Fennville house rental - Cottage in the Woods close walk to Lake Michigan.
Cottage in the Woods close walk to Lake Michigan.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Fennville House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10-12

Book now for Summer 2013.

The ultimate family cottage getaway. Relax and play at a private beach just one block from Lake Michigan, this house on a quiet country road offers all the amenities of a cozy cottage in the woods. Surrounded by woods, nature while relaxing in the screened in porch, you will feel miles away from the hustle bustle of everyday life. Tastefully appointed, with 4 bedrooms(2 down, 2 up), two full baths (1 up and 1 down), outdoor shower, and room for 10 or more, its a wonderful family get-away. The 2nd floor was completely remodeled in 2006 that includes a new bathroom, real cedar plank walls, wood flooring, game area, and more. Kitchen has stainless steel appliances (dishwasher, stove, refrig, micro) that is fully accessorized for all your cooking needs.

Central a/c , wood floors, new washer/dryer, firepit, fireplace (gas burner stove) inside, bbq and secluded deck with a delightf

39 Reviews of Property 221639 in Fennville, Michigan

Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
average rating of 4.84 based on 39 reviews
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
St. Charles, MO
5

Liz

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a lovely home to stay at early in the summer! We had a wonderful time on the beach! We took walks down country roads, went strawberry picking, biking, shopping, just lounging the day away. Very nice! Pictures depicted it perfectly. It was very clean with no concerns that we could see. We had a wonderful time and would love to come back one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis, IN
5

A Great Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Ridgeway Cottage was the setting for our annual family vacation. Three generations gathered for a week of beach time, sightseeing in South Haven and Saugatuck, blueberry picking, eating, and playing games (including a fun scavenger hunt and an evening "bear hunt."). The cottage was everything it said it would be...clean, comfortable, well equipped, in a quiet neighborhood, and close to the private beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lake Michigan. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: thanks Beverly.. I'm happy to make for a perfect family re-union at Lake MI.. Hope to see you next summer.... Rob!
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Greenville, OH
5

EXCELLENT IN ROUND TWO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had another wonderful 4th week at this cute cottage. My previous review (Aunt Leenie) stands, so I won't repeat. We appreciated Rob providing a high chair and portacrib. That made life easier. It's a great spot, great neighborhood and we love the easy access to the beach and surrounding areas. And, beach towels were provided - an added bonus. Thanks, Rob, for enabling another wonderful family week.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Eileen: thanks so much for your return stay.. and your wonderful comments.. hope to see you again soon....

cheers

Rob
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
4

Great time with Great Friends!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This cabin is fabulous! We stayed here last fall and fell in love. We came back this fall with a different group of friends and they couldn't believe how awesome this place was! The cabin is cute, cozy and a great place to gather. Plus, only a couple minute walk to the beach to watch the sunset and a great place to have a bonfire and tell stories. We cooked the entire weekend with local produce. This is a great place to get away from the busy way of life.
Owner's Response: Rebecca: thanks for returning and for the great review... just curious, why only 4 stars?
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Greenville, OH
5

GREAT PICK!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a fabulous 4th of July family vacation at this property! Rob was great to work with and answered a lot of questions in advance. The large capacity for sleeping is due to the downstairs - a queen sized bed in a room and twin bunk beds in another room and upstairs - a huge room with two queen sized beds and another room with a queen sized bed and a twin or a double. Plenty of hooks in the rooms and bathroom for hanging up towels. Because of a lovely wooded setting, there is no need for curtains for privacy, but we had to rig up a window cover for a 3 year old's naptime. We loved the outside shower - although there were two full-sized baths in the house, one up, one down. Everyone ended up using the outside one - it is enclosed, regular fixtures and plenty of hot water. The house was clean and spacious. The frog pond was a charming feature which our 3 year old granddaughter loved. The beach is a short walk and then 91 steps down. It was doable for a fit 78 year old as well as a very pregnant woman... just slow going. It was great being able to have the dog with us and she loved the beach! Living space was great - two big couches downstairs, a huge table for all to eat together as well as another one on a lovely screened in porch. We enjoyed the wooded setting - no bugs, amazingly. The beach is lovely and not crowded at all. No fires are allowed on the beach - although we saw plenty. The town of Glenn, a 3 minute drive, is really quiet but it was a quick drive to a hopping' Saugatuck. We loved the farms in the area and went blueberry picking. It's a great area for bicycling - flat and quiet roads. We really liked that it was away from the very busy Saugatuck area, and that it was so close to the beach, yet accessible to "activity". Holland is really a drive at 30 minutes, so the local IGA is the best option for in-between a big stock up. Great Wi-Fi, kitchen was well stocked with utensils/pots and pans, dish towels. It was really great not having to bring any bedding or linens - other than beach towels. We also appreciated the outdoor clothes line, gas grill, and garage recycling bins. Thanks, Rob, for a very memorable family vacation!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow. Amazing review.. I need to hire you as my marketing director.. thanks
Rob
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Lansing, Michigan
4

Enjoyable Experience in late Fall

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Used in late October. Nice, woodsy feel (lots of wood) but very clean and tidy. Gas (wood)stove provided alittle firelight for ambiance. Modern force-air furnance kept us nice and toasty. Fully furnished, from kitchen and bath, to bedrooms (very nice). Quite comfortable for four adult couples. Two bedrooms on main floor + fold-out sleeper sofa. Two bedrooms upstairs. Large indoor dining table with bench seating provided ample room for family-style meals. Screened (mostly enclosed but unheated) porch provided useful space, as well as additional seating that we used indoors. Nice outdoor gas grill. Fire pit area and patio area (with water feature & mini-fountain) were also enjoyed. Most appreciated (and used by me) was the availability of the outdoor shower. Hot water doesn't last for long, but it was more than adequate for my brief use. Short, 5 minute walk to private, Lake Michigan beach access. View from platform at top of stairs partially obstructed by some of surrounding tree branches. 83 (fairly steep) steps down to beach and Lake Michigan. But viewing sunsets from shoreline worth the slow climb back up the 83 steps, to the top of the hill. We found Glenn location was ideal for accessing both Saugatuck and South Haven via Bluestar Highway (A2). Saugatuck has most of the shopping, wine tasting rooms, and afew restaurants. South Haven offers afew shops, but more of the better restaurants. Also, if you need a large store grocery or pharmacy, South Haven has them. Very much enjoyed the arts & crafts type businesses between Glenn and South Haven. Highlights included TWO stops each at McIntosh Winery, and the wildly interesting antique business (look for giant, yellow, upright plastic rat). If you are an "American Pickers" type of collector, this antique place is for you. Cold, wet, windy fall weather did bring some unexpected challenges, but overall, we had a most enjoyable weekend stay at Glennwood Cottage. Owner obviously puts much effort into making this an top-notch rental. I personally appreciate his effort and service. I wouldn't hesitate to rent either this cottage, or one of his other rentals. I look forward to that next time.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Lansing, MI
5

Family Reunion Success!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Beautiful spot, not very far from the beach steps and VERY clean! We had some beautiful sunsets, great cookouts and enjoyed the well-equipped kitchen. We would definitely stay here again. If you geocache, there are some great caches within five-eight miles.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Louisville, KY
4

Labor Day Weekend 2011

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our family of eight adults enjoyed our stay at this well done, well maintained house in the woods. We took several trips to the nearby communities of South Haven, Saugatuck and Holland during our stay. Each trip we took introduced us to a delightful area of the country that we had not yet experienced. We took the short walk to the beach each morning and evening to soak in the cool breezes and beautiful sunsets. Fair warning though it's 90 steps down and 90 steps back up to access the beach so be prepared. All things considered it was a wonderful trip for all of us.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
St. Louis
5

40th anniversary family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time at Glenn, MI. The cottage was clean, nice location, and the beach was gorgeous. Everyone in the town of Glenn was so nice and welcoming. Great time!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect Cottage, bySaugatuck, Lake MI beach, woods, peaceful, & Clean,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221639
616 836-2816
Fennville Southwest Michigan
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5

Wonderful Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a small family reunion over Memorial Day weekend. The weather wasn't the greatest but the cottage more then made up for it! The large dining area was great for seating all 10 of us for meals. Listening to the waves roll in on Lake Michigan made for peacefull sleep. Everything was cozy but roomy at the same time. We liked all the little unique details around the cottage added interest to the place as well, discovering some little detail here or there. The cottage was as advertised, very clean and comfortible. I'd definately recommend as a place for my friends and family to stay when visiting. Thank you Rob for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway