4.714286 based on 30 reviews
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
3

Beautifully decorated

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nicely decorated with everything related to the Monopoly game and Boardwalk.
Nice beds, old style tube TV in living room, otherwise comfortable.
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Tennessee
5

FABULOUS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
While staying at The Boardwalk, we were so comfortable! It was very clean & the Monopoly themed d├ęcor was great! The location of this home is ideal. You can walk almost everywhere. We fished on the beach, flew kites, watched dolphins in the surf, visited the lighthouse & park, & walked to have ice cream almost daily. Also, we contracted a fishing guide for a day, and visited Appalachicola's Estuary. Both were awesome! We would highly recommend this property. Thank you for allowing us to feel so at home while we vacationed. We will be back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Best beachfront location !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at Boardwalk for January and February. The home is spotless and comfortable. And fully equipped for a long term stay. You can't get any closer to the beautiful beach. I watched the sunrise from our comfortable King bed every morning. The beds are comfortable and each of the three bedrooms has its own bath if you are entertaining or have a large family. Reggie was very professional and easy to work with. You never have to use your car if you stay on the island as all restaurants/bars/grocery stores/lighthouse are an easy walk. But you must to go to nearby Apalachicola. So many shops and great restaurants. Something for everybody. Including a theater and art stores. Golf at St James Bay is a blast. Very challenging but great course about 35 minute drive. St. George Island and Boardwalk are completely pet friendly. The outdoor shower is great for sandy paws after beach walks. We will definitely be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
4

FUN!!!!!!!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Would highly recommend this property. It was very well-furnished, with comfortable furniture and super-comfy beds. It had a well-equipped kitchen with everything you need. The location was close to shops, restaurants and everything else on the island but you felt like you were far away from it all with the beach at your back door.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
4

Perfect Private Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Everyone in our group had a very nice time. Everything you need was there, except we only had one bath towel each, but there is a washer and dryer. Boardwalk is in the perfect location on the island. We were able to walk to most of the restaurants in the evening. Monopoly decorations were nicely done without being over the top. The only downside was I didn't realize there was so many steps. I didn't mind, but it was very hard for my mother to get around all week. If you don't have a problem with steps I would definitely recommend Boardwalk, and would like to go back myself.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Congleton Cheshire
5

Relaxing week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Had a lovely relaxing week.
Accommodation clean, well equipped, home from home. Bed in main bedroom
so comfortable.
Loved living so close to the beach. Real treat watching the dolphins.
Owner professional, very prompt with communications.
Weather amazing during our stay, real treat for us with the rain in the UK!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Wonderful home away from home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this clean well furnished home on the beach. We love to eat in so it was so nice that the kitchen was well equipped! Slept like a baby due to the ocean breeze and oh so comfy bed! The house is steps from the beach, playground and stores!
The owners made the business part of our rental a breeze! Great cusomer service for sure! We would love to rent Bordwalk again in the future. We are so happy to have spent our 25th anniversary at the Bordwalk!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your 25th anniversary! While St. George Island and Boardwalk's location deserve much of the credit, we're always happy to hear that our efforts at making Boardwalk comfortable are fruitful.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
Nashville, TN
5

Already planning my next trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I am here RIGHT NOW and am already planning my next trip! If you have dogs or young children, this house is especially wonderful. If you love to cook (and please, take advantage of the fresh seafood available!), I can assure you that the kitchen is well-equipped. Last year, I'd rented Boardwalk and had to leave 24 hours later because of Hurricane Isaac - but was so impressed even in that short period of time, I was determined to make a return trip. In the process of finding Boardwalk, I had really struggled to find 'the house' to rent here - so many say they are dog-friendly, but aren't - and if you travel with your pups, you understand what I mean. Boardwalk strikes the perfect balance of a nice place to stay that doesn't feel like a museum; you are comfortable, your pups (or children) are comfortable, but you are in a clean, welll-kept home. If you have particular kitchen gadgets or special equipment, feel free to bring but Reggie keeps the knives sharp and has just about every pot, pan, and gadget that you would actually need while on vacation. And the mattresses are so, so nice! They have taken great care to make Boardwalk a wonderful place to stay!! (And let me reiterate, I am here RIGHT NOW and am already planning my next trip here!)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! Our goal is to make the Boardwalk experience first-class comfortable and welcoming, and we are happy to hear that we seem to be doing well towards that goal.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Wonderful home away from home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Would highly recommend this property. It was very well-furnished, with comfortable furniture and super-comfy beds. It had a well-equipped kitchen with everything you need. Owners made the entire transaction a breeze - from start to finish. The location was close to shops, restaurants and everything else on the island but you felt like you were far away from it all with the beach at your back door.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We've tried to make Boardwalk comfortable and the experience welcoming, and such pruogress reports let us know how we're doing. And one of the reasons we chose Boardwalk because of it's location, we don't know of anywhere else that you can "be in the middle of it" and still have a nearly-private beach.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Boardwalk' - Luxury Beachfront - 3Bed/3Bath - Free WiFi and Comfy Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228828
+1 678-820-8668
St George Island Florida Panhandle
5

Great Time at Boardwalk

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Boardwalk was a great place for a week vacation. Being steps from the bars/food and also having the beach right out your backdoor is an ideal situation. I went for the fishing and it just wasn't happening much that week. Mostly whiting, but other people on the beach had a few big hookups. Couple of very large black drum on the beach and then some black tip sharks down at the east end. The east end is definitely worth the visit and cost (was like $18 for the two of us to get access) if you want to do some fishing and collect some huge shells. We ate at Blue Parrot, Harry A's, Eddy Teaches (just drank there), Beach Pit and the Pizza Place. My favorite has to be Blue Parrot. All of my meals were really good and the view can't be beat. If it is raining, I wouldn't go there b/c the inside portion is pretty lame. They have about 8 tables in a tiny room. That was our st patricks day. Me and the girlfriend sitting inside at the blue parrot during a downpour. Lots of toddlers sitting around watching us. Surreal. We had one crazy night that started at blue parrot, went to Eddys and then ended up at Harry A's. Met lots of fun people. All of the neighbors were wonderful. Often had conversations from them and also had to borrow a corkscrew.

All reviews need to have a "could have been better" section to be legit, but it doesn't take away from Boardwalk at all:
- More trash bags would be nice.
- There are some games in the house, but they are missing pieces that make them unplayable.
- Corkscrew.
- Watch out for the icemaker. Before you realize it, the whole thing is overflowing and filling up the freezer. Kind of a good problem I guess.
- Dining room chairs match the boardwalk theme I guess, but aren't comfortable for a sit down dinner.

That does it I guess. Boardwalk is highly recommended. Enjoyed it!
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeff, we're always happy to hear what people like about the island and the house. Sorry you had such a soggy St. Paddy's day! And thank you for the heads up on the corkscrew and icemaker, we'll address those next week.
Helpful votes: 4/4