Great Diamond Island condo rental - Patio & Home Entrance
Patio & Home Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Great Diamond Island Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Diamond Cove is located on the north side of Great Diamond Island, which is one of the approximately 260 islands in Casco Bay, Maine. Great Diamond Island, which is about 1 1/2 miles long and 3/4 mile wide, is located approximately 2.5 miles from Portland, Maine's largest city.

Diamond Cove is a private gated community developed in the late 1990's from Fort McKinley, a restored military fort built in 1900 and closed in the late 1940's. Diamond Cove is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. All of the private homes are restored in Fort McKinley's weathered brick and granite buildings, with slate roofs and white porches. There are also about thirty private homes built on lots outside of the main complex of Fort McKinley. Oh, No Cars... Golf Carts, Bikes & Wonderful Walks only.

As a self-contained community, Diamond Cove is a Wonderful location to enjoy. There's always something to do with the option of doing nothing at all. You can swim, play tennis, go to the gym, duckpin bowling. Guest with boats can cruise through scenic Casco Bay using the Diamond Cove marina as your port.

Enjoyment is a way of life at Diamond Cove, featuring:

The Unit is a Two Level, Three Bedroom, One & 1/2 Bath Townhouse, Completely Furnished.

My concept of enjoyment for guests is to provide amenities that other units don't offer.

Keywords: Townhouse in Private Community

More Details
Hide Details

I have lived on my sailboat for the first seven years in Maine and love it. But, after seven winters I purchased Ingalls Road and spend the hard days of winter on the Island. During the spring, summer and fall I continued to live fulltime on the boat.

Diamond Cove is a very interesting and wonderful place, with so many things to do and great people to meet.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

The quality of life is wonderful and the history of Great Diamond Island is very interesting.

Simply put, there are so many thing to do... It actually has more things than a full hotel resort.

6 Reviews of Property 227339 in Great Diamond Island, Maine

Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Lexington, MA
5

Lovely Island Vacation Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a lovely townhouse style home, complete with all the upscale amenities you could possibly need. The home is beautifully furnished, immaculately clean, and quite spacious for 3 adults and a toddler! The owner went out of his way to assure that our stay was comfortable, including greeting us at the ferry, and arranging for a van to transport us to the house. We so appreciated his abundant hospitality. We loved our week on Great Diamond Island! The only (really!) downside was the weekday construction noise coming from the inn being built near the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Phyllis, Thank you so much for coming to Diamond Cove and your kind review of your family retreat. I know that the new Inn construction was not good but hope that you and your guest come back and see the new building.
All my best for the following seasons and I look forward to hosting you all in 2014.
Roger
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
North Carolina
5

Our Summer Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just returned from our 4th summer renting this house. We initially rented for one week, but have rented for two ever since. The owner is great to work with, meticulous about his property and cleanliness and makes sure that the house is set like your own home, the day you arrive. The home is completely stocked with clean sheets, toiletries, utensils, everything that you would need. He even changed the answering machine to answer with our name. Diamond Cove is a special community; fantastic for family vacations. We have four children ages 6-16 and are very comfortable in this house. We have had several friends come to visit and all have loved the area. This is a private island, with no cars, plenty of children, plenty of secluded beach areas and activities limited only by your imagination. We hate to leave and look forward to our return every year. We will be back for our 5th summer in 2014, staying in the same house. We highly recommend this property and location!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Again, I'm very lucky to have guest enjoy my home, Diamond Cove and Portland. My overall plan is to try and have guests not come to a rental but come to their Maine summer home. Thanks for your kind words... See you next year!
Roger
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Chicopee MA
5

Relaxation in a unique setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Roger's townhouse is wonderful, and amply stocked with all sorts of extras (like nice shampoos and soaps), bikes in all sizes, and even some good books.. Just bring your food and clothes, and relax in this unique setting. Thank you Roger for everything, we had a great time.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Diane for your kind words. I look forward your return next year to your Summer Home in Maine.
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Shelton, CT
5

Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Amazing accommodations and location. A perfect family vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Plymouth, MA
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a very relaxing stay on the island. The condo was very comfortable and the owner provided many items not normally offered as part of a rental. We did not need to carry much more than our clothing and food to the island. The island itself was lovely. There was plenty to do from tennis, bike-riding, exploring and collecting sea glass at the ocean's edge. We had friends with a boat come one day and they were able to dock for the day for a minimal fee. All in all, we had a wonderful family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Diamond Cove, Great Diamond Island, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227339vbi
(207) 233-8001
Great Diamond Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Roger, The group had such a wonderful time and the sailboat ride was a big hit.

That's why we came back two weeks later with the family for another weeks.

See you soon, we hope