Cape Neddick cottage rental - View of cottage from ocean
View of cottage from ocean
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cape Neddick Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, outdoor hot water shower, sleeps 4

Quintessential Maine cottage in the center of Cape Neddick harbor with a BOLD view of two lighthouses. Great frontage and private location less than 100 feet from the ocean. Two bedrooms downstairs. Ceiling fans in all downstairs rooms. Fall asleep listening to the sound of the ocean less than 100 feet away at high tide. Fireplace, TV, VCR, high speed cable internet, DVD, washer and dryer. Deck has round table with umbrella. Large parking lot in back. During low tides children will have fun exploring the numerous tidal pools. A local beach is only 200 yards away and the town of York Beach and the large public beaches are less than a mile away. Many fine restaurants in the area including one a short walk across the street. Canoe available for use. This cottage offers the best ocean view in Maine!

Beach locations: There is a small private beach several hundred yards away on the north side of the cottage. The campground behind the cottage uses this beach. 1/2 mile away is the center of York Beach and Short Sands Beach. The gorgeous one and a half mile long Long Sands Beach is only 1.5 miles away. All these beaches are within walking distance or metered parking is available at the later two.

Stores: There is a large Hannefords food store with great selection only 4 miles south on route 1. A little further along are the Kittery Outlets - virtually all name brands at discounted prices. Numerous fine restaurants are within a short drive. These include famous hamburg joints to really upscale places like the Cliff House. I keep a number of menus of places I recommend in a folder in the cottage. The center of York Beach is only a half mile away and has a Funarama, Animal Forest Park, The famous Golden Rod restaurant and candy store. There is also a candlepin bowling alley in town. On the other side of long sands Beach you will find all the town offices along with a Public library. There are free tennis courts open to the public at the high school. There is a private golf course only 2 miles north of the cottage. York Harbor and Ogunquit are about 5 miles away. Deep sea fishing and ocean cruises can be lined up at either place.

History: This cottage was purchased by my great grandfather back in the 1930's. It has been a family treasure ever since. My family and I use it when it is not rented out. It is the most beautiful spot in Maine! Most other coastal property has been renovated with large houses and mansions since the price of the property is so very expensive. This is one of the few small original cottages left in the area. It has all the charm! Notice from the coastal view that it has a comparatively large frontage affording a lot of privacy. The tidal pools in front are a joy to anyone under 12 years old - and an equal joy for you to share with the youngster! We hope that you enjoy your stay at this property as much as we do.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 222367 in Cape Neddick, Maine

Charming oceanfront cottage with view of 2 lighthouses
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Charming oceanfront cottage with view of 2 lighthouses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222367
+1 518-300-0718
Cape Neddick Southern Coast of Maine
Scottsdale, Arizona
5

Ocean Front Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
A very lovely cottage in a private area right at the ocean, it is as good as it gets. A very nice kitchen ,a washer and dryer ,everything you need to be comfortable . The view is to die for! The owners are wonderful. We will go back .The cottage is very close to The Lobster Pound Restaurant, not far from the Union Bluff hotel and restaurant . Nubble Light one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world. Side trips to Boston, Cape Cod, Portland, and New Hampshire were on our agenda.
But the Star of the trip was the View.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming oceanfront cottage with view of 2 lighthouses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222367
+1 518-300-0718
Cape Neddick Southern Coast of Maine
5

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family and I found the cottage the perfect vacation for our multi-generational family. It's close to York for the younger family members and the cottage is quiet for the older generation that just enjoys watching the ocean views. The cottage is exactly as described and well maintained. The owner couldn't be more nice or helpful and sent many recommendations for local restaurants as well as a book kept in the cottage with sightseeing information. The Lobster Pound Restaurant is a short walk from the cottage and worth the trip. My grandson found the tidal pools to be endlessly fascinating, finding small snails and crabs to observe then release every day. He couldn't wait for the tide to go out! I would recommend this property to families with school age children but smaller children would have difficulty with the steep staircase to the second floor. My family is all ready planning another trip to the cottage for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming oceanfront cottage with view of 2 lighthouses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222367
+1 518-300-0718
Cape Neddick Southern Coast of Maine
Nashua, NH USA
5

Amazing Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The listing was not only accurate, but exceeded our expectations upon arrival. The property was clean and cozy, as well as roomy. Everything worked and was available as promised, and all customer service was top-notch. The wood stove was awesome on the one very cold night we had and the instructions left by the owners on how to use it were extremely helpful.
We chose this cottage for our honeymon because of its bold ocean views and "away-from-it-all" location. However, we found the location to be extremely quiet and private, but only less than a mile from just about anything one might like to do for fun. We tried a different restaraunt ever day and even grilled out on the deck one night. The Cape Neddick Inn was delicious with great prices, even for takeout at later hours at night than any other places in the area we found. Pie in the Sky Bakery is less than a mile or so and a must-eat.
Thrift stores and antique shops are also all within a 3 minute drive.
Our favorite breakfast place we found was a toss up between Roost Cafe, just down the street, and Amore Cafe in Ogunquit-only 10 minutes or less away. We also enjoyed massages at the Cliff House, also less than 10 minutes away in Ogunquit and the Cape Neddick Golf Course, which boasted reasonable prices and friendly staff (public).
Needless to say it was more than we could have asked for and we hope to be back for our 1 year anniversary :)
Thansk for keeping the prices reasonable, as well!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Charming oceanfront cottage with view of 2 lighthouses
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222367
+1 518-300-0718
Cape Neddick Southern Coast of Maine
byfield, ma
5

A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
What a find!!We were fortunate enough to stumble upon this wonderful vacation "home" by using HomeAway! We were very last minute in our attempt to spend some quality time with our college age daughter before she returned to school. What we found in this jewel was quite more than the owners described and what we could have ever imagined! The cottage is very tastefully appointed and gives one the feeling that you are in your own cottage! We arrived to find a pristene cottage with breathtaking ocean views. We were treated to fabulous sunrises, miraculous sunsets and star shows that were second to none in comparison to our beloved Prince Edward Island. We enjoyed just "being" on the deck basking in the sun while we watched our daughter and friend make use of the canoe that is part of the rental. Our weather was beautiful..90's and our daughter was anxious to float in an inner tube at the beautiful beach such a very short walk away. So,we took the quick 3 minute drive into town and purchased 2 inner tubes and thoroughly enjoyed watching our daughter float away for 3 plus hours!! It doesn't get much better than that!
The owners provided us info on local restaurants, one of which is right across the street...Harborside/Cape Neddick Lobster Pound...excellent!
Equally as good as the great local restaurants was spending the day on the deck and deciding to stay there and do some grilling!!! Great gas grill, great chicken and steak, great wine and the panoramic view of the fabulous Maine rocky coast & the two stately light houses!
Being people that have difficulty with sleep one of the BEST perks of this much needed vacation was falling asleep to the soft and hypnotic clanging of the buoys and the gentle lapping of the waves against the rocks...AND STAYING ASLEEP UNTIL SUNRISE!!!
We feel so fortunate to have had this experience and have already put steps into motion to secure some time for next summer.If you need a break and need to rejuvenate and re-connect with your family in this homey and serene setting, this is the place for you.Our thanks to the owners for sharing their idyllic reteat with us!
Gratefully,
Kevin, Debbie, and Annie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17