New Braunfels house rental - Stone steps leading to fire pit and pier
Stone steps leading to fire pit and pier
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

New Braunfels House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

BlueMoon Inn is truly an extraordinary waterfront retreat with panoramic views of spectacular Lake Dunlap. Only five miles to Gruene and the center of New Braunfels! Explore the many amenities this lakefront home has to offer and you just may never leave!

If this house is not available, please go to www.ariverrunsthruit.com. I have other properties available!

The newly remodeled main house has three spacious bedrooms, all with private TV's and DVD players. Each bedroom is tastefully decorated with warm and inviting color schemes. Sink down into your own plush pillow top mattress along with cozy hand stitched quilts from the local quilters of Gruene. With three full baths your guests will have plenty of time to shower or freshen up before dinner.

You'll enjoy a fully equipped kitchen with brand new stainless steel appliances and the latest cooking accessories to make that perfect gourmet meal. The dining area seats up to 16 and is open to the family room which consists of a large wall of glass windows overlooking the sunroom and the lake. Watch one of your favorite movies from our extensive library come to life on a 50' flat screen plasma TV. Stay connected to family, friends, or your office with WiFi computer access throughout the home.

Just a few steps down from the family room, is the bright and cheery sunroom which is also surrounded in floor to ceiling glass. This is the perfect place to enjoy your morning cup of coffee or to use as an additional dining area. Right outside the main house, a private bungalow provides a large, separate sleeping area for those who want to get away from the rest of the crowd or for the older kids who want a place of their own. This area includes three twin over full bunk beds, TV, DVD player, and a refrigerator for your convenience. A private deck gives you the best views of the lake.

The outdoor patio areas of this home are an entertainer's dream with four separate gathering areas. The cook of the family will love the stainless gas grill for cooking their best grilled recipes. In the evening dine alfresco on the adjoining patios under twinkling white lights.

In the summer, use our pier to dock your boats and jet skis or rent a pontoon or ski boat from one of the local rental companies. Swimming, fishing, boating and all water sports are in full swing during this time of year. Your family will love the many activities this lake has to offer. On those chilly autumn nights, watch the bright stars of the hill country while relaxing in the heated Jacuzzi tub or gather round the stone patio and fire pit on the banks of Lake Dunlap to watch the roaring fire as the moonlight dances over the water.

Curious about other adventures in the area? Drive only two miles down the road to explore the many activities New Braunfels has to offer. Leisurely tube or kayak down the Guadalupe or Comal rivers for the day or take the kids to Schlitterbaun, the #1 water park in the world!

If you're searching for a unique shopping experience, look no further than across the river in the Gruene Historic District. This quaint little town along the Guadalupe River is a paradise for those searching for antiques, ironworks, pottery and other fine accessories. Try one of the many popular restaurants Gruene has to offer or relax with a glass of wine at the local wine tasting shop while sampling exclusive Texas wines, champagne and specialty beers.

Later in the evening, enjoy lively entertainment and dancing at Gruene Hall where the likes of George Strait, Willie Nelson and Lyle Lovett first started their country western careers. Gruene is also known for hosting various special events and celebrations almost every weekend from March through December. Enjoy 'Gruene Market Days' once a month or catch one of the many music or wine fests scheduled throughout the year.

Care for some shopping on a grander scale? The famous San Marcos Outlet Mall is only a few short minutes away with the some of the finest retail stores available while providing some of the greatest discount prices found in Texas. Crate n Barrel, Coach, Pottery Barn and Chico's are just a few of the stores included in this giant outdoor mall.

So come visit us at BlueMoon Inn. Whether you decide to relax by the lake under a blanket of stars or explore the many activities of the hill country area, your vacation will surely be one to remember.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details
Hide Details

This is a picture of the Thompson family at one of their favorite restaurants, The Gruene Onion Grill in New Braunfels. Greg & Tana Thompson are the proud owners of BlueMoon Inn on Lake Dunlap. Tana Thompson is a graduate of Texas State University in San Marcos and Greg is an A&M alumn. Taylor, the oldest daughter also graduated from Texas State University with her Master's in 2012 in Strategic Marketing. Their son Hunter is a sophomore at Texas State as well.

The Thompson's bought BlueMoon Inn in September of 2008 and totally renovated the property inside and out. They also added a third bathroom, a separate bungalow closer to the water along with a hot tub and stone patio with fire pit. This home is a great place to sit back and relax, but still only 5 miles from the Guadalupe and Comal Rivers.

Come visit us soon!

Tana Thompson purchased this house in 2008

Feels like the country but only 5 miles from the middle of New Braunfels/Gruene and Comal & Guadalupe Rivers

16 Reviews of Property 224650 in New Braunfels, Texas

New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Mexico City
5

Great Property, Great Hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful family retreat in this spacious, well maintained, beautiful property. Everything we needed was provided. We were always in communication with the owners who were always willing and available to solve our doubts and needs.
All of our family members found a cozy favorite spot in the house. Meal times were fantastic as we gathered all together and had lots of fun. The nights were peaceful and quiet.
Highly recommended for big parties.
Oh, I almost forgot, excellent price for what you get!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Chicagto, Illinois,USA
3

Good central location, roomy, but not up to expectations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There were 6 in our group but the house had beds for many more. The house had 3 bedrooms in the main house and a sort of bunk house out back which we did not use. The 3rd bedroom in the house was apparently converted from some other space, it did not have a closet for guests use. Also the 3rd bathroom was on the back porch area and was very small. We did find the house to be very clean which was nice, and the kitchen nicely supplied. There were some minor maintenance issues but did not cause major problems. We were a bit disappointed that they had not been found prior. ex: dishwasher soap dispenser didn't work properly, several light bulbs inop. The grill on the back deck was a very nice unit though it did not light properly and we had to give it a good cleaning prior to use. Fortunately a wire brush was available.
The area where it was placed was very dark so we had to move it up by the house to see to cook. Also the rental agreement said that 2 bottles of gas would be there and if we needed more we would be reimbursed. Both bottles were nearly empty so we filled one. Still waiting for reimbursement. The hot tub in the back was very nice. We used it several times. It was nice that there were lots of towels available. It would have been nice if the light in the tub worked
A paddle boat was provided but it was unusable. The rudder was broken so steering was not possible and it leaked around the pedal bearings, so unfortunately we did not get any enjoyment from that. Too bad because the river was very nice and it would have been fun.
A good note, we had late flights out of SAT so we asked Tana for a later check out and she was agreeable. We appreciated that a lot. As far as the local shopping we found the near by Creekside area Target to have a good grocery section and other shops around were convenient to get to. The HEB was overwhelming and further away. Overall a nice place but little disappointments detracted from the experience.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

"LIFE IS GOOD" at the Blue Moon Inn

"LIFE IS GOOD" at the Blue Moon Inn
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
There were 8 ladies scheduled to participate in a tennis tournament in New Braunfels. Instead of staying in a hotel, we opted to stay in a rental house. The Blue Moon Inn was absolutely perfect for us. We enjoyed the tennis, but we also looked forward to returning to the house after our matches. The house is wonderfully and tastefully furnished. The kitchen was well stocked and the bedrooms are very comfortable. The bathrooms were stocked with everything we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed the spacious backyard area with the many gathering places. We spent many hours by the river telling our stories and laughing! I would highly recommend this house for a family gathering ....or, like us, a girls trip. Inside and outside, the house is perfect if you are looking for something where you can gather with friends or family. You can enjoy New Braunfels....you can enjoy being by the river.....you can enjoy sitting in the back by the fire pit......LIFE IS GOOD at the Blue Moon Inn.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
corpus christi texas
5

Awesome Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home on the water is an awesome place to stay, very clean and comfortable . The owners could not have been nicer, very helpful . Had all of our children and grandchildren there 18 of us and we had a blast !! Were not bothered by anyone , I recommend this very charming house to anyone, You will love it !!! Our family has rented a house in that area for the past 3 summers and this was by far the best time and place to stay !!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Texas
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful time staying on the river to celebrate my mother's 69th birthday. The photos accurately reflect the home. It was more than I expected. There was plenty of room for all of us and it was great having 3 bathrooms. We enjoyed the fire pit each evening and each morning enjoy the view of the river. The house was clean and well maintained. The kitchen has everything you need. This was a girls trip so we hit all the shopping stops from Gruene to San Marcos. The owner is very friendly. We will definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
United States
5

A Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Stayed at this property from July 1 - 5, 2012. The property was very clean and ready to go as advertised. On the night of the 4th, we took a pontoon boat ride in the evening just before dusk. There was a slight breeze and the air was warm and dry as we cruised past all of the beautiful shoreline properties on Lake Dunlop. Later, we sat around the fire pit and watched fireworks all around us. Just as the fireworks died down, a full moon appeared above the tree line across from us as if on cue. It was a wonderful evening that we will always remember. There was plenty of room to dock our pontoon boat and two jet skis...although parking the trailers and four cars was tight. The owner refunded 100% of our deposit promptly.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Houston, TX
5

Blue Moon Inn is PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had our Girl Scout Reunion at the Blue Moon Inn and everyone loved it!! It's such a comfy place, beautifully decorated and very clean! There was plenty of room for our group of 13. Great location on Lake Dunlap. We especially enjoyed the fire pit at the water's edge...singing songs and making S-mores. As noted by others, the well-equipped kitchen made cooking easy. This is a beautiful home and you will love staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Wisconsin
5

Great Place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Bluemoon Inn. Spent two months, January and February 2012...snowbirds from Wisconsin! Loved the decor, how well stocked the kitchen was and the quality of the bedding. Location was great! We have rented off VRBO four times and Tana and Greg's place was by far the best. Would highly recommend!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Stayed at BlueMoon Inn in December 2011, and we had a very enjoyable family vacation. The house is just as depicted. The backyard is large and we really enjoyed the fire pit. My 3 boys (ages 6, 10, 10) really enjoyed gathering pecans, playing football, and especially using the paddleboat. The beds are all comfortable and we felt right at home. We had our one year old baby with us and found the house easy to keep her safe in, the only stairs are going down into the sunroom, so we could just close the door to keep her from falling. The hot tub was a nice amenity as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
New Braunfels Waterfront!! May special only $400 per night!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224650vbi
(281) 794-1750
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Littlefield, Tx
5

Family Thanksgiving at the Blue Moon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Great place for a large crowd, a very well equipped kitchen, a place for everyone to sit and sleep, lots of televisions, which was nice as it rained one of the days we were there and not everyone wanted to watch football. A very pretty view of the water, we caught enough fish for a fish fry for 15 people, convenient to everything, most importantly it was very clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/5