Ocean Beach cottage rental - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Ocean Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Our Ocean Beach Cottage is located one block from the beach and two blocks from the Ocean Beach Pier and the lively main street of Newport Avenue. Sit on the deck and watch the waves - cannot get better than that! Fall asleep to the sound of the waves...

Lovingly restored cute & charming 1930's Beach Cottage was completely renovated in 2008, offer all the comforts of a 'home away from home'. Beautifully designed, true to the beach cottage style, bright & airy, with wood and tile floors, fully equipped kitchens, raised ceilings with fans, front & back private decks, & a lush garden. The Orca Cottage charmingly parades original double-hung windows and a gorgeous claw foot tub. An on-site laundry facility, outdoor shower, and a place to safely store your surfboards are provided.

Off-street reserved parking (a rare commodity in these parts) is available.

13 Reviews of Property 223916 in Ocean Beach, California

A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Twin Cities, MN
5

It was everything we were looking for and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We were originally looking at hotels for our trip to San Diego, but I randomly came across this property while checking other options....Our trip was so much better because of it! As soon as we walked in the door, we fell in love with the place. It was very clean and well kept, the kitchen was ready for all of our meal adventures (including some baking). Part of the fun of our trip was being able to make so many meals together...saved us a bunch of money, too. My wife really enjoyed the deck areas, great places to lounge around outside, and the neighborhood is quiet enough (except for the occasional plane overhead) that spending time outside isn't a problem.

The location is amazing! Not only is it close to a beautiful beach, but it's also really easy to get to the interstate. Easy access to everything else in San Diego. But no need to go too far because there's plenty to do just in the neighborhood. Be sure to eat at Hodad's (2 blocks away) during your stay.

The management is great, very easy to get a hold of and ready to answer any questions you might have. We highly recommend this place and hope it's available during our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
1

Worse than old Motel 6 cleanliness. :-(

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What would otherwise have been a nice stay at a quaint beach cottage was very much spoiled by the cleanliness of the cottage. Other than maybe the changing of sheets and towels, it's unlikely any other cleaning has been done here for quite a long time. The bathroom floor was dirty. We swept up enough hair from the bathroom floor to make a good sized hair ball. There was hair (long and short) on the floor and furniture all over the cottage. Inside doorknobs and drawer handles weren't clean - they were sticky and had debris on them. Sorry, that's disgusting. The shower curtain is moldy. The owner makes a big deal about keeping the cottage clean to the point of asking guests to remove their shoes to protect the wood floors, but the floors are of questionable cleanliness, so I wouldn't walk inside barefoot, and walking in socks just gets them dirty. If the cottage was actually clean it would be a nice home base while staying in San Diego.

A few idiosyncrasies:

Although the owner makes a big deal about being "green" (for example with an "on demand" water heater) the water heater is in the laundry shed outside. The flow from just the kitchen or bathroom sink isn't enough to get the water heater to turn on, but turning on the water in the tub is. So to get hot water in the kitchen or bathroom sink, you have to turn on the hot water in the tub and wait about two minutes for hot water in the tub, and then turn on the water in the bathroom or kitchen sink to get hot water at the sinks. We probably wasted more water than we used because of this -- that's far from being green. It's a little inconvenient, but this is a tolerable oddity.

I suggest washing the dishes and utensils you use before using them. The inconvenience of getting hot water to the kitchen probably had prior guests washing the dishes with cold water, so they're of questionable cleanliness.

If you're not familiar with Ocean Beach, you might be surprised by the frequency and volume of airport traffic overhead. Having previously spent many years in OB and San Diego, this wasn't an issue for us.

We left the cottage in cleaner condition than when we arrived, but blew off a day's rent and left a day early because we'd had enough of it. A quaint old beach cottage can be clean. Unfortunately this one isn't.
Owner's Response: We strive to provide all our valued guests with the best possible cleanliness, comfort and services. When you feel that we have failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know, right away! We have a team of housekeeping professionals that carry the VRHP seal (Vacation Rental Housekeeping Professionals). They all strive to offer quality services & professional standard of cleanliness as reflected in our many favorable reviews. We strive to take great care of you while you are in San Diego as our valued guest!
We regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you and do hope to welcome you back! Our guests are generally “WOW”ed by the entire experience of staying at any of our vacation rentals.
To ensure that we are meeting our guests needs, our housekeeping staff conducts themselves in a manner which reflects the high regard that we have for our Guests and properties; we've notified housekeeping management of your complaint and we are taking action!
We can only wish that you have at least taken the time to inform us that conditions were less than satisfactory. We would have had the chance to address this issue immediately! Unfortunately, you have opted not contacted us throughout your stay and have not given us the opportunity to correct the situation.
We do take pride in striving to be as green as possible. We do not, however, claim to have a LEED certification. At least, not yet. Becoming green is a work in progress and we are continuously making improvements to all our rentals. As one can see from the numerous excellent reviews we have received in the past from very satisfied guests, this instance is an exception. We have not received the Vacation Rental of the Year 2012 for not taking care of our guests.
As to having to washing dishes with cold water, we will be addressing amount of time hot water takes to reach the kitchen sink from the on-demand water heater by installing a recirculating pump. There is a fully functional dishwasher in the cottage.
This is a wonderful home and we want to make sure your vacation experience is uninhibited. If you have any questions or conditions are not to your full satisfaction, please contact us and we will be happy to address your questions. We cannot assist if we are kept in the dark! Give us the opportunity to make your stay the best ever!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Bakersfield, CA
4

So close to beach! 2nd stay and we love it!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is our second time to stay at this location. What a lovely view of the surf and sunsets from the front deck. our family of 6 comfortably enjoy this cottage get away. Its easy walking distance to all Ocean Beach amenities. Coffee shops, fun and unique restaurants, antique shopping and much more. We love the OB pier and the pier café.
The owners are very easy to work with and communication is clear and prompt. The place is clean and well outfitted for a family vacation. Easy access to all San Diego locations from the Ocean Beach area.
We hope to stay here again in the future. Would highly recommend.
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Walking to the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I loved the location, walking distance to everywhere, block from the beach, supermarket, bars, and restaurants. 10 mins from downtown and pacific beach. the whole area is very chill and everyone there is friendly, and also the neighbors. The house itself is very cozy, very modern, with wood floors, stand alone bath tub, all the cooking utensils to cook everything and anything. the patio space in front is quite chill with a view of the beach. I would recommend this location for small group or family, and i would want to return again.
Owner's Response: Thomas, thank you so much for the great review and we are happy we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Please let us know by email if there is anything that we can improve or add to the Orca Cottage. Cheers, Yasmin
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Mesa, AZ
4

Nice Place, Even Better Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was a great place to stay; very close to the beach and stores all within walking distance. The major complaint i have, which is beyond the control of the owner, is that we were directly under the flight path of a major airport! As such, generally from the hours of 6am to 8am, there was nearly constant air noise - and its quite loud. The good news is that having to wake up early to the blast of airplanes allowed us to enjoy early morning walks on the beach.
The house sleeps 4-6, but keep in mind if you bring 6, two of you will be sharing a rather small futon, so be sure you like your bunkmate..alot.
The only other minor complaint i have is the laundry fee. Since you are given only 1 towel/person for a week, if you need to do laundry, its going to cost you. It could be cheaper to purchase cheap towels and throw them away rather than wash them. Its not expensive at about $6/load (wash and dry) but it feels a little like i was being nickle and dimed after paying so much for rental and cleaning. It would also be nice if there was an outdoor BBQ, and maybe some other beach toys for use. Other rentals in the area have more 'extra' amenities which are included in the rental fee.
Other than that, the house is very nicely furnished, and in a great location.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Des Moines, IA
5

Great Beach Retreat! Perfect Hideaway! Easy Access to Everything in San Diego!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Orca Cottage is exactly why we always go through VRBO! If you are looking for a well kept cozy cottage in Ocean Beach that has off-street parking and great amenities, this is it!

The property is exactly as described, and Yasmin and Bill are great to work with! The pre-arrival package is thorough and detailed, and access to the property to check in was simple! Owners contact you after checkin to see if there are any additional needs and contact information was posted at the property for any need.

Orca is a cottage, so don't expect a house in the suburbs! It's tastefully decorated, and includes wireless and cable. The decks on the front of the house and in the courtyard are great to relax and enjoy one of the last great beach cities!

Make sure that you enjoy the beach a block away, as well as journey north on the coast to places like Del Mar for views of the coast! Hit up Coronado Island and the beach there for crowds as well as explore the Gas Lamp quarter and Balboa park!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do our best to ensure our guests have a wonderful time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
San Jose
2

Things to be aware of before you rent this Cottage

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
This Cottage is directly under the flight plan of the Southwest Airlines planes that fly in every 15 minutes beginning at 6:45 am. The planes come very low to the house. They continuously frightened my 2 year old son.

The house is not well stocked. For example, no dishwasher-machine fluid to clean the dishes. The Owner advertises that dish cleaner is provided. I called and left the owner a message. She never bothered to call back. Also, we were alloted 2 rolls of toilet paper for 4 adults. This was enough for 3 days. I used the last square of paper before heading out.

The place was not cleaned well. The floors were dirty when we checked in. The cleaning crew at a problem gaining access to clean before we arrived, so they did a quick job. The Owner did not offer any break in the price. My sons feet were dirty from walking around the place. Bring house slippers.

There are no beach toys provided other than a frisbee. There are no games. Wifi was not working. Many essential kitchen utensils were missing. Only 6 dishes / bowls are provided and some were chipped and broken.

The low rate obviously reflects the above. I would not stay here again.
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear about the bad experience our guests had. Most of Ocean Beach is under the flight path as in San Diego, unlike other cities, the airport is located downtown.
Dishwasher detergent powder is located under the kitchen sink and that was confirmed after the guests departed. Their phone call was not returned due to office phone problems. They had all our contact numbers, including cell phones, which they could have called as well, had it been a pressing issue.
We make sure to inform all guests of the amenities provided, both in our ads and in an email sent to the guests: as in most vacation rentals, we provide a stater supply of paper products and toiletries (as opposed to a hotel, which is most likely what will work better for these guests). As to cleanliness, we were not informed of the poor job our cleaning crew has done. The guests knowingly arrived earlier than check-in time, which most likely put the cleaning crew under pressure. If we were made aware of the condition we would have definitely offered a discount. Neither were we aware that Internet was not working. A quick reset of the Internet equipment (which is located in the bedroom) would have most likely resolved the problem. As can be seen from other reviews left regarding the Orca Cottage the bad experience these guests had was due to a combination of circumstances beyond our control. We do strive to ensure all guests have the best experience possible.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Chicago, Illinois
4

Charming and a great fit for us

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My wife and 7-year-old daughter spent out spring break at the Orca cottage and had an incredible time in no small part due to the following:

1. This is a fantastic location to get anywhere in the city easily.
2. It has very necessary, off-street parking in back.
3. You can see the ocean from the deck. :-)
4. It is nicely appointed, very charming and immaculate.
5. Ocean Beach is a kooky and original San Diego place.

Thanks you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Fair Oaks, CA
5

PERFECTION!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Everything was perfect! Clean, quaint, and close to everything. Had a wonderful time and couldnt be more satisfied! Thank you for making our stay something to remember!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Walk To The Beach - Ocean Beach Orca Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223916
+1 619 6196097625
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Woodland, Ca U.S.A.
5

Perfect Seaside Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My 2 sisters and I had the perfect seashore holiday in the little yellow cottage by the ocean! It was exactly what we were looking for, to spend some fun, relaxing time together. Very close to the beach, shops, and restaurants, yet quiet and peaceful on the deck in the mornings and evenings. I would come back again, and would recommend it to friends and family. Loved the decor and landscape!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2