Ludlow house rental - View From Kitchen of Main Living/Dining Area
View From Kitchen of Main Living/Dining Area
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Ludlow House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

This is a modern, very private 16 year-old 5-BR plus loft chalet home nestled in the private hills just outside Okemo mountain in Plymouth/Ludlow, VT. This home is in the heart of some of the best skiing, snow mobiling, and cycling in the northeast. We designed and built this house and we put our love into it's maintenance, details, and amenities.

The home is set back from the road about 1/4 mile and sits on 11 wooded acres. This a very private location, but still very close to town and to the mountain. The entire front of the house is windowed facing the hills with amazing views!-Just 5 miles from Jackson Gore entrance to Okemo Mountain, VAST ski mobile trails cross the property and run near the house, mountain bike and hiking trails are everywhere, and we are only 15 minutes (6.6 mi.) from downtown Ludlow. We wanted to bring the outdoors inside so there are many extra windows and a screened porch with gas grill. Most of the house's interior is faced with stained wood and is warm to the eye and to the heart. Very private with great views of the surrounding hills with both evergreen and deciduous trees. We are near , Okemo Mountain Resort, 10 minutes (4.5 mi.) from Jackson Gore Okemo entrance; 20-25 minutes from closest Killington entrance, 25 minutes from Woodstock VT, and 25 minutes from Weston Playhouse Theater Company. There is a new championship golf course down the road with cross country skiing and just 2 miles away is a horse stable with trail riding. Great restaurants are everywhere and many of them are within 10-15 minutes of the house!

One great highlight (my favorite) that we are proud of is our 6-person hot tub that sits on the deck over-looking the hills! It has a lounge seat, waterfalls, and a cool lighting system. There is also an outdoor sound system so you can listen to music while relaxing in the tub! We also added a pool table and a second flat screen TV!. The house sleeps 11 comfortably and with sofa beds and futons it can sleep up to 13! We have 5 bedrooms (2 queen beds, 1 full size, 1 twin, and one room has 2 single beds; there is also a full size loft futon, and queen sleeper), 3 full baths (the master bath has an over-sized Jacuzzi whirlpool tub and large stall shower), Master BR has small deck with views and there is a large deck facing the hills, modern kitchen with all the cooking utensils, disposal, 42' HD plasma TV with satellite, 40' LCD TV in second living area with satellite;and a 3rd TV with separate satellite and DVD on the loft. There is a whole house/outdoor sound system with IPOD hook-up, 2 living rooms, fireplace (firewood included free),Cell-phone charging station, computer, indoor ski rack, alarm system, large deck with screened porch, ceiling fans, central heat and humidifier and A/C.Ski-lites. Gas Grill. One additional feature, that I insisted on, was installing a commercial-sized hot water system so you won't run out of water too fast! I don't know about you, but a good shower is important on my list! HOUSE FULLY PASSED ALL VT FIRE INSPECTION SAFETY CODES!!!!!

This house is a cut above most other rentals in the area and is privately owned and maintained so it is well loved and cared for. $750.00 rental deposit with 14-day refund after rental is required. WE reserve the right to ask for additional deposit for pets. THIS IS A NO SMOKING HOUSE.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

I guess it might be said to be a bit of a dreamer. I first had the idea of a mountain vacation home when I was a student in my early 20's. After I got married I began the task of making my dream a reality (sometimes pushing my wife in the process!) We discovered Ludlow and Okemo Mountain and fell in love with the area. The idea to create this home was to provide place to share with our children and to have a place together and spend quality time together. My kids have loved this place since they were infants and you might see some reminders around the house when you come.

David Greenfield purchased this house in 1996

We began to look for mountain-view properties in the Green Mountains of VT and in the Berkshires in MA. We discovered the Ludlow, VT area and Okemo Mountain when on a camping trip in nearby College State Park and feel in love with the area. We began to narrow our search and finally purchased 11 wooded aces with views in the early 1990's and a few years later we began to plan the design of our new home. It was completed in 1996 and we have been sharing with friends, family and renters ever since. We loved the small-town feel and the fact that it was NOT an overbuilt resort area and had that small-town feeling; this, in combination with the skiing, lakes, fishing, restaurants, cycling (I'm an avid cyclist), and natural beauty made it ideal for us.

We are very close to town, but as soon as you come down the long driveway you are surrounded by evergreens and birch trees in a completely private setting without any views of other houses. The only things you see are the mountain views. I suppose the best features for us have always been the combination of simple beauty and great skiing , but truth be told I like it better up there in the Spring, Summer and Fall... when there is so much to do. You can go fishing at nearby Echo lake, where they have a state park beach, play ground, boat rentals, and a food concession or hike to Buttermilk Falls, or take a drive to Rutland, (about 20 miles away) for a movie. What is most fun is to stay home and sit in the hot tub overlooking the hills and relax (which sometimes is not easy if the kids are around!)

17 Reviews of Property 224143 in Ludlow, Vermont

Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
average rating of 4.9375 based on 17 reviews
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

okemo ski weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our group had a great time. The house was beautiful and clean. The kitchen was fully equipped and there lots of amenities to keep us busy after a long days skiing.
The owner was very accommodating and extremely helpful throughout the booking and during our stay. I would highly recommend this to groups and families. We can't wait to get back next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. See you next year!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Great !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I would recommend this rental. The owner was accomodating in doing less than a full week rental. Definitely need a car. Okemo mountain was 15-20 min away but very nice drive. The view from the house was spectacular and the house itself was in great shape. We spent the day on the slopes and then headed back to the house at night for dinner. Jacuzzi, fireplace and large dining room table were ideal for a much needed weekend away with good friends. The only slightly negative thing I will say is despite it stating there were 5 bedrooms one of the ones downstairs was quite small and the bed was more of a futton. We did not however, need to utilize this room but just to keep in mind. Again, thanks to the owners would go back !!!!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Great Weekend, Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent a weekend for a company retreat. It was absolutely beautiful. Amazing place well stocked with board games, dishes and silverware, pool table, and even a hot tub. I would highly recommend!! We'll be back again next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: thanks so much!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Awesome Ski House in Ludlow!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful well cared for home in Ludlow. The view is spectacular, the home is spacious, comfortable, clean and well kept. The hot tub and sound system is such an added plus not to mention the games downstairs and large fireplace in the great room. We had family with all ages and everyone had a blast, skiing at Jackson Gore for the younger set while the older kids loved the main mountain at Okemo. We had large family dinners and the teenagers loved the hot tub! The owner is a pleasure to work with and we hope to spend time there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
New York City
5

Home Away from Home - 3rd Annual ski trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
For the third year in a row, a group of 10 of us, have returned to this beautiful house because we love it so much. As always the owner is responsive to our needs and had the house in excellent condition upon our arrival. We had a ton of snow over this weekend so it was a beautiful view from the hot tub. We always had a fire going as there was more than enough firewood. We actually got snowed in and had to call the owner, He had a plow there within an hour! It is a truly wonderful house in an incredible setting, and we look forward to returning for our fourth year! Thanks for making us feel like a part of your extended vacation family!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Boston, MA
4

Nice ski getaway house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
First things first, the jacuzzi was awesome - lots of just and and light show to boot. Really nice after a day of skiing. The kitchen was well-equipped and the open layout works well for a large group. Also lliked the traditional wood-burning fireplace. Only caution is that the 5th bedroom is quite small and only has a pull-out loveseat.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Amazing group ski weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved our stay in this gorgeous home. The house itself is beautiful and had plenty of bed space for our big group of 13 people, and we really enjoyed the hot tub and big TV for conference championship games! The open layout was perfect for cooking, playing games, and chilling as a group. The location was a short, easy drive away (maybe 20 mins) from the main Okemo entrance, and we had two great ski days at the mountain. The non-skiers enjoyed the extra time in the beautiful house and went for pretty walks in the area, so everyone ended up very happy. The owner was easy to get in touch with throughout the reservation process and provided us with detailed instructions for how to use the amenities in the house (basement floor heater, hot tub, etc.), and he even took an 11pm phone call from me when we had issues turning off the alarm upon arrival! Overall, it was a wonderful weekend--we're all still talking about what a great time we had--and we hope to stay again very soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks...so nice to read your review!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Beautiful Home near Okemo Mountain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at this house for 4 nights over the Christmas vacation. We were 13 people and the house had plenty of space. The kitchen was fully equipped for us to prepare meals. The house was very clean and had a beautiful view. There was a pool table and a hot tub on the deck. The location of the house was in a private setting but it was very close to Okemo Mountain and Ludlow town. The town of Ludlow had a supermarket and plenty of restaurants. We had a wonderful time ringing in the near year in this beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

wonderful winter getaway and family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a fantastic time with a combined ski getaway and family reunion event during Christmas week. The house is exceptionally well designed and well thought out for large groups of people. The views are fantastic and there's plenty of parking. There are 5 bedrooms but the 5th is very small with a pull out full sofa bed. There are 2 more sofa beds in the rec area in the basement where two bedrooms are located and a queen size futon in the landing outside the master bedroom on the second floor. The 2 bedrooms on the main floor are ideally suited for the elderly with a full bath across the hall or parents with children since one of the bedrooms has two twins. Pool table is a plus and the entertainment system is comprehensive with all the bells and whistles with Wifi for Netflix, etc. Fireplace with well stocked wood was essential to the great experience. Hot tub looks great on the outdoor porch with fantastic views but weather was too cold for us to use. A commercial hot water system keeps everyone toasty with a hot shower after a cold day on the slopes. The only downsides are dated bedding and linens but all the other superior features will make you overlook this aspect.
It's not next to Okemo but close enough within a 15min drive with the winter elements. Skiing was great even thought it was a bit icy after the rain storm. Ludlow is about 25min with a few superior restaurants but you will need a reservation for the ones that take a reservation. Sam's steakhouse was great. Shaw's supermarket is there for everything else. We did a lot of cooking in the fully applianced kitchen and the dining table was large enough for a big group dinner. Owner was easy to work with and the caretaker helped us worked through a thermostat problem. We would definitely rent with David again. It's a fantastic venue.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your review was great and even gave me some ideas for further improvements. Thanks for being a great guest!
business
Winter Fun at Okemo Area 5BR/3 Bath, Hot tub on Deck, Views, Pool Table
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224143vb
(860) 214-4499 (Connecticut, USA)
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
NYC
5

Beautiful House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This house is great, all you need is right here. Amazing deck with incredible hot tub and spacious inside with all amenities. Only 15 minutes to Jackson Gore for skiing. We all had a lovely time and would return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1