Saugatuck / Douglas house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps18
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Full Baths, (Sleeps 18)

WELCOME TO ALLEGAN ACRES.

THE HOUSE:

You will find that this property offers every amenity one could desire from a vacation rental, and much more. New to the rental market in 2009, this gorgeous 4,000 square foot house has just been tastefully re-decorated with an eclectic blend of antiques and modern furniture. The house has been freshly painted and hardwood floors throughout the home have been refinished. There is central A/C throughout, and dimmers on almost every light switch. An entertainer's dream, ALLEGAN ACRES boasts 3 fireplaces, a library with marble surround fireplace & filled with books, state-of-the-art surround sound stereo system with speakers throughout the interior & exterior of the home and wireless or cable i-pod connection, high speed wireless internet, DISH satellite TV, and 4 TV's with DVD's & DVR's, including 1 large flat screen in the great room/living room. You will find the finished basement to be a gaming paradise which features a pool & ping pong table, darts, game table, stereo speakers, TV, and bar. Careful attention has been paid to every detail to anticipate your basic needs and decadent desires. Even sanitized Crocs are provided for your enjoyment.

THE OUTDOOR SPACE:

On the nearly 3-acre, beautifully landscaped property, you can choose from taking a dip in the large in-ground heated swimming pool, soaking in the six-person hot tub, lounging around the pool deck, grilling out on our gas weber grill and dining al fresco under the pergola - all within the privacy of the 6-foot cedar fence. There are plenty of pool chairs, traditional and 'zero-gravity' loungers, and a new outdoor sectional sofa, with coffee table. Beyond the fence, an additional acre of trees and lawn includes a large gravel fire pit with adirondack chairs for bonfires. You can also enjoys a variety of activities provided by us including: badminton, volleyball, bocce ball, and other outdoor activities, or just take a nap amidst the trees, in one of the hammocks.

THE BEDROOMS:

The MASTER SUITE, located on the ground floor, sleeps 2 on its king bed with mattress heater. It has a beautiful pool/backyard view, and french doors leading out to the patio. There is also a large in-suite master bath with walk-in shower, large jacuzzi bathtub, and marble vanity. The room is furnished with antique armoire, 2 bedside table with reading lamps, and a beautiful antique wooden bench and stool.

The LIBRARY BEDROOM, located on the ground floor, sleeps 2 on its queen leather sleep sofa. It has a view of the front yard, gorgeous custom mahogany bookshelves and molding/trim, it's own french doors with privacy blinds, a closet, writing desk & chair, large upholstered reading chair, desk, marble surround fireplace (non-functional), and queen leather sofa sleeper.

The NORTH UPSTAIRS BEDROOM sleeps 2 on its bed with queen mattress and heated mattress pad. It is equipped with remote controlled ceiling fans and lighting, large closets, bedside tables with reading lamps, sitting chairs, beautiful large antique trunk. There is also an additional large closet/room with its own door which includes a reading light and small wood crib ideal for 1 infant.

The UPSTAIRS BUNK BED ROOM sleeps 2 on its 2 twin mattresses (bunk bed) with mattress heaters, fan, bedside table, closet, and reading light.

The SOUTH UPSTAIRS BEDROOM sleeps 2, and is similar to the north upstairs bedroom. It has all of the same features, with the exception of the additional closet with crib, but is a bit larger and has it's own TV/VCR/DVR.

The BASEMENT BEDROOM sleeps 4 on its 2 twin mattresses (bunk bed) and a separate bed with a queen mattress, all with mattress heaters. It also features a fan, bedside table, closet, reading light, and it's own working pedestal sink.

The OTHER SLEEPING AREAS include a queen sleeper sofa in the front room located on the first floor of the house, and a queen sleeper sofa located in the main basement area.

THE 3 BATHROOMS:

The MASTER BATH, described above, is part if the master suite. There is also a powder room on the ground floor, which features a walk-in shower. There is also a large bathroom upstairs with a shower/tub and large tiled vanity.

THE KITCHEN & DINING:

The new, spacious, modern, fully-equipped kitchen (including granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and professional range & oven) will make cooking and entertaining a pleasure. Dining options include seating for 6 in the formal dining room, seating for up to 12 at the harvest table (handcrafted from reclaimed barn wood) in the eat-in kitchen/great room, seating for 10 at the hardwood table under the outdoor pergola, or casual dining for 6 (with umbrella) on the pool deck, or at the at one of the many bistro tables around the pool deck, or at the picnic table on the lawn.

THE OTHER FEATURES:

Other features include a 2 car garage, mud room, and laundry room with a full-sized washer & dryer.

THE ART COAST OF MICHIGAN:

Allegan county includes the towns of Saugatuck, Douglas, and Fennville – a community often referred to as the 'Art Coast of Michigan' because of its thriving arts scene including galleries, antique shops, studios, museums, and live theater. Just 10-15 minutes from downtown Saugatuck, Douglas, & the Lake Michigan beaches, ALLEGAN ACRES is a peaceful, rural retreat, within walking distance to the up-and-coming downtown area of Fennville.

We are located in a quiet, rural area, but walking distance to downtown Fennville, which includes a grocery store and restaurants.

We are also 5 minutes from several great attractions:

1. FennValley Winery & Vineyard tours and tastings

2. Crane's U-Pick Orchards

3. Virtue Cider Tasting Room & Orchards

4. Antiques shopping

5. Fresh farm stands

ALLEGAN ACRES is the perfect choice for family vacations/reunions, and gatherings of friends. Our goal is simple: we want you to have such a great vacation experience at ALLEGAN ACRES, that you will want to tell others and return again & again.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 220605 in Saugatuck / Douglas, Michigan

Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Dorr, MI
5

Holiday Party

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is the second year in a row we rented this house for our holiday getaway weekend. The layout of this house is excellent for a large group of people. Very comfortable for large group and feels like a home away from home. Fully stocked kitchen, but could use a little maintenance, it was hard to find glasses without stains. However, lots of dishes, bowls, and pots/pans to feed a large group. House is very clean and well maintained, except for a few dishes that didn't seem clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

THE place to stay in SW Michigan!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Spectacular barely describes this home and all its amenities! The listing photos cannot begin to capture all this home has to offer - you have to see it for yourself. My only regret was that we only stayed 2 nights. This house wowed us from the street and just kept getting better and better. The kitchen was fully stocked with every imaginable utensil and culinary tool. The decor had an earthy feel to it while not looking dated. The grounds (3 acres) offered room to roam with fire pit, tree swing, hammock and space for us to play. But my favorite part had to be the fenced in back yard where we sat for morning coffee near the pool and hot tub. Afternoons/evenings the heated pool provided fun and relaxation. At night a book by the fire pit while roasting marshmallows finished a perfect day. They even supplied us with a garage door opener so if felt like we were pulling into our own home instead of a rental. Don't make the same mistake we did - if you travel to SW Michigan, stay at Allegan Acres for AT LEAST a week if you can. The area has plenty to offer and the home will feel like your own!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
4

Great home and outdoor area

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Loved the home and all it had to offer; however, the upstairs bedrooms were very hot and uncomfortable as the air conditioning did not cool them.
Owner's Response: I take great pride in providing a rental home that is comfortable and enjoyable in every aspect, and the positive feedback and reviews that I receive are consistent with that fact. In the four years that I have been renting this house, I can't recall any other complaints about the temperature of the house. I have personally stayed at the house with my family during some extremely hot summer weather, and we have always been comfortable. That said, the temperatures did reach into the upper 90's during this renter's stay, and heat does rise so that the upstairs will be warmer than the lower floors. To help make renters more comfortable, most bedrooms have ceiling fans and there are other portable fans available throughout the house. For extra warmth in the winter months, most beds have heated mattress pads. I have had the air conditioning inspected by an HVAC company and they have determined that everything is working fine.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Amazing house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had absolutely fabulous time at ALLEGAN ACRES! And this is the best house we're ever been, very clean, organized, beautiful desing and the best thing we found everything we possibly need. We definitly would love to come back again! Thank you very much!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Beautiful, Spacious Home With Many Amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Allegen Acres is a beautiful, clean home to enjoy getting away from it all. The house is well equipped with everything you could possibly think of. Being there during the winter, we were inside the entire time, but never felt like we were on top of each other. The house is spread out nicely, with many areas to just hang out. There were clear instructions for using everything, which was appreciated. Thank you for making the place so inviting. Our group was already making plans to go back before we even left!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Batesville, Indiana
5

Great Time!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My eyes were first opened last year on how beautiful Michigan was. So, this year we decided to get a group together and visit Michigan again. I found this house, I knew it was going to be perfect. The house is decorated beautiful, almost like our houses back home. But, most of our time was spent out by the pool. We had kids and adults in our group and it accomodated everyone wonderfully. My son loved it so much when we got home, he said to me (he's 3), "mom no more partying at the big house". I think everyone had the same thought. Great time, Great house, and Great Beaches, what else can a person ask for!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Lovely home, lots of amenities, great time to be had by all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Love this house. We recently stayed there with 14 of our closest friends and it was awesome. The property is beautiful and the house couldn't be more stocked with things renters may need, but forgot to pack. A couple of suggestions for the owner would be to maybe put a couple of hammocks outside, as well as more clear directions for the TV/stereo system in the main room.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm very glad to know that you enjoyed your time at Allegan Acres. We do our best to make all of the "how-to" instructions as clear as possible, and will have a new & improved electronics instruction guide by the summer of 2012. Also, we have 2 hammocks that we bring outside at some point in April/May each year. Again, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Indiana
5

Country getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Great house, loaded with everything to make a vacation stress free. Minutes from Oval Beach and downtown Saugatuck, spur of the moment trips are a snap. Or stay home and enjoy the game room or hottu .
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Belding, MI
5

Perfect get away for any occassion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
I was hosting a girls getaway weekend for my best friend who was getting married. Her, along with 11 other of us girls had a wonderful time at Allegan Acres! So many new memories were made throughout our weekend stay. We spent many hours just laughing, listening to the stereo and playing games while sitting around the big dining room table. The house was cozy and very welcoming.

Everyone was very pleased to have their own bed and it was nice having so many bathrooms for so many girls! Every detail within the home has been carefully thought through. From the bathrobes, stocked toiletries to the sanitized beach shoes we were able to use to run out to the hot tub!

We really enjoyed the area and had fun visiting the local vineyards and shops!

Some of us are already thinking of when we can get back together to come back for yet another vacation. (We may even include the husbands and kids next time!) Our stay was during the early spring season so we look forward to scheduling a summer retreat when we can make use of the beautiful inground pool!

Thank you Allegan Acres for helping us to create lasting memories on our vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Fabulous 4-Season Cozy Getaway:Pool,Outdoor Hot Tub,Fireplaces
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220605vb
(773) 307-6364 (Illinois, USA)
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
chicago,il
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We stayed at Allegen Acres this past weekend. The house is amazing, a true vacation home with every amenity you can think of! The home is immaculate and well-kept. Our group really enjoyed the backyard, hot tub and big open spaces. The beds are very comfortable and the lower level is a perfect place for kids to sleep and play! We would all highly recommend staying here any time of the year!
Helpful votes: 8/8