Santos-o-Velho apartment rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Santos-o-Velho Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms; 1 Full Bathroom; 1 Independent Kitchen 1 Living Room; Sleeps 4-6

QUOTES INCLUDE UP TO 4 PAX!

Very sunny and absolutely central apartment, located in a historical neighborhood (São Paulo) right on the frontier with Santos-o-Velho.

Totally renovated, very comfortable and functional decoration with taste and attention to detail. FREE Wireless Internet and Cable TV (80 international channels).

The apartment is situated on a calm street but within walking distance to the busiest day and night time areas in town (Santos, 24 de Julho, Bairro Alto, Bica, Chiado, Cais do Sodré, Baixa, Chiado, Alfama).

Very close to all main transportation. Subway station – 5m walk. Tram and bus stop at the door. Train station – 5m walk: direct train to all the beaches of Estoril’s Coast and Cascais. Ferry station – 5m walk with connection to all the beaches of Costa de Caparica and to the south.

At walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, museums and all that the city has to Offer.

Services: Optional weekly (1 time per week) maid service at the following rate – 75,00€ per week.

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in 1972 and I am a designer.

I live in the apartment across the one I am renting. I was in charge of both apartments’ full renovation. I love the old quarters of Lisbon and their historic buildings. I always wanted to live in this part of town.

I love meeting people from abroad and I deal with my guests directly – from key exchanges, to cleaning, to repairs, and anything in between.

I try to be as helpful as I can in order to make you feel truly at home.

José Luís Azevedo purchased this apartment in 2008

I specially picked this neighborhood to live in, because it’s undergoing an interesting transformation - from heavy industry and naval related commerce and services to becoming “Lisbon’s Design District” – with shops, universities, studios and company’s connected to design and architecture moving in.

Another great advantage of this neighborhood is that you can walk to all the busiest areas in downtown and you have all main transports and station near bye to take you everywhere else (including the beach). There are also all sorts of restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, banks, etc. all around. Also, in the center, it is still one of the few areas where you can find a place to park. Two blocks away, there are two public parkings for your car.

This is an area that is still not too touristic and feels truly Lisboan without being excessively “popular.”

This apartment has a great vibe. It's airy and full of sunlight all year round. It's in a high floor, so you have more privacy, security, sunlight and less impact from the street.

The building is original from the XVIIIth century, right after the great earthquake of Lisbon which took place in 1755. It was built in a typical 'Pombalino' style, a type of construction and architecture that are protected by law and candidate to UNESCO's World Heritage Patrimony classification. The building is mainly assembled with wooden beams, in a “cage” like structure inspired in naval construction from the period. A type of construction quite advanced for its time and considered to be the first anti-earthquake type of construction in the world. It is flexible, but it doesn’t break.

The renovation of the building and the apartment took in consideration this historical heritage. However, you will find a modern apartment with sound proofing on the ceilings and windows and all you should expect from a modern home.

47 Reviews of Property 224826 in Santos-o-Velho, Portugal

Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
average rating of 4.7380953 based on 47 reviews
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
Brooklyn, NY, USA
4

living amongst the nicest people in the world

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My sister and I just came back from a wonderful 10-day vacation in Portugal and Spain. We opted for an apartment in lieu of a hotel. I am glad we did! The people in Portugal were the nicest and the most genuinly friendly people I have ever met. Our host was definitely one of them. Our fantastic host, Jose Luis greeted us with open arms and heart. He helped us plan our trip, recommended places for us to eat, as well as simply chatting with us, making us truly feel at home. The apartment was super clean and tidy and contained everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to feel like they live amongst friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello A.,

Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure receiving you as guests in my apartment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here as well as the city and the people of Lisbon. I also enjoyed very much meeting you and your sister.
Maybe we'll meet again someday. Either here in Lisbon or in Brooklyn NY ; )

Best regards,
JL
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

Very nice appartement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a very nice stay at this appartement, Jose was very kind and helpful. This appartement is perfect place to discover Lissabon, everything you need is nearby. We realy recommend this appartement specially to people with kids.
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

Great spacious apartment close to city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed in the apartment for 8 days and had a great time there. José is a very friendly, helpful host. The flat is very cozy, spacious and well decorated. It's in a beautifully restored building. Besides, it is very close to the city centre and to the historic center of Lisbon. The area is very quiet, which makes it a perfect place to stay. We can recommend this place to everybody who wants to stay in a quiet place in the heart of Lisbon.
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

The perfect apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This apartment is simply perfect for visiting Lisbon. It's tidy, nicely decorated, and well-equipped. It's very well insulated, so even in December you don't need any of the available heaters.

The metro, bus stops, one of the elevators, and even the famous tram line 28 are within walking distance. There are a couple of supermarkets, restaurants, pastelarias, and bars in the same street.

And if that wouldn't be enough, the landlord made every effort to help and provided valuable tips what you can do off the beaten track and how to best reach your favourite historic sites.

Liza & Robert
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I rent this apartment for few days for my family (2 adults / 2 young children). Until our arrival, we were very pleased by the time spent by Jose to help us organizing our stay in Lisbon. His dedicated recommendations were very well suited corresponding to our expectations. The apartment is modern, very comfortable and very clean. It is also very sunny with lot of light. It is well placed in Lisbon very close to all transportation modes (tram / metro / bus) and close to the historic center. We strongly recommend this rental (for the apartment and the host) !
Obrigado Jose !!!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
5

Perfect location in Lisbon and squeaky clean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband, teenage son and I recently returned home from a wonderland week in Portugal. We stayed at this apartment for three nights. The owner, Jose Luis, could not have been more helpful. Our flight arrived very early morning and although the apartment was not available until early afternoon, he let us store our luggage at his apartment (he lives across the hall) so we were able to go out for breakfast and start sight-seeing. The apartment is exactly as described. WiFi was an added bonus for my son! It is on the higher floor of a building with no elevator, but we did not find this to be an issue. If you don't mind getting some exercise climbing the stairs each day, then it will not be a problem for you. There is no air conditioning and despite the fact that Lisbon was in the middle of a heat wave during our stay, we found that the two portable fans available were adequate. Although we didn't prepare meals at the apartment (too many great restaurants within close proximity) it appeared to be well equipped. The apartment is located in a fantastic area which is easily accessible to many other areas. We did a lot of walking while there and saw many sites. I would recommend a two day sight seeing bus pass (we did the red bus) and I would recommend a trip to St. George castle. The views are incredible! You definitely don't need a car while in this city. It is easy to get around everywhere. Be sure to take in a fada show as well! We felt very safe and met some wonderful people. JL himself spent a few hours one evening talking to us about the history of Portugal and the current financial situation. He is very knowledgeable and a fantastic host! We will at some point return to Portugal and if we return to Lisbon - we will definitely stay at this apartment. Thanks again JL. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

best apartment in Lisbon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great modern apartment in city center, very comfortable and clean. The location is also great, it is close to all transportation and within walking distance to most attractions.
The owner was the best host. He was so kind and gave us all information needed and suggestions for great vacation in Lisbon. Thank you Jose. Hope to see you again,
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

Outstanding apartment in the Heart of Lisbon.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were very pleased with the modern well designed spacious and clean apartment. The owner provided many extras to make our stay extra special. The owner made sure in person that all our needs were met as well as detailed information on transportation, tours etc. of Lisbon and the surrounding area. If given the opportunity I would like to stay in this apartment again and spend more time experiencing the neighborhood's cafe's, plazas, market, boutiques, local pubs-all a very short distance from the apartment. I recommend this apartment for all desiring to experience the true flavor and character of Lisbon. This apartment is even better than the discription 5+ star rating.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Eine schöne Ferienwohnung im Stadtteil Santos-o-Ve

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Eine schöne Ferienwohnung im Stadtteil Santos-o-Velho im Zentrum Lissabons
Die Ferienwohnung liegt in der vierten Etage eines stilvoll renovierten Hauses in der Rua da Boavista 120.
Wir, zwei Ehepaare, waren im März 2013 für drei Tage in der Wohnung und haben uns dort sehr wohlgeführt. Der Empfang durch den Vermieter, Herrn José Luís Azevedo war ausgesprochen freundlich und hilfsbereit. Die Wohnung besitzt zwei geräumige Schlafzimmer, ein Badezimmer, eine separate Essküche und ein sehr einladend eingerichtetes, großes Wohnzimmer sowie einen kleineren Abstellraum. Gut geeignet ist die Wohnung für zwei bis vier Personen. Die Wohnung ist sehr sonnig, ruhig, vollständig geschmackvoll renoviert mit Liebe zum Detail. Sie bietet kostenloses Wireless-Internet und Kabel-TV (80 internationale Sender).

Von der Wohnung aus ist das Zentrum von Lissabon gut zu Fuß zu erreichen, man kann natürlich auch die historischen Straßenbahnen nehmen, die durch die Rua da BoaVista zockeln. In der Nähe befinden sich einige gute und reelle Restaurants, Herr Azevedo berät hierzu seine Gäste gerne.

Hier noch eine kleine Besonderheit des Hauses : unten im Hausflur befindet sich neben dem Treppenhaus eine kleine Schusterwerkstatt, wo ein älterer, freundlicher Herr beim Licht einer kleinen Lampe Schuhe repariert. Er hatte gut zu tun.

Wenn wir noch einmal zu viert nach Lissabon reisen sollten, würden wir diese Wohnung wieder gerne mieten.
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Downtown Historic Center. Modern Apartment in Antique Building. FREE WI FI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224826
+351 918254097
Santos-o-Velho Lisbon City
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Highly recommend this apartment. (For point of reference, I am a pretty picky traveler.)

The apartment is very cute and super clean. Sunny. Comfortable. Has everything to make you feel at home for your stay. Location is great -- close enough to walk to many things.

Most of all, we adored Jose Luis, the apartment owner. He was super nice to deal with in advance. Moreover, when we contacted him at the last minute to see if we could arrive a day early, he was amazing and accommodating. Once we arrived, JL had lots of great suggestions for what to do, where to eat, etc.
Owner's Response: Hello Stacy,

thanks so much for your review.
I am glad you had a nice stay and I hope to see you again in the future. You are always welcome!

Best Wishes,
JLA
Helpful votes: 2/2