Marigot Bay cottage rental - Avocado Cottage and the Ocean View. Paradise!
Avocado Cottage and the Ocean View. Paradise!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

Marigot Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Private Cottage, 30ft Waterfall Pool, Near Beach, Tropical Breakfast Ocean Views

OUR lush Tropical Gardens surround your Cottage & guarantee your privacy. Palms & Bougainville offer shade & color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined! * AVOCADO & BANANA COTTAGES were designed with Romance & Privacy as the keys to a great vacation. 4-Poster beds are draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large Ceiling Fans guarantee your comfort. The ceilings are high & angled to allow plenty of light & airflow. The bathroom features a Glass Block shower & built-in hair dryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous Ocean Views. * * * OUR Topical Breakfast begins at 8 & lasts until you have finished dining on our Fresh Baked Breads and Muffins. Fresh Fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Main House. * Simple Luxury, TROPICAL SETTING, AMAZING VIEWS, RAIN-FOREST TOURS.

DAVID WALLACE: David is an award winning television director. He is an avid world traveler who found St. Lucia to be the best of all islands. “I like to sample the hot springs and waterfalls that I find around the island' says David. 'I keep discovering new places all the time.” David and Wanda have climbed both Pitons and earned their scuba licenses in St. Lucia. “The flora and fauna are unforgettable.' 'It truly is Paradise.”

*****

WANDA PRUSKA-WALLACE:

“I love St. Lucia because of its abundant rain forest, beautiful shore line and laid back lifestyle.” Wanda practices and teaches Tai Chi and Eagle Claw Kung Fu. “Health and food (and David) are my passions.” explains Wanda. “Our fruit, veggies and fish are always fresh. It is a pleasure to cook and create mouth watering dishes with local ingredients.”

David and Wanda Wallace purchased this cottage in 2002

We choose St Lucia because it is the most beautiful island in the southern Caribbean. St Lucia has a large Rain-Forest, lots of beaches and wonderful warm people. It a rare country where you can relax and feel safe & secure everywhere. Stress is low and the food is great. So many restaurants!

Nature’s Paradise is about our spectacular views, lush gardens and 30ft, waterfall fed, swimming pool on the side of a cliff.

Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & strong coffee. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Main House.

Did we mention our many Eco-Tours around the island?

14 Reviews of Property 226999 on Marigot Bay, St Lucia

The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A True Tropical Paradise Experience!”

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The location high above Marigot Bay surrounded by nature and Wanda and David's hospitality is truly breath taking. Our cottage was comfortable and well equipped. For a couple living in the heart of the city, the sounds and silence of the tropics are absolutely delightful as is the lush tropical growth. We enjoyed the suggested restaurants particularly brunch on the porch of a colonial plantation house. Our trip to Soufriere with David was wonderful as was the dip in the remote warm springs. We also rented a 4 wheel drive vehicle to explore the island. We learned much about the tropical growth and flowers on this trip as well as life and culture of the island. Wanda's island breakfast's are perfect and the bananas from their own trees a particular treat. David's recommendations are always on target and the people of St. Lucia welcoming and helpful. Yes, Nature's Paradise is a unique adventure and you would be fortunate to share it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
Essen
5

Yes - it´s a paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What can we say? Just a great time to be there.

We were looking for a nice, unique accommodation on St. Lucia - and found it with "Nature´s Paradise". Wanda and David were very friendly and helpful.
The two Cottages (we had the Avocado Cottage) are so beautiful and clean...and the wooden porch is just a dream. We did not miss anything!

The house is located in a quiet area on a hill and we felt very comfortable there. Nature´s Paradise is a good starting point for excursions around the island - which is why a car (4WD) highly recommended. David and Wanda also give valuable tips - and if desired, they also offer interesting tours.

From Nature´s Paradis to Marigot Bay is a walk about 20 minutes.There you will find everything for a successful holiday (grocery store, bank, restaurants, cafes). Back, it is a steep walk, for it takes about 30 minutes. Important: In the dark, take a torch! But do not worry - this is also fun!

Are there cons? No - definitely not! Yes, we would choose it again...but for longer!

Thank you, Wanda - thank you, David.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
Bloomington, IN
5

Simply wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed at Nature's Paradise for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have picked a better place to get to know each other better, and just have a really enjoyable time. I really can't think of any complaints, aside from having to leave after our stay was over! Dave and Wanda prepared the most delicious breakfasts for us each morning. (Mon.-Sat.) The first morning we have half a grapefruit to start off the breakfast, and I detest grapefruit, and it turned out to be really good... I was amazed! We had really good fruit every morning for breakfast, and I loved the warm bread with cheese slices to put on top of it. The coffee was also quite pleasing. It was really fun getting to have breakfast with the other 2 or 3 couples also staying in the cottages at the same time as us. It was fun getting to hear about where they traveled to on the island the day before, and get ideas for things to do and things to avoid. Dave and Wanda were also very great when it came to needing advice on what to do and what to see.

We stayed in Avocado cottage, which was a great place for 2! The bed was comfortable, and the kitchen was useful. The porch was large and had great views, and the cottage was very close to the pool (more great views!) and main house. It was very beautiful, private, safe, and relaxing.

We took one tour with Dave- the Soufiere Eco Tour. It was a really good thing to do the first full day we were there since we got used to the driving (all curves!) with someone who could show us around. Dave was an excellent tour guide for the botanical gardens, sulfer springs (a lot of steam where we were), and sightseeing. For the rest of the trip we had a rental car, which we would highly recommend! It's hard to see much of the island without one. But if you have one, the island is small enough that pretty much anywhere is a day trip. We drove down to climb Gros Piton. It cost US $30 a person to climb, but the views are amazing! Be sure to bring enough water though, as it is a difficult climb in the second half. Pigeon point was also a neat place, but the best beach we found is actually right near the airport. It has long beaches with clear water.

We were there over Christmas, and had Christmas dinner with Dave, Wanda, and the others there at the time. We ate at Chateau Mygo for the second time, and the food was delicious, and the views were also good.

All-in-all, Nature's Paradise was a fantastic part of our honeymoon!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
5

Our Own Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The main problem with Nature’s Paradise is that TripAdvisor.com will not let you rate higher than five stars. This place was truly wonderful and stunning at highly affordable prices.

We found the “off the beaten path” style to be the perfect arena for relaxing, adventure, romance, and cultural exploration. Nature Dave’s knowledge of the culture and history of St. Lucia, suggestions for exploration, and Eco-tours provided a welcome respite from the resort style vacation and hoards of other tourists.

We stayed in the Banana Cottage for a few nights, then the Coconut room for a night. Both were roomy enough for two, and provided ample need. The temperature in the rooms was comfortable with a nice cross breeze coming off the Caribbean Sea. If you are a light sleeper, I might recommend earplugs as the night-time brings out a symphony of tree frogs, but it is a pleasant song to fall asleep to.

It is worth mentioning that the sunset from the pool was uniquely different each and every evening we were there, so it would be smart to plan to see them daily.

Both Dave and Wanda were highly accommodating to some last minute plans, and provided all sorts of help. We had a wedding on St. Lucia and Dave and Wanda went out of their way to ensure everything happened smoothly, an act of kindness that we will never forget.

Room Tip: There is a small private beach at the bottom of the hill. We saw four other people there during our trip. Nature's Paradise does not have a "fitness center", it has a pool and a volcanic island to hike, run, or bike.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
5

What are you waiting for?!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
There is absolutely no place like Nature’s Paradise and no better hosts than Dave and Wanda. We heard about this tropical oasis from friends of ours who had gone in May and had absolutely glowing reviews about the beautiful property, their hosts and the island in general. We pulled the trigger and booked in June for a December vacation. It was so wonderful, we didn’t want to leave- and that is very much an understatement.

Natures’ Paradise is above an beyond anything you would expect from a typical bed and breakfast scenario. The houses are perfectly situated on a cliff above Marigot Bay, so you have incredible views of the Caribbean Ocean from both the cottages and the pool area. From nearly nothing, Wanda has built amazing tropical gardens that mimic the island’s rainforest and botanical gardens. It’s worth going just to see her work and meet the extraordinary gardener, Lyon, that helps her maintain it all. The cottages are spacious and comfortable with important details like cold beer and water in the fridge and a hairdryer that is better than my own. The grounds are so beautiful and calming, it is tempting to spend all day there- staring at the ocean and listening to the palms rustle in the wind.

Having said that, Dave and Wanda will inspire you to get out and explore even if you are determined to plant yourself on your backside for the day. With a decade of residency under their belts, they know the island VERY well and can point you in the direction of the most interesting and amazing spots on the island. If you go with Dave on his Eco-tour (which we did), you will find yourself in a rejuvenating mineral bath, having a gourmet lunch with breath-taking views and seeing the most beautiful plants and picturesque waterfall. We learned so much about the island’s history and culture from Dave that we felt right at home by the 3rd day of our trip.

Our stay at Nature’s Paradise was both relaxing and adventurous. There are so many wonderful things to experience in St. Lucia and we wouldn’t have known about half of them if it wasn’t for Dave and Wanda. They are truly interested in their guests getting the very most out of their stay on the island. Morning breakfast conversations provided an opportunity to ask questions and throw around ideas of things to do and beaches to visit- this is a personal touch that you just don’t get from a large resort. We highly recommend Nature’s Paradise, so much that we are planning another trip!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
5

Romance and Aventure Says It All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Romance and adventure were exactly what we were looking for in our honeymoon and that is exactly what we found at Nature's Paradise. Dave and Wanda are wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome and at ease. Their suggestions of things to do and explore, based on their deep knowledge of the island and their excitement to find out about us and our interests, helped to make our trip so memorable! Every morning we woke up to the beautiful view from our cottage and a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, juice, and coffee/tea. We loved chatting with Dave and Wanda over breakfast and making our plans for the day. It never seemed like they were in a rush to leave or be anywhere else and it felt like they were truly there for us, their guests.

The cottage was simple, but had everything we needed for an unencumbered getaway. We loved being able to make our own lunches in the full kitchen and have some snacks available that we stocked from the local grocery store (about 15 mins away by car). The front porch was so relaxing to sit on and we loved starting and ending our day by looking out over the beautiful gardens and the Caribbean.

The location is great too. It is on the end of a ridge line overlooking the ocean, so it gets great breezes and did not get too hot while we were there. It was a short trip down the ridge to Marigot Bay, which has many good restaurants right on the water at various price points and all food was really good.

We would highly recommend renting a car as it makes it much easier to get around. The ridge where Nature's Paradise is located is more remote than some of the more touristy destinations (which is what we loved about it!!). Dave showed us a secluded bay near the resort where we went swimming and snorkeling and were the only ones there. It was quite romantic!

One of our favorite days on the island was the day that Dave took us on a tour down the east coast of the island. He drove so we could take pictures and take in the sites. The spots he selected for us to see were incredible and we really appreciated his knowledge of each place. Our other favorite day was our scuba diving adventure, which was led by Dive Fair Helen in Marigot Bay. They are awesome and the underwater sites were breathtaking. We would highly recommend both of these excursions.

Overall, we had an amazing time staying at Nature's Paradise! Thank you Dave and Wanda for making it an incredibly special honeymoon!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
5

Amazing Honeymoon in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
At Nature's Paradise, we found exactly what we were looking for in a honeymoon getaway! David and Wanda maintain a beautifully landscaped property with stunning views, and the pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the Roseau Valley, especially at sunset, is unforgettable. Avocado cottage was incredibly comfortable and provided ample privacy from other guests, even on the large porch which was great for relaxing in the breeze. Breakfasts spent discussing island history and the plans of the day over coffee, fruit juice, fresh baked bread and varieties of local fruits, were the perfect start to the day. David was very helpful in arranging for a rental vehicle, reserving a sailing cruise, and in providing advice for when we headed out to explore the island on our own. We also spent a terrific day with Nature Dave himself as tour guide on the Soufriere eco-adventure, visiting the volcano park, botanical gardens, and Dasheen restaurant for lunch (a must-do!). The trek into the secluded mineral baths and time spent there is another of our unforgettable experiences of the trip. Marigot Bay is an incredible spot, with great restaurants and friendly locals. We recommend Nature’s Paradise to anyone looking to take a step or two off the beaten path and truly relax! We can’t wait to return!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
5

Perfect Holiday in Paradise.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We recently enjoyed a 2 week holiday at Nature's Paradise. It was incredible. The views from our cottage were breathtaking and sunsets by the pool inspiring.

The owners, David and Wanda were the ultimate hosts - a dazzling array of fresh fruit, breads and coffee greeted us every morning. Nothing was too much trouble - we were really made to feel at home.

It was great staying in a cottage rather than a large hotel complex - we had so much privacy and so much space all to ourselves - we began to think of the pretty little white cottage as our own. It was fully equipped with everything we could need - sipping rum cocktails on our terrace looking out to sea was wonderful!

The area is fantastic - waterfalls, beaches and great local bars and restaurants. It really was a taste of paradise. The only down side is that once you arrive you will never want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
Barnstaple, Devon, England
5

Paradise in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We were picked up at Hewanorra airport by Anthony,a friend of David and Wanda and we had a restful drive to Marigot bay and up to Nature's paradise. Our host David was there to greet us as we arrived and he made us most welcome showing us our cottage and introducing us to the grounds of his house. Throughout our stay David made us feel like we were at home and he is now a confirmed friend. He got a good blend of being around whenever we needed him but allowed us to be alone to use the grounds without interruption. The grounds included a swimming pool with a drop dead gorgeous view of the carribbean from its elevated cliff top position. Natures paradise is truly a paradise on earth with humming birds regularly flying in and out of bushes next to our cottage. The cottage we stayed in was private and had a great panoramic view over the caribbean and was extremely well equipped with a hair drier in the bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen right down to cutlery and bottle opener.
The breakfast which is served Monday to Friday was lovely with fresh bread and a great variety of exotic fruit and real coffee on offer for as long as you feel you need.This was an opportunity to meet our fellow guests who were from New York and Boston in the US. We very much enjoyed their company and again I do feel that we have made some genuine new friends.
Marigot bay is beautiful with a good choice of restaurants but I have to say that I was a little surprised by how expensive food was.
We went to Natures hideaway,Doolittle's,Chateua Mygo and Julietta's and enjoyed all our meals which included lobster, Coconut shrimp,Creole chicken etc.
We paid several visits to Rodney bay which has a stunning beach which was used by locals and holiday makers alike but never seemed very crowded. Also in Rodney Bay was a marina which was a great place for lunch a drink or an ice cream or something a little stronger. The drive to Rodney bay took about 40 minutes from Marigot bay but was very pleasant with a service station along the way.
David acted as a tour guide one day when he took us on a trip to a real but benign volcano along with a real spring bath that we went to bathe in .It was like a very warm bath. This was followed by lunch at a stunning hotel with gorgeous food and a fantastic view towards the Piton mountains. He finished us off with a tour of a beautiful tropical gardens.
St Lucians are very kind,helpful and friendly to tourists. Thank you David and Wanda for a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Cottages @ NATURE'S PARADISE: Amazing Views, Paradise Pool, EcoLux!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226999
+1758 4583550
Marigot Bay St Lucia
Loveland, CO
5

Romance, adventure and friendly hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
If you want great views, comfortable accommodations, and lots of relaxation, Nature’s Paradise is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a cottage with a large deck overlooking the Caribbean, and explored the island by car. The proprietors, Dave and Wanda, are very friendly and went out of their way to provide great service and lots of information on activities and places to visit and dine. Dave’s enthusiasm for the Island’s culture and history is definitely contagious. We went on one of Dave’s tours, and experienced places on the island we wouldn’t have found by ourselves. For us, Nature’s Paradise provided the perfect combination of romance and adventure. We highly recommend Nature’s Paradise for very nice, unpretentious accommodations in a beautiful, romantic setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3