Goleen house rental - The property which is attached to Crookhaven lighthouse
The property which is attached to Crookhaven lighthouse
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Goleen House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

There are two parts to the property but they are one unit. In 1843 the Lighthouse Commissioners, responsible for the safety of those at sea, built Crookhaven lighthouse and the adjoining cottage. Perched over the entrance to the natural harbour of Crookhaven, for over 160 years the cottage sheltered the Lightkeepers' families. When the Lighthouse was first automated (it is still fully operational) the Commissioners no longer needed the accommodation provided by the cottage and ownership changed hands.

The new owners have fully refurbished the 1843 cottage and this part of the property now comprises 2 double bedrooms with an additional room containing a double pull-out bed and a stairway to a large living space converted from what had been the quarters of three families. This large living room contains extensive seating, satellite TV, DVD, a music system and views in all directions. Also downstairs is a shower room, kitchen and dining area. The structural integrity of the 1843 cottage has been preserved with the layout of the downstairs rooms reflecting the original plan.

Across the small yard is the extraordinary light filled space that is the 'longhouse'. In 2008 the owners completed a radical design consisting of a rectangular glass walled cuboid resting on two new bedrooms and a second bathroom. This wonderful addition allows for spectacular views from the upper level through 270 degrees. In a feature article on visiting Ireland, US Airways Magazine (January 2012, page 38, available online) recommends the property as a fabulous place to stay and says that if you dream of ocean views, this property tops the list "complete with floor-to-ceiling windows revealing the Atlantic's hypnotic blue waves"!

The upper level contains a fully fitted kitchen, a dining table seating 8/10, a wood burning fireplace, a High Definition TV and Blu-ray disk player together with comfortable seating throughout. Along the length of this level is a balcony from which the views need to be seen to be believed, ranging from the natural harbour of Crookhaven past the world famous Fastnet Lighthouse 7 miles off-shore to Baltimore, Cape Clear and Roaring Water Bay with its many islands.

Although built on 'Rock Island', this is not a true island, at least for the past several hundred years. Access is along a beautiful stone-walled 'lighthouse' roadway which undulates across the fields of heather and gorse for a mile or so. Just 2 miles away you will find Goleen with its shops, pubs and first class restaurant. Across the bay is the sailing village of Crookhaven, which for centuries was the first port of call for vessels arriving from the New World destined for the North West of Europe.

In winter there is always a welcoming fire awaiting you there in O'Sullivan's Bar and in summer a flurry of activity on the harbourside as sailors and boat people of all ages and nationalitiies set to sea or disembark in search of one of the mouthwatering seafood bars and restaurants on the seafront.

Around the next bay is the end of the Mizen Peninsula with its rugged coastline, the surfing mecca and golden sands of Barleycove Beach and at the end of the road a mile or two further on, the most south-westerly tip of Ireland. There you'll find a visitor centre and spectacular walks laid out along the rocky coastline leading to the recently re-built and re-opened pedestrian bridge over to the Mizen Lighthouse and Fog-Signal Station. Next stop America!

Keywords: Ocean Front Lighthouse Dwelling

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 221966 in Goleen, Ireland

Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Fairfax CA
5

Beautiful spot, beautiful house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We chose the lighthouse as the place to spend part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. The location is secluded and stunning. The longhouse nests into the surroundings in perfect harmony. It's clean, modern lines and floor to ceiling windows let the scenery takeover. The house was very comfortable (even through some very blustery weather) and well stocked. Our helpful, responsive host made the stay easy and enjoyable throughout. We'd give the stay an extra star if we could!
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Fairfax CA
5

Beautiful spot, beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We chose the lighthouse as the place to spend part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. The location is secluded and stunning. The longhouse nests into the surroundings in perfect harmony. It's clean, modern lines and floor to ceiling windows let the scenery takeover. The house was very comfortable (even through some very blustery weather) and well stocked. Our helpful, responsive host made the stay easy and enjoyable throughout. We'd give the stay an extra star if we could!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Finland
5

From carneval to tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We arrived to the Ireland just at the St Patricks day and had an opportunity to dive in to the famous carneval right away. After party, weather blessed us with unexpected sunny and warm days, which we used to hike around absolutely beautiful surroundings of Crookhaven and Mizen Head. In the evenings we enjoyed the stunning scenery with the Famous Irish products (mainly whisky and Murphy's) sitting by a fireplace and watching the Atlantic trying to blast our warm nest away. Not succeeded though. More than our money's worth. Strongly recommended. Irish people are warm and friendly. Don't forget to check this out in O'Sullivans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
East Hartland, Connecticut / USA
5

Trip of a Lifetime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is my second review for this beautiful place. My wife and I spent a week here last June and made our plans to return this year one week after we got home. But this time we brought both sets of our parents and our seven-year-old boy. We just had to have them experience such an unbelievably beautiful and relaxing place for themselves. They were in just as much awe upon arrival as we were the year before.

It is truly difficult to put into words the magic of this wonderful, wonderful place. Not only are the physical structures amazing but the setting as a whole is nothing short of breathtaking. I feel a peace and calmness when I'm here that I've never experienced anywhere else.

We spent glorious week fishing, hiking, touring, and just "being." Our crew bonded and enjoyed the splendor of West Cork and all it had to offer. It is a vacation that we will all treasure for the rest of our lives. My son was truly sad to leave (as were we all). Can't wait to return next year.

Thank you so much for making this place possible and available for those so lucky to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Limerick, Ireland
5

Warning: This is going to be very cheesy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Just as daylight broke over the stunning West Cork seascape, and surrounded by rose petals and candles, I asked my girlfriend of 12 years to marry me in the Long House. Thankfully Jane accepted and I could nearly swear that beautiful, old lighthouse light was winking at me in approval. We spent three days in blissful solitude and then had both our families stay for two nights which was an incredible time that will remain forever in our hearts. If you like howling wind and absolute silence, playing board games which nobody cares about winning, warm open fires and cold pints of Guinness, spending countless hours watching seals, dolphins, seagulls and gannets hunt for their dinner while you are contently full from the delicious seafood served in O’Sullivan’s bar in Crookhaven then this special little place is for you. Crookhaven Lighthouse has illumintaed the rugged West Cork coastline since the early 1800’s but will illuminate your soul for eternity! (I warned you it was cheesy!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Dayton, TN USA
5

55+ couple from USA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I just returned from a week in the Long House, wow! To begin with the lighthouse was everything the website says and more. It is one of the be equiped VRBO we've every been in. We had
Thanksgiving Dinner with our niece and family from Ireland. If you want a relaxing time with beautiful views, peace and quiet this is your spot. There is also an opportunity to go exploring in the surrounding country side. Day trips to Ring of Bera is a must and over Healy Pass (not for the faint of heart) breath taking. Thanks again for a memorable time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
East Hartland, Connecticut / USA
5

Heaven on Earth?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This place is unbelievable. Throughout our week's stay, my wife and I would just look at each other, shake our heads and say, "Is this place real?" It is just so beautiful and peaceful....the building...the grounds...the views. The pictures on the site are exactly what you see when you are there. Immaculately maintained, comfortable, quiet, peaceful.

The surrounding towns and countryside are something out of a movie...no, a fairy tale. Mizen Head, Barley Cove, The Crookhaven Inn, Tim McCarthy's Butcher Shop in Goleen, Schull, Balleydehob....all are must-see places. Much to do, but if you decided to do nothing but just sit and look out at the water, the birds, boats, Fastnet Light...you wouldn't be disappointed.

Thank you for a wonderful place to have a wonderful vacation. We cannot wait to come back again soon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Carlsbad, CA
5

Planning Our Return Already!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My wife and I just celebrated our 25th anniversary in Ireland. Our stay at the Crookhaven Lighthouse was the highlight of our trip. We stayed in the longhouse and the pictures simply don't prepare you for how breathtaking and tranquil the setting. Even the drive to the lighthouse provides a sense of adventure. This is a place that captures your heart, soul, and senses and leaves you making plans for your next visit. While the Lighthouse offers all the remote peace and solitude you can ask for, the nearby village of Crookhaven (only 2 km away) provides a storybook Irish pub (O'Sullivan's) in which you can expect a warm welcome and cold pint of Guiness...I highly recommend the open face crab sandwhich! A few doors down, the Crookhaven Inn served some of the best food we experienced in Ireland. In terms of logistics, Aidan and Angelique were wonderful to work with. They were both helpful as we made our plans and incredibly welcoming and responsive upon our arrival.

This was simply a wonderful place to enjoy the best of Ireland. If you are planning to spend time in the Southwest of the Emerald Isle, the Crookhaven Lighthouse is a must...you will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
Florida
5

Amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a wonderful vacation in the Lighthouse. The location and views are unbelievable. We were looking for peace and quiet and found it in Crookhaven. The narrow road leading to the property is not for the faint of heart but it contributes to the isolation. The roadsides were covered in wildflowers, including the famous fuschia. The long house has 2 small bedrooms and one bathroom. The bathrooms had a lot of mold so beware if you have allergies. I highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the five star review. We were sorry to see the reference to ‘mold’. In fact the comment is misconceived. If our guests had mentioned their concerns to us during their stay we could have reassured them that what they had thought was ‘mold’ was in fact ‘efflorescence’.
The ground floor walls of the ‘Longhouse’ are 168 years old. For 165 of those years they supported outhouses of the lighthouse (built in 1843 and still operational). Since we rebuilt the outhouses and added the ‘Longhouse’ the marine salts that had accumulated over the years have been slowly emerging from history.
Efflorescence often occurs on masonry construction, particularly brick, when water moving through a wall brings salts to the surface that are not commonly bound as part of the cement stone. As the water evaporates, it leaves the salt behind, which forms a white, fluffy deposit, that can normally be brushed off. The resulting white deposits are referred to as ‘efflorescence’ and have nothing in common with ‘mold’. Following the departure of guests we regularly brush down any traces of salt deposits which may have emerged . Allergy sufferers (and the owner is one) have nothing to fear whatsoever and efflorescence does not have any implications for them.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Lighthouse Location with Panoramic Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221966vb
+353 2835 066 (Ireland)
Goleen County Cork
cork, Ireland
5

An amazing retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
I was looking for a place with spectacular sea views, instead I was engulfed and mesmerised by the sights, sounds and atmosphere of the sea: the constant breaking of wave on rock below the window; the smell and feel of the sea breeze; now and then at my feet, seals popping their heads up to look about; Gannets kamikaze diving for the fish below; the other regulars (gulls, shags and fishermen’s boats) passing by or stopping to fish; quiet, peaceful, lovely calm; really tremendous sunrises over Cape Clear, from the comfort of a living room armchair! On my last 2 days in the house I also had the pleasure of the sight of about 30-40 dolphins jumping around in my sea view! They came from the direction of Toormore bay right up to the foot of the Longhouse and spent their time circling around from there to the Alderman sound or into Crookhaven or back again into the bay.

I went in mid October and was very lucky with the weather, it was sunny and warm! A very relaxing base for a yoga retreat and plenty of walks nearby or a short drive away. The Three Castle Head walk was one of my highlights, though the castles themselves are in ruins the lake beside them makes the whole scene seem magical as if belonging to the faeries in a Yeats poem. There are walks up to the headlands on both sides of the castles, which also have stunning views of the bays on either side.

The light kept changing as it does, with every sunrise and every walk over the beautiful rugged west cork coastline and my amateur pocket digital camera (conservatively due to fading battery) managed to take over 250 great photographs in just 5 of the 7 days I was there!

Some evenings I enjoyed seeing what seemed like the reflection of the sunset in the eastern skyscape, from Mount Gabriel to Cape Clear, this alone was such a lovely sight that on the last evening I resolved to go to Brow head in the hope of catching the sunset directly. I did and again it was an amazing evening with a beautiful sky as I watched the sun set over the sea with the Mizen in view, trying to squeeze the last few photographs out of my almost exhausted camera (don’t forget your charger like I did!).

The house has everything you need for comfort, self-catering, and entertainment systems, DVD’s, books, even an iPod docking station, open fire and umbrellas which thankfully I did not need! The caretakers are very accommodating, the house is well organised with all the info on local amenities, activities an
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2