Gettysburg farmhouse rental - Gettysburg Civil War Farm
Gettysburg Civil War Farm
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Gettysburg Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 5.5 bathrooms, sleeps 10-15

Welcome to our Civil War Farm! Conveniently located on 65 acres of scenic privacy just 5 miles from Gettysburg National Battlefield. There are 2 beautifully decorated facilities. A restored 1810 Civil War Barn with 2 bedrooms, and a restored 1831 Civil War Stone House with 3 bedrooms. Hike the Battlefield on your own, or take a bus or private tour, shop at the Civil War stores in town or at our onsite Antique Annies Country Store. Golf at one of several local courses, or just stay on the Farm and enjoy the Pool and tour our restored 1942 Caboose Museum. You can walk on our nature trail or relax in our landscaped gardens overlooking the orchards and vineyard. You may want to picnic in our pavilion or just sit out on the deck overlooking the pastures and hillsides and watch the cattle graze. We feel that this is one of the finest vacation getaways in Central Pennsylvania with everything you are looking for in a romantic getaway or a taste of country living with a historic perspective.

7 Reviews of Property 227422 in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Civil War Farm
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Excellent Memorial Day Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 11 and 8) stayed for a three day weekend at the farmhouse and enjoyed every minute of it! The owners were incredibly friendly, helpful, and just good people. We have stayed in numerous homes found on VRBO and Home Away and count this home a particular favorite. The entire compound is great for small events with pretty gardens and rolling hills all around. We loved the personal tour of the homes and restored caboose given to us and the attention to detail was enviable. Gettysburg is great for history buffs but also for family fun. The town was only a few minutes away with the tourist attractions and drug/grocery stores near by.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Vienna, VA
5

Women's Weekend

Women's Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
For about 15+ years the women in my family get together for a weekend to celebrate the life of our mother/grandmother/aunt. We were delighted to find this beautiful farm house and barn so close to Gettysburg. Tom and Carol were fantastic hosts and the houses were perfect and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Fabulous Farm & Fabulous owners

Fabulous Farm & Fabulous owners
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We choice to rent this farm because our son (Soud) 16 years studding in Carlson long academy, about an hour from the farm, we stay 4 days before school time.
Carol & Tom is wonderful hosts, Carol was very nice by taking to our son while he has home sick before entering school.
We had a fabulous time as a family, swimming pool, gardens ,accommodations are very clean and modern the care that’s put into every detail including the lodging is amazing.
Our kids have a good time and enjoy in the swimming pool and playing in the barn Rec Room, it is nice place for them to play and having a good time.
We would love to plan to come soon.
Thanks,
Nuha alnajjar & Musaed Aljumah
from Kuwait
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Wilmington
5

Relaxing Visit at Newhart's Iron Horse Inn

Relaxing Visit at Newhart's Iron Horse Inn
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I, along with my brother and his family (wife & 2 boys--1 & 5 yrs old), recently stayed on the Newhart property in the "barn". Even though we saw the pictures online, we were in awe of what we saw in person--beautiful grounds and lovely accommodations. Carol and Tom are wonderful hosts. I was a little concerned about having a 1 yr. old roaming around an antique-filled house, but most of the antiques are large furnishings or out of reach of little hands. My 5 yr old nephew loved the game room downstairs--pool table and air hockey. I wished we had planned a longer visit....next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Kennebunkport ME
5

Relax and enjoy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The many amenities, the beautiful grounds and the amazing family who own and run Newharts made for a very memorable vacation. We had a fabulous time and would love to plan a wedding in such an idyllic setting. The hosts helped out in every way and we we're able to pull off a bbq for our family reunion with no hitches. The swimming pool, the gardens, the care thats put into every detail including the lodging is amazing. Thank you, Sarah&Shawn Higgins Family and the Dickson Family Reunion
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Bethlehem, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Best Kept Secret in Gettysburg Area”Newhart's Iron Horse Inn grammyDee Bethlehem, PennsylvaniaAug 7, 2008 Newhart's Iron Horse Inn is in a beautiful, quiet area just a few miles outside of Gettysburg. It is very close to the new Visitor's Center and Museum at the Gettysburg Battle Field. If you would like to tour the battle fields and the town, then retreat from all the traffic and noise to a relaxing place in the country side, then Newhart's is for you. The "barn" is beautifully restored, by the owners Tom & Carol, and very well appointed. Our son's family was with us and we each had a master suite. We also had a 1/2 bath, a very large living room with fireplace, a large dining room and large kitchen and dining area. The accommodations are very clean and modern but decorated with many period antiques. Across the back of the "barn" is a very large deck for relaxing or eating or enjoying the scenery. Downstairs is a game room. We had our son's family with us, which included our 2 grandsons, 11 & 3, and we all loved staying at the "farm". There is a great pool (the kids loved that); grape arbors surrounding a hidden patio & beautiful flower gardens; picnic and many different sitting & relaxing areas near a waterfall and pond, a gazebo, and an actual big red caboose, which is currently being carefully restored. Tom will take you on a tour of the area in his golf cart. Or he'll show you his fire truck. They have an antique shop to browse through. They have a few cats, dogs, & cattle to visit and many acres to roam and explore. If you have kids, it's a safe place for them to play and have a good time. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy. They are a delightful couple and wonderful to sit and talk with about the farm and surrounding area. They have another big stone house which they lovingly restored and also use as a place to stay. If you want a relaxing hide-away, this would be a great place to lounge and unwind! We are hoping to return again very soon.
Helpful votes: 9/11
business
Civil War Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227422
+1 717 359-8950
Gettysburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Bethlehem, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

Best Kept Secret in Gettysburg Area” Newhart's Iron Horse Inn grammyDee Bethlehem, PennsylvaniaAug 7, 2008 Newhart's Iron Horse Inn...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Best Kept Secret in Gettysburg Area”
Newhart's Iron Horse Inn
grammyDee
Bethlehem, PennsylvaniaAug 7, 2008
Newhart's Iron Horse Inn is in a beautiful, quiet area just a few miles outside of Gettysburg. It is very close to the new Visitor's Center and Museum at the Gettysburg Battle Field. If you would like to tour the battle fields and the town, then retreat from all the traffic and noise to a relaxing place in the country side, then Newhart's is for you. The "barn" is beautifully restored, by the owners Tom & Carol, and very well appointed. Our son's family was with us and we each had a master suite. We also had a 1/2 bath, a very large living room with fireplace, a large dining room and large kitchen and dining area. The accommodations are very clean and modern but decorated with many period antiques. Across the back of the "barn" is a very large deck for relaxing or eating or enjoying the scenery. Downstairs is a game room. We had our son's family with us, which included our 2 grandsons, 11 & 3, and we all loved staying at the "farm". There is a great pool (the kids loved that); grape arbors surrounding a hidden patio & beautiful flower gardens; picnic and many different sitting & relaxing areas near a waterfall and pond, a gazebo, and an actual big red caboose, which is currently being carefully restored. Tom will take you on a tour of the area in his golf cart. Or he'll show you his fire truck. They have an antique shop to browse through. They have a few cats, dogs, & cattle to visit and many acres to roam and explore. If you have kids, it's a safe place for them to play and have a good time. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy. They are a delightful couple and wonderful to sit and talk with about the farm and surrounding area. They have another big stone house which they lovingly restored and also use as a place to stay. If you want a relaxing hide-away, this would be a great place to lounge and unwind! We are hoping to return again very soon.
Helpful votes: 20/21