Red Hook house rental - Feather Farm
Feather Farm
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Red Hook House Rental Photos and Description
3 Beds, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Feather Farm is an 18th century farm house in the countryside of the Hudson Valley in NY and is available throughout the year.

Just 2 hours drive from NYC, this home is a perfect weekend retreat from hectic city life, a great setting for a week (or weekend) away with friends & family. Cook a wonderful dinner in the fully equipped kitchen, have a bbq. Our friends and family can't wait to come back.

Set on 5 acres of land in the small town of Milan, NY, it is conveniently situated for privacy and seclusion, yet only 10 minutes from either Rhinebeck (http://rhinebeck.com/index.html) or Red Hook (http://www.redhook.org/) where shopping, restaurants and culture are easy to find.

A 1/2 hour trip will take you to great sites such as the home of FDR, Val Kill and other areas of interest are short trips from the house.

Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing...it's all in Dutchess County!

http://www.dutchesstourism.com/dtours1des.asp

10 Reviews of Property 223152 in Red Hook, New York

Charming farm house in the country
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Boston, Massachusetts
4

Adorable House in the Country

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Just back from our weekend in Red Hook for the NY Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. The house is in a peaceful, gorgeous spot, with a lovely front porch that was perfect for a 4pm cocktail. The kitchen and living room are both large and cozy for hanging out in, and the house had everything we needed for the weekend away. Bedrooms upstairs were big and bright and we had plenty of room for the airbeds on the floor. One thing to be aware of is that the internet connection was a bit wonky, so in order to check email or get online we had to walk down to the barn/garage. I've already booked the house for next year :)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Toronto
5

Such a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had such a wonderful time at your stunningly quaint, stylish and cozy home! Someone must be quite the chef with all the great kitchen tools too! We will be back as we not only enjoyed your home but fell in love with the area. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Phoenix
4

Lovely country farmhouse

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house is charming and so is the setting. The good rating (instead of excellent) is because the upstairs bathroom did not have a shower, just a bathtub. Also, we could never get the television to work--none of the remotes did anything. I didn't want to bother the owner because it was Thanksgiving and we did without. All in all, though, it was very comfortable and pleasant. The kitchen is a great place to hang.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We do have the bathrooms listed under the amenities section of the websites. Unfortunately the slope of the roof doesn't allow a shower to be installed. We'll place a hand held shower device for future tenants who may be inconvenienced to go to the first floor bathroom.
The Television, DVD, etc. all are in working order. We watched a movie two nights prior to tenant’s arrival plus it worked this past weekend. We'll add instructions on how to turn on the television, etc. so there's no confusion with other tenants- I did receive an email from the tenant on how to plug in an iPod to the stereo so providing instructions on all electronics may be helpful.
Besides from the above, glad you enjoyed your stay-
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
New York City
5

Lovely home in the country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a lovely girls getaway weekend at Feather Farm, what a beautiful and relaxing escape from the City. The Red Hook area is lovely and so many things to do and see within easy driving distance, yet while at the home you feel absolutely secluded in the most wonderful of ways. The home is just as outlined and everything with the rental process was very smooth. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
NYC
5

Great Winter weekend in October!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My friends and I had a wonderful weekend. The only issue we had was with the heating on the first floor but after contacting Terry the issue was resolved quickly. The house is well equipped and very comfortable. The fireplace was great to use, especially since we got over a foot of snow in October. We were able to find snow boots and shovels in the house with no problem. It is a very cozy house that all six of us enjoyed immensely. Thank you for a wonderful Winter weekend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Manhattan, NY, Northeast
5

A Special Weekend Away with the Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We arrived on a wonderfully sunny Friday afternoon in October and had a wonderful weekend. The home is very well maintained and neat and clean. Feather Farm had a relaxed cozy feel. There was a fireplace and cozy couch for us to enjoy our time together. The house is nicely decorated and it made us feel welcomed and comfortable. I had a few questions during the weekend and the owner made himself available via cell which was nice.
We enjoyed a nice dinner in the town of Redhook that was a recommendation from the owner on Friday evening; we went swimming at The Bard College in Tivioli and hiking in Poets Walk off of River Road which was beautiful.
My only recommendation for the owner was to have firewood available for the renters because we had to go buy it ourselves.
We hope to come back soon.
The Pray-O'Shea Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: we hope you all stay again. We now have plenty of firewood for all- Sorry about that-
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Medford, NY
5

Lovely home in a nice secluded spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My brother and I just stayed at this house for a weekend of relaxation, and to take in the local towns of Red Hook and Rhinebeck. This home was very conveniently located near both towns, both of which have nice shops and restaurants to offer (especially Rhinebeck). The house was very nice- clean, with a small bedroom downstairs, and two large bedrooms upstairs. The shower worked well, with nice hot water and good water pressure. It is a very cozy house, on a quiet street. It was a perfect place to get away and relax for a weekend! We had a very nice time and would definitely consider staying here again if we return to the area. It was real easy to deal with the owner; no logistical issues whatsoever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
Pequea, PA
5

Fabulously cozy and comfortable get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The house was truly charming and well-appointed, as portrayed in the property description. It captured the cottage-contemporary style quite well and had most of the amenities one could envision for use on a vacation. When we arrived, the house was clean and set up for guests, but there were prepared meat dishes in the fridge and freezer that needed to be thrown out, which made for a dreadfully smelly bag of trash... The setting was indeed a country setting - quiet and lovely. The only challenge was the mosquitos, but that's an unavoidable situation with a pond across the road... and there was lots of bug repellent in the house. The owner, Brian, was very thorough and responsive from our first inquiry up to our stay. We would defintely recommend Feather Farm to a friend. Place we enjoyed wer: Olana, Valkyll, FDR, CIA, Boscobel, Dia:Beacon, Bannerman's Island, Woodstock, Lake Minnewaska, and Half Time - known for the world's greatest beer selection, located in Poughkeepsie (sp?)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
New York City
5

Beautiful house, wonderful weekend place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This house has my highest recommendation. It is a beautiful old house, tastefully decorated and well kept. When we arrived the house was clean, the beds were made, there were ample towels, it had everything we needed for a great weekend including a well equipped kitchen and picnic table outside. We had a wonderful time and hope to return soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming farm house in the country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p223152
+1 212 929-4828
Red Hook Hudson Valley
New York
1

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We arrived to find that the house had not been cleaned since whoever last stayed there: the floors, carpet and bathroom mats were visibly dirty; dirty sheets were piled on top of the washer; the dishwasher had not been emptied; the refrigerator was filled with half used condiments. We tried to wash the sheets but discovered the washer was not working. Luckily, we eventually found usable sheets in a closet. Someone else's half used toiletries were in the shower, including a used loofah. There was no phone nor internet service. The phone service was repaired by the 6th day of our stay, but not the internet service. The yard was a mess with fallen branches and trees. In response to our complaints, the owner emailed his apologies and promised to return our rental payment, but it is now a month later and he has not returned the payment and no longer responds to our email. He has not even returned the deposit, which according to the lease was to be returned within 10 days of our departure. In short, we would never recommend this house to anyone.
Helpful votes: 18/18