Camden house rental - Beautiful Home with Spectacular Ocean Views
Beautiful Home with Spectacular Ocean Views
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Camden House Rental Photos and Description
Walk to Harbor, Ocean Views, 5 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, sleeps 9

Combine breathtaking harbor views with the comfort of this exquisite home and you just found the perfect vacation. An Italian Style Sea Captains home, built in 1870’s boasts some of the most beautiful views of Penobscot Bay and Rockport Harbor, voted 'one of the most picturesque harbors'. Tasteful décor, period details, gourmet kitchen, and modern amenities. Situated in quaint downtown of Rockport, this home is in a perfect location, spectacular ocean views, over an acre of gardens, lawn and trees making you feel miles away from anywhere; yet right out your door is Fresh Lobster, Sailing, Kayaking, Biking, Hiking, Light Houses, Downtown Camden, Restaurants, Antiquing, Golfing, Concerts, Camden Hills, Acadia National Park, Island Ferry’s, Art Galleries, or, just read a good book on the deck watching the Schooners sail by until it's time for lobster dinner. Explore the summer with sunset Schooner cruises or come experience autumn and see the famous colors of the leaves. This is truly an exceptional rental. The owner suggests calling her to verify information or answer any questions rather then email, but feel free to do both. Surely call before submitting payment to confirm all details.

Vacation Rental Description: Combine breathtaking harbor views with the comfort of this exquisite home and you just found the perfect home for your vacation. An Italian Style Sea Captains home, built in 1870’s boasts some of the most beautiful views of Penobscot Bay with tasteful décor, period details, gourmet kitchen, and modern amenities. Situated in quaint downtown Rockport, this home is in a perfect location with spectacular ocean views, over an acre of gardens, lawn and trees making you feel miles away from anywhere; yet right out your door is Fresh Lobster, Sailing, Kayaking, Antiquing, Restaurants, Biking, Hiking, Light Houses, Downtown Camden, Golf, Concerts in the Park, Camden Hills, Acadia, Lobster Festival, Island Ferry’s, Art Galleries, or, just read a good book on the deck watching the Schooners sail by until it's time for lobster dinner. Explore the summer with sunset Schooner cruises or come experience autumn and see the famous colors of the leaves. Diamond Hill is truly an exceptional rental with friendly and helpful owners.

Activities and Attractions in Camden, Maine: Camden Hills, Curtis Light House, Acadia National Park, Samoset Golf Course - award winning golf course, Sailing, Kayaking, Hiking, Unlimited Antiquing, Fine Dining and Great Local Restaurants, Shopping, Art Galleries, Camden and Rockport Opera House, Parks, Wineries, Whale Watching, Puffin Tours, Summer Concerts in the Park, Island Ferry's (Monehagan, Isleborough and Vinalhaven), Fishing, The Lobster Festival, The Blues Festival, L.L. Bean Outlet, or just Relaxing.

This is the perfect location to relax and be able to see all of mid-coast Maine in the spring, summer or the famous changing of the seasons leaves in fall.

Home Rental Amenities: Five spacious bedrooms, two newly remodeled full bathrooms with marble counters, three half baths (two private to the guest rooms), modern kitchen with professional stove

and granite counters with open breakfast room, living room with fireplace and ocean view,

family room with flat screen and cable TV/DVD and fireplace and ocean view, dining room,

library/office with garden and ocean view- wireless internet , mud room and laundry room.

Deck, stone patio and gorgeous gardens. Within 100 yards of the harbor, local coffee shop

for breakfast, and Shephard's pie for dinner. Linens included. Sleeps 8.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 224410 in Camden, Maine

Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Washington, DC
5

Quintessential Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If beauty, space and serenity are what you are looking for in a Maine vacation, this is the home for you. The house sits up on a hill overlooking the spectacular Rockport Harbor. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the deck in the morning drinking our coffee as we watched the boats and birds. The gardens surrounding the house are lovely and well tended. The night sky there was stunning as well....Im not sure Ive ever seen so many stars. Rockport is peaceful yet is right down the road from the bustling and charming Camden. Camden was a favorite destination, yet Rockland and Boothbay are quite close by.

The house is comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. A favorite spot is the library filled with books for all tastes. There was plenty of room for our family to spread out, yet has great gathering areas such as the kitchen and den to spend time together.

The owner, Kathie, is wonderful to work with. She is available to help with everything such as places to go and sights to see while in Maine. She is quite attentive to any need you might have. You couldnt ask for a nicer landlord.

Some of the highlights for us included a trip out on the schooner Olad in Camden, a lobster trip out of Rockland with Captain Jack as well as visits to the various lighthouses such as Breakwater and Bald Head Island. The restaurant down the hill from the house, Shepard's Pie, now ranks as one of my all time favorites.

Our family highly recommends this home for your stay in Maine. It provides the most beautiful backdrop for the Maine experience. To say it is a special home is an understatement.

-The Shervin Family (Cheri)
Washington, DC
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A Perfect Escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband, son (11 years old), my parents and I spent a magical week at this beautiful home last week. Our favorite thing had to be sitting on the deck each morning with a cup of coffee and enjoying the amazing view of Rockport harbor (we never wanted to leave). We also loved the beautiful gardens, playing frisbee on the lawn, eating amazing meals in the sunroom off the kitchen and just marveling at this impressive home. It felt like we had stepped back in time (the house was built in 1870) but could also enjoy all the modern conveniences - including a commercial stove, a fully stocked pantry, a flat screen TV, wireless Internet, and remodeled bathrooms. Needless to say, we also took full advantage of all the area has to offer - hiking up Mt. Battie and Mt. Megunticook (breathtaking views), renting kayaks to use on Lake Megunticook, sailing on the Schooner Olad, shopping in Camden, visting the Lightouse Museum in Rockland (on one of only two rainy days we had), enjoying a wine tasting and tour at the Cellardoor winery, seeing a musical at the Camden Opera House, and enjoying delicious lobster mac and cheese at Cappy's in Camden. What also made our visit special were the extra special touches provided - fresh flowers displayed in the kitchen and bathrooms and a wonderful welcome message left on the kitchen chalkboard. The owner, Kathie, and the caretakers of this home truly try to make you feel like you have a home away from home. Kathie also took great care to check on us upon arrival to make sure all our needs were met. I would highly recommend a stay at this lovely home. It was a vacation that our family will always remember!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Miami
5

Summer perfection in Rockport...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This lovely, impeccably cared for, perfectly situated home far exceeded our expectations. We spent a week here with a large group including four adults and five young children and the home and it's surroundings were the perfect fit for our group. As stunning as the pictures are they don't do the home justice, particularly not the view from that front porch over Rockport harbor - I dream about that view...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Fabulous Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented this house during the last week of August and were very pleased. It is spacious, functional, and well-maintained. Our young kids loved the garden area and we spent lots of time in the yard and on the patio. It’s a very short (but steep) walk into the center of town Rockport, including to Shepherd’s Pie, the lone restaurant, which was excellent. The view of the bay is fabulous. Walking to Graffam Bros at the end of the street for lobster rolls can’t be beat. Boat/bike rentals are a two-minute drive, and Camden is about 1.5 miles. There was plenty to do within walking distance or very short drives with the kids – lakes, hikes, lobster boats, parks, etc. Our kids spent hours collecting hermit crabs at Walker Park while our toddler played on the swings. The owners were extremely helpful and responsive. The house is very nice and it made for a great family vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Trip

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Hi Kathie-

We just got home and just quickly wanted to thank you for sharing your fantastic
home. We had such a nice week and can't stop talking about how much we loved
Maine as well as your home and gardens (and view!). As usual, we could not
fit all the activities we were hoping to accomplish into one week, but we had so
much fun hiking, canoeing, sea combing, and eating. Oh-- the kids also fit in
a lobster boat ride with Captain Jack, which they definitely enjoyed. Your
house was in the most perfect location and was such a comfortable place to
return to after a day full of adventures.

Thanks again!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Great Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed this lovely historic property! It had an exceptional amount of living space - living room, family room, library with space for setting up games and 2 computers, large dining room and modern kitchen along with a roomy deck overlooking Rockport Harbor. It was welcoming and immaculate when we arrived - even down to vases with fresh flowers from the extensive gardens. The owner was very helpful both before & during our stay with recommendations about things to do and places to eat. It felt more like staying at a friend's place, than a typical vacation rental.

The location was great - within easy walking distance of Shepherds Pie restaurant, Graffums seafood mart & lobster roll shack, and the harbor. We rented bikes from Maine Sport (close by), and enjoyed several easy bike rides into Camden and around the area.

Our favorite activity was going out on a lobster boat one morning (cratetoplate.com) It was quite unique to see how the lobsters are caught, and help with it - and it included 4 lobsters from our catch for dinner that night. Other activities we enjoyed were golfing at Samoset, sailing with Captain Don on the sailboat Liberation, hiking Camden Hills Park, and visiting the Cellar Door Winery in Lincolnville Beach for a relaxing wine tasting and outdoor lunch.



Reply Forward
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

A Fantastic Trip

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Kathie, Hope you had a great weekend. Our entire trip was so fantastic, from arriving and seeing your beautiful home, nestled in a gorgeous setting in such a great little town. Twice we went down to the docks and bought lobsters, which turned out to be our favorite meals, being together in the kitchen, laughing and getting our lobster fix with the freshest one could get. We also had a picnic top Mt. Battie with Graffan Bros. pick up lunches. Our guys played golf 5 mornings while the girls took time to enjoy the house and leisure time, then went to shop and lunch, as only women can do. We did go out on the Lazy Jack for a couple of hours, which was just too perfect, weather wise and otherwise. All in all, we had a wonderful time and your home was a major contributor to our memorable, fun filled vacation. Very fortunate people are we. Warm regards, Nanc
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A Beautiful week in Camden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our family loved our stay in this historic home. This beautifully decorated house, with lush gardens, and beautiful vista has the luxuries of a hotel and the intimacy and comfort of a lovely private home. Our family (ages 20-83) all loved our week there. We look forward to returning to Camden and to Diamond Hill.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

AT HOME IN MAINE

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family has enjoyed two separate one week stays in this wonderful home overlooking Rockport Harbor and a five minute drive from Camden Maine. The ocean breezes easily made our stay comfortable. The modern kitchen and den tastefully compliment the elegance of this historic home. The flower gardens off the sun room are to behold. Proximity to local dining and sightseeing is ideal. We took wonderful day trips both north and south but always loved coming home to our Maine home away from home. The owners provided detailed local information. We look forward to coming back.
Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Gorgeous Home, In Town Harbor Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224410
+ 713-829-2575
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Paul and Family

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Dear Kathie

I'm sorry for not getting back to you more quickly. Probably in denial that our vacation is over. Seems like months ago now.

We had a fabulous time and loved your house. The kids loved playing in the crows nest and our 18month old enjoyed playing with the cars.

I liked sitting on the deck in the evening watching the ospreys fishing and the boats coming back. the garden was a picture.

We did lobsters from grathams, a beach day at Morse Mountain, Monhegan island for a day and cycling around Camden among other things. we played trivial pursuit in the evenings!

Everything was perfect. Thank you again.

Kind regards

Paul and family.