Wintergreen house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Wintergreen House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Important notes for prospective renters:

1)Our house gets rave reviews - see guestbook/'comments' link above!

2)We have WPI guest passess that allow for access to the fitness center and pools and access to Lake Monocan. Our website (shown below) has details on the benefits of guest passes.

Also, see our website (see link below) for lots of information about Wintergreen and the house.

Enjoy all four seasons of the Blue Ridge Mountains in our brand-new, large, exquisitely furnished, executive retreat. Located in Wintergreen Resort, which is located in beautiful (one stoplight) Nelson County, is just south of Charlottesville, Virginia. Wintergreen is the perfect mountain retreat for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy hiking, biking, golf, tennis, skiing, and other activities, as well as those who just want to kick back and relax. Locally, there are many interesting activities, such as vineyards, shopping, fishing, kayaking, horseback riding, and sightseeing at significant historical sites.

Our spacious, 3000-plus-square-foot, luxury, vacation home is conveniently located just two-and-one-half lots (approximately 200 feet) away from the Tyro ski slope and across the street from a hiking trail. Our home has the true mountain feeling with a wonderful wooded site and some views of the ski slopes and the mountains.

This non-smoking home features:

* Upper level: two large master bedrooms with king-size beds; great room and gourmet kitchen (with breakfast bar) with soaring tongue-and-groove wood ceiling and lots of windows; wood burning fireplace and new LED TV with Netflix streaming, HD channels and with surround sound; private executive office with broadband internet, free long-distance telephone, and printer/copier/fax machine; powder room; deck and gas grill.

* Lower level: master bedroom with queen-size bed and two additional bedrooms (one with queen bed and one with double + bunk bed) that share a full bathroom; highly functional mud room to unwind after a day on the slopes that includes a ski and snowboard stand, bench to remove your shoes or boots, plenty of hooks for your jackets and gloves, and front-loading washer and dryer; living/recreation room with a 50' TV and surround sound and HD channels, Xbox 360 and games, and table and chairs for card games, puzzles, or using your laptop with a wireless broadband internet connection.

Overall, our well-appointed vacation house is ideal for large families or shared by several families, or as your corporate retreat. This is a fabulous home for a very reasonable price.

Keywords: House, Mountaintop, Slopes

More Details
Hide Details

The Hamiltons - Gina, Ryan, Braxton, and Chris

Gina and Chris Hamilton purchased this house in 2006

Wintergreen is great and wish we could spend more time there. There is so much to do at Wintergreen and the surrounding area in all seasons.

The outdoors and the country living. Folks are nice, lot's of activities and it is really relaxing after working in the big city (DC).

95 Reviews of Property 73537 in Wintergreen, Virginia

Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
average rating of 4.989362 based on 95 reviews
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Chesapeake, VA
5

Perfect Summer Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Grandparents, their children and grandchildren enjoyed a long weekend at "Wintergreen Getaway". The 11 of us greatly enjoyed the comfortable mountain August weather in this beautifully decorated, well-appointed home. The home was very clean & well cared for. Gina and Chris were very helpful in making our reservation and available when we had questions. The kids all loved swimming in Lake Monocan.
We will definately return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Wintergreen fun - great for families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
we had 2 families with 4 kids and the house was perfect. 2 masters upstairs and 3 bedrooms downstairs. Close to the skiing and activities.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Family fun winter vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time staying here. The house was perfect for our family. The kids really enjoyed the games in the downstairs living room and the adults really enjoyed the kids wanting to be in the downstairs living room. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. The mud room was perfect for all our snow gear. I used the office for some work back home. The beds were very comfortable. The kids had a blast and so did the adults. If I had to give a complaint on anything it would be the hot water really didn't last long and we had to plan out our baths, but everything else was perfect. We would defiently stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Just a quick point of clarification on the hot water - we have an instant hot water heater, which probably is not ideal for filling a bathtub versus an 80 gallon tank. It does work just fine for showers.
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Richmond, VA
5

Fabulous ski house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Fabulous well-appointed home withing walking distance of the slopes. Large room downstairs with the latest screen technology thoroughly enjoyed by our teenagers.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Annapolis, MD
5

Great House for Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We just returned from our trip to Wintergreen and had a wonderful time at this lovely home. The owners are a pleasure to work with!
We visited with 6 adults and 4 kids (ages 9-2). The combination of the rooms and space worked perfectly for our group. If you have an infant there are lots of toys, playpen, highchair, a swing, activity center, books, etc. What a fantastic feature for parents with a baby!! If you have older children the xbox (with games and 3 remotes), streaming netflix, smart flat screen tvs, games and Foosball table are a hit. The beds are all very comfortable with different style pillows. Extra blankets dot the house and the beds have flannel sheets in the winter. Lots and lots of storage. The upstairs hardwood floors can be a little loud downstairs so we brought humidifiers that drown out the noise and add extra moisture to the dry winter air. (this was totally expected and accounted for) The mudroom is great for storing skiis, boots, and to wash clothing. The passes to the pool allow you access but you do have to pay a fee. The internet is much faster than we have experienced at Wintergreen previously.
The home is new and very well cared for. It is one of the best stocked kitchens we have rented thus far. Most items are there if you need it including a slow cooker which is great for a easy ski season hearty meal. The dining room table is huge and was great for our group.
The access to Tyro is up a pretty good hill so we had a non skiier run us up but even our 5 year old nephew could walk back from the path. (its the last bridge access on tyro at the bend in the slope before you hit the bottom)
Our only hiccup would be the driveway- it's really steep and can get very icy. If you don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle you aren't getting up it in the winter. Salt would be great to add to the house and a service to clear the driveway even better. We were able to park a full size truck, Suburban and Pilot but any more would be difficult.
All in all we certainly were pleased with this home. If a hot tub was added it would be perfection. We absolutely will return to this home. If you rent it you won't regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Great property, great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My extended family stayed at this home over Thanksgiving and we were extremely happy with it. We had 7 adults and 5 children and the home fit our needs perfectly. It was well equipped and a nice size. The views were lovely and the home was very clean and neat. Toys, high chairs and a pack-and-play were available and were useful for us.
The only negative aspects of the home were the driveway (very slippery for cars and people), the lack of paper towels (bring extra, only a roll or two was provided) and the baby gate that we installed at the top of the stairs (flimsy and should not be relied upon with small children). These things were minor, though, and we would stay here again.
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Indian wells, ca
4

Stay at wintergreen getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We spent the Christmas holiday with our family and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had cold and rainy weather and had a fire going most days. There was plenty of room for all of us and the downstairs room worked great for the kids. The house is well-equipped and we cooked in frequently. I recommend it highly for groups of 6-10 people..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Perfect mountain getaway for families with children!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This home was nothing short of amazing. They have thought of every detail to make your stay both easy and enjoyable. They have everything a family with young children could possibly need from a pack and play, two high chairs, kids silverwear and plates and cups, toys, books, games... just everything. There was even an infant swing too! We had the most amazing time, the home was spotlessly clean and the view was just amazing. I could not say enough positive things about this rental. We will be visiting again for sure!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

A Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a great place for a large family vacation! The home is beautiful and easily accommodates three generations. Everything you need for a week's stay is provided in this home. We especially enjoyed family dinners on the deck and early morning walks through the mountain. The grand kids loved the Foosball table and having their own tv and dvd player downstairs.The highlights for the grand kids were the zip line and bungee trampolines at Discovery Ridge. We discovered the Sherando Lakes near the end of our stay; what a gorgeous and inexpensive place to spend an afternoon. If you're looking for something other than the usual summer/beach vacation, come to to the Wintergreen Getaway. There's something for everyone in your family here. Best endorsement is probably from the ten year old in the group who teared up when we had to leave this "awesome" house.
business
Large and Luxurious Exec 5BR House - Summer weeks $1,800!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73537vb
(703) 339-9617
Wintergreen Central Virginia
United States
5

Awesome Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Incredible house. Tons of kid toys which was an unexpected bonus. Main room is professionally decorated with a nice kitchen and plenty of room for 2 families. The setup of 3 master bedrooms and 2 kids rooms worked out great and we would rent again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway