Crystal Beach cottage rental - pool area with large patio area and 3 picnic tables, pool is 12x36
pool area with large patio area and 3 picnic tables, pool is 12x36
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps23
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Crystal Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage and Guest House , 7 Bedrooms 6 Bath, Sleeps 23, Large 12x36 Private Pool

'Luna Mermaid Cottage and Guest House' is your dream beach house! This beautifully furnished seven bedroom, six bathroom beach cottage and separate guest house is located in the highly sought after Crystal Beach community. The 'Luna Mermaid Cottage and Guest House' is only 2 blocks (a short walk) from the beach. It is conveniently located within walking distance to Destin Commons, Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, Publix, many restaurants and world class shopping, an IMAX movie theater, Legendary Marina, and so much more!

'Luna Mermaid' features a large, 12x36 private heated saltwater pool that sits between the front and back cottages.

Enjoy your large patio area, gas grill, & three outdoor dining tables that surround the lagoon saltwater pool. Rinse off after a day at the beach in your two outdoor showers. The pool and patio are enclosed with a privacy fence.

There is a full living room in both cottages with 55' & 51' LCD televisions. Both living rooms have plenty of comfortable seating. There is a full kitchen with new appliances in both cottages. Also, both cottages have their own washer & dryer. All seven bedrooms have their own LCD televisions.

This home is very spacious at over 3300 square feet. Perfect for large families that want to spend time together, but still need their own space & privacy. The Main house is a 4 bedroom, 3 bath. The Back Cottage is 3 bedroom, 3 bath. The large pool sits between the two houses, with a privacy fence that surrounds the pool and spacious patio area. Large driveway with plenty of off street parking.

Both cottages were renovated in 2012. New carpet, furniture, and tile. The wood floors were refinished and the kitchens were remodeled.

Bedroom & Bathroom layout is as follows....

Main House:

Bedroom 1: King Bed with additional daybed

Bedroom 2: King Bed

Bedroom 3: Queen Bed

Bedroom 4: Two Sets of Bunk Beds, kid room

Bathroom 1: Full Bathroom, whirpool tub & separate shower, off master, double sinks

Bathroom 2: Double Sinks, Shower, serves bedroom 2 and 3

Bathroom 3: Full Bathroom, shower only, good for kids, off of bunk room

Guest House:

Bedroom 5: King Bed

Bedroom 6: King Bed

Bedroom 7: 2 Sets of Bunk Beds

Living Room Sofa pulls out to a Queen

Bathroom 4: Full Bathroom, shower only

Bathroom 5: Full Bathroom, shower only

Bathroom 6: Full Bathroom, shower only

This one-of-a kind private beach retreat is just 2 blocks to 'The most beautiful beaches in the U.S.A'. according to U.S. travel magazine! The tropical landscaping and the laid back feeling you get that only a private home provides will keep you coming back year after year. Come relax, kick off your shoes, and enjoy paradise at the 'Luna Mermaid Cottage and Guest House'! Just 2 blocks to the emerald green Gulf of Mexico! Book early! This house gets booked up quickly!

More Details
Hide Details

Cottages Near the Sea was created by mother and daughter team, JoJo Smoak and Linsey Keich. Our mission is to provide our guests and home owners with first class, personalized customer service. We are a boutique cottage rental agency located in Crystal Beach with an emphasis on hospitality. We live here full time in the midst of our Cottages Near the Sea in Crystal Beach, giving us a unique opportunity to provide hands on service that is unparalleled.

9 Reviews of Property 222065 in Crystal Beach, Florida

Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We took a rare family vacation, decided to try Destin. Chose to stay at Luna Mermaid and it was absolutely perfect!! Short walk to the beach, short walk to shopping, cozy, comfortable, private, great neighborhood, has everything you need! Barely used the pool, but it was great for the couple times someone wanted to. Eating in the kitchen in the morning with all the windows to look out, and the birds singing....awesome. We absolutely loved staying here, and if we come again we won't even bother looking to stay anywhere else...this is it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at "Luna Mermaid"! We hope you will return again very soon!
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Cumming, GA
5

Close to Perfect for a Large Group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a total of 23 people at Luna Mermaid. The set up is perfect for a large group. We had 9 married couples and 1 single adult, so we had to split up three couples: 1 on a couch and a bunk, and 2 on separate bunks (not a big deal). Most of the bathrooms are very nice & roomy, but two area very small - the bath off the living room in the guest house has a super small shower, and the bunk room in the main house also has a very small bathroom (we had 2 adult couples in this room so it was small for them to share as far as counter/cabinet space, but it would be fine for kids). We had plenty of hot water the entire stay – even with this many people taking showers.
The pool & patio are perfect! Enough seating for everyone to sit comfortably outside together. We liked the privacy fence and locking gate too. There isn’t a lot of shade so we put up a tailgating type tent over one of the picnic tables and it worked great. Being together outside at the pool, eating outside, etc. was our favorite part! Some other homes that accommodate a large group don’t have enough seating outside, but that isn’t an issue here – there were picnic tables, lounge chairs, and a table & chairs.
Unfortunately, it rained 4 of our 7 days so we got quite a bit of inside time too. The living area of the main house isn’t quite large enough to hold everyone at the same time, but between both the houses there is enough space – as well as privacy. The back door entry to the main house from the guest house is really nice – from one house to another with just a few steps. The kitchens were big enough to easily cook for our crowd – loved having 2 dishwashers & refrigerators. There is plenty of parking – we come together from 3 states and had 9 cars/trucks – they all fit in the driveways with room to spare.
Side Note: We have one family member who uses a cane and he could easily access both of the houses, bedrooms/baths, pool area, porches, etc. with no more than 2-3 stairs.
This is a great option for a large group if you want a private pool, close/easy walk to the public access beach, and a lot of beds. It allowed us to have our own space, but also be together most of the time. It was clean, comfortable/appropriately decorated, easy to get to, and the best part was the outside pool/patio area. We were happy there and would recommend it to someone else!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return.
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Columbia, TN
5

TN visitor.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Just returned from a 4 day stay in the guest house. LOVED IT! PERFECT IN EVERY WAY!Wish I could have stayed longer but I will definitely go back if given the opportunity.. Lovely neighborhood, convenient to the beach & shopping. Great arrangement inside the house with everyone having their own bathroom. I definitely recommend this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Duluth, GA
5

a great space for a large group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Loved this place! Lots of beds, a huge patio area near the pool with three picnic tables to accommodate a large group. They provided two wagons to take gear to the beach, which was a short walk. The place had more than enough towels, very clean, two full kitchens. It was also within walking distance without crossing any big roads to a shopping area with restaurants, shops and a Barnes and Noble. That was a plus for our older teens. Just across the highway was a mall area, with movie theater, for when we were tired of the sun. I would highly recommend this place -- beautiful location, lovely decor, very well maintained. Quiet neighborhood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Please come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
4

great for the price and location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our extended family of 13 (11 adults and 2 kids) stayed at Luna Mermaid when we came to Destin for a family wedding. The two separate living spaces worked out great for our family. All of the "kids" in one house. We loved the pool. It was a very easy walk to the beach. Both homes were decorated beautifully. It was a quick drive for groceries or to go the restaurants and bars in the area. Both houses were fairly well stocked (although I think the guest house could use a few more dishes and knives).

We did have a few issues during our stay. The barbeque was really dirty - a quick call to Linsey and it was serviced. Unfortunately, it was not in working condition, so it was quickly replaced. However, the replacement was about half the size as the original and not really large enough for a house that accommodates that many people. I was told this would be remedied. Also, there was a major leak (flood) in the main bathroom - again, service was only a phone call away. The repair men that came to fix it said they were "carpenters, not plumbers" and the fix was "only temporary". This was evident when the tub leaked again the next day. Luckily, this was a small leak. At this point, I was sick of having to call for service, and just left it alone. One of the toilets in the guest house was so loose, we were worried it was going to break apart from the floor.
There are not enough linens for this size home. Also, strangely, no bath mats or door mats were provided. So we had use towels from the already short supply. Extra pillows, but no pillow cases.

Like I mentioned earlier, Linsey was extremely responsive to any issue we had. I just got tired of calling; also many of these issues were "annoyances" not worthy of a call in my opinion.

We did have a wonderful vacation and I have fallen in love with Destin. As long as these issues are attended to, I would recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very constructive criticism. I will attend to each of these issues and hopefully make the home more comfortable for our future guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation and I hope you will return next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Nashville Tn.
4

Church men's fishing trip

Church men's fishing trip
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had 16 Fathers and sons from our church come down for a deep sea fishing trip. We arrived to find more than we expected. The rooms were bigger than we thought and everything we needed was there or brought to us right away if we called. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone and would hope to stay there again next year if we go back. One of the men who had been on this fishing trip, for 17 years prior, said this was the best trip of all. A lot had to do with the accommodations because he did not catch a fish. :)
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will return for your next fishing trip and your friend will have better luck!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Tennessee
4

50th anniversary

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at the Luna Mermaid. We had 18 people staying for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. The houses were great plenty of room in both and nice to have two full kitchens.The pool was really nice to have right there close. The houses were both clean and had plenty of beds to sleep lots of people. The walk to the beach wasnt too bad, about 2 to 3 blocks from the gulf,it was nice having the wagons there to cart stuff down to the beach. Definitely would recommend to big families.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I hope to see you again next year for the 51st anniversary!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
Asheville, N.C.
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family and I spent Easter week at Luna Mermaid cottage and guest house and loved it! The houses are attractive, but comfortable. The floor plan of bedrooms and bathrooms fit our family perfectly - 14 of us including 5 children ages 3, 5, 6, 11, and 14. The kitchen with dining table as our favorite gathering place! However, the best feature was the pool. It is really nice, plenty of room and well maintained. We found the houses to be clean and well prepared for our stay.

Thanks again for providing a quality vacation rental!
Lee Crisp
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lee! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect for Large Families & Groups, Private Pool & Short Walk to the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p222065
+1 850 974-6964
Crystal Beach Emerald Coast-Destin Area
3

nice place to stay with good location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
we came for Labor day w-e, unfortunetly we had bad weather. This is the 2nd time we come in this house and we will probably come back next year. We love the location of this house, it's close to everything and it's really close to the beach, so convenient especially with young kids + its has a good rates. I'll recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sorry about the bad weather, but we are glad you enjoyed the house! Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us.
Helpful votes: 8/8