Vail house rental - You will spend much of your time on this deck looking over the valley below.
You will spend much of your time on this deck looking over the valley below.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Vail House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

When you reach the desert getaway home you will find that you are half way up the mountainside with a mountain backdrop and a valley view. The valley view is miles of Sonoran desert with a faint view of an occasional train at the bottom of the valley. At night, you see some lights from Corona de Tucson some fifteen miles away. The back of the ranch is straight up the mountainside.

Located next to Colossal Cave Park and Saguaro National Park in Vail, AZ (20 miles) outside Tucson, this truly is the Sonoran Desert to perfection. The rocky mountainside with gigantic saguaros and other cactus engulfing it makes it “incredibly unique”. Just completed: 600 sq. ft. deck complete with jacuzzi. Just the view is worth the price of admission.

Keywords: country home, views, private, desert, quiet, ranch,

Connie and I (early 50's)grew up in Tucson and are High school sweethearts. I own and operate Creative Ventures, a gift store in Tucson. Connie owns and operates a dance studio for dancers of all ages. The picture is from our 30th class of '74' High school reunion. Go Amphi Panthers!

Craig Wilson purchased this house in 2008

We love Tucson, but wanted to be able to get away to see bright stars at night, relax with a view, listen to only the noise of wildlife and enjoy each other..

The stars, desert, view, jacuzzi, hiking and relaxing. Walking through Colossal Cave Park and hiking the Arizona Trail.

24 Reviews of Property 202793 in Vail, Arizona

Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 24 reviews
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Great property and perfect location for our family wedding. Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
Montgomery
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Great house with fantastic views! Had a great time here and hope to return!
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
5

Great Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is an amazing deal! We stayed 4 nights at the 1 Mile Inn while visiting family in Vail. The house was clean and had many extras you normally do not see in a VRBO rental. The owners have provided bug spray, sunblock, body wash, shampoo, dental floss and body lotion. I even forgot to pack my toothbrush and worries there was a new packaged one in the bathroom! The kitchen was stocked with paper plates, salt, pepper, cooking spray, pots, pans and dishes. The hot tub was great with an amazing view! The home is right near the Colossal Cave which some of our group did tour during our stay. We took an hour and half drive to Bisbee, AZ which I would recommend very cool town nestled in the mountains. I would stay here again and I have already recommended the home to others.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
5

Great vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Recently stayed at the One Mile Inn for a family vacation (4 adults, 2 kids ages 2.5 and 1 yr). The location is fantastic and very beautiful, with Sonoran desert scenery all around.

The home is very close to the eastern section of Saguaro National Park (~20 minute drive) and Colossal Cave (~5 minute drive). Other attractions are a bit further away (~40 minutes to downtown Tucson), but things in the Tucson area tend to be pretty spread out anyway. There is a small town nearby with typical stores/gas and a couple of ok restaurants.

The home is nicely furnished and has everything one could ask for in a vacation rental. The owners were very communicative and answered all of our questions promptly during the booking process. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this property to anyone looking to visit the Tucson area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
Vail, Arizona
3

Lovely setting lots of wild life!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The owners were very accommodating. The drive was a little longer on a dirt road than we thought, but driving instructions were exact. Once we arrived everything was nice and clean. A well stocked kitchen(not food but dishes,pots and pans), a great collections of DVD's to pick through.
Enjoyed every bit of sitting in the spa and gazing at the stars. The only complaint would be the beds were lumpy and pillows were uncomfortable, but that's an easy fix. A great adventure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Humm..pillow top beds and a variety of small to fluffy pillows to choose from.
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
5

Vail- What a great location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was the perfect location for our group, close to everything that we needed while we were away. Craig is a wonderful person to do business with, it was easy and seamless. The home was exactly as described, clean and well kept. Don't be put off by the access entrance, the roads are clearly marked and Craig made it easy with the land marks that he gave us for directions. The home is within 10 minutes of Walgreens and 20 minutes of a full shopping and gas complex. We were able to see Tombstone, Old Tucson, and many other attractions within an hour or so drive. We definitely want to come back, we cannot wait. Thank you Craig!!
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
Michigan
5

Michigan visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wonderful relaxing location. Fantastic communication with owner. Well stocked home. Thanks Craig
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much..sure enjoyed having you guys.
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest comments for 2nd stay..mountain bike tip..

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Hi Craig,
Just a note to let you know we had another delightful stay at 1-mile Inn.

We enjoyed many a beautiful sunset from the front porch and Diane had her daily post-hike dip in the hot tub.

By the way, as of this year it is now possible to mountain bike from the
trail head at the N end of Alta Loma Rd. all the way to Hope Camp, picking up the AZ trail along the way. From Hope the AZ trail now continues (legally) northward to Pistol Hill Road. It is 7.4 miles one way, and the return trip is mostly down hill. This would be a good route for people at the beginner level of mountain biking (as compared to the more difficult sections farther south), although I also enjoyed the ride as an experienced biker. You might pass this info on to future residents at 1-mile Inn, who are interested in doing some mt biking.
cheers,
T&J
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Such a great, clean, enjoyable house to stay in while visiting family in Tucson over Thanksgiving. Beautiful surroundings, quiet, clean, equipped with everything you could need and more. Definitely plan to re-visit here. Thanks for the wonderful experience.
business
Desert Oasis on Five Acres / Mountain and Valley Views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202793vb
(520) 440-9983
Vail Arizona
Tucson, AZ
5

nice getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My family and I had a great time at your home. The location was wonderful and the scenery was beautiful. We love that the home felt secluded up a mountain but was still close to restaurants and stores. The kids really enjoyed Colossal Cave and it was great to only have to drive 5 minutes to get to it. The home had plenty of space and everything we needed. We spent our nights relaxing on the deck and in the jacuzzi. The kids had a great time roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. We felt like we were camping but with the luxury of having nice beds and showers. Looking forward to spending another weekend up there soon!.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1