Gulf Shores house rental - Shhh! Southern Secret has spectacular Gulf views and its own pool oasis.
Shhh! Southern Secret has spectacular Gulf views and its own pool oasis.
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps24
  • 8 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description
House, 8 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 8 Baths, (Sleeps 20-24)

Gorgeous Gulf Shores beach duplex with lots of luxury touches! Each side has 4 bedrooms, 4 baths and sleeps 10-12. Summer and holidays rent both sides, the rest of the year, rent one side or both.

Southern Secret is right across the street from the Gulf, with no house between us and the ocean so you have wonderful unobstructed views. No only is the house beautiful, with great Gulf views from all three stories, you'll also have a pool oasis just for the duplex.

For each side on the first floor, you'll have a living room, dining room and kitchen plus a queen bedroom overlooking the pool and Little Lagoon beyond and a full bath. The kitchen has custom cabinets, granite counters and stainless steel appliances.

On the East side the second floor has a king bedroom with a private bath and adjoining private Gulf-view balcony, a full laundry, another full bath and a bedroom with both a queen bed and a twin bed. The third floor has a beautiful king master bedroom with a daybed, an adjoining private balcony and a luxury bath complete with separate shower, Jacuzzi tub and large double vanity.

For the West side second floor you'll find a king plus daybed bedroom with a private bath and adjoining private Gulf-view balcony, a full laundry, another full bath and a bedroom with both a queen bed and a twin bed. The third floor has a beautiful king master bedroom with an adjoining private balcony and a luxury bath complete with separate shower, Jacuzzi tub and large double vanity.

The pool area comes complete with palm trees and a shaded sand box for small children to play in while you relax around the pool. We have a large covered area with grills and tables so you can enjoy outdoor dining.

We are located in laid-back West Beach just 2.1 miles west of 'the T' where Hwy 59 intersects with West Beach Blvd. While we are away from condos and crowds, we are still close to restaurants, shops and attractions. Come share our Southern Secret!

Keywords: Beachview, Duplex, Private Pool, West Beach, wifi, Southern Secret, Gulf Shores, Alabama, Vacation Rental, Beach House, 8 bedrooms

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 215876 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Kirksville, MO
5

Vacation house fit for royalty.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
I stayed at Southern Secret July 5-11, 2008. It was a wonderful house to stay in and it was far enough down Gulf Shores Blvd. that we didn't have much traffic. There also wasn't a house in front of it so we had a full, beautiful view of the ocean on every story of the house. It is incredibly decorated and the private pool was an outstanding ammenity. It is also right across the street from the beach--a literal hop, skip, and jump away!!
It provides in-home privacy with large, beautifully furnished rooms and also provides enough space for semi-large gatherings in common areas. The pool deck was used more than anything--we even barbequed!
I highly recommend Southern Secret to any traveler and I hope to have the opportunity to stay there at least once more on a vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to your next stay. Please contact us about repeat guest rates!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Cincinnati,Ohio
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a wonderfuf time our family of 17 had at Southern Secret! With 10 adults and 7 grandchildren everyone could have privacy and family share time in this great duplex. All the rooms were really decorated nice as well as all the bathrooms. The views of the ocean were great! The pool was a huge hit with everyone and they had plenty of beach chairs and toys for the beach which was beautiful and not crowded like other places we have stayed at. There are plenty of restaurants nearby-we enjoyed Steamers, S&S Seafood and The Hangout was a blast for the kids.A convenience store is only a block away . We really enjoyed our stay on this quietier side of Gulf Shores .Our kids are already asking when can we go back. We would recommend Southern Secrets to any families or groups looking for wonderful accommodations and location, Our thanks to Susan and Geoff!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Louisville, KY
5

Work Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I took a group of 19 (20 people total) on a work retreat and we stayed at Southern Secret. Although initially disappointed that we were not staying beachfront, the entire group agreed that this house made up for that. The oceanview from this house was just as good, and the beach access was great. The house was plenty big for all of us and each room had its own bathroom. Most of the group suffered sunburn on our first day at the beach, so we were house-bound on the 2nd day, but we never felt cramped or uncomfortable. The area has plenty of restaurants and shops close by to keep you busy. Pool area was perfect for this sized group. Kitchens and bathrooms were adequately stocked, and the entire place was extremely clean. We could not have been happier with this house or our stay! Susan was extremely helpful and quick to respond when I realized I didn't have the access code to get in upon arrival. We will definitely Southern Secret again, and I will highly recommend Gulf Shores Vacation Rentals to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Huntsville, Alabama
5

Golf outing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Outstanding accommodation - We had 20 golfers playing golf for 4 days and selected The Lemonade Stand and Southern Secret for our lodgings. They had everything we needed, everyone had their own room and bath, it was very quiet and the kitchen/living room was a great place to convene and plan for the next day golf. Great location, close to all the courses we played, close to some great local restaurants and the beach was just across the street. Loved the pool in the back, great place to hang out after dark and talk about the day events. Both locations were very clean, comfortable, easy parking for all of us, ice makers, and all the essentials needed – we only had to bring our food and drinks. Everyone said they wanted to stay there again when we head back to Gulf Shores. One last thing, Susan (property manager) was great to work with, very accommodating, and very helpful in planning on what is happening at Gulf Shores. I would think both locations would be great for a wedding or family reunion on the beach – chuck
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Lake Forest, California
3

Needs some work

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nice location and nice pool. Kitchen needs utensils and living room small for a family and the couch was broken down, uncomfortable to sit on it. Rug under coffee table deplorable, filthly actually. Carpet throughout the stairs and bedrooms stained Bedrooms ok, could use some nicer sheets but adequate. Second floor bedroom had a broken bed, handyman came and fixed it. Towels were sparse, had to wash daily. Toilet in master bedroom on second level lifts off the floor. Microwave handle broken and handyman came to fix it up and just gorilla glued the handle and it ran down the face of the microwave, looks tacky! Televisions are old. For the price the owners could clean up the place. Would not stay here, there are too many other places.
Owner's Response: We hope you'll read our other reviews as well. The house was certainly not at its best this week. We had planned an end of season maintenance week, but this guest asked us to let her stay that week since she had family & friends staying in our neighboring house for a wedding. Once they left, the carpet and sofa were replaced as previously scheduled. We think you'll be very pleased during your visit. But we'll still provide just one set of towels for each person the house sleeps, just like our rental agreement says! If you need more, you may want to bring them.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Alabama
5

Wonderful Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We just got back yesterday from our 4 day vacation in which we stayed in Southern Secret West. To say it was great is an understatement, it was wonderful!! The duplex was beautifully, tastefully decorated in a way that made you feel like you were right at home. It included all the amenities that you could possibly need or want also including lots of extras for pool and beach fun!! The duplex was so well laid out that it was more than spacious enough for the 10 of us. Gulf Shores Vacation Rentals were some of the most professional and easy to work with people I have had the pleasure to plan my vacation with. We had some horrible circumstances come up with a property from another rental place and needed to find another property 2-3 days before our date of arriving. I contacted the manager with Gulf Shores Vacation Rentals and sher was more than willing to work with me and help me to ensure we were able to get everything we could out of our days at the beach. My family and myself are more than greatful for that. Needless to say, we will DEFINITELY be contacting them again for our family vacation next year!! Thanks again Gulf Shores Vacation Rentals!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
McGehee, AR
5

Spring Break 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Southern Secret is a hidden gem! The house is beautifully decorated with a great pool area and beach views. The website pics do not do it justice. I chaperoned a group of 20 college students for spring break and the house never seemed crowded even with this large of a group. It is well laid out (plenty of bed and bathroom space) and has great views of the beach and pool area. The kids were impressed with the house and several commented it was much nicer than any of the houses their friends were in nearby. Susan and Geoff do a great job and you will not be disappointed with your stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We welcome families, sports teams, church & school groups. The house beautifully accomodates a group. Please notice, we will only consider these groups with parent chaperones!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Birmingham Al
5

Hurd family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The Southern Secret is definitely a perfect place to have a family reunion. We had 25 (one was a baby) staying there and two more staying close by. We stay at a different place every year and this was by far the best equipped place we have ever stayed. There was plenty of seating inside and out. The pool is beautiful. Great views of the beach, spacious bedrooms and beautiful kitchens. The only thing I would mention is that the pull out sofa beds are in the main social area. We got around that by putting cots in some of the bedrooms to keep the dens clear. The bedrooms are plenty big enough to do this and then you don't have to worry about keeping people up at night or waking them early in the morning. The best part of renting both sides is that they are connected at the kitchen. This made it feel like one big kitchen and the dens were right there together for more of a cohesive feeling. We had a fabulous Thanksgiving at the Southern Secret. I would highly recommend it!!!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Little Rock, AR
5

Gutierrez Family, Little Rock ,AR

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We truly enjoyed our stay at your beach house. It was a beautiful adventure!
House was absolutely amazing. Looking forward to staying there again. We highly recommend your house.

Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
8 Bd/8 B 'Southern Secret' Private Pool Cancellation Deal May24th/31th
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215876vb
(800) 210-7914 (Toll Free)
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Salem, South Carolina
5

Great Family Reunion Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This place was perfect for our family reunion. The accomodations were supurb-large private bedrooms, beautiful views from the balconies, well equipped kitchens, a ton of beach and pool toys, and two grilles. We used and enjoyed everything. The kids went to the beach in the morning and then swam in the pool in the afternoon. When they were not swimming they played in the sandbox and did arts and crafts with the sea shells. All in all, it was a great week. If we return to Gulf Shores we will definitely pick the Southern Secret.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 4/5