San Diego condo rental - Chic & trendy living room and cozy fireplace
Chic & trendy living room and cozy fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

San Diego Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This chic & trendy penthouse condo is an ideal destination for business, convention or vacation travelers. It is very well located, just a short walk to the Convention Center, Gaslamp District and Petco Park.

Hop on the trolley to Balboa Park, home of the world-famous San Diego Zoo and thirteen world-class museums. Trolley also takes you to Petco Park, Convention Center, Gaslamp District, and Seaport Village. Doing some business with the County of San Diego? Take the Blue Line to the County Administration Building, then on to Fashion Valley, where you can shop high-end designer boutiques, Nordstrom's, Neiman Marcus, Bloomies and more. Next on to Mission Valley with a myriad of consumer-friendly stores, or continue on to take in a game at Qualcomm Stadium.

Nearest Airport : San Diego International Airport at 5 Miles

Nearest Train : Amtrak / The Coaster at 2 Miles

Nearest Motorway : Highway 163, 5 North or South at 1 Miles

Nearest Beach : beach at 8 Miles

Car: recommended

Ideally located near the Convention Center, Petco Park, Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, Balboa Park & the San Diego Zoo, thirteen world-class museums, and a spectacular marina. Just a few steps to the trolley or have the Pedicabs take you everywhere downtown. Amtrak & the Coaster are minutes away, as is the San Diego International Airport. Just 15 minutes to the shimmering Pacific Ocean, the Boardwalk, La Jolla, world class shopping...San Diego has it all! Make your Great Escape plans today!

Spacious and new, this one bedroom Penthouse condo has a long list of amenities! Designer decor, fireplace, two flat screen TV's, surround sound, free local phone service, hi-speed internet, sunny and inviting. Great granite bar, fully equipped kitchen and elegant bedroom with an ultra-comfort Queen bed, huge closet and ample storage space. Additional sleeping accommodations are provided by the living room's Queen-size, coil-spring mattress sofa-bed. Roomy full bath includes tub, shower and plenty of granite counter space. Pack light and save....the stack washer/dryer, iron & board will keep you looking and feeling fresh as a daisy. Entertain guests on the lovely roof deck and enjoy the San Diego skyline. Quality 2 burner propane BBQ will sizzle up a great steak....saute those mushrooms on the side burner and wine and dine under the stars. a relaxing turn in the jacuzzi will relieve the stress of a long day. Programmable forced heat and air conditioning for your comfort!

Secure underground parking included:

Other Activities: Padres Petco Park, Chargers Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego Zoo, SEaport Village, Gaslamp District, Little Italy

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 369193 in San Diego, California

An 'Island' in the Sky!
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
Tucson, AZ
5

Beautiful property. Has everything you need.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a wonderful place for a getaway. We stayed a week and had a wonderful, relaxing time. although we did not do a lot of cooking, everything you would need was there. Grocery store was in walking distance. We drove from Arizona but never needed to use the car once we arrived.The location was right on the trolley line that would take you any where you wanted to go. Very convenient. We could not have been happier with our choice and would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in the heart of San Diego. Great restaurants and bars. A major plus.
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
5

Extremely Satisfied!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We rented this condo for a month and we were extremely satisfied. The unit was very clean and well appointed. The building is extremely well maintained, and was very quiet. In addition, the other residents were sooo friendly. City streetnoise was never a problem, even though were are light sleepers. The location is ideal, with everything within easy walking distance. However, a big plus for us was the trolleystop at the corner. We had planned to rent a car, but never got around to it : an inexpensive 30-day MTS pass got us everywhere, from the Mexican border, all the way to Carlsbad, and anywhere in between.
Patti, the property manager was very courteous and highly professional.
Bottom line: we had a great San Diego experience, thanks to a wonderful stay at this condo. We have recommended it to friends and would not hesitate to rent it again if our travels would lead us to San Diego again.
Owner's Response: Another satisfied Canadian "snowbird"! This charming couple are absolutely delightful and I fervently hope they return again and again! San Diego has so much to offer....I'm not sure they sampled everything, but maybe with more time here, they will see and do even more.
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
5

perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Loved staying here! Patti was great, the unit was as lovely as it looks in the pictures (even better, actually). The place was SPOTLESSLY clean. The elevator talks to you, sometimes in a British accent. There are several grocery stores close by, and restaurants and even a great tavern/bowling alley. The kitchen was stocked with all of the appliances, utensils, and spices that you need. The bed was great, and I missed it when I got back home to my own beat-up mattress. The only dislikes: the wi-fi was slow, and my boyfriend is 6'2" and kept hitting his head on the spiral staircase. But everything else was wonderful! Patti even went out of her way to accommodate our schedule and let us check in early.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
5

perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Loved staying here! Patti was great, the unit was as lovely as it looks in the pictures (even better, actually). The place was SPOTLESSLY clean. The elevator talks to you, sometimes in a British accent. There are several grocery stores close by, and restaurants and even a great tavern/bowling alley. The kitchen was stocked with all of the appliances, utensils, and spices that you need. The bed was great, and I missed it when I got back home to my own beat-up mattress. The only dislikes: the wi-fi was slow, and my boyfriend is 6'2" and kept hitting his head on the spiral staircase. But everything else was wonderful! Patti even went out of her way to accommodate our schedule and let us check in early.
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
5

Island Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed here for a romantic get-away and it was awesome. First off, Patti is GREAT! She is very helpful and accommodating! She showed us everything about what the condo had to offer, tips on food shopping and the surrounding area.
The condo is fabulous. Don't be thrown off by the one bedroom, its HUGE! There is plenty of space to stretch out and just enjoy breathing. The bed feels like a throne and is very comfortable. Plenty of linens etc. The bathroom is gigantic and the water is super soft! Bring some bubbles and sit in the tub for a bit. There is plenty of room in the living and dining areas to entertain if needed. I cook three meals a day, and in this kitchen I had no issues. Just bring your own cutting board. There are plenty of pots, pans, skillets, utensils, knives, even cookie sheets and foil! If you spice with more than salt and pepper, bring those too. There are many table settings and even a dishwasher if washing dishes isn't your thing. You have to try the rooftop! Just sit up there at night and look up. It will take your breath away. Those aren't planes, those are stars!
I was amazed at how close yet how far this condo is from Gaslamp. Just a few blocks away is plenty of music, food, nightlife, people watching and the like. Yet, this little hideaway is super quiet. You would never believe a trolley depot is on the corner! All of Gaslamp and most of San Diego is covered with mass transit. Walk to the corner and you can go anywhere. Even Mexico for the day!
All in all our stay was amazing. There is no needed to keep looking around. Just call Patti and book it!
Owner's Response: Their stay was this lovely couple's Valentine's Day celebration and I'm so glad they enjoyed themselves so much! Of course, everyone seems to, as well...just nice to hear!

Good tip about the cutting board! I hadn't realized we did not provide one. Consider it done! Come back again and again!
Cheers,
Patti & the Great Escape Team
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
5

Top Notch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Stayed 2 weeks in this great, secure and modern condo in the middle of everything! Seriously a hassle-free stay! Wi-fi included, a necessary plus these days! Big food market a block away if you want to cook. You can even save on the market bill with the membership card attached to the condo keys!!! Buy your wine at the food market and save$$ The kitchen is well equipped and we had one of our best steaks ever over the BarBQ located on the private terrace! Great restaurants a few blocks away! Walking distance to all major points of interest... Balboa Park only a 20 minute stroll away! If you're renting a car, you have the easiest highway access ever just a few blocks away! We even walked back from the airport after returning our rental car, enjoying a great view of the bay! Concerning a remark I read in one of the reviews, even though the transit passes in front, we were never bothered by it and I am a very light sleeper!
Patti was very available to all our needs, which were few! Great place to stay in San Diego!!!
Owner's Response: We are so blessed to have delightful guests such as these folks from Canada, kind enough also, to share their experiences in order to help other guests in decision making. Welcome back anytime!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
United States
5

Downtown San Diego - City Chic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Spent a week at Island in the Sky and was very pleased. The condo is just as pictured and maybe even better! The layout is awesome and the location was equally great for getting everywhere I wanted to go while on my vacation.
The building was also very nice and well maintained and the neighbors I passed in the hallway or on the talking elevator were friendly as well.
The condo amenities were first class. The kitchen was well appointed and I used it a couple of times to prepare a home cooked meal or snack. The condo was very nicely decorated, especially for a rental. Considering all you get with this as opposed to a traditional hotel it wins hands down.
Finally, Patti, the property manager was absolutely wonderful to work with. She greeted me at the condo, showed me where to park, explained all the details about the area and the building and offered her advice on things to do and places to see.
This was a definite 100% vacation property in my opinion and I would rent it again the next time I am in San Diego. To be truthful, I could easily reside in this condo and area of San Diego. Big condo, nicely appointed, washer/dryer/, walk-in closet, gourmet kitchen, flat panel TVs, surround sound stereo, underground/secure parking and a lovely building - what else can I say?
If you're considering a hotel, add up the cost for a one room 400 sq ft box, then add tax, parking, etc. this condo beats it every single time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This gal was such a delight to work with from our first conversation to the reservation to finally greeting her at the condo and getting her settled in! Just so much fun and I knew she'd really like the accommodations. Hope to see her come back soon and enjoy our Valued Repeat Guest Discount!
Hope it doesn't sound like I'm bragging, but for whatever reason and however they find me, my guests are THE NICEST PEOPLE! Love this job because of guests like this!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
Canada
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We stayed here for over a month to escape from a Canadian winter and we really enjoyed it.

The location is in the East Village and is very convenient. It is a 4 or 5 block walk to the heart of the Gaslamp District. The Park & Market Trolley station is a half block from the building entrance. There is an Albertsons grocery store 2 blocks away. We found that we didn't need a car between walking and riding the Trolley and buses. However, if you have a car or rent one, there is good, secure underground parking.

The Condo itself is spacious and well equipped. The Condo was very clean and also very quiet. You hear a bit of a whoosh when the Trolleys go by but we got used to it quickly and never noticed it after that. We used the BBQ on the roof frequently and enjoyed that area as well.

All in all, we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: This delightful couple is welcome back any time! They were a joy to work with, provided several helpful suggestions and took advantage of local restaurant specials I e-mailed them.

Many Canadian guests, as well as visitors from round the world have enoyed this location; especially business travelers who appreciate the close proximity to the Convention Center.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
Las Vegas
5

A Wonderful Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We went to beautiful San Diego for a family reunion and we refuse to stay in a hotel. Found this place and loved it!
Patti was very nice from the first phone call to the last. Very professional and very helpful. The condo was very clean and well stocked. Decorated very tastefully and has everything you need in the kitchen. Love the spiral staircase to the roof top where you can sit and cook on the gas grill. Location is wonderful for it is close to everything you need to go.
Up to now our 4 year old cannot stop talking about the place we stayed in San Diego. Our 4 and 1 year old boys loved that they can look out the window and see the trolley pass by. They spend a lot of time looking out the window in the living room, so sorry for all their little tiny hand prints in the window! :)
Will recommend to friends and family and will definitely be back next time we are in San Diego. Thank you Patti!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
An 'Island' in the Sky!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369193vb
+1 8662333999
San Diego San Diego County
Ohio
5

Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My group consisted of three adult males, one adult female, and we had plenty of space! In fact, the condo is actually larger than it appears in photographs, which was a big bonus. Not pictured currently is the walk-in closet located in the bedroom, which was great for keeping freshly ironed clothes neat and wrinkle-free.

The owner was incredibly helpful to us. She not only met us outside the property to show us in, but she also provided us with maps and discount cards to local groceries (which saved us quite a bit of money!) Both laundry detergent and dish washing soap were provided and appreciated. There was no shortage of towels or washcloths, either.

While we had a rental car, we quickly discovered that we didn't actually need it. It was a 10-15 minute walk to get to many dining spots as well as the convention center. The closest grocery was only about two blocks from the condo, and there are convenience stores nearby, as well. There's even a great breakfast spot right (Mission-SOMA) on the same block as the condo. We did not use it often, but there was a trolley stop right outside of the condo, as well.

We had a great stay, and hope to rent this condo again in the future!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: These charming folks planned their Great Escape to enjoy the festivities offered by the ComiCon extravaganza, where costumed comic book afficianados take over downtown San Diego for a week. They found much more and want to return next year.

Downtown San Diego always has something special to offer, whether it be professional baseball at Petco Park, fascinating gatherings of professionals at the Convention Center, the art festival in Little Italy or the many events planned year round in Balboa Park, home of the world famous San Diego Zoo and 14 world class museums.

Hope they return, and you're welcome, too, for as little as a 3-night stay or a month. Call today for availabilities!
Helpful votes: 3/3