Wild Dunes house rental - House viewed from Marsh
House viewed from Marsh
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Wild Dunes House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Beautiful modern home on edge of salt marsh, near the inlet on the Isle of Palms. Ideal for people who enjoy secluded nature settings - with resort amenities and fine dining nearby. Best features include sweeping marsh views, 14 rocking chairs, distinctive post-and-beam architecture, gourmet kitchen, 3,000 sq. ft. open floor plan, elevator and 90-inch Mitsubishi front projection HDTV. Walk 15 minutes to beautiful, uncrowded beach (partly via boardwalk winding over the marsh). Several bikes, chairs and a cart are available for trips to the beach.

Perfect for six to eight people (three bedrooms with queen-size beds, plus an extra 'half bedroom' with double-size bed). Two full baths and one large powder room, plus outdoor hotwater shower. High quality linens and towels. Master bedroom has 32-inch Sony LCD HDTV and private balcony with two rockers. High speed wireless internet access via cable modem at no charge.

Hardwood floors throughout. Granite in kitchen and baths. Cathedral ceilings in loft and master bedroom. Fully-equipped kitchen with two ovens, Sub-Zero refrigerator, recipe books, etc. Screen porch with two rockers and sofa. Covered porch with six rockers and dining for for six. Living room with large sofa and four swivel rockers, ideal for viewing marsh or 90-inch front projection HDTV. Laundry room with washer and dryer. Sports Card for access to Wild Dunes fitness, golf, swimming and tennis facilities (though you pay activity fees).

Even aside from the gorgeous views, the home has a unique beauty all its own. Designed by Peter Bohlin, recipient of the 2010 American Institute of Architects Gold Medal and designer of a portion of Bill & Melinda Gates' home and the Apple Store on Fifth Avenue in NYC, it feels spacious and expansive with dramatic angles, huge windows and striking architectural features -- a great blend of comfort and style. Photos and words don't do it justice -- you just have to experience it!

Not suitable for children under the age of eight due to open balconies, elevator, unlocked cabinets, etc. No pets, no parties, no smoking.

Keywords: House, Marsh, Nature, Secluded, Elevator

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 83160 in Wild Dunes, South Carolina

Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
maryland
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children( ages 10-15), stayed here for a week after Christmas. The location is great, in the resort of Wild Dunes but about 25 minutes drive to Charleston.The house is spacious, clean, with lovely decor, the photos are accurate. It was very quiet at night and beds were comfortable.
We made use of the bikes provided and enjoyed the trails throughout the resort. We walked to the private beach a few times. One of the highlights of our trip was seeing some dolphins very close to the shore and my daughter finding a perfect sand dollar. We drove into the beautiful city of Charleston a few times and visited a plantation. We also enjoyed being close to Sullivan's Island for dinner at Salt and Poe's Tavern. We'd love to visit again when the weather is warmer to fully take advantage of the beach, the porches/deck around the house and the resort amenities.
The owners were easy to deal with and responded promptly to all inquiries.
We would highly recommend this property.
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
5

The Schumakers from Wisconsin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
WOW!!! What a house!!! If you want quiet, gorgeous views (we even saw deer walking through the swamp at low tide),privacy and a phenomenal kitchen in which to prepare food.....this is the house for you! Beach access to an almost private beach is very convenient and provides one the ocean without the crowds! You would never believe you are in a crowded resort area; yet you have the ability to enjoy the resort amenities. It was for us the perfect balance of relaxation and activity. We are very sad that we are so far away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
Charleston
5

The Marsh House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just a great house, in a great location, with a great owner. Plan to go back as often and as long as I can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
5

Beautiful Home in Wild Dunes

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The Marsh House is a beautiful home that has obviously been well-maintained. The house is located in a very private setting on the end of a quiet cul-de-sac facing a marsh.

The house is elegantly decorated and has high-end appliances in the kitchen, very comfortable beds and nice linens, and spacious bathrooms and closets.

Isle of Palms has terrific beaches that are ideal for swimming and for just relaxing or sunbathing. Although the weather is extremely hot and humid in August, there was always a breeze on the beach that made it tolerable to be in the sun or under an umbrella on the beach.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
GA
5

A fabulous retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The Marsh House was a fabulous retreat from the noise and crowds of the beach. Mornings started with breakfast on the deck overlooking the marsh, listening to birds and wind and water, watching for wildlife. Follow that with a wonderful walk on the boardwalk and beach, or a bike ride (bikes are provided!). The house is beautiful, and excellently equipped. Lots of soft sheets and towels, plenty of cookware, even paper products. Gene and Cindy were a pleasure to work with, even providing extensive notes on things to do, how to work appliances, even recipes! Definitely a step above other rentals.
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
Indiana
5

Spring Break Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Marsh House. Although the weather was cold and rainy, the accomodations were nice solace! With an architect in the family, we were impressed beyond words with the design of the home. In light of the weather, our 14 year old was happy to have the 90" television. The walk to the beach was enjoyable along the boardwalk. We often saw 7-8 deer each night as we were driving back from dinner. If you like nature and architecture, this is the place. Gene and Cindy were amazing hosts providing quick responses from the orignial inquiry through the end of the rental experience! We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
North Jersey
5

WOW. Total privacy, with The View. Fabulous home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Folks, the house was fabulous, absolutely magical. The first step in the door takes your breath away, with the architectural detail, the carefully selected art, and the high-end appointments.

It's a quick trip to the beach, particularly down the long dock to the secluded beach on Dewee's Inlet that you won't have to share with the typical throng of Wild Dunes condo denizens. But at the end of Seagrass Lane, you have absolute privacy and quiet. Out on the deck, you see nothing but marsh, going seemingly forever. Almost no sign of civilization.

The master bedroom, with it's glass walls, makes you part of the environment. Our first night there was a lightning storm in the distance - with the blinds up, it was like being in the middle of a flashbulb. Spectacular.

My mother-in-law and her boyfriend sat on the porch all day watching the view. Occasionally, I hear one of them say, "look, the marsh just changed again."

First time we've ever staying in a beach rental with Dacor and Subzero appliances and Baker furniture.

Loved it; we’ll be back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
Baton Rouge LA
5

Exceeded our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
If you have found this site, you have found the best of the best! The Marsh House is breathtaking! What a pleasure it was to relax and soak in the beautiful views from every part of this stunning home. The amenities of the house, (for us, the elevator was particularly valuable since we were traveling with an elderly parent) were wonderful. I was particularly impressed that the owners checked in on us by phone to ensure that our needs were met. I look forward to the opportunity to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
Westbrook, CT
5

Marsh House is Ideal Site for Transgenerational Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My family rented the Marsh House for a week in 4/10 to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. The location is very quiet and private, with the house being situated on the marsh side of the island near a cul-de-sac. The beach is nearby, within a short walking distance. The house, which is spectacularly designed and furnished, is outfitted to meet all the needs and wishes of small multi-generational family gatherings: an elevator, an open floor plan and wide doors and hallways that make the stay comfortable for older family members; ample formal and informal dining space and a fully equipped kitchen for cooks who love good cuisine and bringing the family together to share meals; and a digital electronics system (music, TV, movies) that will keep the younger folks happy. The house has well-furnished (many rocking chairs) screened and open porches and a couple of small decks, so that everyone can enjoy sitting outside for sunning, private reading, small-group conversations or nature watching. The quality of the linens and towels is excellent, the supply is generous, and if they need to be replenished, the laundry facilities are excellent. The house owners, Gene and Cindy, are warmly accommodating and very responsive. I would recommend the house very highly to anyone considering a small group or family vacation on the Isle of Palms or a visit to the Charleston area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cool Architecture with Stunning Marsh Views - 14 Rockers!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p83160vb
+1 (704) 774-9533
Wild Dunes Charleston Area
Williamstown, Massachusetts
5

Five stars indeed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Our stay was for two months,February and March, and our experience was all we had hoped for. The house is well designed, pleasantly appointed and marvelously equipped. The marsh view is always interesting and the quiet, peaceful setting makes for a terrific stay. And the owners are committed to making it a good experience for the renters. We have signed up for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway