Southwest Harbor cottage rental - Harbor Star Cottage!
Harbor Star Cottage!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 6 adults and 2 toddlers

Harbor Star Cottage, a year round hideaway, is less than five minutes from the Echo Lake entrance of Acadia National Park and approximately a mile from the quaint and quiet town of Southwest Harbor. This lovely cottage, with pinewood floors throughout is tastefully and comfortably decorated. You will feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door! The living room is cozy and inviting with a gas fireplace, cable TV and wireless internet. The gourmet kitchen is fully equipped with state of the art stainless steel appliances and local granite countertops. The 3 bedrooms are spacious yet cozy and are each furnished with queen sized beds. Two toddler beds are also available, for families with little ones! The bathrooms are equipped with a tankless Rinnai water heater, so you will never run out of hot water! The outside patio deck is surrounded by birch trees and wildlife. There is also a gas barbeque grill for those cookouts on warm summer nights!

Harbor Star Cottage Website: Please ask about our website for additional information and photos.

Check-in/Check-out: Rental periods are from Saturday to Saturday.

Check-in time is 4:00 pm

Check-out time is 10:00 am

More Details
Hide Details

We love the Acadia area and vacation ourselves there every year. One of our favorite things to do in the area is to take the Carriage Rides from Wildwood Stables to Jordan Pond Teahouse.

Melissa and David Mohon purchased this cottage in 2008

I was stationed in Maine while in the Navy and fell in love with Acadia National Park and the Mount Desert Island region. I wanted to have a place for my family to vacation in the summer and also to provide a relaxing and comfortable place for other families to enjoy while visiting all the attractions of the Acadia area!

8 Reviews of Property 224813 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor ME
5

The Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This "cottage" is truly a home away from home. We spent our 50th anniversary exploring the Maine coast, and truly enjoyed returning after a long day and relaxing without the usual commotion found in a more urban setting. Communications from Dave and Melissa was great, and everything about the cottage was as advertised. The photos on the website do not do justice to the coziness and hominess of the this home. Very convenient via a short drive to Southwest Harbor and Bar Harbor. 30 minutes to almost anywhere you wish to go in the area of the park. Thanks to Dave and Melissa for a wonderful stay.
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Harbor "5-Star" Cottage!

Harbor "5-Star" Cottage!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have just completed a delightful stay at Harbor Star Cottage and can recommend it highly. Nothing about the cottage says, "rental"; everything about it says, "home." Inside and out, it is constructed, decorated, equipped, and maintained to a very high standard.

Its location is ideal. Southwest Harbor is Mount Desert Island's best-kept secret: a working fishing village...an authentic Coastal Maine town...twenty minutes from the summer crush of humanity in Bar Harbor. Southwest Harbor has excellent restaurants, fun shopping, and all the necessary services. The cottage is also ideally located within Southwest Harbor: on a wooded lot in a quiet residential neighborhood just minutes from town center.

The owners are wonderful to work with...quick to respond and very accommodating. We cannot imagine anyone's being disappointed with Harbor Star Cottage as their island retreat. We have already reserved for next year!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind words! We try very hard to make the cottage feel like home, so it is wonderful to hear that it felt that way to our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Harbor Star and look forward to your visit next year!
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Hope, PA
5

Far Exceeded our Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Harbor Star Cottage was absolutely perfect! My husband and I and our 4 children spent a week here. We were very active during the day; hiking, kayaking, biking, etc. and coming home to the cottage every afternoon/evening was such a pleasure! It was so cozy and comfortable that it was as good as being home. The cottage is immaculate, well organized and the homeowner clearly thought of everything, down to the delightful selection of wonderful smelling laundry detergents! I am going to recommend this cottage to all of my friends and if I ever go back to Maine, I will definitely be staying at Harbor Star Cottage again!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you can visit us again soon!
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Madison, WI
5

Lovely cottage - just like the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I had a wonderful 8-day stay in the cottage. It has all the amenities you could need and everything is in terrific shape. The kitchen is fully equiped and has nice, new appliances. The decor is lovely and very cozy. It looks exactly like the pictures, only they don't convey how comfy everything is. Melissa was very quick to answer all of our questions too. It is in a quiet neighborhood off the main road which is a big plus, but you do need to drive to everything. Still, the island is small enough that nothing is more than 20 minutes away. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Harbor Star Cottage Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Three sisters and two of their daughters used Harbor Star Cottage as a home base as we explored Acadia National Park and the Bar Harbor area. This cottage is perfect-so clean and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is equipped with the best of appliances, utensils, and cookware. There are spa like soaps at every sink and "green" cleaning products. We were beyoned comfortable. One other very important bit: the owners are easy to contact and quick with their arrangements. Highly recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Harbor Star Cottage is great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This was the second year my 80 year old parents and I stayed at the Harbor Star Cottage. What an ideal location and setting, away from the crowds of Bar Harbor but close enough to get everywhere a tourist would like to go. House is well equipped (and clean!) with everything you could need, great kitchen, comfortable beds and two full baths. Im hopeful we will be able to return again next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks so much for your review! We hope you can visit us again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lowell, MA
5

Great spot to relax in SW Harbor!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had an excellent time staying at this property. We loved the layout of the cottage and the proximity to the village of South West Harbor. Away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor, being on the quiet side was really nice way to spend days or relax after the numerous outdoor activities we did. The cottage was in pristine condition when we arrived and evertything we could think of needing was already provided for our use. the owners have definitely thought of everything here and really strive to make your expereince truely enjoyable and relaxing. Having an outside deck to relax upon after a long day was great as well. We loved being right down the street from the Echo Lake entrance of Acadia National Park and frequented the beach there on almost a daily basis with our 1 year old daughter. This cottage is set up with families in mind, which we greatly appreciated with the little one running around! We'll definitely ne back to vacation here, one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times we've had in a while! The owners are very prompt in responding to questions and inquiries and seem genuinely interested in your family enjoying their cottage. Book this property, you won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We really try to make Harbor Star Cottage a relaxing and enjoyable place for family vacations and are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Sincerely,

Melissa and David Mohon
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Star Cottage in Southwest Harbor, 5 min. from Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224813
+1 7574697582
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Maryland
5

A Perfect Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Harbor Star Cottage was very clean and inviting when we arrived. The kitchen was well stocked (with the exception of a pizza pan and cutter - but we easily made due without them). It was nice to have coffee there for us in the morning since we hadn't grocery shopped yet. All appliances worked well and the ceiling fans upstairs kept it cool enough for sleeping. I think the peace and quiet was what we enjoyed most about the cottage and surrounding area, and the cottage's proximity to Acadia park, Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Northeast Harbor. It was extremely easy to get around the island from the Cottage's location to see all of the attractions on Mount Desert Island. The only supply that was missing was soap for bathing, but we found some liquid soap and used that. Maybe we should have brought our own soap, but we didn't know to do that. It was a perfect vacation and Harbor Star Cottage was the perfect place to call home at the end of a busy day!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Anita,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Harbor Star Cottage. Thank you for the feedback. It is very helpful to us as we try to make improvements for the next guest.

David and Melissa
Helpful votes: 4/4