Somers house boat rental - View from water (note lift track above house to the left)
View from water (note lift track above house to the left)
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Somers House Boat Rental Photos and Description
Boathouse, 1Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

This unique waterfront property is he last surviving boathouse with living quarters above it. From the road you will walk down a wooded path to a private incline tram system that will carry you a hundred feet down to a world of lake shore living. When you get to the covered open-air deck, it is complete with a Weber gas BBQ, patio heater, table, chairs and a swing for two. Stepping through the sliding glass door you will see that the living level is decorated with fishing motif. In the corner is a wood stove which can be enjoyed from the overstuffed sofa-bed. The kitchen is well-furnished with cooking utensils and all appliances except for a dishwasher. There is an adorable bath with shower only. Up the winder staircase is a loft bedroom with queen bed and step-in closet plus a dormer niche with a bench. The dock and lake level of the property is shared with the property owners. You have your own boat slip and have full access to the dock, beaches, swim area, swim ladders, & canoe.

The boathouse level is totally private. The lower level with the dock and lake area of the property is shared with the property owners and their guests occasionally. You have your own boat slip and have full access to the dock, beaches, swim area and swim ladders. There is plenty of wood provided for having a bonfire in the fire pit. The lakefront also has a romantic footbridge, patio area with picnic table and tether ball. You are welcome to use the canoe, paddle boat and kayaks which are easily launched from the beach area.

Somers Bay Boathouse is conveniently located: 12 miles west of Bigfork which has live theater and dining; an hour from Glacier Park; 10 miles from historic downtown Kalispel; 5 miles from Lakeside which has a grocery store and dining; great restaurants are within 5 minutes driving toward downtown Somers. The street above the boathouse is part of a biking/walking path which takes you to historic Somers.

Please call or e-mail if you have any questions or would like to see additional photos.

More Details
Hide Details

Quiet, private setting, right on the water

20 Reviews of Property 223815 in Somers, Montana

Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
Lohmar
5

What a place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
If you like to be at a place that special, you would like it, it is awesome! Never have been at a place like this.
Everything is great beyond description and if we would have had some more weeks, we wouldn't have moved at all and just be there and let the scenery pass by, I think, that says all how we felt.
Making trips to Glacier was a must, and we never saw such a lovely landscape and did some hikes. Earl and Karen are nice hosts and the house is fitted with everything you need.
Being in Montana is like you are at home, where the people are so friendly, we will for sure com back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
5

Boathouse Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
From the moment we took the tram down to the boathouse my husband and I were in love. The sound of the water gently lapping against the dock relaxed us and later lulled us to sleep. We felt secluded and wrapped in beauty. The next day we took the canoe to go an "visit" the Mission Mountain view. The lake was calm and the sun out ~ glorious. We then explored Bigfork and secured tickets for a performance of "Chicago" at the Playhouse that evening. It was superb. We also ate at the Bigfork Inn. Their duck is the best I have ever had ~ crispy and delectable. We also shopped for groceries at the Blacktail Groceries in Lakeside. The kitchen is well equipped and had we wanted to we could have eaten all of our meals at the house. Even when it rains, the sheer majesty of the lake and mountains is entertainment enough! Bandit, the cat, was also a quaint and quirky surprise. Our stay was blissful, indeed.
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
5

A Quintessential View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I could hardly imagine a more exquisite view than from this charming boathouse. The beautiful waters of Flathead Lake against the backldrop of the majestic Swan Range...it was very sad saying goodbye. Earl has done an amazing job turning this into a cozy and inviting cabin. It is tastefully decorated and very clean. The bed is wonderfully comfortable. The morning sun shines into the cabin to welcome the day, and if you are lucky, Bandit the amazingly affectionate cat may be waiting outside to wish you good morning. Earl and Karen were great hosts. We highly recommend this rental, and hope to return in the near future.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The boathouse is exactly as described, perfect location with an amazing view. It is small and simple inside, but this area is more about the outdoors. We built a fire the one night, enjoyed the stars from our private dock, shared the porch swing with an extremely friendly cat and even caught a couple sunrises. Loved it and will definitely return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
Norfolk, VA
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The boathouse is exactly as described, perfect location with an amazing view. It is small and simple inside, but this area is more about the outdoors. We built a fire the one night, enjoyed the stars from our private dock, shared the porch swing with an extremely friendly cat and even caught a couple sunrises. Loved it and will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The boathouse was an outstanding place to stay, we made our plans late and were only able to stay one night - next time we will stay longer. This place is a gem and a romantic get away for two.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
5

High expectations met and surpassed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were so excited for a short vacation up at Flathead and found ourselves lucky to have booked the Boathouse for 5 days. The owners were very responsive during the booking process and were kind enough to extend a discount to us as we are active duty military. When we checked in we got a thourough but efficient introduction to the Boathouse, it's electric lift (not at all scary but still just a little exciting), and the area. Here's what we found:
- There's no way that photos can capture how perfect this house is for two adults or a small family. It looks great in the pictures on the website but it's even better when you see it in person.
- The house is built over the water. The huge front windows open up to the water; if you have small children you might want to keep those lovely sliding glass doors closed.
- The house is fully stocked with cooking utensils. There is a coffee pot, blender, toaster, oven, microwave, and impressive gas grill with attendant pots, pans, and tools.
- Sunning on the dock is wonderful, and the dock served as the prefect place for my marriage proposal (she said "yes").
- 35-45 mintes to West Glacier.
- 10 minutes to full-sized grocery store in Kalispell

Bottom line: Book it. You'll love it.
Owner's Response: Karen and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We thank you both for your service to our country.
May God bless you and your marriage.
You will always have a discount here, Earl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Owner Commentary

  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We've typed out some of the many comments previous guests have left in our guest book. Tried to give a variety of commentaries without too much repetition.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Short but sweet

  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
(taken from our guest book) Great Place! Great time! Loved Bandit! Thanks so much!
business
Romantic Somers Bay Boathouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223815
+ (406) 261-5536
Somers Flathead Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Recipe for Relaxation

  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
(taken from our guest book) Recipe for relaxation and enjoyment... > one Boathouse delightfully decorated in a peaceful setting > add generous amounts of morning sun poured gently thru the windows > sprinkle in the visits to Glacier Nat'l, Whitefish, Bigfork and Kalispell > add a fabulous distant lightening storm by Mother Nature > a glass of wine here and there > stir gently over 6 days :) Great vacation! Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 1/1