Ponte Vedra Beach house rental - Welcome to Almot Heaven
Welcome to Almot Heaven
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Ponte Vedra Beach House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, daybed, sleeps 8

Almost Heaven is a casual oceanfront 3 bedroom 2 bath home. Located in the oceanfront community of South Ponte Vedra Beach, between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, it is situated in a private area of single family homes (no high rises or high traffic here!)! It is serene and quiet....yet the house is just 5 miles from historic St. Augustine and 15 miles from posh Ponte Vedra. From the moment you enter Almost Heaven, you feel the warmth of the Florida sunshine, and you know you are at home. The living room has expansive views of the dunes, and Atlantic Ocean. The oceanfront master bedroom features a private bathroom, walk-in closet, and new plasma TV. The kitchen opens to a dining area with seating for six, plus two more at the breakfast bar. The multi-level deck features a gazebo, private beach walkway, and an elevated lookout deck that offers 360º views. You will love this house!

The kitchen opens up to a cozy dining area with seating for 6. There are two bar stools at the breakfast bar pass-through for additional guests. The kitchen is fully furnished so you can prepare your favorite meals just like home. There are several grocery stores in St. Augustine and Ponte Vedra. There is a gas station/convenience store about 2 miles north of the house where you can find most daily items.

The 2-sided fireplace can be enjoyed by all from the living room on one side, and the den on the other side. The living room features a new plasma TV, DVD player, and stereo to keep everyone entertained and up to date while on vacation. Books and board games are provided for the enjoyment of both young and old. There is a two-car garage with automatic door opener to park your vehicles. There is additional parking for 2 more cars on the driveway.

The master bedroom features a cozy queen bed, loaded with fluffy pillows and snuggly comforters. There is a wall-mounted plasma TV with cable channels for your enjoyment. The master bathroom has a spacious walk-in shower and his and her sinks. There is a large walk-in closet for all of your belongings.

The 2nd bedroom is decorated with warm colors and has an inviting double bed. There is a closet and dresser for all of your personal items. This bedroom shares a full bathroom with the 3rd bedroom.

The 3rd bedroom is perfect for kids, teens, or those who prefer seperate beds. There is a twin bed and a double bed with a pull out trundle. With the trundle, this bedroom sleeps 3 adults or 4 children.

The den has a daybed that sleeps 1 additional guest.

The rear deck is the perfect place for outdoor socializing. It has plenty of lounging furniture for everyone to get a good tan. If you want to enjoy outside, but stay out of the sun, you'll love the covered gazebo. The elevated overlook deck offers 360º views of the ocean and the intracoastal waterway. There are plenty of beach chairs to take to the beach.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 221518 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida

Fantastic oceanfront home. Gazebo, elevated sun deck!
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews
business
Fantastic oceanfront home. Gazebo, elevated sun deck!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221518
+1 904-349-0614
Ponte Vedra Beach Northeast Florida
Macon, Ga
4

Great Spring Break

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My daughter and I enjoyed staying at this house and it is the 5th we have rented in this area. Just a few steps and you are on the beach. The "crow's nest" upper deck is great. There were plenty of beach towels, toys, and chairs, and convenient outside shower. The inside is clean and comfortable, large t.v., wireless internet worked great, and the appliances were fine. The Master bedroom and bath have plenty of room. My niece and nephew spent several nights and the bunk beds were a big hit. It's only 5 minutes from restaurants (we are big fans of Cap's), 10 minutes to Publix, and about 20 minutes to downtown St. Augustine. The realtor was very nice and easy to deal with. Would recommend and hope to get back.

The only minor complaints are the curtains in the master bedroom are thin (so 4 year old was up with the sun) and the house is close to a public beach access area, so there were a lot of folks fishing right in front. Most were nice enough to move down when we went out to the beach. The driveway is a little tricky if there are cars at the house next door, but I have an SUV.

Also, nothing to do with the house, but my Verizon cell service was almost non-existent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that Almost Heaven was enjoyed for the week! We will definitely look into the curtains in the master bedroom. The public beach access is about 200 yards north of the house. Most of the time, the beach behind this house is very quiet private. There are plenty of fish to be caught in the area, so be sure to bring your fishing pole! The driveway does have an area to pull into (when coming out of the garage) so that you can turn around and drive forward out onto the street.
business
Fantastic oceanfront home. Gazebo, elevated sun deck!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221518
+1 904-349-0614
Ponte Vedra Beach Northeast Florida
4

Perfect getaway for girls week

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a favorite location for me with the beautiful quiet beaches and nearby St. Augustine. Almost heaven had lots of lounging space which was perfect for relaxing after dinner or finding a quiet spot to read a book. The upstairs deck was my favorite retreat and I spent my evenings watching the waves and magnificent sky. The master bedroom and bath is very nice size and decorated in a calm beach blue. What a great place to wake up. The beach front is quiet and peaceful. Neighbors were friendly without being intrusive. The kitchen and dining area allowed for us all to get in the kitchen and cook together but don't miss out on visiting nearby Caps restaurant on the intra coastal or Palm Valley Fish camp. Both were yummy and just added to our whole beach experience. Can't wait to return.
business
Fantastic oceanfront home. Gazebo, elevated sun deck!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221518
+1 904-349-0614
Ponte Vedra Beach Northeast Florida
5

"Almost Heaven" is a GREAT beach vacation home!

"Almost Heaven" is a GREAT beach vacation home!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I and our 2 year old son stayed at "Almost Heaven" for a week long family vacation. I have rented many vacation homes in Ponte Vedra Beach and Vilano beach and I have to say this is one of the best homes yet. This home was decorately very nicely and was very clean! This listing was accurate and the property has been well maintained. Also the AC worked great which is very important in the hot summer months. I would definitely stay in this home again and recommend it to family or friends. The deck was nice and BIG and the gazebo was a plus to help us enjoy the ocean out of the sun. The beach is very private which is nice, and also means that there are many beautiful things to find. We found sharks teeth, conch shells, starfish, and much more. We even caught a few fish. The local restaurants are also a must visit!

Thank you for providing great service and making this an easy way to vacation! We will be contacting you again next time we vacation in the Ponte Vedra Beach area.

Thanks again,
The Fries Family
Saint Augustine, FL
business
Fantastic oceanfront home. Gazebo, elevated sun deck!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221518
+1 904-349-0614
Ponte Vedra Beach Northeast Florida
1

Great location but needs some TLC

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
First and foremost, this property location is just wonderful and that is why we rented Almost Heaven for the week. The design and layout of the home was great and every room at the back of the home provided exceptional views of the ocean. But it did not take long to notice the property was in dire need of some tender loving care.

Upon arrival we found a hammer propping open the master bathroom window - unlocked and an obvious security issue. The house telephone did not work as advertised, and this should be considered important since cellphone reception is less than ideal, even with a major wireless provider. The sliding doors leading onto the rear deck are almost impossible to open and close and have big holes in the screens, which mean if you want to listen to the ocean at night, expect insects to fly inside. Every single exterior light was inoperative. The interior ceiling had numerous water stains indicative of past multiple roof leaks The elevated deck would have been more enjoyable (great views) if the loungers were actually usable, but the condition was so poor that my wife and I could not be comfortable for more than a couple of minutes. Dirty carpets in the secondary bedrooms and dirty drapery in the living areas were also unacceptable.

For the record, we are frequent vacation home renters and have enjoyed many positive experiences around the country. In all fairness we did not expect a sparkling new home, but even an older rental should be maintained to a certain degree. What struck me is the management company failed to follow-up with us after the rental to proactively inquire about any problems experienced with the property. These are issues that had someone taken time to disclose, in all likelihood we would have vacationed elsewhere.

The bottom line is the location is super for quiet time on the beach, but the house was well below our level of expectations in terms of cleanliness and being considered an adequately maintained rental property. Older homes can be just as enjoyable as newer homes, but with the lack of adequate TLC at this property, I would recommend a different location.

March, 2013
Owner's Response: First and foremost, thank you for your review. It brought to light several issues that had been overlooked. We are not sure how it the window propped open was overlooked. It has been addressed with the cleaning crew and property supervisor. At our first inspection after this review was posted we found that the phone was working. It is in the bedroom. It may have been out during that time. As for the other issues, the sliding doors are an ongoing issue due to the salt air and sand that gets in the tracks. We have cleaned them and they are working better now. The screens have been replaced. While there are no active leaks, I agree that the water stains are unsightly. They too have been corrected. All of the exterior lights have been replaced and new patio furniture has been purchased. The carpets in both the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms has been replaced as well as the drapes in the living room and master bedroom. Additionally, a new mircrowave has been installed. Upon reading this review, the owners immediately drove up from Miami to spend a few days replacing linens, pillows, towels, kitchen ware, etc. We truly appreciate your comments and have learned that we need to pay closer attention to some of the smaller details. The owners, management company, cleaners, and property supervisor have all met to discuss the ways to keep the house maintained properly in the future and I firmly believe that you will find it to be a pleasant stay now.

Sincerely,

David L., property manager
Helpful votes: 9/9