Kailua Kona house rental - Palm framed view of La Aloa Bay from the Lanai
Palm framed view of La Aloa Bay from the Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, (two master kings and one twin/queen) sleeps 6

Enjoy your stay in paradise in this fully equipped 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom home in an exclusive, walled and gated oceanfront community of 12 private two-story residences. Located on the ocean drive 4 miles south of Kailua Kona, this 2000 square foot luxury home sleeps 6. First floor: a vaulted ceiling living room, dining room, fully equipped kitchen, a convertible bedroom with either twin single beds or a queen bed and a hallway full bath. Upstairs: king master bedroom and king guest bedroom both with private baths. Upper and lower lanais feature a palm-framed view of breaking ocean waves in La Aloa Bay.

A great location adjacent to White Sands Beach, one mile from Kahalu’u State Park, the best snorkeling lagoon on the islands. Golf, tennis, shopping and dozens of restaurants are within a 5 mile radius. Lush tropical property features an oceanfront swimming pool and spa with fabulous ocean and sunset vistas. Wireless internet, private parking for 2 cars, no smoking, no pets, only 6 occupants of any age.

Kona Onenalo is exactly 4 miles south of the town of Kailua Kona on the coast road called Alii Drive. It is immediately south of and adjacent to White Sands Beach on La Aloa Bay, one of the premier body surfing and snorkeling sites on the Island. Kahalu'u State Beach Park is one mile south. Its huge natural saltwater lagoon may be the best 'beginner' snorkeling in the Hawaiian Islands.

Kona Country Club, a 36 hole public golf course is 2 miles away. Kailua Kona has all of the usual shopping amenities including many restaurants, local stores, Costco, Wal-Mart, Safeway, etc. The Keahou shopping center is two miles south and has restaurants, a cinema, Longs Drugs, and KTA, a local supermarket. There are many beaches, historic sites and tourist attractions in and around this area and the Volcanoes National Park is a scenic 100 mile drive away.

Keywords: Home

Hawaii Tax ID No. W16150293-01

More Details
Hide Details

Ken and Jennifer Moore are Canadians who love Hawaii and spend six months of the year on the Big Island. They have been married for 26 years and have two children in their early twenties. After purchasing their dream home, also a vacation rental vrbo #322776, they realized the demand for quality ocean view rental property and purchased Kona Onenalo. With their connections from living on the island both properties are well managed and exceptional vacation rentals offering all the comforts of home.

Jennifer Moore purchased this house in 2012

The old adage: location, location, location is never more appropriate than here at Kona Onenalo. Built in 1979/1980, it would not be possible to duplicate this community of 12 homes right on the ocean in today's more restrictive environment. Each house has a direct ocean view and the breaking waves are only feet away. An ocean gate opens directly onto La'Aloa Bay, one of the premier snorkeling and scuba diving venues on the Kona coast. White Sands beach is 300 yards from our front door. The ocean front pool and spa offer panoramic vistas and sunsets. The property itself is meticulously maintained with lush tropical landscaping. And all of this is set in the middle of the greater Kailua-Kona area, a community filled with restaurants, shopping and many other resort amenities.

Kona Onenalo is a walled and gated community. All of the owners are mainland based and it is rare for more than 3 or 4 homes to be occupied at any given time. One of the things that we treasure about our place is that it is always peaceful, quiet and private. Alii Drive itself has a unique character. As it winds along the shoreline from the town of Kailua-Kona to the Keahou Resort 6 miles to the south, it passes several wonderful little sandy beaches as well as four favorite local surfing locations. Residents walk, jog and bike this 6 mile stretch of road at all times of the day. Kona Onenalo is the perfect combination of a private retreat set amid the hustle and bustle of a larger community.

41 Reviews of Property 226615 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
average rating of 4.9512196 based on 41 reviews
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Spacious, well-appointed, lovely rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed 8 days in this beautiful home and had a great time there. The views were spectacular. The kitchen had every appliance that one could hope for. The dining area was large, but we ate all of our meals on the first floor lanai. Quite wonderful! The grounds were immaculate and well-maintained. Parking was ample, protected, and lighted.

I would easily give this rental experience 5 stars except for two reasons:

1. The street noise from Alii Drive was bothersome at times.
2. We had to scramble to meet the 10:00 a.m. checkout time on the last day.

In fairness, ANY house which is situated near Alii Drive is going to be confronted with some street noise. The upstairs master bedroom faces the ocean. With the doors to the upstairs lanai open, the sound of the waves obviates the street noise to a large degree.

Regarding the 10 a.m. checkout time, we planned ahead and did a lot of preparation the evening before, but even with that it was a struggle to be out by 10:00. For us, 11:00 would have been better.

I would definitely recommend staying in this lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Braybrooke, England
5

Wonderful property. Well equipped.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything you would need was there. Views wonderful. Beach a two minute walk away. Close enough to the town of Kona. Lovely to sit on the veranda and watch the waves. Highly recommend.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wonderful home in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We truly enjoyed our stay in the Kona Onenalo #12 home. There was a beautiful ocean view from the downstairs and master bedroom lanais. The kitchen was well stocked with many appliances, dishes, silverware, and spices. The home is spacious, comfortable and nicely appointed. We loved the community pool and met several other friendly renters during our time there. The owners provided us with written information about the area which was extremely helpful and they were very professional in their interaction with us. By the time our week was over, we felt as if we could stay forever.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Super holiday with Konaonealo as an ideal base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
For our group of 5 adults, the accommodation was ideal, very well equipped and clean. The body boards, deckchairs and snorkel equipment were a perfect addition so we could really enjoy the beaches, especially Hapuna and the beginner snorkel beach only 1 mile away. Watching the sunsets sitting at the communal pool was lovely. We drove all around the island from our base to see all the different landscapes and wildlife. We took an amazing helicopter ride over the volcano and lava flow. We ate out at Kona Inn (tasty fish and cocktails), and Bubba Gump (fun experience sitting by the water). We found parking everywhere we needed it. Shopped at Safeway - tip: sign up for a free client card. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Hawaii and would recommend Konaonealo as a great home base.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Fantastic vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was a great vacation! The house was large and clean and very well supplied. In the back there was a nice ocean view deck with a grill, and we have spent a lot of time there. We had private access to the ocean and we went snorkeling right there. It was amazing! There was a sand beach in a 5 minute walking distance. Great location.

The owners were very easy to work with prior to our arrival and very helpful during our stay. Arriving instructions and house manuals were very clear and detailed. The entire trip went without a single hiccup and there was not a case when we needed something and it wasn't in the house or we couldn't get it quickly. Great time! These guys will definitely be the first ones I am calling next time.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
ann arbor michigan
5

sunsets, oeanfront & next to Magic Sands Beach -- what more does one want?

sunsets, oeanfront & next to Magic Sands Beach -- what more does one want?
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed here on one prior occasion 2 yrs ago; so this is a repeat performance.
We had a wonderful stay; access to White Sands Beach cannot be improved upon, it's unique!
The view and seclusion is excellent.
The only negative is that there is noise from the Alii Drive traffic.
But that noise can be tuned out, and is largely dependent upon time of day, day of week, time of year.
But who can complain, as ths is paradise!
Condo is comfortable, making all feel totally at-home.
View is sensational. A nice blend of view and seclusion. Just 20 yds or so from actual ocean-line, slight setback from other units.
Location is 4 miles south of KONA Pier,,, just far enough to be away from ground zero, and not too far to be inconvenient. Obviously requires car to get around.
New owners were very attentive to informational instructions; altho we didn't need it because of prior experiences.
Everything worked, couldn't find anything but good to say.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Picture Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent almost 3 weeks in Hawaii, staying in 4 locations. This was our absolute favorite!! Gorgeous Views! One couldn't do better for a "picture-perfect" location and it is setup fabulously!!! Although we did not do any cooking (just breakfast out of the refrigerator :) one could make a feast and have all the necessary "implements". It was wonderful to have the house so well stocked with all the toys and accessories one could want … we did bring our own snorkels and masks, but having the flippers right there made it so easy and convenient. The owner was very responsive anytime I emailed her with questions. We really appreciated the suggestions on lots of things, including the fabulous snorkeling area just south at Kahalu'u Beach Park -- I've never seen so many beautiful fish and so close!! Body surfing at White Sands Beach in the morning was so much fun. I must admit we were not brave enough to try to snorkel off the rocks out the back gate, but having good water access so close means we could get out early in the AM and then go on to fit in other activities!! I would love to stay here again for a longer time.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Memorable Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I and our 4 children ages 17,20,22 and 25 enjoyed a week long vacation in this home after spending 4 days in Oahu. When we saw downtown Kona we knew this is where we wanted to be. My husband had been stationed on the Big Island 30 yrs ago for the Coast Guard and had always wanted to return. We arrived at the house and it was everything and more than we expected. Jen and Ken provide you with everything you need on your vacation - beach chairs, umbrellas,boogie boards, suntan lotion(in case you forget yours) we even had a first aid kit that came in handy when one of our boys cut his knee on a rock. The view from the master bedroom was beautiful - something I knew I would miss seeing every day. We spent a lot of evenings just walking around Kona going into the shops and restaurants/bars or sitting on the Lanai playing cards. Our favorite restaurant was Lulu because it was so relaxed - food was good and not to expensive. We toured the entire island - went to the Volcano National park, Southern most tip of the USA, Kona Brewery(great pizza and beer), Volcano Winery and the old Coast Guard Station but the favorite of all was Zip Lining at Akaka Falls - the locals were so friendly. We loved White"magic Sands beach because it was close by so we could go for a couple of hours then go site seeing because our girls had to work on their tans! We loved the ocean gate to look for sea turtles. I could go on and on - there is so much to do on this island it has a real beach feel to it and the locals are such great people. Thank you Jen and Ken for letting us rent your home and making us feel so welcome. I would totally recommend this to everyone - We hope some day to come back again to visit.
The Mignault Family -Boston
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This is the perfect home. Fantastic location, When we arrived there was absolutely no problems getting into the home as promised. The home is in Pristine condition. plenty of linens, towels & fully stocked kitchen as far as utensils. From all the silverware to the blender, pots, pans everthing you need for preparing just about any meal. Left over salt, pepper and some condiments from previous renters. The pictures on the internet do not do justice for this home. On the internet everything is MUCH nicer than the pictures. My wife & I stayed for a week with 2 other couples. Next year we will be staying a minimum of 2 weeks. At no point did we ever feel unsafe in this home. There are other residents who live year round in this small gated community and they kind of keep an eye on everything. But at the same time we never felt like we were being watched. The other neighbors are very friendly and as helpful as possible. The owner of the home, is extremely pleasant and helpful prior to your stay and has a helpful hint guide at the home which we found it to be extremely helpful. From where to shop for groceries, to great resturants, a local snorkle dealer who rents his equipment by the week. We have stayed at other Island homes, and you were just pretty much on your own. The owner wants you to make the most of your vacation and is very willing to help you in pretty much any way he can prior to your arrival and even during your stay.
My list of bad points about the house: Well, there aren't any. As far as I am concerned this is the perfect home. We travel to Hawaii every year and stayed at some other rental homes, but we have found the home that we will use everytime we go the Big Island. No more searching for rental homes for us. I have said before but don't mind saying it again PRISTINE, PERFECT HOME!!!!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront - Unique Gated Community Next to White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226615vb
+1 808-315-7661
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Beautiful house in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had agreat time, the house was spacious, beautiful, clean, and well maintained. The owner provided excellent, helpful, service, even when we booked the house last minute. We liked Lava Java for breakfast, and Huggos On the Rocks for drinks and sunset. Surfing and beaches were very close.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.