Newfound Lake chalet rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Newfound Lake Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 8

Our lake home looks onto beautiful and clean Newfound Lake. The private shared access beach is 300 yards away. Wellington State Park and beach is 1/4 mile away, with a free public boat launch. The house sits on a private lot and the large deck has water views. Off-street parking for 4 cars. New insulation and siding in fall 2011. The house has pergo flooring throughout the first floor, modern full size appliances and a gas cooking stove. Many recent furniture upgrades too! The living area is open and spacious as are the bedrooms. The master bedroom on the first floor has a queen bed and a washer and dryer. The second bedroom has a queen bed and the third bedroom has a double and two twin beds. Hiking and snowmobile trails are within walking distance. Ragged Mtn. is 20 minutes away. Ice fishing and skating on the lake as well! Restaurants and stores nearby. Beautiful area, lots to do any time of year!

Summer: Swim in one of the cleanest lakes in the world and the deepest in New Hampshire. Bring your canoe, motor boat or sailboat and enjoy Newfound Lake which is 2 miles wide and 7 miles long. Plenty of other things to do locally - hike, bike, view falls, nature reserves etc.

Winter: Ski/Snowboard at Ragged Mountain - 20 minutes away. Waterville Valley, Loon or Sunapee are 45 minutes away. Snowmobile trails nearby. Snowshoe, ice fish or ice skate too!

Fall: Take in the beautiful scenery around the lake. Nearby hike provides spectacular views! Nice scenic drives to take in all the foliage. If you've never visited NH this time of year, you won't be disappointed with the array of colors!

More Details
Hide Details

Heather grew up in nearby Plymouth, NH and spent a lot of time at Newfound Lake as a child. Jay is from Massachusetts, but vacationed in the New Hampshire lakes region with his family every summer. We both love the area and wanted to purchase a property where we could share the beautiful area with our two daughters and extended family.

Heather or Jay McGaffigan purchased this chalet in 2008

We toured several other houses for sale around Newfound and fell in love with the open spaciousness of this chalet. We knew it would be a great house to entertain friends and family, as well as a great rental property. We liked the location near Wellington State Park and hiking trails and the closeness of the shared beach.

The house is fairly private and you do not hear the neighbors. The yard is big enough for our girls and friends to run around. There is ample parking for 4 cars in the driveway. The large deck is a great place to hang out and dine on in the summer months. The interior has modern appliances, countertops and flooring, which bring warmth to the house.

11 Reviews of Property 226419 in Newfound Lake, New Hampshire

charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Needed a place to stay when my daughter got married at Ragged Mountain. Wonderful, large house that was so well stocked with the basics, plus a washer and dryer. Very clean and no problems at all. The landlords were wonderful answering questions and being very accommodating. Have nothing bad to say and will definitely stay here again when in the area.
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

Fabulous Week on the Lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I spent last week on Newfound Lake in this adorable retreat. We rent vacation spots a couple of times each year and this spot does not disappoint! Newfound Lake itself is great, of course, but the house is charming too. There's plenty of space (we had 4 adults and 2 kids), the front deck is huge and overlooks the lake, the washer and dryer came in very handy, and it's only about 3 minutes to the closest little market which is all we ever needed. We found it homey, welcoming and relaxing. There were lots of fans ready for us to use as we pleased, the kitchen was well equipped, and the little one enjoyed discovering the cache of movies and games.

Heather was very accommodating and responded to all inquiries quickly. I have no hesitations recommending this location to other potential renters.
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

Great Family week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were very comfortable in this well kept home during our stay. It was very spacious for a family of four, and the owners are very considerate having furnished and maintained the house very well. We appreciated how much they thought about their tenants' experience. The binder full of suggestions for eating out, sight-seeing and shopping is brilliant. We consulted it every day--better than internet or GPS. Every little thing we thought of turned out to be right there-from kitchenware to beach chairs, to night lights and fans. And we learned to play almost all of the board games.

Our Family of four with young kids enjoyed the beach space every day. Newfound lake is phenomenally clean (literally "clean" and clear water) and pretty. The beach for this home has a rocky shore for the first few feet--water shoes could make it easier for kids to get in, (as another reviewer accurately noted) and with goggles and snorkels, our kids loved exploring the waters every day. We ran into families with kids in the neighboring rental properties and our kids remember their stay very fondly. --A whole week of what's-not-to-like?! It was 100% positive for us.

The unknowns and points of concern for us were: safe parking for car? bathroom fit the bill? Can we store and prepare food, and will beds, sleeping conditions, leave something to be desired? Can we wash clothes? We were relieved and pleasantly surprised as all needs were met. If you feel a need for a yard to run and play in, you won't really have that, but the gathering and living spaces are very nice, and this home has it's own shared beach space with a beautiful view. Even people with the highest standards would have to see this home as modest but quaint, and charming. I can't imagine anyone who is looking to relax being disappointed with this property or area.
Thank you HG and JG!
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

Great weekend getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a wonderful weekend ! We were at the lake for a wedding. The cottage was very spacious and clean! The location was great. We enjoyed crossing the street and heading to the beach and walking around the state park. There was plenty of room for a family gathering due to the size of the cottage and the deck; everyone had a wonderful time. First time at Newfound Lake; it may not be our last!
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

Lovely Lake House - will return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I stayed at this house for 10 days in June-July. This was the first time I rented a vacation house on-line, sight unseen. We were a little nervous that the pictures would overstate the quality of the house, etc. However, we were so pleased when we arrived to see that all was just as the pictures described, and overall our stay vastly exceeded our expectations. The house is very clean, and nice with lots of newer amenities to make it comfortable. The house is very close to lovely Wellington State Park with one of the most beautiful alpine beaches we've ever seen. The clarity of the water is remarkable. It was the perfect place for us with a 4 year old in the family. Close to groccery etc., really enjoyed Audobon Nature Center as well. We are definately coming back years to come - can't wait for the Fall trip!
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
United States
5

Great Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I loved our week at this quaint and perfectly located rental! The kitchen and front deck were great for hosting small gatherings and cooking summer dinners at home. We hiked every day (the trail head is in walking distance from the house) and loved swimming in Newfound Lake. We enjoyed the house so much that we are renting it again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
Methuen, MA/USA
5

Great Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I have been going to Newfound Lake since I was a toddler. This lake is perfect for a great family vacarion. Nothing "touristy" about it. My husband and I now go with our kids! This home was great! Not too "rustic", but also you didn't feel like you were in someone's home you couldn't relax in. Livinroom/dining area was spacious. The walk to the beach is very SHORT. Great sandy area for the kids to dig in. My kids did find the pebbles/stones when you first enter the water a LITTLE unpleasant. For young kids I would recommend water shoes. I would highly recommend this home to anyone interested in Newfound Lake
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
Billerica, MA
5

Love the Lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We visited Newfoundlake in the beginning of June and can not wait to return!
The cottage is absolutely adorable and you feel so at home! It is furnished perfectly with all the amenities of home in a beautiful rustic atmosphere.
The house is spacious and sleeps 8 very comfortably. The front porch overlooks the lake, with a beautiful view and lots of sunshine throughout the day!
There is a beach nearby and lots of State Conservation land for hiking and walking!
Perfect for both families or couples looking for a terrific get a way!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
5

My first time at Newfound Lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We were thrilled with the location, the privacy, the cleanliness and the place was a lot bigger than we expected. We were able to sit out on the front deck and relax, cook out and enjoy the lake view. The owners not only left us great directions, they provided a binder with all things to do at the lake!! golf, restaurants, hiking trails, pubs with phone numbers, and directions. There was a country store about 5 minutes away that made it convenient for us forgetful people!

There were 8 adults, we couldn't have been more comfortable. Not one of us walked into each other all weekend long.

We will definitely be renting from this family again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
charming, private, comfortable, quiet, open
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226419
+1 978 649-5585
Newfound Lake Lakes Region
Gloversville
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
very nice rental property,great location,spacious and very comfortable plenty of room and very nicely maintained, not to mention the beautiful lake across the street, would rent this again without hesititation great communication with owners,and real nice people to work with, if you want a great rental in NH this is it, Enjoy your stay, WE DID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway