Kiawah Island house rental - 23 Marsh Edge Lane, Kiawah Island, South Carolina
23 Marsh Edge Lane, Kiawah Island, South Carolina
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Kiawah Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, bedding for 6, maximum 8 persons

This friendly, gold rated three bedroom Vanderhorst plantation home is on a peaceful lagoon. It has an open, congenial floor plan with lots of windows. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and each of the two guest rooms upstairs has two single beds. The modern master bathroom includes a walk in shower and bathtub. There is a HD LCD, VCR, TV in the living room and a HD LCD-LED TV in the master bedroom. The TVs are served with DirectTV. You will spend lots of time on the large deck and adjacent screened in porch with coffee, cocktails or binoculars in hand, enjoying the quiet surroundings and its egrets, blue herons, jumping fish, deer, and other wildlife. The peaceful surroundings are a joy to awaken to each morning. Guests also have access to high speed cabled and wireless internet.

This home is comfortable and welcoming, and is perfect for families and couples.

There is a bike trail directly to the 11 mile long famous private beach. The beach is less than a mile from the house, about an 8 minute leisurely bike ride.

15% discount renting direct through owner: Save 15%+ off normal rates by renting directly through owner. You will still receive all the amenities of Wyndham Vacation Rentals, including keys and a welcome package at Wyndham’s convenient welcome center at the Freshfields shopping village (located at the entrance to the island), sheets, bath towels, soap and shampoo, basic starter kitchen items (sponges, soap, etc.), 24/7 call access to answer questions or resolve any maintenance or other issues, and a full cleaning after your stay.

Spring, Summer and Fall rentals are from Saturday to Saturday. Exceptions can sometimes be made.

Great beach, nature and other benefits. Kiawah's 11 mile long private beach deserves its world class reputation. The water is actually warm and welcoming from June through September. The sand is perfect for sand castles, and kids love the tidal wading pools. Kiawah abounds with plants, birds and other animals. 30 miles of bike paths meander through various habitats. The nature center offers various types of sightseeing tours, and well as kayak and canoe adventures n the tidal marshes and Kiawah River.

Kiawah is only 20 miles from Charleston and its fine restaurants, horse drawn tours and other sites. A 30 to 40 minute drive will take you to Magnolia, Middleton and other lovely plantations on the Ashley River, the Audubon Society swamp walk, and many other attractions.

Famous Golf and Tennis Facilities: Kiawah is famous for its golf courses, including the Ocean Course where the Ryder Cup and the PGA Championship were played. There is a wonderful golf learning facility, and excellent driving ranges. Kiawah's clay and hard court tennis facilities have been rated No. 1. The island's 5 Star Sanctuary Hotel and Spa, and its very fine restaurants, are definitely worth a visit.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 225249 in Kiawah Island, South Carolina

3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
Lexington, MA
5

A great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We were very happy with the house and its quiet location. The décor in the living room was very comfortable, just right for our family. The master bedroom is really pleasant and light, with it's own TV, access to the deck, and a great view of the lagoon. The master bath is spacious, and includes a large Jacuzzi. We loved the comfortable, open design of the living room, dining room and kitchen- perfect for socializing and relaxing together, and the large dining room table was a real plus. The kitchen was equipped with everything you would want for cooking and serving.
The deck was great, quiet and with a view of the lagoon, which is only 30 feet or so from the deck. We rented bikes and had fun biking around the island. There are well-maintained bike trails everywhere, and the terrain is flat- just our speed. We especially enjoyed biking on the beach. The house is not within walking distance of the beach, but it was easy to bike there, just 7 or 8 minutes through some pretty areas. We would definitely return to this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
Massillon, OH
5

Soothing Honeymoon Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I had been to Kiawah before and we wanted to experience it again...for our honeymoon. Having looked at multiple condos, we decided to rent a private residence for our stay and this home was exactly what we wanted in every way. The house is beautiful, clean and well maintained. The living space is open with wonderful views of the lagoon. The back deck and screened in porch were a nice amenity - peaceful and quiet for enjoying morning coffee and breakfasts while taking in the nature. We saw tons of deer, numerous birds and fish jumping constantly...so relaxing. The photos are true to reality, with everything as pictured. The owner, Sam, was wonderful to work with throughout the rental process, very prompt and more than happy to answer questions about the property and Kiawah - he has a long history and relationship with the island.
The beach is about 7-8 minute bike ride from the house, which worked out great for us. The trails were easy to get to and enjoyable to ride, which we did most days. The house had some beach equipment (chairs and the like), but we opted to rent chairs and an umbrella for several days - it was just easier. We spent a day in Charleston which is about 40 minutes from the island - took the ferry over to the Ft. Sumter Memorial which was a must for my husband and had a spectacular lunch afterwards at Slightly North of Broad (highly recommend). Freshfields Village has some neat shops (especially the local pottery one) and the grocery is very convenient.
We had an amazing time during our stay and cannot wait to go back again. We would rent from Sam again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
United States
5

Vacation Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This place is vacation heaven. It is a beautiful, comfortable house where you can settle in right away and feel at home. We went to the beach during the day, grilled for dinner, walked on the beach under the moon, biked around the island and saw baby alligators, and explored the area's restaurants and sights. It is really nice to be able to come back to a home at the end of the day. The view of the lagoon is gorgeous, the house is very peaceful, and the cabinets in the are stocked with board games and books. The owners gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and activities. You can tell they love their place on Kiawah, and it is clear why. We would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
5

Wonderful Home for a Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our first visit to Kiawah Island and fell in love with it. The island is beautiful and so peaceful. We really enjoyed spending the morning on the beach and observing the marsh from the nearby viewing area in the evening. The house is clean and well designed. The master suite with a newly remodeled master bath is on the first floor and offers privacy. The other two bedrooms upstairs are roomy and comfortable. One even has a private balcony. The open den / kitchen area overlooks the wonderful outdoor living space and offers a view of the lagoon. We enjoyed watching the “jumping” fish and even saw an alligator.
This home is the perfect place for a quiet, restful vacation. The owner is a wonderful host and made the entire process so easy. We hope to stay there again.
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
Westwood, Mass
5

Marsh Edge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
clean
well cared for
spacious
private
perfect location
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
5

Peaceful Respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Kiawah Island came highly recommended to me by friends. This home, the area, and the beaches were completely peaceful and a great way to recharge the batteries. Although it was Easter week, it was still quiet. The people here, as well as SC in general are very friendly.

The owner, Sam, was really helpful and generous with his time sending emails and answering quest from the very beginning provided ample and accurate information about the area. The house was very well appointed including every appliance and cooking implement you would ever need.
Plenty of high quality plates and silverware, large coffee cups, and tons of glassware made cooking easy and enjoyable. Seating for 6 both inside and out, plus,a gas grill on the deck, screened in porch and sunny deck. This was a perfect spot for enjoying a bloody marys while you watch the wildlife such as flying fish and even eagles. A deer came though on our first night. The entire area is very lush with huge foliage. We did not even see any of our neighbors, so it feels very private.

The master suite was brand new and appointed like a luxury hotel. The other rooms were a much smaller by comparison, so with 3 adult couples we really had to decide who would get the royal treatment. But, all of the beds and linens were comfortable.

The living area also featured super comfy couches and chairs, with cable TV and free WIFI -- which was a real bonus. The management company offered free DVDs, but we did not take advantage of them.

There are tons of bike rental companies offering cruiser bikes. The bike paths are really the best way to get around. There are boardwalks that provide access to the extremely long stretches of beach. The sand is hard packed enough to ride right on the beach. Really fun!

There was plenty to do on the island, but since we were there to relax, we didn't look into too many activities. Chez Fish has awesome food-- a real highlight. the Freshfields Market is outstanding. It is pricey, but they offer a lot of made to order pizzas, sandwiches, soups, plus all the usual upscale groceries you would need. Outstanding selection of cheese, desserts and even a candy counter. Also, full offering of meat, fish and fresh produce that made your mouth water. Starbucks is inside.

The shops are really cute, and offered a fun day browsing around. Check out the local artist pottery gallery.

I highly recommend this property. Thank you, Sam for sharing your lovely home.
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
Decatur
5

Enjoyed our stay -- again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We have stayed at this home many times over the past several years. It is a very comfortable home with a wonderful deck looking out to a beautiful lagoon. It is located on the march side of the island but our family of five can get to the beach on bicycles in about 10 minutes. Also, the owner of the house is very pleasant and arranging for pick up of keys, etc. was very easy. We are already looking forward to our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
5

A Thanksgiving to remember

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This house is in a perfect setting consisting of trees, water, wildlife, and peace. Access to the bike trails, there are a ton, is as easy as crossing the street. We stayed the week of Thanksgiving and created a feast with the high quality and abundant kitchen supplies and accessories. We were ten eating comfortably on Thanksgiving and just five of us stayed for the week. It was the perfect size under all conditions. The house is very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The view out of the master suite is one you will look forward to each morning. My wife actually took a picture of that view so she could frame the pic and put it on her desk at work. The beach is a very beautiful and easy walk or bike ride away. I would guess under a mile. The village, which offers anything you could need, is 6 miles from the house. You have to go to the Rosebank Farms Cafe at the Bohicket Marina which is less than a mile beyond the Freshfields Village to eat. It is the best food around. Red's Icehouse is also a great place for seafood, drinks, and a view.
The listing description is accurate in all aspects. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owner was kind enough to check in via email to be sure we were comfortable and didn't need anything. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. I cannot think of anything I did not like about my stay at this house and look forward to my return.
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
null
5

Will Stay Again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We really enjoyed our two week stay. Kiawah was wonderful. We particularly liked riding our bikes all over, the nature walking paths and wildlife, the beach, the great food, and the many things to do. The house was sunny, open and very comfortable with a very pleasant deck and views of the lagoon from the living room and master bedroom. We particularly enjoyed the birdwatching from the back porch, plus we saw Allie the alligator and Bobby the bobcat! Everything was clean and worked. We liked dealing with the owner and found his representations to be accurate in all details. The check in procedure with Resort Quest was easy and they were very nice, even coming over promptly one time to replace a burned out light bulb. We will definitely stay at this house again. R&K, NYC
business
3BR Beautiful Lagoon View Home, Wifi, Save 15%+ Thru Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225249
+1 781 237-5215
Kiawah Island South Carolina
1

Not the best of stays...

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
While the owner was a pleasure to deal with and made things very easy for us in setting up our vacation (i.e. light switches labeled, wi-fi instructions, etc.), we did encounter a couple of problems during our stay. The first was that we saw cockroaches in the kitchen the first night we were there. We alerted Resortquest (management company) and they said they would send out Pest Control to the house. But, they didn't, because we continued to see them throughout our stay.

The second issue has to do with a maintenance crew that came into the house (on their own) to "measure the crawl space." They apparently had a key for the house. They said, "Resortquest sent them to measure, by request of the owner." I'm not exactly sure why they would have to come inside the house to measure something that's outside the house. I was at the beach at the time, but my girlfriend was home alone. They told her, "well, there was nobody here yesterday." We eventually found out that the owner had told them to come during our stay, but were supposed to have notified us. Nonetheless, they should not have been stopping by at all during our stay.

This is our third year vacationing on Kiawah, and we've stayed at nicer places without encountering any problems. Because of that, we'll be staying at a different property next year.
Owner's Response: We thanked this guest for calling these two matters to our attention after his stay, and took immediate steps to prevent any re-occurrence. We are very sorry that he had any negative experience. We and Resort Quest, our rental management company, do our absolute best to make sure that everything is perfect for every visit. Every year we make updates and repairs to keep our home in it’s best condition. This is the first negative comment we have received in six years of renting. Our guests love our sunny house and its quiet lagoon setting. I have reproduced below some of the very positive comments we have received just in the last few months, unsolicited, from other guests.

“Just a quick note to tell you my family and I had a great vacation last week and very much enjoyed your home! This was a week full of family memories and we loved the slow laid back pace of Kiawah. We loved the house's open spaces and view to the lagoon.” April, 2011

“We had a great time and just loved the house.” May, 2011

“Just to let you know, we got the refund check last weekend.
Thanks again, we really enjoyed our stay in Kiawah.” August, 2011