Fraser house rental - Moose Lodge on a snowy evening
Moose Lodge on a snowy evening
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps22
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fraser House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 18-22)

Moose Lodge at Crooked Creek was presented both the “People’s Choice” and “Best Floor Plan” awards for homes over $1 million in the inaugural Grand County Parade of Homes.

In the winter, sports enthusiasts can enjoy skiing and snowboarding at the popular Winter Park/Mary Jane resort or Solvista ski resort, Nordic skiing at Snow Mountain Ranch or Devil’s Thumb, tubing at the local tubing hill (complete with tow ropes!) or sledding on the hill just in front of the lodge! Bring your snowshoes or cross country skis and take a jaunt up the picturesque valley. The area offers other winter activities as well including ice skating, snowmobiling and ice fishing.

After enjoying the outdoors, nestle into the comfortable leather sofas and wing chairs in the great room with its panoramic views of the Crooked Creek Valley and vistas of the Colorado Rockies. Enjoy the rosy alpenglow on the snowcapped mountains as the sun sets in the west. The huge wood-burning Rumsfeld fireplace will usher in a cozy night with your friends and family.

In the summer and fall you and your guests will enjoy the amenities that life in the Colorado Rockies will afford you. Enjoy the sunny outdoors with hiking, river rafting, golfing, fishing or mountain biking. This lodge is located within a couple of miles of a huge selection of challenging mountain biking and hiking trails. Or drive ten minutes to the Winter Park Resort to enjoy the summer activities including mini-golf, a climbing wall and a alpine slide. After the day’s fun you can retreat to Moose Lodge to enjoy the covered porch or the large deck complete with a gas barbecue, picnic table with a huge umbrella, Adirondack lounge chairs and the six person hot tub. The kids will love the tree house built on the hill just above the lodge or playing in the creek.

It is a pleasure to cook in the gourmet kitchen with granite countertops and a six burner-two oven Dacor range. A 10-foot gathering room table with benches accommodates a full-house of guests. The table in the great room handles overflow diners with pull-out stools and doubles as a game table. After dinner enjoy time with each other by playing one of the huge assortment of games, a game of ping pong, pool or a movie.

The grand master is on the third level, adorned with a monstrous headboard and footboard fashioned of twisted aspen wood. The bathroom is huge, with a 5-head double shower and a steam unit. The main level has the second master bedroom suite for adult guests with a private bathroom, walk-in closet and a sitting area that looks down the picturesque Crooked Creek valley.

The walk-out basement has two bunk rooms, each sleeping seven guests. One of the bottom bunks in each bunkroom is a queen bed so that a family can easily be accommodated. The bathrooms have separate toilet and shower areas so that multiple people can use the bathrooms while still maintaining privacy.

The walk-out rec room has a wet bar, a full media system with a satellite big-screen T.V. and a pool table crafted from sticks and logs which easily converts to a ping-pong table. The backlit ceiling soffit creates just the right lighting for any occasion. The perfect atmosphere is completed with the ability to hook up your personal music library via your i-pod or use our MP3 library of over 5000 tracks that can be played throughout the house with no CD-changing hassle.

At the very top of the house is a lookout room with windows on three sides that we like to call “the Eagle’s Nest”. It is a place for kids and kids-at-heart to build with blocks, Kinex, Legos and marble mazes for “old-fashioned” fun. There are air mattresses up here for more sleeping options.

Moose Lodge is wonderful for small or large groups of people. Several families have used it for family reunions, as it comfortably accommodates many people, and has activities for people of all ages to enjoy. The Lodge also works very well for corporate, church or non-profit visioning or retreat conferences as well being a great venue for weddings up to 125 people.

Keywords: Private Lodge, Private Home, Reunion Lodge, Reunion Cabin, Retreat Center, Mountain Lodge, Winter Park Lodge, Winter Park Cabin, Mountain Wedding Venue, Wedding Venue, Wedding Site, Scrapbooking Weekend Retreat, Girls Weekend,

More Details
Hide Details

Our oldest son, Ryan, just graduated from New York University and is pursuing his passion for making films. Trevor, our sports nut and a senior in high school, is looking into where he can get a great education and play his favorite sport of baseball. Dylan, the one who can juggle anything, rides a unicycle and has his sights set on being a stunt double, is a freshman in high school. Rick runs a company (LifePics) dedicated toward making the printing of digital photographs easy for people like you and me! I am enjoying my business of taking what people already own and re-using it in new ways to make people's homes work better for them. Nellie, the dog, just loves being a dog and chasing the chipmunks at Camp Patch.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Rick and I really desired to provide an place to go regularly as a family to enjoy each other and to hike, bike and ski in the great Colorado outdoors. As a Colorado native I learned to ski at Winter Park. Rick spent most of his growing up years skiing here as well. The skiing and true laid-back Colorado feeling here in Winter Park just can't be beat. There was no question of where we wanted to build our family legacy home!

22 Reviews of Property 222565 in Fraser, Colorado

Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 22 reviews
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Texas
5

The very best in Winter Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is the most beautiful and grand cabin in Winter Park. We spent spring break here with our entire family of 9 and we were all just enchanted. First off, the view will take your breathe away and you will not want to even leave the cabin to ski or enjoy the enormous activities that surround you. The owner is the sweetest and easiest person in the world to deal with. Every single thing was looked after for us in tiniest detail to make our stay the most comfortable and peaceful. We just felt at home the minute we stepped in. Every kitchen amenity was at our disposal, and as a chef, I just felt happy and comfortable creating whatever I wanted. We had a party varying from 2 years of age to 80 years and we were all blessed by this grand but homey lodging.
I've stayed at the finest resorts and establishments in the world and thought nothing could take my awe, but the view from this lodge, well, it just took my breathe away. I can not wait to return again to enjoy that peace I found there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sue, I am so thrilled that Moose Lodge was such a great place for your family! It satisfies me so much when people enjoy themselves and make fabulous family memories while at our place. That is what it is all about for me! Thank you for sharing your great experience!
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Highlands Ranch, CO
5

Love, love, love the Moose Lodge!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just concluded our family reunion at Moose Lodge. The facility itself far exceed our expectations, and our expectations were high! A beautiful home that is warm, inviting and exceptional in every way! The photos do not do justice to the experience of actually being there. Beautifully decorated, thoughtfully appointed and equipped well beyond the norm! It was as comfortable as being in our own home. While the lodge itself is stunning in every way, the surrounding property and setting is truly magnificent, calming and peaceful in every way! The owner/manager was wonderful to work with and even followed up with a phone call on the evening of our arrival to make sure that there were no unanswered questions, concerns or issues. The design and layout of the main floor and basement rec. room is very conducive to a family gathering. We had anticipated spending more time away from the lodge with nearby activities, but once we were all settled in, no one wanted to leave the property!! The only reasons we left during the week was to replenish our food stores. I'm afraid that my description does not adequately convey how wonderful it was to be there for the week. You'll not find a finer, warmer, more inviting property on all of VRBO!! Don't "think about it"... just do it!! You'll be so glad you did!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: To the Hansen clan,
I am delighted that Moose Lodge at Crooked Creek was such a great fit for your family reunion. The Lodge was designed for just this thing. I hope you will return next summer or book a wintery weekend to enjoy the huge fireplace and to experience how awesome the sledding hill is! Thank you Dennis!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Broomfield
5

The Magnificent Moose

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This property is absolutely stunning. Set up in the mountains in a secluded canyon, its mountain lodging at its best. The custom built home has incredible wood carvings through out and tastefully decorated. It sleeps 12+ comfortably and has an amazing kitchen, not to mention views! The owners are really easy to work with and I would definitely rent this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
5

Ideal setting and home for making wonderful memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We've stayed at Moose Lodge every year for almost 10 years during the winter holiday. The home is amazing with a gourmet kitchen and open living room for our family and friends to cook, eat and just hang out together. Plenty of comfortable sleeping rooms too. The owner is thoughtful and has created an atmosphere in this beautiful home that is warm, welcoming, peaceful and an ideal place to create memories of a lifetime. There's tons to do nearby...skiing, sledding (on the property), ice skating and so much more. Lovely time each time we go!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Superior, CO
5

Loved every minute!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Several friends and I searched and searched for the perfect getaway house. When I ran across Moose Lodge on VRBO, it was the obvious choice. All of
our hopes and expectations were exceeded. The house is amazing. It could be show cased in Better Homes and Gardens or Sunset magazine. Truly gorgeous to the last detail. We had the most wonderful time enjoying the house and the surrounding property. I will book year after year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Denver, CO
2

Great home, not worth dealing with owner though

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was great and amazing, but don't bother renting it unless you want to end your vacation with a horrible experience. After checking out, the owner accused us of breaking the law, made ridiculous claims, and made slanderous statement towards us as individuals and as a group.

Our problems started before we even arrived when the owner let us know a few days before, that the hot tub was not in great working condition. When we tried to use the hot tub, it lasted for about 10 minutes until the whole thing shutdown. A repair man came out, but it was still not fixed. The owner clearly misled us in her listing that there was a functioning hot tub, which we expected and paid for. She did not want to give us a refund for the hot tub because she claimed that she never promised us a working hot tub.

We checked out a hour late because we underestimated the amount of time to get a large group out of the house and have the house cleaned to the owners excessive requirements. Because of this, we expected to pay a late charge, but we were shocked when she tried to charge us nearly all of our security deposit for ridiculous charges. Most charges weren't even detailed on the contract that we agreed to! One example was a charge for the stress the cleaners had because we left late. We already had paid a cleaning fee with our rental agreement, but she wanted more money. The crazy part is, she made these claims without even seeing the house after we left.

The house was not in a clean state when we arrived. The garage was so muddy that we would have tracked mud all into the house had we not cleaned out the garage. The oven had burnt food on the bottom and we had to wait until most of it burnt off to use it. She then claimed that it was our fault and she charged us for this too. The outrageous charges go on and on. As a group, we have stayed in more rental properties than we can count and no one has ever encountered the type of rules or fees this owner wanted.

I am sure the owner will write a followup denying what I stated here. She will also make more outrageous claims and will try to discredit our group, hopefully without making slanderous comments this time. Believe whomever you like, but I can tell you it is not worth taking the chance and dealing with this home owner. There are plenty of homes in the area and they come with wonderful home owners that you get to deal with. Look elsewhere so your vacation isn't ruined by this owner.
Owner's Response: Our family has been renting our property for eight years and have had hundreds of wonderful and delighted renters who enjoyed and treated our home respectfully, as it if were their own. That is the spirit by which we rent the property and our home guest book signatures and messages speak for themselves. Our property was simply not a good fit for the style of renting and activities this group of individuals was looking for. Our home is absolutely amazing, and our policies are completely appropriate and comfortable for those that are looking for this level of quality and creating treasured memories with their friends and family.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at Moose Lodge over New Years week and had an absolutely amazing time. The house was perfect...the hot tube, the rec room, the sledding hill...we couldn't have asked for a better place to vacation. The gourmet kitchen was ideal for cooking. The house was spotless when we arrived and was very well equipped.

Wishing we were still there...but we will return!

The Strouds
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
longview,tx
5

perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
perfection! beautiful home in the perfect location. amazing views and ample space. house is well maintained and is the perfect place for a family vacation. highly reccomend moose lodge if you are looking for a relaxing setting without sacrificing ammenities. this home has it all!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ashley, I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Moose Lodge! It was a delight to have you at our home. I hope you will be back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Littleton, CO
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thank you to Nancy for quickly answering all our questions about the home before we went. We had a wonderful time and the floorplan was perfect for our large group. The games in the cabin were very popular and we loved how close it was to Rocky Mountain, Sulphur Hot Springs and Winter Park and rock climbing. Everyone in our group was very impressed by the house and I must say we loved the set up of the downstairs bathrooms! It made it so much easier to accomodate everyone in our group. Our boys loved the tree house too. Beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Moose Lodge Sleeps18! Perfect for Family Reunions!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222565vb
+1 7208788782
Fraser Winter Park Area
Central Texas
5

Stunning Home in Beautiful Secluded Area!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We traveled up to Winter Park with family and friends for the Thanksgiving Holiday and stayed at this gorgeous home in Fraser. The views around the home are breathtaking. The inside was so beautifully decorated. We wondered what exactly we should bring for our big Thanksgiving dinner and were pleasantly surprised at how well the kitchen was stocked. Plenty of pots, dishes, utensils etc. Even most spices and cooking products were stocked in the kitchen which you are asked to replace if it runs out. Nancy, the owner of the home was such a nice person to work with. She made sure our visit went smoothly. Prior to our stay she returned my calls and emails with questions I had about the home, area etc. We mostly just stayed at Camp Patch and enjoyed the scenery, hot tub, media room and tubing down the hill in front of the house. My kiddos loved the area upstairs that had plenty of toys. We drove into Winter Park which is only about a 15 min drive and went snow tubing and strolled around the ski resort. I would love to stay here again. Highly recommend!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7