Barrington house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Barrington House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Come and enjoy our pristine home on beautiful Calef Island.

Drive across a birch lined causeway and you will find this spacious Half Acre Lake House in Barrington, NH. Walk through the front door and be greeted with sun filled rooms, cathedral ceilings, and spectacular lake views. A nature lovers delight this 3 Bedroom/2.5 Bath is situated on a gorgeous property complete with 180 feet of water frontage. Two sandy beaches, hammocks, outdoor grilling area, kayaks with life preservers, water toys are all yours for the taking. Read underneath a canopy of trees, swim off the dock into cool clear waters, or kayak this 3.5 mile lake. Then dine on the deck or patio area, listen to the sound of loons, and watch one of the best sunsets you have ever seen. And for all the fisherman out there Swains Lake has been written up as New Hampshire's 'Hidden Treasure'.

We often have been told 'One week is not enough!

See more pictures, click on 'check here to view additional photos' below

23 Reviews of Property 222361 in Barrington, New Hampshire

Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
average rating of 4.952381 based on 23 reviews
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
5

super place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My family and I stayed at this home for a month and it was fabulous. The location was totally awesome with views of the lake that were breath taking...and we got to see them every day. There was a pair of bald eagles that we saw about every other day soaring close to our top deck. The house itself was very cozy and was beautifully adorned. I appreciated the opportunity to stay on the island during my stay and the owners were very helpful.
larry
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
West Islip, NY
5

Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of 6 had a great time on Swain's Lake. Mary Ann and Ken were wonderful to work with and met us at the home on our arrival. We were pleasantly surprised at how big the property was and very private and peaceful. The house had plenty of room for our 4 kids and there was plenty to do. They all loved the swing and hammocks, swimming in the lake and exploring the lake on the kayaks. My favorite part was watching the sunset over the lake every night. The kitchen has plenty of room and everything you would need to prepare meals. During our week we visited Portsmouth, Kennebunkport, Portland and took the Cog Railway to the top of Mt. Washington. We also visited the Ice Cream shop down the road. Thank you Mary Ann and Ken for a wonderful week in your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Sue,

It was great meeting your family! You certainly kept busy during your week stay. It always amazes me how much there is to explore in the area. Have always wanted to take the Cog Railway to the top of Mt. Washington. Fall would be great!
Best to your family, MaryAnn
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
Falmouth, Maine
5

Greer Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We so enjoyed our stay at this home away from home. We enjoyed all of the lovely "spots" to swim, sit, relax, read and watch the sunsets. We really enjoyed eating outdoors and the after dark fires in the outdoor fireplace. The camp has all of the things you need for cooking. It is near to the grocery store, movie theater and there are two very nice, affordable golf courses very close by. The washer/dryer come in handy to dry all of those swimming towels. Thank you so much for letting us have our dogs at the camp. One loved the swimming and the other we took on many hikes. It was so nice being able to have them with us. The sunsets were beautiful but the very best time of the day is first thing in the morning, relaxing in the peace and quiet on the deck. Thank you so much, Mary Ann and Ken. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
St. Petersburg, Florida
5

Third Time A Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Well it was our 3rd year at the cabin and this time we stayed 2 weeks. We finally got a chance to visit Portsmouth and Seabrook for some lobster rolls. We went to the Market Basket down the road and bought 8 dozen clams and 6 lobsters for around $60.00 and had quite a clam bake. I can't really see how you can beat this property for a vacation, we saw the greatest sunsets from the upper deck almost every night, weather permitting and again just hated to leave. Thanks again Mary Ann & Ken for allowing us to share your wonderful place on the lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
San Rafael, CA
5

Fabulous Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My family has been renting on various NH lakes for decades, and this was by far our best experience. This cottage is everything promised and more - private without being remote, beautiful views, plenty of space and all of the amenities provided for us.

We rented in the fall and it was spectacular - seeing the colors of the foliage change as we watched the sunset from the deck - absolutely breathtaking. We hiked and kayaked and had the best time, and were able to relax in the peace and quiet too.

Mary Ann and Ken have thought of everything - and meeting them in person was one of the highlights of our stay. We'll definitely be back - can't wait!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, it was great
meeting you and look forward to your return!!!
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
5

One of our nicest vacations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This year, my family and I wanted to find a vacation spot to spend some quality time and relax, and this was just the place. Upon arrival, Mary Ann met us with a warm smile and showed us around her lovely home. The pictures on the website do not do the home justice. The interior is very comfortable, and a place you settle into right away. The view from the upper deck is simply breathtaking. The evening sunset view from here warranted at least 60 photos from the week.
The house was so well equipped; all we needed to bring was food and towels. We grilled out most nights and enjoyed the views from the patio area. We even made fast friends with the three ducks who visited us each night.
To our surprise, our daughter, who is not the real outdoorsy type, transformed over night. She caught her first fish and learned to kayak, and begged us to try and stay longer!
We will definitely plan on coming back here again.
Thank you Mary Ann and Ken for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home.
Owner's Response: Ken and I have been very fortunate in meeting such wonderful families such as yourselves. So glad everyone, especially your daughter, enjoyed the kayaks, swimming, and fishing. It truly is a very special place. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The Best!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us.
The house is more the comfortable. We appreciated your thoughtfulness in outfitting the kitchen so well.
The lake views and sunsets, breathtaking. Wildlife eagles, fishing, a blue heron, flew by Tim within 20ft, largest bird I have ever seen, singing frogs and loons, the very best part, the Loon family Mom, Dad, and the two babies on the parents back until they started fishing. Then babies would stay close together alone until adults resurfaced to feed them with nice fresh fish.

We rented a small boat with motor to tour the lake. The kayaks and hammocks were used, too.

Wonderful night out at the Three Chimney Inn excellent food and dogs welcome on the terrace, building was interesting from the 1600s.

Many Thanks!
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
St. Petersburg, Florida
5

Very Happy Campers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It was our second time renting this lake house and it's looking good for another year. To be honest we really can't find anything that can top it. We rent a couple vacation homes a year and this house is the only one we have ever returned to, it's that special. The owners are very easy to deal with and always respond to any questions in a very timely manner. The lake front of this house just cannot be beat, it has it all, a boat ramp, dock, hammocks, sandy beach & sunning area, firepit, even steps going down to the water. Again, like last year, we had outings planned but once you sit on that top deck and look out over the lake you forget about all your plans and end up vegging all week. Really all you need to bring is a good book however you might never open it. Thanks Mary Ann & Ken for another wonderful week at your lake house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Michael, thank you so much. Ken and I truly love our place and enjoy sharing it with others. We have been very lucky to have met such wonderful people, as yourself, and frequently appreciate hearing similar thoughts.

Look forward to seeing you and Jacqui, again, next year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
5

Perfect Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our week on Calef Island could not have been better. I spent mornings with my coffee, binoculars and camera on the upper deck listening to the water and the birds, waiting for the family of loons who came by several times a day and the Great Blue Heron who enjoyed walking the neighbors dock. Afternoons we spent swimming or enjoying the hammocks and tree swing. Evenings brought outdoor dining and anticipating the truly glorious sunsets. It seemed each night was even more vibrant than the one before. Great kitchen for cooks, nice stove and lots of counter space, plentiful supplies and cookware for even (me!) the most finicky of chefs. Cozy living room to watch a movie or play board games. Comfy bed for a restful night. Feels so secluded yet all your conveniences are nearby, grocery store and the Urgent Care (which we unfortunately had to visit for a case of Swimmers Ear....couldnt get my daughter out of the lake!). Definitely recommend a trip to Calefs Country Store (so fun and the cheese..omg!) and Golicks Dairy Bar for a fun treat. But honestly, if we never left the house for the duration of our visit, that would have been just fine also!! So peaceful!! Thanks Mary Ann and Ken for a lovely spot and for your hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kim,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, so glad you and your family had a peaceful stay. We always love to hear how people enjoy themselves on Calef Island!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront House with Sandy Beaches and Dock-Quiet Island Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222361
+1 508 265-5487
Barrington Seacoast New Hampshire
Fairfield, Ct, USA
5

Simply Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
A last minute get away turned into one of the best weeks we have ever had. Mary Ann and Ken were more than accommodating. The house was spotless and well supplied with all necessary items. The view is beautiful, the sunsets gorgeous and the location is convenient to everything. The grocery store is about 2.5 miles away, UNH about 20 minutes and Portsmouth and Kittery are less than a 30 minute drive. The lake was crystal clear and great for fishing and kayaking.

We went away hoping for some peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got, even with 4 kids! It was a perfect week!
Owner's Response: Coming from experienced Realtors, we appreciate your praises! Look forward to seeing you next summer.
Helpful votes: 1/1