Harborton cottage rental - The Perfect Getaway
The Perfect Getaway
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Harborton Cottage Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom with fireplace and balcony plus a sleeping loft . Sleeps 3

Imagine getting away from it all by crossing a footbridge to an island Victorian cottage on a small lake. This guesthouse in Pungoteague is no mirage. Pretty Byrd Cottage on Evergreen Farm, an 18th century estate on the Chesapeake Bay, is a unique oasis which combines the best of today's conveniences with the charm of Victorian decor.

Surrounded by a three-acre pond, the cottage is accessible by walking across the footbridge or paddling over on the paddleboat. Enjoy breakfast on the Victorian Porch, then take a stroll through the gardens, or put on your bathing suit and stroll to the beach on the Chesapeake Bay. There are even kayaks if you are so inclined. You can even feed the fish from the bridge.

A charming retreat for couples or a pleasant solo getaway, Pretty Byrd Cottage is a unique and delightful experience.

18 Reviews of Property 225454 in Harborton, Virginia

A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
Asheville, NC
5

We're BACK again

We're BACK again
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
I can not believe that I am so late in submitting my 4th review of this beautiful property. We were here again May 2013 and felt like we were coming home. Cathy, Rhett, the geese and the fish in the protecting moat, welcomed us with open arms.

What made me realize this oversight was looking at their reservation calendar today and deciding to come again in May 2014. Last year we came back with the primary purpose of recovering from shoulder surgery. I had the same procedure on the other shoulder, so now it is time to put my feet up again.

For anyone looking to get away from it all and totally relax, this is an ideal location. The cottage is great and the hosts are better than family.(We want to come back)

Cathy and Rhett---we will see you soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
5

The perfect romantic get away!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I spent out honeymoon at this beautiful place. It is so much more than we expected. It is so quiet, clean and relaxing. The host are amazing. I hope we can go at least once a year from now on to celebrate our marriage. Words can not express how wonderful this place is you just have to go experience it for yourself. I will say the sun set is breathtaking. It a must do again and again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Perfect for amateur astronomers!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We chose Pretty Byrd as a place to view the December, 2012 Geminid Meteor Shower. We needed a really dark place to get away from the light pollution of southeastern Virginia, and this was it! It was perfect in every way, with a fully stocked kitchen, quick access outside (for viewing) and inside (for warming up). We loved it and will probably return during a new moon sometime in the spring for just ordinary astronomy.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Princess Mermaid Dreams DO Come True

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Where can I possibly begin ? Maybe with the words that "fairytales do come true"...in this lovely cottage they do. I brought my son, who is 10, here for Thanksgiving. From the jumping in after the paddle boat, to the walks through the woods, to the meals spenttalking to each other because there was no TV to pose a distraction, to the foods that allowed me to create the most beautiful breakfast table, there was not a moment that was not "magical". Rhet you greeted us and immediately set the tone and Cathy thank you for allowing me to come into your home and alert my friends to my arrival, lest they sent a search party out since I was not aware that cell fone reception was not available (not that I am complaing). My son thanked me several times for bringing him to this enchanted little hide away and my heart thanks you for creating it. I took so many pictures and cannot wait to include them in my BIG DREAM of publishing my own book. To capture your cottage, land and water was pure delight to my senses. We WILL be back. As you know, if I could, I would be celebrating my big 50 there the end of this month, but that won't stop me from simply celebrating life again at what I call "my" little castle on the Eastern Shore. Bless you for all the food, the generosity of your very hospitality and your creative flair. Have a blessed Christmas season. With warm and fond wishes, Michele and Ricardo !!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
5

A peaceful and romantic getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cottage was absolutely fabulous! It provided a wonderful, secluded getaway from a crazy, hectic life. It is so beautiful and peaceful surrounded by farmland and close to the Chesapeake Bay. We found a bottle of wine waiting on the counter and a scrumptious cheese and crackers to go with it. We enjoyed our wine on the back porch watching all of the butterflies as we celebrated the close of a great, enjoyable day. The refrigerator was stocked with more food than you could possibly eat, and we barely put a dent in the fresh breads, fruit, and goodies that were there. The cottage is just as charming as the photos depict with views from every porch and window, and it provided much needed refreshment and romantic time together. The cottage and grounds were very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our brunch we prepared in the fully stocked kitchen, cooking on the gas grill, and eating in the picturesque dining room. We enjoyed sitting on the bench and watching the boats on the bay, and we were able to walk back down the path to watch the sunset over the Bay later that evening. Our stay at the cottage was relaxing, and we didn’t want to leave. We are looking forward to our next stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Gorgeous, Peaceful and Picturesque

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Spectacular location, beautiful sunsets, and tastefully appointed property. The photos do not do this cottage justice! I booked this cottage for a week so that I could spend some time with my Husband as we celebrate our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. We typically spend very little time together when at home since we usually are going in different directions due to work and other commitments. We arrived at the cottage and found all that we needed... A place to rest and recharge, and each other. The cottage is breathtakingly charming our refrigerator was fully stocked and we even joked that the owners must have spied on our refrigerator and bathroom at home to outfit both with food and toiletries that we actually use daily. Lucky for us, it rained a little during our stay and the sound of the rain on the roof was beautiful and restful. Spending time on the porch and checking out the beautiful butterflies and birds was very refreshing and feeding the fish that live in the water surrounding the island was very entertaining. When we needed excitement we headed into town or paddle boated or kayaked on the beautiful Chesapeake bay just walking distance from the cottage. The entire stay was all we imagined and then some. Cathy and Rhet have an eye for beauty and a heart for hospitality. Spending a little time with them made our stay even better. We wish that we could have spent more time with them but there will be opportunities for that as we will be back, this time with our teenage child who I am sure will enjoy the wildlife and activities that the Pretty Byrd Cottage have to offer. I highly recommend the Cottage for couples or small families like ours, and a stay of less than a week will not do it justice because you will find yourself just winding down as it's time to leave if you stay a shorter time. Well done, Cathy and Rhet! Tkank you for providing a place for true rest and relaxation that we can use whenever we wish to. Hated to leave, but will be back!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
-
5

Creating Special Memories is Easy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This is our 3rd trip to this little piece of heaven. If you ever want to just--Get Away and reconnect--refuel the flames of your relationship--curl up with a good book or your partner--you will not find a better place than this. The frig is stocked with a better food selection than you will ever need for almost anything, so shopping is not a requirement. The cottage is extremely clean and tidy, as well as very nicely decorated with top quality furnishings.
If you are looking for a Party House this is not it. If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, classy place to have some down time and/or reconnect with your loved one, look no furthur.
Cathy and Rhett are also a font of information and are extremely helpful and just downright "Genuine and Honest folks".
Be sure to bring ninoculars to watch the wildlife and a nice wine to enjoy the sunsets.
Cathy and Rhett---we will be back.
Bob and Barbara
The Wright Inn
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
Dayton
5

Amazing Getaway ...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband isn't big on bed & breakfasts because he feels weird being in a house with the owners present. This cottage is completely private.

The Pretty Byrd Cottage is a treasure, a rare find. You just don't expect to find a private island in the middle of farm fields! After crossing the bridge, you enter a storybook cottage and begin your own fairy tale. The decor is gorgeous and full of surprises, with much attention paid to every detail. Fixing breakfast from the fully stocked refrigerator was delightful, as was sharing it at the cozy table outside the bedroom. Relaxing and reading in the wicker furniture on the back porch while watching the butterflies and hummingbirds was so restful. There are restaurants in town, but you won't want to be away from the cottage, so make a grocery run and pick up some fresh seafood at one of the roadside shops on your way in!

Don't forget to leave time for the paddle boat, feeding the fish from the bridge, walking the lane to admire the sunflowers, and kayaking on the Chesapeake Bay behind Rhett & Kathy's house, a historical treasure. You will understand why the swallows are so happy to live on this little island and never want to leave. We are already looking at the calendar for our next visit. Maybe when it is cold so we can use the fireplace!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
Severn, MD
5

A little piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Wow! This place was so very amazing!!!! Cathy and Rhet go above and beyond to make sure that you have everything you need! When they say stocked fridge they are not kidding. The added touch of the champange and birthday cake were so appreciated and enjoyed. It was so peaceful peddle boating over to the chairs on the little island sitting in the breeze and watching the birds, and geese. Feeding the fish from the footbridge was a highlight of every morning.
The cottage is just the most delightful tranquil place, a true slice of Heaven. From the moment I walked in I felt as if I was in a magical place. Clear skies made for awesome star gazing, and the kayaks were perfect for a relaxing float on the bay. I did not want to leave.
We will surely return for another moment of paradise.
Highly recommend for anyone who needs to get away to relax, rejuvinate and spend some quality time with a loved one.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
A Romantic Victorian cottage on your very own island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225454
757 442-3375
Harborton Eastern Shore Virginia
Hopewell, VA 23860 USA
5

Appreciate the Finer Things in Life!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Perfect, magical, delightful, beautiful, elegant, charming ... there are not enough adjectives to describe Pretty Byrd Cottage! My sweetheart and I spent a romantic weekend enjoying the ambiance of this well appointed treasure! Cathy and Rhet are the most delightful hosts and every possible detail is executed with exquisite care! The wine, fruit, cheeses, chocolates and homemade baked goods were quite a treat! Breakfast items with all the trimmings even inspired us to take a photo of our colorful, yummy, morning meal ... it was almost too pretty to eat! The landscaping is a feast for the eyes as well. We took some lovely photos in the garden. It was still a little cool to kayak but we ventured out to some of the delightful little towns on the Eastern Shore and enjoyed the art galleries and antique shops.
This was not my first trip to Pretty Byrd and it won't be my last! The first time I visited, my grandson was my traveling companion. We had a great time kayaking, playing board games and cooking on the grill. This visit was with my very special sweetheart. Both trips to Pretty Byrd were very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this storybook experience for a romantic getaway or one on one time with a mature child or grandchild. Not a place for children that need supervision ... Pretty Byrd is best experienced by grown ups who appreciate the finer things in life! The pictures on the website are very accurate ... the landscaping is much more lush than the front shot and even more beautiful!
Thank you Cathy and Rhet for another perfect mini vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7