Old Center apartment rental - Stunning view on the old harbour!
Stunning view on the old harbour!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

This beautiful spacious apartment is part of a 17th century house which is in the oldest part of historical Amsterdam; the heart of City. Admiral Michiel de Ruyter once was the owner if this beautifully restored house. It is located along the IJ-harbour where the proud ocean traveling vessels were anchored while preparing for their next voyage to the Indies.

The character of the house is defined by the famous Dutch Golden Age Admiral 'Michiel Adriaanszoon de Ruyter'. His cunning seamanship combined with excellent military leadership made him the most successful defender of Dutch merchants sailing the world seas.

We have tried to preserve the unique historical character of the building while calling out the rich history of its most famous formal owner 'Admiral Michiel Adriaanszoon de Ruyter'.

The house is completely renovated, meaning a complete renovation with respect of all ancient details of the building, and a tasteful redecoration that represents style and quality.

As the building is located on a corner, it is very light as it has many windows. And for that you can experience great views on two different panoramas of the city. This is quite unusual in Amsterdam as most of the monumental houses 'lean' to one another and therefore only have windows at the front and backside.

For your information; the stairways are wide and not steep. On both sides of the stairway you have support to hold on.

All the important museums are close and can be reached by foot, bike, tram, car or boat. There is a great variety of restaurants and pubs in the area. The so-called 'bruine caf├ęs' - typical Dutch pubs - are available in great numbers. More on walking distance: The Dam, The Nieuwmarkt, pubs, cinemas, theatres, the Anne Frank House, the Zoo, the red light district, many antique shops, famous art galleries, old churches, old synagogues, Waterloo square, as well as the great shopping streets like the P.C. Hooftstraat, and many many more things to see and do!

On the other side of the harbour you can visit the new Library which is the biggest in Europe. (Also books in many languages available).

The central station is just a nine minutes walk from your

apartment, which makes Schiphol Airport reachable within 30

minutes.

Other Amenities: Stylish and tastefully decorated and renovated apartment. Great Roof Terrace. Historical building from the year 1650. Spectacular view over the Amsterdam harbour, which is called 'The IJ'. Modern architecture as well as old ships and a replica of a 17th century vessel are part of the panorama. As the house is build on a corner, you also have a fantastic view on a typical Amsterdam canal. This canal is lined by monumental houses and buildings.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 225701 in Old Center, Netherlands

Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
+31 623356332
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Our third time in this fantastic apartment.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We arrived early from the airport and the owner was waiting for us. Very friendly and helpful as he helped us with our luggage. We stayed in this apartment for the third time. We have seen many apartments in Amsterdam. No one can compete with this apartment as it is clean and very light as there are windows everywhere and the views are stunning. (Many Amsterdam buildings are old warehouses with only windows at the front and the back which makes them very dark inside.) The bathroom is great (also a big size tub). The weather allowed us to use the roof terrace. We will keep coming back as it the best value for our money. Ruben Polak.
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
+31 623356332
Old Center Amsterdam
Seattle, WA
5

great apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My boyfriend & I took my nephews on a trip to Amsterdam and we stayed at this lovely apartment. It is VERY spacious and had everything we needed. The building is in excellent condition and the location was great - close to Centraal Station and on a sweet canal - walkable to everywhere with great views from every window. 5 min to Red Light District, 7 min to Dam Square, etc. Amsterdam is all very walkable, and if you rent a bike, you are really set!

The four of us were very comfortable there, and my nephews loved the rooftop terrace access from thier funky little room (with 4 single beds!) HUGE bathroom upstairs and an extra WC on the living room level. The only drawback was that with the windows open from the master bedroom, there was a bit of street noise. But if we wanted silence, we would have stayed in the country. :) The windows are good, and block out most of the noise when closed. There are a lot of stairs, but they are nice and wide - not steep ladders like you see in some canal houses.

I would rent this place again and recommend it to families traveling together.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
+31 623356332
Old Center Amsterdam
1

Beware!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This apartment could be such a jewel, it had clearly been restored beautifully some years ago but has fallen into disrepair. The manager lives two doors down but will not answer his phone, open the door or respond to messages once the financial transaction is complete (upon arrival). Specific problems were: broken interior windows taped up with brown package tape, a kitchen window which could not be closed gaping 15 inches (despite rainy conditions) a broken and non functioning cooking surface and microwave (only the oven would warm up), kitchen equipment in disarray and unclean, about half of all light fixtures broken, many lightbulbs burned out, fan broken, chairs broken, closets trashy and unfortunately very noisy from the busy street below (also throughout the night). The enjoyable features were a wonderful large bathtub with strong and hot water flow, lovely views from all rooms, especially the night view from the living room with lights over the water and the spaciousness of this maisonette apartment.
Owner's Response: Dear Irene, we are sorry that you where not completely happy with the apartment. As you can see all other reviews are very positive. We did have a broken window which we could only fix before you came with tape, as it had just happened. There was no time to get it fixed before your arrival. We apologize for that. However, we must say that your demands where really a bit out of range. If you call the house manager in the middle of the night 3 times asking where the hairdryer is, how the oven works and if can set up the ironing board. Meanwhile the music was turned extremely loud. Unfortunately we are not the owner of the Ritz or the Hilton. Still we hope that you come again and we will do our very best to make your stay a nice one. With regards, Rutger.
Helpful votes: 21/25
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
+31 623356332
Old Center Amsterdam
Phuket, Thailand
5

Lucky :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Brilliant! Location, equipment, charm, etc.. If the weather is good, you'll enjoy the "roof terrace"
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5