Manasota Key cottage rental - Living Area
Living Area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Manasota Key Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Charming Cottage/Apartment on Manasota Key, known for its natural beauty and miles of sand and shells. This cute cottage has no stairs or elevators, is 'like-new' inside with a private brick patio. Quiet, treed, residential street. A short stroll across the road from Gulf beaches in one direction AND steps from the Bay in the other. Perfect location for biking, walking, sunning, shelling, kayaking and Gulf swimming. Modern YMCA 10 mins away. WIFI service too!

Kitchenette offers small sink, 2-burner rangetop (no oven), microwave, under-counter Fridge, convection/toaster oven and coffee maker... limited counter space. Utensils, dish- and glass-ware, all linens and paper products provided. Propane BBQ. Outdoor shower. Beach chairs, umbrellas, also.

Keywords: Cottage/Apartment

Retired couple from New England reside in main house separate from cottage.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2003

A more private and quiet alternative to condominium rental.

Offers natural beauty, with privacy, a few steps from private Gulf beach and small dock on bay. Provides quiet spot a mile from the local restaurants, bars and public beach events.

9 Reviews of Property 222109 in Manasota Key, Florida

*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
northeastern PA
5

Charming cottage, great location and value!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed in the cottage the last 2 weeks in March and were very satisfied. The cottage was charmingly decorated, immaculately clean, and from what I saw when looking at other places to rent, a good value. We loved that the cottage was a stand-alone building (quiet) with its own private entrance and landscaped patio. The cottage is well-supplied including lovely, thick towels for the shower, extra linens for the bed, beach towels, and anything else you could need for the beach. It was just a short walk to the beach down a private road / path – much better than dealing with the crowds at the public beaches.
The kitchen was also well-supplied. Regarding the comments of the previous renter, the description clearly outlines what is available. I did some light cooking and did not have an issue with the equipment available or space to clean up. We grabbed ice at the convenience store and cooled our drinks in a cooler, storing the extra ice in the freezer box of the mini-fridge. There are restaurants within walking distance at the circle, plus lots of take-out options on the main land (Chinese, pizza, and made-to-order subs at Publix.)
The owner was great to work with – easy to reach via email or phone, but totally unobtrusive, even though they were in residence next door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Boonville, IN
2

You Get What You Pay For

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Owners were very accommodating, but kitchen area VERY confined. Doing dishes was a challenge since there was no place to drain the dishes. Stove electric burner drip pans were very corroded -- need to be replaced. Small refrigerator had the very small freezer -- almost impossible to keep ice. If you eat out all the time, there's no problem, but if you choose to cook, it is a real challenge. Rest of the cottage was satisfactory. Location was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Phoenix
5

A Gem on Manasota Key

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I recently spent 2 wonderful weeks at this cottage over the holidays. The cottage was clean and bright and plenty of room for the 2 of us. We especially liked that you could close the door to the bedroom so that one could watch TV while the other napped. The owners were accessible and fixed the problem right away when we had an issue with the wifi and barbecue grill. We really enjoyed our time here. The only things not provided that I wished had been are ice and washer/dryer. But even those things being absent won't stop us from considering this cottage again for our next trip to Manasota Key.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New Hampshire
5

Great Place to Stay on Manasota Key!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Everything was wonderful!!

The cottage was easy to find, had great parking, a private entrance and its very own fenced in patio. Beautifully landscaped property. The interior was immaculate and charming with cool green walls and fresh white furniture. Sheets and bath towels were soft and luxurious. Big, colorful beach towels were also provided as well as everything needed for the beach - chairs, umbrellas, etc.

We enjoyed being able to walk up to the restaurants, avoiding the beach traffic at the circle. We went to Flounders and The Lock and Key often (they had alot of live music) and had lunch once at the Gulf View Grill. All three were very good. The Circle K convenience store on the corner was handy for ice and beverages etc. My hands down favorite part of the whole experience was how easy it was to get to the beach. Across the road and down a picturesque path was probably the nicest stretch of beach on the Key. We were there for two weeks in March - high season in FL - and it was never crowded at "our" beach.

The owners were so nice to work with before, during and after our stay. They cheerfully allowed us to change the dates of our stay, checked in with us when we first arrived and returned the security deposit promptly. The were accessible, but not intrusive.

It takes a leap of faith to rent a place online but have no worries about the Sandpiper Cottage. It is the perfect size for one person or a couple. (Opening the sofa bed would be a little tight.) We go to Englewood to see friends who live in the area. Everyone who stopped by to visit loved the place and marveled that we "did it right, staying at the beach". A free-standing, private, single story building on a quiet side street was perfect for us - we aren't condo/pool people. Our two weeks went by much too quickly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Bancroft, ON
4

Delightful Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We stayed at this delightful cottage for two weeks in February and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This little cottage has everything you could want for a short vacation. Although the kitchen is very small, we cooked our meals there most nights. In addition, there was an extremely good BBQ on the patio. The cottage is well furnished, and the patio is lovely and very private. One of the bonuses is the short walk to the ocean, across the road and through the private walkway. Just pack the chairs and umbrellas in the cart provided and off you go!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ohio
5

Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach #222109

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This cottage was everything and more than described. It was very clean and comfortable.The owners were very nice and would do anything to make your vacation perfect.This is so homey and cute. Just perfect for 2 people.The beach is just across the road and chairs,umbrellas,beach towels, and a cart are provided.It's not lacking anything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Milwaukee
5

Manasota Key Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This was a wonderful little cottage to stay in. We felt welcomed and at home. Everything we needed was there, even internet access so we could research places we wanted to go to. Very quaint and extremely clean and fresh looking. Very easy to get to the beach. Lots of fun looking for shells, taking pictures, just relaxing. Nice walk to restaurants across from the public beach. Quick drive to grocery stores for supplies. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Nashville, TN
4

Very Private, Charmingly Decorated

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We enjoyed so much staying at this cottage on Manasota Key. It is very private and is just perfect for one person, a couple, or a couple w/ a child since the loveseat opens out into a bed. It is across the street from the beach, but a very short walk to it. It does not have a full kitchen, but who wants to cook when you can have spectacular seafood at a fantastic selection of restaurants nearby? It was very efficient and met our needs. It is decorated so nice and tastefully. The bed is so comfy w/ the soft cotton sheets and beautiful quilt. Everything that you will need for the beach is right there which we like very much since we have to fly to this area. (beach towels, umbrellas, beach chairs, and mats as well as a nice "buggy" to transport everything to the beach)... this is a big plus for us as we don't like to have to buy all those things when we arrive. The best part was getting to meet the owner who was so nice and accommodating and made sure that we were comfortable and had all our needs met. You won't be disappointed in renting this charming cottage on Manasota Key.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
*Manasota Key Private Cottage Near Beach*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222109vbi
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Southampton, NJ
5

Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The cottage is even more charming and updated than the photos reveal. Location was perfect, nice and quiet with private patio. The owners are so very hospitable and helpful. I will stay again, God willing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5