Honor cabin rental - Walking back from the Lake
Walking back from the Lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps15
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Honor Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 15

Great summer dates are still available. Also we are open in the winter for a wonderful Cozy Cabin with a Fireplace Get-A-Way

• Any 2 nights – Total Cost $595

• Each Additional night – $175

• Pets – No Extra Charge

• Scheduling & Damage Deposit $350

Just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful peace and quiet is always an option.

Old log cabin, built in the 1930's and has much

of the original furnishings and charm. Located on Long Lake

which is between Crystal Lake and Big Platte Lake on North

Scenic Highway (M-22). The property is on 5 wooded acres,

well off the road. It has over 500 feet of private lake frontage.

The lake is an all-sport lake with a very gradual sloping bottom

which makes it very safe for swimmers of all ages. The water warms

up quickly in the spring and is very comfortable for swimming or

wading. It is ideal for young children that like to play safely on

a warm sunny beach.

It is adjacent to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park

and is easy walking distance to the Old Indian Trail, which

traverses the National Park dunescape to Lake Michi

Special Activities: There are many great activities both on the property and all around

the region. The area is famous for the following:

*Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park and many great activities

sponsored by the Park.

*Swimming

*Hiking

*Fishing

*Dining - many great restaurants within a short drive and the famous

Manitou Restaurant is only a 100-yard walk from the cabin.

*Tubing down the Platt River

*Kayaking and Canoeing

*Wineries

*Shopping & Antiquing at many great shops in Frankfort, Beulah & on

More Details
Hide Details

Property is owned by Tom and Diane Doyle.

Tom & Diane Doyle purchased this cabin in 2000

We bought this old cabin because it was suitable for our large family and is located on a very quiet, safe lake surrounded by Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. We enjoy being close to the Lake Michigan shoreline as well as the abundant wildlife that is ever present around the area.

Quite private and surrounded by woods along the shoreline of Long Lake right off M-22. Well back from the road.

16 Reviews of Property 224148 in Honor, Michigan

Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

September week long stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The cabin is exactly as advertised! We wanted to unplug from the world and Doyle Camp was the ticket. It was close to hiking trails, Traverse City, kayaking and Lake Michigan. The lake beach was in pristine shape and our three labs thoroughly enjoyed the setting as well. I highly recommend the cabin for a rustic get away.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice note and yes we are "dog friendly" folks.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

Wonderful family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Birch Ridge for Spring Break 2013 and loved it so much we came back for a week in June to celebrate our parents 40th wedding anniversary.

There is so much to experience at Birch Ridge. We spent time swimming and kayaking on Long Lake, we hiked The Old Indian Trail to the Lake Michigan beach and we tubed the river into Lake Michigan at Sleeping Bear Dunes park.

The dorm style sleeping arrangements were perfect for all the cousins and the very large wooded site offered tons of privacy.

Tom was absolutely wonderful in answering our questions by email and text and the cabin was VERY clean when we arrived. We will be back!
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate the repeat customers. Thank you for sharing your story.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

Perfect getaway spot for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family treasured this experience. The cabin is rustic and beautiful. With exposed beams in the kitchen, it was actually a pleasure to cook and wash dishes. The lake is pristine and shallow for a good way out -- perfect for young swimmers. We also enjoyed trying out the kayaks -- our first time.
There is so much to do in the area apart from the lake. We hiked the Sleeping Bear a couple of times since it's a short walk from the cabin. The road where the cabin is located is flat and quiet -- perfect for jogging or biking. Charlevoix was a nice half-day trip. Don't miss the mushroom houses.
The Doyles are very friendly and easy to work with. We would definitely go back!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review and for enjoying our cabin as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

The Great Family Vacation of 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
As beautiful as advertised with room for all. Our clan and tag-alongs totaled 14 at times and everyone loved there time at the cabin. The beach is wonderful and besides the availability of all the toys, encounters with nature were a real plus. Our son thought he could stay at the lake and become a National Geographic photographer. Visited all the local sites (climbed the dunes, hiked the tails, floated the Platt river, and shopped the local towns), campfires at night and family dinners. Hadn't been to the area in 25+ years but would go back and stay at the cabin in a heartbeat.

Mike Hinz
Owner's Response: Thank you Hinz Familty. You guys are exactly the kind of folks we love sharing our cabin with. You are welcome to return any time! The Doyle's
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
A group of friends and I stayed at Doyle Camp in February. We all loved it... it had the perfect vibe for a winter getaway with a cozy living room, warm fireplace and lots of books and board games. There was no TV (greatly appreciated) and the stereo had an old mixed tape, which ended up being one of my favorite parts of the trip. On one side it said "I miss you, <3 Nikki" the other "France Mix, 1994." We took the tape in the car with us and listened to it the whole trip. IT WAS AWESOME. And we made sure to put it back in the stereo for future Doyle Campers to enjoy. Overall, we highly recommend the cabin and will hopefully come back sometime in the summer to enjoy the warmer weather activities.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the very nice review Emily. We love the winter get-a-ways as much as the summer. It's funny you should mention that "tape." Not sure how it wound up there, but it was my oldest daughter's tape from when she was in high school and spent a year studying in France. She is going to love to hear your story. That "tape" is sitting on my desk right under my computer as I type this note. I'm going to pop it in the tape player and listen to it now! You guys were great guests and we hope you return soon. Tom
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

A Welcome Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderfully relaxing stay at Doyle's Birch Ridge. We very much enjoyed sitting by the fireplace, hiking the Old Indian Trail, hanging out by the lake, exploring the antique shops, and cooking and eating good food. The quiet was marvelous-it was truly one of the most relaxing experiences we've ever had!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
4

The Perfect Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I took our dogs for an amazing week-long get-away and we all enjoyed it. This was our first visit to the property and to the area. We loved the cabin and had a great time exploring Sleeping Bear, Glen Haven, Lake Michigan, Chrystal Lake, Empire, Glen Arbor, etc.

The cabin is rustic but clean, well-maintained and very charming. It had everything we needed and more. Our only complaint is the living room furniture; if it was updated, it would be a more comfortable place to sit in the evenings. FYI the beds are comfortable.

The property is quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the clean beach and clear water. It is perfect setting to watch the sunset with a fire and cool drink.

PS. Cell phone reception at the cabin was fine
Owner's Response: Justin,

Thanks for the very nice review. You are absolutely correct about the living room furniture. We need to do something about that but have had higher priorities, like updating the beds and replacing the roof. But it is on our list and we hope to do something about that in the spring. By the way, we just replaced the entire roof and added 2 new sky lights and 5" of high density foam insulation above the roof deck. It will make for a very cozy winter and cooler summers. Thanks again,
Tom
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

Charming Step Back in Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Cabin is everything and more! If you are looking to leave behind the hustle and bustle of everyday life and spend time enjoying the simplier things life has to offer - then pack up and head up to Birch Ridge! We took 4 teenage girls - no cell phones, no tv, no internet for 5 days - they had a blast and can't wait to go back! Fun to watch your kids have an old fashioned vacation like we experienced as kids. Wish we had more time to explore - guess we will just have to come back. I'm sure it is beautiful in the winter!
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear that your gang enjoyed the simple fun up at Birch Ridge. Come back any time! We are open all year and each season offers something unique and special.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is an extremely nice setting for a relaxing vacation. The cabin is a well maintained log cabin with all of the amenities anyone could want, to include a nice kitchen and shower. It is located in a very quiet and private setting over looking the lake. The lake and beach are clean and sandy, and great to swim, fish, or just lounge around. The local area is beautiful and offers a lot of different activities and opportunities to enjoy northern Michigan. The property owner is very considerate and informative, and has worked hard to make this an enjoyable place to vacation. We had a great time and are very much looking forward to future visits.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We really enjoy sharing this old log cabin with folks who enjoy it as much as we do.
business
Spring is almost Sprung - Late May & Early June specials currently available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224148
847-424-8006
Honor Sleeping Bear Dunes
5

As Advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family of 5 could not have had a better time. You want a private rustic getaway - this is the place. Our only regret is that we didn't act quickly enough to book the week we would have wanted for 2012.

Paul
Chicago
Helpful votes: 4/5