Manuel Antonio house rental - This is the view that you wake up to everyday.
This is the view that you wake up to everyday.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Manuel Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms-3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6-8

This beautiful mansion is built into the side of the mountain looking down into the most serene ocean view you will ever see.

This 5 story home has all the amenities you might expect being located in exclusive Manuel Antonio area, but this home was built for family living and you will enjoy it like your own home.

For larger groups we have our 60 ft sportfishing boat that if

not chartered can be used as a live-a-board for some of the geststs. If you like hiking or just exploring you can have a

10 minute walk or up to 4 hours of some of the most lovely terrain you will ever see. Walk 5 minutes to your private beach and enjoy seeing the emerald BLUE water. This home is build right into the protected National Forest and you will see all the animals,birds, butterfles, and other wildlife you will see in the National Park with a fewer people to share with. We have one of the most unique homes with a location that cannot be duplicated in Costa Rica

WHAT A LOCATION!!!!!!: Hiking trails abound in this rainforest jungle and you will see most of the wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. Sloths and toucans are often seen from the 3 decks on the home and three different kinds of monkeys are always around. We have privacy, but this is one of the most safe and protected homes in manual Antonio. We also have an alarm system and safes for your valuables. We also offer trail rides on

beautiful Spanish horses close to our house. You can ride thru the forest and on the beaches and watch the sunset over the Pacific Ocean. We have high speed Internet for your use. Bring your laptop and we will provide the code we can provide full time maid service if you desire. A full time house manager is at home six days a week.

This multi-million dollar mansion built into the side of the mountain and looking down into the Pacific Ocean is the vacation home you dream about. This home is back in the vacation rental market so take advantage of this great deal.

We also have our 60 ft Sportfishing boat the BOOMERANG IS

back in Costa Rica. Its available for your charter. Deep sea fishing, diving, sightseeing our sunset cruises. It can also be chartered as a live-a-board residence. Let us know your

needs and we will work up a price for your group. The boat and house can be rented as a package. Check out home-a-way listing Number 3557451 for information on this beautiful Sportfishing Yacht.

07/27/09

Positive Rating

Greg and Michelle Bowman , NYC My family and I spent nearly two weeks here. We had very high expectations for our lifelong dream of Costa Rica. Every one was met. Beautiful home. Gracious hosts. Great views. Incredible wildlife. Absolutely refreshing. 05/31/09

Positive Rating

Gail Weinheimer , Woodacre, California Casa Pura Paz is well named. The home is lovely, comfortable and secluded, and even more beautiful than it appears in the pictures. We enjoyed our morning coffee and afternoon snacks on the deck with the monkeys and birds and butterflies. We will definitely return to this paradise. 05/12/09

Positive Rating

Ray & Darlene Henry , Fort Myers FL Oh, we loved this place! We were 3 couples who travel together a

Please check out all the comments from guests who have stayed here and see how they really feel about this wonderful destination.

Read all the guest comments to really get the feel of the guest experiences.

Costa Rica tops list of 'happiest' nationsStory Highlights

•Costa Rica beats out Dominican Republic as 'happiest' place in world

•Independent British group claims Costa Ricans have world's highest life satisfaction

•Central American nation also praised for its environmental efforts

(CNN) -- Forget Disneyland! Costa Rica is the happiest place in the world, according to an independent research group in Britain with the goal of building a new economy, 'centered on people and the environment.'

Costa Rica is known for its lush rain forests and pristine beaches.

In a report released Saturday, the group ranks nations using the 'Happy Planet Index,' which seeks countries with the most content people.

In addition to happiness, the index by the New Economics Foundation considers the ecological footprint and life expectancy of countries.

'Costa Ricans report the highest life satisfaction in the world and have the second-highest average life expectancy of the new world (second

More Details
Hide Details

We Love to fish,dive, snorkel, and just look at the beautiful coast line of this lovely country that we now live in. We came to Costa Rica on this beautiful Yacht and what a trip it was. You will never get tired of all the animals on the land or the fish, dolphan, turtles, whales, etc that you see off the boat.

Ken Or Kim Nelson purchased this house in 2005

This property is one of the most unique properties that you will ever see, privacy, safety, wildlife, that is only offered in a parklike setting.

WOW!!!! YOU HAVE TO SEE IT TO BELIEVE IT!!!!

54 Reviews of Property 223884 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 54 reviews
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Fantastic Home & Host

Fantastic Home & Host
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This was our first trip to Costa Rica and our first time out of the country with our two young daughters. We were excited to see the country, but knew little of the customs and "must sees" and hardly qualify as bilingual. So we were both excited and anxious as we rented our car in San Jose and followed Ken's directions to Casa Pura in Manuel Antonio.
Now, on the back end of our visit, I can say that Ken's house, it's amenities, it's location, and Ken's suggestions of things to do all exceeded my expectations. The house is very family friendly - well appointed with card tables and ping pong tables, a small pool, etc. but furnished in a way that is relaxing and not stuffy. It is surrounded on all sides by thick forest and we spent hours on the porch relaxing, listening to wildlife, allowing our eyes to adjust to see birds and butterflies and sloths. And no, the stories about the monkeys are not exaggerated. It was exhilirating to see them approach from the forest in the early morning and make their way onto the porch. That experience alone would have made the trip for the kids.
Also nice about the home is the access to the private beach. On two afternoons, my family trekked down and we were the only ones on the beach, playing in the warm water, exploring among the rocks, and watching the boats leave the marina for sunset cruises.
Also of tremendous value was Ken's recommendations of restaurants, places to visit, and adventures to under-take (as well as things to avoid). Highlights included zip-lining, a nearby beach you could drive onto, as well as Jose's mangrove tour (an amazing, off the beaten path experience). And, if we'd had the energy, I am sure Ken could have kept us busy and enthralled many more days.
The one thing I will say is that Ken's place can render other tours anti-climactic. For instance, by the time we walked into the actual Manuel Antonio park, it was tough for the girls to get excited about a sloth 200' away when they had had a chance to hold one in Ken's driveway. We hadn't realized how lucky we were until we ventured out and saw how other people (hundreds of people at a time with cameras clicking) were experiencing the wildlife.
In short, this place is fantastic for people energized by nature, appreciative of off the beaten path experiences, and, of course, fans of beautiful beaches, warm water and postcard views.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

A wonderful spot, high above the ocean cove!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Ken & Kim's home is simply fantastic. We enjoyed this amazing place full of wild life (nothing scary) and brilliant scenery. A short distance to some really fun night life made this a fantastic choice for us. We spent an afternoon on the beach and shared our morning coffee with a troupe of white faced monkeys. We held a baby sloth and enjoyed a tour to Ilse Dames (must see!!) with Jose (a wonderful fellow on staff there) If you are going to be in Manuel Antonio, this is a great place to be!
Owner's Response: This was a great group of guests that just enjoyed what is available both at our home and all around the beautiful area we live in. We enjoy our place thru out guests and have been blessed to have ones like this. They did so many more things then listed on the comment and enjoyed them all. They had a real vacation. Come visit us again please!!!!
Ken and Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Casa Pura Paz is a memorable Manuel Antonio destination!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We want to thank Ken and Kim for wonderful vacation at their home - Casa Pura Paz in Manuel Antonio. Their hospitality and helpful suggestions made our visit to Manuel Antonio stress free, fun and memorable. The home is an amazing and beautiful property with great views of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding National Forest land. From the huge front deck (or upstairs Observation deck), you can relax and watch the birds and monkeys, and view the ocean. We had a great time spotting the Sloth, Toucans, hummingbirds, hawks, a Red Banded Woodpecker, and many other birds right from the property. The Squirrel monkeys and Capuchin monkeys were regular visitors to the house. We were awakened one morning with the Howler monkeys ‘howling’ all around the house. If you like privacy and wildlife then you are in for a treat!

Casa Pura Paz is stylishly furnished along with local crafts and artwork. We enjoyed the comfortable accommodations, cleanliness, and many extras. This house is fully equipped with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing vacation (including a stocked bar). The kitchen was large and easy to use, and we enjoyed preparing several good meals on the grill – including fresh Marlin one night. We ate most of our meals out on the large table on the front porch so we could enjoy the weather, beautiful views and jungle activities. Also, no bugs!

Finally, Casa Pura Paz is centrally located near Manuel Antonio community/town. It is easy to get to Quepos (10 minutes), or to stop by one of the many excellent restaurants or shops in Manuel Antonio. There is so much to do and see around Manuel Antonio, you can easily spend a week in the area and never get bored. We had a rental SUV which gave us good flexibility to travel off the main roads, but it didn’t seem necessary to enjoy the area. We loved the walk/hike to the secluded beach down the hill from the house – it is a great walk through the rainforest and the beach is full of interesting things to do including: viewing the ancient turtle traps, climbing through the volcanic outcroppings, swimming in the warm water, and viewing the wildlife. Our special thanks to Jose (the house manager) for his helpful tips as was well as the great private mangrove and island tour! We also enjoyed visiting the Manuel Antonio National Park, and getting some thrills on the Canopy Zip Line excursion.

Overall, Casa Pura Paz exceeded our expectations resulting in a great vacation. Pura Vida and see you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Its so nice when we can enjoy our home thru our guests enjoyment of it as well. These were 2 of the nicest couples and we enjoyed spending some time with them. Appreciation is one of the most rewarding gifts you can give another person. Thanks and hope you can come back with the rest of your family or friends.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Washington DC
5

Privacy and Nature in the Center of it All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is an outstanding property. We saw more wildlife (Sloths, Lizards, Capuchin and Squirrel Monkeys,Toucans etc) from the glorious back deck than we did in MA National Park. A quick 5 min hike (its a hike not a walk) to a private beautiful beach, a great small pool and an incredibly well appointed house very near hotel alley and a variety restaurants if you want to go out. Jose was amazing and his Mangrove tour is a do not miss. Ken and Kim could not have been better hosts and their boat is exceptional (we caught 7 sailfish) and enjoyed a full day on the water. Safe, private, beautiful and close to the action. Highly recommended.Our four sons had a blast.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

I want to go back:(

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I got back from our trip about a week ago. I can't get it out of my head! The house is beautiful and so is the land around it. There were always sloths in the trees right outside and monkeys would come if you had fresh fruit outside. We loved feeding the titi monkeys! They're so cute! Most of our time was spent on the porch enjoying the view. A few tips..... 1) "walking distance" is relative. While many things are within walking distance, it will not be an easy walk for many people. That said, using a cab is so quick and easy, this shouldn't be considered a con. 2) The same can be said for the walk to the beach. Although a short distance, it is quite a hike. Not everyone will be able to do it. Keep in mind though, that Manuel Antonio is a mountainous region. The fact that there is beach access at all is definitely a plus. 3) The private chefs are great. We had sushi once (the tuna is incredible) and almond crusted red snapper another time. Very good and a great break from cooking or having to go somewhere. 4) The masseus is great! We had back to back 90 min massages and she was able to go the whole 3 hrs with no problem. By the way, scheduling an afternoon massage followed by a private chef is definitely the way to go. 5) Listen to Ken and Kim's recommendations of restaurants, things to do, etc... Everything they recommended was great. 6) If you are into culture and meeting locals, we HIGHLY recommend letting Jose take you on his mangrove tour!! Jose is such a sweet guy, my husband and I both wanted to take him home with us:) He takes you on his little boat through the mangroves. He shows you so many interesting animals. Then he takes you to a little island where just a handful of people live. A wonderful family there fixes an amazing lunch for you and Jose takes you around to see the different parts of their farm. After lunch, he walks you to the beach and you and your family can spend all the time you want on a beautiful private beach. That was definitely an experience of a lifetime. 7) One more little tip, Ken is very relaxed! lol I am not:) We butted heads a little over email before we arrived. I expected him to be as "type A" as I am in planning our vacation and he just takes things very slowly. Don't let this scare you! lol They are wonderful people and have definitely adopted the "pura vida" lifestyle of living in Costa Rica. This is a good thing;) Enjoy your trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Manuel Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a wonderful stay, gracious hosts and a beautiful property. A very unique location with access to all the amenities of the area. We hope to stay here again in future visits.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Stilwell, KS/USA
5

We Can't Wait To Go Back!!

We Can't Wait To Go Back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I don't know where to begin when it comes to writing all of the positives about this property or its owners, Ken and Kim. There were 6 of us on our vacation, 3 adults and 3 teenagers and I think our teenage son put it best when he said "This vacation was a life changing experience that we will never forget". Ken and Kim are wonderful people and made our trip even more special. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed as well as arranging our activities. They were available if we needed them and out of sight if we didn't. The house is amazing, beautifully decorated and the views are spectacular! We felt like we were in the jungle yet only steps away from the main road. Having our morning coffee on the deck while overlooking the ocean was the perfect way to start our days. Our teenagers would wake early in the morning, grab the bananas, go to the deck and within minutes you could hear the branches on the trees fluttering and bouncing about and before you knew it there were monkeys everywhere...an awesome experience and one of our favorite memories. Jose, the house manager, is fantastic and added to the "extra special" part of our trip! We all became quite attached to him and hated saying goodbye. We went on his Mangrove Tour and it was one of our favorite days...a cultural experience we will never forget! The daily maid service was an added bonus for me, Mom, and made my vacation so easy! Our favorite taxi driver was Eliud who along with Jose, is in the "extra special" category! His number is in the house book. If you use him, tell him the Kansas City 6 say "Hola". If you go to Manuel Antonio Beach, you must try Mary's Rentals who will take care of your every need! Other faves included Ziplining, the Catamaran day trip, Gran Escape Restaurant in Quepos, the Farmer's Market, and The Rainbow Waterfall Hike!
I don't know if our trip would have been as special if we hadn't stayed at Ken and Kim's property. This VRBO will be our go-to place for our next Costa Rican vacation which we hope to do again next year as we just couldn't get enough on this first trip! If you want the "extra special" on your vacation, then this is a must rental! It's a magical place and the best 9 day vacation we've ever had!
Ken and Kim, thank you for everything! You both are truly lovely people! Our teenage son said to tell you he's still up for adoption and he would make a great assistant to Jose...hahaha! We hope to see you next year! Until then, Pura Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
dallas, texas
5

paradise found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
our family was blessed to find and enjoy this tropical paradise - my four kids loved the jungle, monkeys on the porch, beach and the lovely house and amenities - we could not more highly recommend the house and the hospitality - the staff and owners are wonderful - they helped schedule transportation and excursions to everything we wanted and more -
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
La Crescenta, California USA
5

Best VRBO Ever !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I just arrived back in the States from a week at this amazing house in Manuel Antonio and I miss it So Very Badly already!!!! The house is amazing and has so many great amenities. The Splash pool is just the right temp to cool you cool after a hike up the hill from the most beautiful private beach I have ever seen. The kitchen is great, 6 burner stove and oven, powerful microwave, all the utensils. the beds are comfy and the AC is such a great treat. The house is splendidly decorated, not garish at all but very very comfortable and easy to relax in and enjoy. A market is less than a mile away, and although it's an uphill walk it is so beautiful of a hike you will find it invigorating and rewarding. Great restaurants nearby too.
What really makes this place special is the owners. They are so warm and welcoming. They are always there if you need them, and have so many wonderful tips on the local area, things to do and places to shop. They directed us to a local seafood market that was incredible and so unbelievably inexpensive and fresh. THey helped us with bartering for local services and shared some great stories with us. They have a great house staff to take care of you too, and their man who manages the house staff is helpful and can take you on an amazing mangrove experience.
You will love this place! I will never forget it. Don't miss out on this one!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Mansion with Private Beach/ Private Yacht /Mt View /Horses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223884
87305654
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Pittsburgh, Pa
5

Pura Vida !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed here during the green season. It was our second visit to Costa Rica and we were not disappointed. The house has everything that you could want. We traveled with our 20 mos old son.The house itself made you feel like you were one with nature the large open windows and amazing view. The staff was incredible. It is now February and my son is still talking about Jose and Maria and wanting to go back to see his friends. First let me say if you stay at a hotel you will never get to have the experience of all of this at the same place every day. There is a refreshing private pool with a waterfall at night you get to see the beautiful frogs and toads and bats. During the day you might get to see the resident Basilisk Lizard. Every day there was a sloth right in front of the balcony. I called her Mona. Sometimes you saw another as well. We saw two kinds of toucan every day and at least three troops of monkeys lived right on site in the private rain forest. we were able to see Howler & White Faced Capuchin every day on the trails. Several days the Capuchin came right on the porch and we were able to feed them plantains and other fruits. They came right up with their babies on their backs. The forest on site is great for little explorers we would go on walks every day down to see the monkeys or look at the different wildlife like butterflies or leaf cutter ants etc. The walk to the beach is definitely an adventure and one with handicaps would not be able to do however there are other beaches very close. the private beach is beautiful we saw several birds such as vultures here. The only concern i had with my son was the open deck. It was very scary and do wish there was some lattice put on the lower part or something to block. I was not sure how the dogs would react to my son especially being a security pack but they were great and gentle with him. Kim and Ken were wonderful even when I had to bother them. Kim would bring the horses down and let my son give them a carrot treat. When we read our horse books he now calls them Byron and Romeo. It was nice to have a washer dryer on site i know now i can pack lighter :). There are many things close by such as coffee shop and restaurants. We got to see whales from the one restaurant. I suggest a visit to the Si Como No Wildlife reserve its a short ride and really nice. Definitely recommend Jose's mangrove tour. We would love to return . Thanks Kim and Ken for a wonderful experience. You have an amazing property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2