Isla Mujeres villa rental - Casa Marlena 100' from pool to ocean, Privacy, Romantic cliff walk to south
Casa Marlena 100' from pool to ocean, Privacy, Romantic cliff walk to south
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Isla Mujeres Villa Rental Photos and Description
Private Home, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Casa Marlena is located on the windward (SE) coast of quaint and artsy Isla Mujeres. (4.5miles x .5 wide) Perfect for honeymooners, retirees, 2 couples or a family who likes to get away from it all, yet be 10 minutes from nightlife, restaurant row and the busiest beaches. Do you enjoy nature walks or sunrise yoga meditations? Our wonderful concierge, JoseLuis will be at your service 24/7, smoothing your way for a carefree vacation. Isla Mujeres is known for white sugar sand beaches, beautiful coral reefs, deep sea fishing, international cuisine at budget prices and live music of every genre. Isla Mujeres is a small island filled with friendly people from all over the world who call Isla home...just heavenly. 2013 BEST ISLANDS TO VISIT - #6 Isla Mujeres, Mx http://www.tripadvisor.com/TravelersChoice-Islands-cTop-g1 Discover Isla before it gets crowded!

Stroll Hildalgo and eat at international cuisine restaurants or get shrimp tacos for $1.50US. Live on our nearly empty 2 mile stretch of surf and strollable natural rock coastline that radiates peace and invites contemplation of God's natural splendor. Casa Marlena feels secluded, but is just a short walk or taxi ride from all the action. Fast WiFi to keep in touch with home - while lazing around the pool or house. :o)

On calm days, snorkel directly in front of our casa. Bring wet shoes to walk from the ocean front pool down to the aquamarine Caribbean sea. Lounge on the 800 sq' private rooftop. Private swimming Pool, new patio Very private lower floor master king bedroom and bath suite. Main floor queen bedroom and bath. This is not a shared home. You will have the privacy of the entire home. Vaulted great room. The ochre and aqua architecture and tile is serenely restful in this newer home.

Info and tip sheet available for transportation and other questions. IslaCancunRentals site button located below. Private airport transpo available for $40 per van. We are less than an hour from the airport and a world away from Cancun 'Vegas'.

Excitement to be found: Visit the only launch point worldwide for whale shark snorkeling. Mid June to mid September. Take a day trip to Isla Contoy Nature Preserve. Dive Manchiones Reef. Mako reef is our new favorite. Isla Ches reef, near Isla Contoy is also shallow and beautiful. Home of Garrafon National underwater park. Isla Mujeres boasts the new Underwater Museum, cool statues! Great snorkeling! Mingle on acres of gorgeous clean, white sands at shallow Playa Norte - north beach. Isla is renowned for deep sea fishing. Yachts love this marina and the shallow calm waters of North Beach/Playa Norte.

Stroll through Calle Hidalgo for dinner and drinks watching the street dancers, fire show, Indian flute quartet, mariachi bands, steel drums. Dance all night at Poc Na or Faynes.. Many live bands entertain nightly. Get a pic with a parrot, giant white snake or iguana on your shoulder. Swim with dolphins. Pet a nurse shark. Learn at the Turtle Farm. Relax and let Isla Mujeres' vibe refresh and refuel your spirit.

Favorite Centro Restaurants :Nash's Tapas, Olivia's-mediteranean tapas, Rooster-lunch and breakfast chef cuisine, French Bistro-curry shrimp or steaks, Mogagua, Sardinian Smile-music & pastas, Angelos-seafood pizza, Rolandi Sac Bajo-scallops&views, SanCocho-chili rellena or $1.50 tacos. Asia Caribe - music & ginger ice cream, green curry yum!, Faynes - dancing, Lola Valentina - mango fish tacos. Mango Cafe-stuffed poblano pepper bkfst/lunch, yogurt & fruit. Miguels Moonlight, pool table, Karaoke & Pomegranate La Pinta Tequila shots. Dopi's grilled fish, Mogagua- s.american tapas, banana margaritas. Buccanero-soups. los fueguitos- the only argentinan steak house we recommend. home made Italian Gelato for dessert is common on Isla Mujeres, Enjoy!

Beach Food: Sunset Grill romantic sunsets, personal fav, house salad or nachos. ChiChi Charlies 2 for 1 drinks all day from Ramiro, tik n chik tacos. Fenix Restaurant romantic lighting , great appetizers, tempura. Buho's-chandelier on the beach, swings and nachos.

Out and About: Chuc Kay, great food, sac bajo marina area, live music sat & sun 3-5pm Javi and band, Marla, his. Salsa dance lessons at cuban restaurant next door, weekdays 7:30 am. Bahia Tortuga Sunday BBQ, Wow!!! live music wed & sun. Lighthouse (south point) UNbelievable 360 views, $20 lobster tail, coconut ice cream. Yum! Romantic Chef cuisine dinner available at Limon, ask a taxi.

I have added a pic of Felipe Alvarez. He is happy to do airport transpo. $30 each way, up to 4 pp. We love him and this is a GREAT price!

We have done some remodeling 2/14. I apologize for any inconvenience, there are a few paint touch ups unfinished today as you can see on the photos of the new front door. This will be finished by 4/4/14. Please call for current info.

Keywords: Private, Villa, House on Isla Mujeres, Private Pool, oceanfront, balcony, terrace, 2 bedroom, 2 bath, full kitchen, rooftop patio, Isla Mujeres, Punta Sur, Garrafon, whale shark snorkel, romantic, honeymoon, couples, retirees, adventure travel

More Details
Hide Details

Jim and I love sunshine escapes. Aqua and teal water with ocean sounds calm and relax so we can unwind and recharge from the American rat race we live in Minnesota. My mom tour guided from Minnesota through Central America for 20 yrs. We built Casa Marlena in her memory. We hope to retire here someday to enjoy God's natural splendor.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2008

After diving and touring most of the Caribbean we find the Cancun area to be the best value. It is a short, inexpensive flight. We love international quisine. Home Depot and mall shopping across the bay. Small town, nice people on Isla Mujeres. Isla has a 'Corona' perfect beach, lovely snorkeling, world class fishing and an upscale new home district to build in. The island is getting more and more busy as it gets discovered, so we bought before we could no longer afford our dream home.

Restful oceanside walks. Peaceful stargazing. Whale shark and reef snorkeling. Yoga on the roof. Relaxing crash of the surf. Privacy, just minutes from one of the greatest white sand beaches ever. We are thrilled to install our first private swimming pool! Artsy community. Many musicians. Lots of International high quality quisine. Strolling Hidalgo street entertainment. Good grocery store. Chedraui (walmart type store) And an American hospital just across the bay, just in case.

21 Reviews of Property 223969 in Isla Mujeres, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 21 reviews
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
4

March 8-15, 2014

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was a good value. Though the house and furnishings were a little tired (sliding doors in living room held together with duct tape with an instruction not to use them; unpainted cement from an apparent repair on the front exterior; damp/musty smell on lower level and lumpy pillows), this fact was outweighed by the great location just steps from the rocky shore and a clear ocean view. My favorite part of the stay was the constant presence of the sea. The sound of the waves crashing on the shore and the spectacular view of the ocean from the kitchen and living room created a peaceful and beautiful experience any time of day or night. The pool was beautiful and perfectly clean. The hot water supply in the showers was surprisingly good. It was very considerate of the owner to leave a jug of water in the kitchen for our use. Jose Luis said that he would bring another one mid-week, and that never occurred. That was fine - we just bought some bottles of water - but perhaps that part of the opening speech should be changed, if additional water is not coming. From the photos, it appears to be a stand-alone house, but, in truth, there is another house (Margaritaville) right next door. We were not bothered by the tenants in Margaritaville, but the photo is not accurate. Casa Marlena is far from just about anything. We brought scooters for our daughters to ride, but they still were unable to complete the walk/ride from Casa Marlena to the turtle farm, and we had to hail a cab about 2/3 of the way there. Gilberto is a kind and completely reliable taxi driver (his name and number are listed in the book at the house) so we employed him nearly every day. The neighbors at Margaritaville had a golf cart, which would have been helpful, but we enjoyed practicing our Spanish during our rides with Gilberto. All in all, it was a great place.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Alliance, Nebraska
5

Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is our second time staying at Casa Marlena and loved it both times and we have family staying again in April. There has been some changes made since the pictures posted on VRBO and there was a little construction still in progress while we were there, but still no complaints. The location is toward the southern more quiet side of the island, but down town is only a short golf cart or taxi ride away. My wife and I are 37 and 39 so we are definitely not into total quiet, but we are not into the total party scene either so the location is perfect. The pool and top floor sun deck can not be beat! My wife isn't a huge fan of tan lines, but also doesn't like to draw attention to herself so the privacy is perfect. We had a couple of small issues while we were there and the owners and Jose, who takes care of the house, were quick to respond. One small complaint is that the washer and dryer shown in the pictures are gone since our last visit. This is a great house, great location, and great owners! We plan to stay here many many more times!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
4

Bar owner

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a nice house.We arrived in Isla Mujeres on an early Sunday morning and was greeted at the airport by Felipe our trustworthy transfer, then on to the island where Jose Luis was waiting for us at Casa Marlena.We have 2 children and I can honestly say this house was perfect! The island is small so getting around is very easy if you use the taxi or golf cart services.We collected shells from the sand off our backyard, went running,snorkeling and rented a private boat for an adventure.The only downfall is the dump down the road which can get a bit smelly on warm days, but I would recommend this property to anyone! Thank you Shea for sharing your wonderful house for our Mexican Thanksgiving vacation.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You Heather for the kind review. I am so happy Casa Marlena was a great fit for your family. It sounds like you recharged the batteries! Please know it is extremely rare for any smell to come from the dump because of the prevailing breezes and the daily container departure for Cancun. I am so sorry it occurred during your stay. Please be our guest in future. I always give discounts to returning guests. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Saint Paul, MN United States
5

Great secluded stay on the quiet side of Isla.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My girlfriend and I arrived at Casa Marlena in mid June for a five day stay and had a wonderful time. Our concierge Jose-Luis was at the property when we arrived and he did a phenomenal job of explaining everything to us and letting us know what to expect. Since we did not plan on doing a lot of extra stuff aside from the usual lounging, we did not really need to contact Jose-Luis for much of anything, but he was very prompt with the few questions we had.

First of all, the view is spectacular at Casa Marlena, and if you go to the rooftop patio, you get an amazing panoramic view of everything. While it is not on the most convenient part of the island in terms of proximity to everything, it is very close to some of the south side amenities, including a great restaurant and shopping area at Punta Sur. However, cab rides were very easy to obtain and generally ran pretty cheaply.

You come to Casa Marlena if you want an Isla experience that is more isolated than if you went to the north side. There is a lot of privacy, and the back yard wading pool is awesome if you're wanting to lounge around with a beer in the sun. Of course, if you want to get out and party, a cab ride to the north side is only a five minute jaunt, so there's plenty to do if you're feeling a little cabin fever on the south side.

If we were to go again, we would probably go during high season when the weather is a bit more stable. During our last couple of days, there was a tropical depression that passed south of us, so we did get to see a bit of rough weather. If you insist on coming during the summer months, always purchase travel insurance in case you have to cancel or cut your trip short. Hurricanes and tropical storms can form quickly.

Overall, we were very happy with our experience and would rent again without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Muskego, WI
5

D&D

D&D
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Casa Marlena is beautiful. Very clean, all needed amenities included. The location was awesome, wonderful sunrises every morning. Felt very safe ,taxis very easy to get. We rented a golf cart and were able to explore the entire island. Great sight seeing, beaches, shopping. Cant wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Arkansas
5

Wonderful stay at Casa Marlene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our party of 4 were delighted with our choice on the Isla of Casa Marlene. The location on the windward side of the Isla was perfect for our taste providing a full time view of the waves making their way to the beach. We have visited Mexico every year for the last 15 yrs and what helped to make this year so special was the owners assistance in transportation from the airport to the ferry, taxi recommendations on the Isla and the property manager that was available around the clock to address in question or needs. Casa Marlene and its ocean side setting is truly a paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Madison, MS
5

Great Location - Great Casa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The casa was everything we expected it to be. We found the constant sound of the waves crashing on shore soothing. The view is spectacular, especially at sunrise. It’s a short golf cart ride to anywhere on the island.

We used Carlos for transportation from the airport to the ferry. It freed us from using public transportation upon arrival in an unfamiliar location. He met us promptly both arriving and departing. He was very helpful with currency exchange and provided a mini-tour on the way. When we were exiting the airport lobby to meet him we were stopped several times by people in brown and white uniforms. They were trying to be helpful in guiding us to the transportation available. Since we didn’t need that, it was difficult to get them to stop trying to “help”. What worked was telling them that we were being met by an “amigo”.

Kudos to Shae for setting up the concierge, Jose Luis. At other VRBO properties we’ve rented you have to check in at a realtor’s office then make you way to the property. Jose Luis met us there, showed us around, offered some tips and handed off the keys.

For transportation we ended up preferring the golf cart. It's nice to be able to come and go from wherever you are without having to get a taxi. Plus, if you’re driving along and see someplace you want to stop and check out, you just do it! I recommend getting one for your entire stay and as soon after you arrive as possible. If you wait until the next morning they might all be rented out for the day.

Another tip is to plan to use cash (pesos) for most of your purchases. The vendors seem to prefer it that way and it simplifies negotiations. I think you end up getting a better deal too. The exchange rates offered by vendors and restaurants varied greatly, from 10:1 to 13:1, while we were there. Get Carlos to take you by the best exchange booth on your way to the ferry and change all your currency into pesos.

All the restaurants and bars were great but our favorite ended up being the one closest to Casa Marlena, Limon. Excellent food! There were flyers and a menu in the casa and it’s within walking distance. We ate there twice. Sergio, the owner, even arranged us get our golf cart!

Great job, Shae and Jim!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Arizona
5

Perfect getaway...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great location to relax and enjoy the beautiful island and beautiful weather. A short taxi ride to an amazing beach and good food or a great place to stay away from it all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thank you Travis, I'm happy you had a lovely relax! remember the discount for your return stay someday
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Blue Springs, MO
5

Thanks for the memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Hard to leave and time blew by too fast but I guess that happens when your having fun. A special Thank you to MaryAnn (concierge) and her family for taking us swimming with the whales. The trip was amazing and your son made our day by diving in and taking underwater pictures of the sharks for us.
Shea and Jim, we appreciate you sharing your beautiful home, it was immaculate and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to hear the waves crashing and gorgeous views. We were so amazed at how friendly the locals were, smiling and waving, which has been rare in some of the areas we have traveled in the past. It made us feel very welcomed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Casa Marlena, Private Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223969vb
(651) 470-0071 (Minnesota, USA)
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
MN, USA
5

Amazing views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We just got back from Isla Mujeres and this was our most pleasant vacation yet. We normally rent a house in the Playacar neighborhood of Playa del Carmen, but decided to return to Isla Mujeres again after 10 years away. Luckily we found Casa Marlena for rent. I cannot describe how nice the views out the deck and pool area are. If it were up to me, I would have just sat there for a week strait staring at the sea. We only went downtown once during our stay. We personally like getting away from crowds so our preference was in the area of the house and the whole Punta Sur area. It was in the high 80's for our stay but we never once needed air conditioning. The ocean breezes were perfect and cooled the house nicely (A/C is available if you want it). If you do want a change of view, walk 10 minutes to the oposite side of the island and you are almost in a different world. Several nice places to eat, drink, and hang out beachside are within a few minutes walk from the house. We were not able to swim right off the beach from the house, but we walked north along the beach for a couple minutes and there are several nice spots to swim there. I was slightly disappointed the first day because there was quite a bit of garbage on the stretch of beach just north of the house, but the next day went back and somebody had gone out and cleaned and raked the whole beach by hand. I assume the garbage washed up in the heavy waves before our arrival. We travelled with our 11 y.o. son, and felt completely safe our whole trip. We were planning on just using taxis to get around the island, but after renting a golf cart from Ciro's we decided that was the way to go. They were about $40 per 24 hour period, but we found the freedem of just hopping on the cart and going somewhere and easily finding a spot to park anywhere we went to be really nice. I would also recommend hiring Carlos for the airport transfer to the port and back. He was precisely on time each time we met him. We did not do it, but he also offered to stop at Sams Club on the way if we wanted to pick anything up. We just bought groceries on the island for the meals we cooked at the house. As for the house, it is just what you see in the pictures. It is clean, comfortable, and has washer and dryer. We packed everything we needed in just one regular backpack each, and did laundry as needed, thus avoiding checking (losing) any baggage. We would definately recommend this house just for the views and privacy alone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1