Sun Valley estate rental - Front of House Facing Bald Mt. with Substantial Front Lawn
Front of House Facing Bald Mt. with Substantial Front Lawn
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps19
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Sun Valley Estate Rental Photos and Description
8 bedrooms, 8 bathrooms, 1 powder room, sleeps 17

2014 WINTER SPECIAL FOR REMAINING AVAILABILITY--$1,000/NIGHT THROUGH 3/31/14; $750/NIGHT THROUGH 4/20/14 WHEN SKI SEASON ENDS. FOUR NIGHT MINIMUM FOR ALL RENTALS EXCEPT PERIODS WHEN LESS THAN SEVEN NIGHTS ARE AVAILABLE. PLEASE CHECK AVAILABILITY CALENDAR BELOW FOR THIS PROPERTY BEFORE MAKING ANY INQUIRIES. ALL RENTAL RATES CURRENT AND NON-NEGOTIABLE.

Spectacular luxury resort home located at the Base of Bald Mt. in the Warm Springs area of Ketchum (Sun Valley, ID). Home is three minute walk from Warm Springs Day Lodge and lifts, and ten minute drive from downtown Ketchum. Main living spaces and decks look up at the Warm Springs, Greyhawk, Hemingway, and Cozy ski runs. Unobstructed panoramic views in all four directions. Professionally equipped kitchen that can easily prepare meals for up to 20 guests who can all be seated in the spacious dining area. Eight person hot tub and covered kitchen patio area with great views, fireplace, infrared gas heaters, and both natural gas and charcoal grills.

Other Key Features of Our Home: The house construction is wood and steel framed with a stucco exterior and shake shingle roof. The rock inside and outside of the house is moonlight quartzite from a quarry near Challis, Idaho. The home has been designed utilizing half levels throughout the house as opposed to full stories which optimizes the flow and utilization of space. The main living area is comprised of the living room, kitchen, and dining area (including the wet bar) with spectacular views of Bald Mt. through the very large unpaned windows. Various doors in each space open out onto the upper deck, and door in the kitchen leads out to the kitchen patio where there is a firepalce, two overhead infrared gas heaters, and natural gas and charcoal Weber grills. The mud room is expansive with six different entrances/exits, and the washer/dryer is located in this area. Just outside the kitchen is the mud room landing and pantry with many provisions for the house, a second refrigerator, and ice maker.

Professionally-equipped Kitchen: The kitchen is well-equipped and designed for the production and service of meals to as many as 20 guests. In addition to the Sub-Zero refrigerator and six-burner range, there are two Whirlpool Dishwashers, two Dacor ovens, one Dacor microwave, and two compactors. The kitchen is equipped with ample cooking ware and implements, herbs and seasonings, various basic food condiments, and plentiful quantities of dishware and glassware for large gatherings.

Study/Offices and Multiple Wood-Buring Fireplaces: Two study/offices are located in the Master Bedroom Suite. The first study is also a well-equipped office with scenic northwestern views of Guyer Ridge and the distance slopes of Warm Springs canyon through expansive panoramic windows. The office has a spacious desk which is well-outfitted with all of the necessary desk accessories and office supplies. In addition to the WiFi Internet connection throughout the house, there is an HP All-in-One Printer, Canon Copier, two-line business telephone with remote and separate two-line main house phone, bar refrigerator with ice maker, TV, VCR, and digital cable receiver. The other study is smaller but comfortable and airy with a desk, HP Printer, and TV.

Our home has a total of five wood-burning fireplaces for your enjoyment, comfort, and ambiance located in the living room, master bedroom and family room, common area of the guest quarter, and outdoors on the kitchen patio.

Our home is heated with floor-based radiant heat throughout the main house. The Guest Quarters above the garage is heated with forced air heat. Like most homes in the Wood River Valley, our home does not require or have air conditioning available since it is naturally cooled during the summer months by cross ventilation created by the many windows throughout our home.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 228753 in Sun Valley, Idaho

Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
5

Gorgeous Home; Amazing Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This home is GORGEOUS and the setting is spectacular! It was the perfect place for a family gathering. My family of 18 and I spent 5 days at this stunning home in early October as we finalized details for my brother’s wedding at nearby Galena Lodge. Everyone had his or her own quiet sleeping area and bath, while the first floor’s open kitchen/living area/wrap around deck and patio kitchen served as our gathering area. The multiple refrigerators, sinks, prep areas, and dishwashers allowed everyone to contribute her or his cooking and/or bartending talents to the pre-wedding festivities. In between ‘events’, many of us walked out the door, hiked up the mountain, and walked to the hot springs just upstream. My husband and nephew left the house on two of the bikes and rode through the state forest. Even beyond the amazing features of this home, were John’s insights on the surrounding area. He provided us with the names of caterers, restaurants, a fly-fishing outfitter for the intimate bachelor party, and the names of places coveted by the citizens of Ketchum. He was a fabulous destination host. I cannot say enough about this home, the location, or the owner. Five stars!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
Wilmington, DE
5

Magnificent House - Better in person

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
First, I should say that the owner and the maintenance crew are very detail oriented. Instructions on home and condition of home are impeccable. While we had high expectations from the photos provided, our group was pleasantly surprised to find a home that exceeded our expectations. We have been renting ski houses for nearly 20 years and this is one of two homes we plan to rent again on a future trip. The challenge will be having a group big enough to fill up this massive house. House has everything you need and more. We felt like we were in someone's home rather than a rental property. Kitchen is extremely well supplied and has two refrigerators, dishwashers, sinks, and trash compactors. It was a pleasure to prepare and share meals. Three separate living rooms with wet bars, home office, zoned stereo system, two laundry areas, comfy bedding, large dining area, etc., etc. Walk to lifts is easy in just a few minutes and some in our group did it in their ski boots. Not even necessary to check skis at the mountain. Mud room had lots of hooks and storage for everyone's jackets, shoes, & skis - we never even used the front door. If I had any complaints it would be the house is so large it took a day to learn my way around and we did not have enough time to take advantage of all the house has to offer. Don't even think of renting elsewhere.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
Chestnut Hill
5

Wonderful Experience in every aspect...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The house: A+++ beautiful, well furnished, well maintained.

The Location: A+++ for skiers only 300' from the lift.

The Owner: A+++ very organized down to the last detail, quick effective communications. Also has a great caretaker who was very helpful, even made us some delicious chili for our arrival. The best.

Overall Experience: A+++++++++++++++++++
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
Chicago, IL USA
5

Best place we've ever rented.

Best place we've ever rented.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I've been planning my family's annual reunion now for 20 years and this house was the best home we have ever rented. It is in pristine condidtion and beautifully appointed and stocked. The location is wonderful--very close to the mountain and to downtown Ketchum. The house worked exceptionally well for a group of people--from the different levels and areas for the bedrooms and separate sitting areas which afforded us some privacy to the big spaces where we could share time with each other. The kitchen was better stocked that my kitchen at home. Finally, the owners are incredibly organized and professional in their dealings and made the contract and payment side very easy. I will come back to this property and these owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
Arizona
5

Warm Springs Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The Lewis Home is in an ideal location to enjoy the beauty and recreational activities of the Ketchum-Sun Valley area. Nineteen of us--including children, teens, and adults--enjoyed this fabulous home that provided us with a wonderful reunion facility, with several in our family exclaiming it was one of their favorite vacations. Not only was the home well-maintained and more than adequately equipped, but the layout provided privacy and ample space for each individual family unit. We could not have asked for more, and we highly recommend this home for those desiring a choice and memorable experience in this area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Warm Springs Mountainside Retreat - At Base of Baldy - Walk to Lifts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p228753
+1 650 678-9546
Sun Valley Central Idaho
Asheville NC
5

Amazing ski house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This is a spectacular, spacious home, one block from the Warm Springs ski lifts, fully equipped with everything you might need for a perfect vacation.

The owner was very helpful and the caretaker saved us from a Super Bowl disaster with her timely assistance.

Highly recommended for families, or large groups.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1