Puerto Plata villa rental - Backyard Nov 2011
Backyard Nov 2011
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Puerto Plata Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps up to 8

The villa has a gracious Mediterranean style, harmonizes sophistication and laid back beach living in a gated community 10 minutes from Puerto Plata. This charming villa opens to an ample Great room, with combined dining area, vaulted ceilings, hardwood and terrazo floorings, mahogany doors, lush tropical plants, newly renovated kitchen and furnishings that boast comfort and Caribbean chic. The front terrace overlooks the beach and turquoise seas and is framed by mature tropical plants. The beach has plenty of shade, entertainment,food, and is safe for swimming. The private backyard oasis provides you with 2 thatched roof cabanas for dining, pool, water fall, whirlpool, teak chaises and lush surroundings. We invite you to tour our website, which shows a video and lots more pics. The link is www.villareyna.com. PLEASE DO READ THE INFO PROVIDED on both sites.

Villa Reyna: The property is located right on the beach. There is a covered front terrace overlooking the front garden and beach. Inside there is a large combined living and dining area, with TV, DVD and DVD/iPod connection available. Bring your own music! We also have WiFi internet and a landline phone. There are three ample bedrooms (2 with ensuite) offering beds for up to 7 guests. Another guest maybe accomodated on a portable bed. A crib is also available. There is also a fully equipped brand new kitchen and laundry area leading off the back. The rear doors of the living/dining room open out to a fully walled-in private backyard with a pool and waterfall as well as a jacuzzi . There are two cabanas, one equipped with a wet bar, principally for eating and entertaining and including a BBQ. The other cabana offers a full covered additional seating area. There is also a full bathroom in this cabana and there are chaises and pool toys available. The entire backyard has been recently landscaped and is a beautiful place to relax or entertain.

The Beach: The white sand beach is wide and partially shaded. Closer to the sea it is more open so you have the choice of sun or shade. Immediately in front of the villa, there is a local, Joaquin, who rents out beach chairs and water sports equipment at very reasonable rates. The sea is usually very calm and safe to swim in as it is protected by a reef. Just a couple of minutes walk to the left along the beach is a collection of small beach bars offering light snacks and refreshments. The whole beach ambiance is very relaxed and apart from the locals, the majority of people on it will be resident expatriates or people who rent local properties. They are very friendly and will offer advice on sightseeing, amenities and other matters of interest.

NEW: While we do not offer a fully all inclusive package, we now offer optional breakfast and/or evening meal service at a fixed price for your stay. Please tell us your preferences and we will tailor a menu accordingly. The advantage of this option is that the food is always fresh and cheaper. We can also arrange weddings, receptions and of course, honeymoon at the villa. Ask for a quotation !

Local Amenities: The gated community has a mini village close to the entrance, where there is a small local supermarket, beauty salon, pharmacy and several bars. In addition there are several good restaurants within walking distance of the villa. If you want to explore further, a local taxi service is available and within 5-10 mins there are half a dozen additional restaurants which are all excellent.

As mentioned above there is plenty to see and do in the area. Upon booking, we will e-mail you a copy of the information package which provides much more details regarding attractions, tours, water activities, golf, theme parks, etc. We also now offer special personally guided tours to small groups. Ask for details

It is our aim to make your visit comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We welcome inquiries and will endeavor to respond to any special requests,concerns or needs you may have.

More Details
Hide Details

We'd like to tell you more about ourselves, but we don't think it is that wise to do that for security and ID theft possibilities. Once we have gotten to know you, then we will disclose more.

Stephen purchased this villa in 2006

There were a lot of properties on the market but we decided on this one because it had a unique Spanish colonial design and was well built. It is also right on the beach. The backyard was pretty bad so we offered a lower price and then we gutted it and built two new cabanas and a pool. Now the vegetation has grown, it is our little get-away paradise. Every visitor falls in love with it. You can see how the property looked when we bought it in the history section of our own website www.villareyna.com

At the price, the house offered such an design opportunity to turn it into a real paradise. It is situated in a residential area and all our neighbours and friends consider Villa Reyna to be the by far the best in the area, which is why they love to party with us in the backyard.

12 Reviews of Property 221395 in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Un coin de paradis visité en famille...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I chose to write this "review" in French first because it is my language and, secondly to inform people from French country that they would surely enjoy to live at " Villa Reyna " and to meet its charming owners, Stephen and /or Stéphanie.
So,... en janvier , nous avons loué, pour une deuxième année et pour un long séjour (3 sem en 2014 et 1mois en 2013) cette confortable et accueillante propriété en bord bord de la mer.
Nous y avons vécu des jours inoubliables avec nos enfants et nos petits-enfants (4 et 2 ans).
Les mots " sécurité, confort, détente, longue plage à qq pas dont les arbres sont des parasols naturels, baignades sans danger pour tous, services(épicerie/ dépanneur/ pharmacie/taxi ...) à proximité et des services quotidiens assurés par des personnes attentionnées , aimables et discrètes.
Nous ne voulons pas "perdre notre milieu de vacances préféré" ... mais nous nous offrons le plaisir de partager ce projet joyeux avec vous qui lirez ce mot .
Merci à M.Cullen et Stéphanie.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your visit and kind comments. We hope to see you again next year !

Nous vous remercions de nous envoyer votre avis en français. Nous accueillons plus de visiteurs en provenance de pays francophones et nous espérons que votre message sera les encourager à choisir Villa Reyna.
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Suwanee, Georgia
5

First Visit Awesome, Second Even Better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Once again, Stephanie and the staff provided a great experience. The cabanas were the favorite place to hang out, chill and play games, with frequent dips in the pool or walks on the beach. Just a great place to get away from it all, with easy access to many of the other charms of Puerta Plata and surrounds. We are already planning our return trip for next summer.
Owner's Response: We are so glad you appreciate what the area has to offer, something a little different which enables you to relax the way you want. Now you can see why we chose the place ! We thank you for your comments on the villa and of course will welcome you back next year.
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Memphis, Tennessee
5

Absolutely a wonderful place, a true gem...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time, enjoyed the house, the staff, the people, the town, everything. My boys wanted to take Alfredo(the night security man) home, he entertained them every night with his stories. Desia(housekeeper) was very sweet, helpful and made sure that we were familiar with the house without ever being intrusive. Isidro(handyman) brought us fruits one morning...My family had a great time and your house was a very important factor in the success of our trip. We have absolutely no problems, other than the bipolar electricity, but that made things even more fun for my kids and gave them a better sense of appreciation of the lives they live. Even though electricity would go out, at any time without a warning, the house has a really good back up system and you still have the house running, only ACs wouldn't run but the fans worked really well and the ocean breeze was infallible.
It's a beautiful place, the beach is really pretty and right in front of the house. The man that tends to the lounge chairs, right in front of the property, is very sweet and every morning he had 3 chairs, under a tree, ready for us. The rental fee was very little and well worth it. Do not miss going up Isabel Torres Mountain, we did both the monorail/cable car and by foot. Also go to Damajagua Falls, about 20 min from the house, an absolutely breathtaking place. The people of the DR are very nice and gentle, we never felt threaten in any way. Since we like to cook and the house has a really nice kitchen, totally equipped, we did very little eating out but Bananas and Catamaran are two good places to eat. The house sits in a very self sufficient community, anything you need is within walking distance. Since it was the dry season, it was dry, mosquitoes and flies were not an issue but we still used mosquito spray, take plenty of sunblock because it's expensive. Thank you to the owners for allowing us to stay in their little paradise...
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Suwanee, Georgia
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The villa was fabulous, and those who took care of us were even better. Owners Stephanie and Stephen have put together a great property. Alexis and Dilcia are awesome! We are telling all our friends, and will definitely be back soon. Read the handwritten guest book when you arrive. Lots of great tips from other guests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Hickory, NC
5

back from a most delightful trip to Villa Reyna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
4 girlfriends took a chance and went to Villa Reyna, it was all that has been mentioned. The villa is gorgeous, and the help is outstanding. There were a few missteps, seems even tho 3 bedrooms are listed, you have to specifically say you want to stay in all 3 rooms. There was a plumbing issue in the master, so we were short one bedroom, the other rooms were fine and we were flexible even tho not all of us wanted to share. Pedro is the shining star there, he cooked dinner one night and always made sure, in an unobtrusive manner, that we were safe and our needs taken care of. Be sure and bring lots of bug spray, Stephanie means it! One of the girls did not spray the first night and got her legs covered in bites at an outdoor restaurant. Roaming blackouts mean no electricity, but the generators were great, and we learned to not waste hot water. Delicio cooked a fresh fish dinner that was awesome. Stephanie arranged some tours and got us where we needed to go, do not even think of renting a car, they are wild drivers! All the people we met were lovely and welcoming, even tho we knew very little Spanish and most locals do not speak English, charades and a smile work wonders. Delicio even cooked us a little lunch to take to the airport on our day of departure, that was so sweet of her.
By the time we left, Pedro called us "La familia", the family, we really enjoyed our stay. There is a ton of seaglass on the beach to collect, and some coral also. Most of the time we lazed in the pool, it was so beautiful and we had everything at our fingertips.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Grove City, OH USA
5

A Perfect Honeymoon/Vacation Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Villa Reyna for our honeymoon. It was the perfect getaway after many months of wedding planning to just spend time together and relax.

The Villa and its' amenities are as beautiful and comfortable as described on the website. We had quite a few rainy days while we were there, but the Villa's cabanas are comfortable and dry for reading, playing games and taking naps. The house was spacious and very clean, thanks to the housekeeper who came in the mornings and took care of everything.

The garden and pool on the Villa property are gorgeous and beautifully maintained by Pedro, the delightful grounds keeper who is very friendly and helpful. Even though Pedro speaks little English and we speak little Spanish, we were able to communicate well and enjoyed meeting him.

The beach is literally across the street from the Villa and we loved this. Rain or shine, we walked each day on the shore. The beach is beautiful and there are several small restaurants with delicious, local food so you can eat lunch there. There are also people who rent beach chairs for about 50-70 pesos/day which we found well worth the cost. The Villa has coolers so you can take your own water and cups to the beach.

There are several good, privately owned local restaurants, none of them more than a ten minute walk away from the Villa. We ate Italian, German, English and local Dominican food which we enjoyed.

We only went on two tours because we were on our honeymoon and wanted primarily to relax. We went to Puerta Plata for a day and we went on a monster truck tour as well. The Villa has info about many tours in the area and they are easy to arrange, especially as there is a taxi stand within Costamber to provide transportation to wherever you would like to go.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Villa Reyna. The owners did provide all the information we asked for and were very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this as a vacation spot for friends and family and we hope to go back and see more of the surrounding area than we did on this trip. Thanks to Stephen and Stephanie for such a beautiful beginning to our married lives!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are pleased you had a great honeymoon to remember. Best wishes and come back soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Balbeggie, Perthshire, UK
5

A little slice of Heaven in the Dominican Republic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Stephen and Stephanie have truly built a little piece of heaven in Costambar, the situation of the Villa is second to none nestled on a palm fringed road yards from a white sandy beach, with plenty of shade for those wishing shelter from the sun and excellent safe calm conditions within the protected reef for either swimming or snorkelling. The villa itself has been exquisitely designed, with every thought gone into ease of use and all the facilities one could wish for from a luxury villa. The staff are excellent, a real asset to the property who genuinely seem to care about those guests left in their charge. Pedro is amazing, a second father, to who our thanks and gratitude are beyond bounds, we believe we have made a genuine friend and will endeavour to stay in touch. Costambar has everything one could wish for, from a supermarket to bakery to pharmacy to a range of restaurants serving any dish one could ask for. From the simple Pasquale on the beach, to the Italian Restaurant Sol Mio and everything in between, we ate like kings and an exceptionally reasonable price, service food and ambience, non better! As to trips out, Ocean World is a must, very, very professional in its set up, care for animals and attention to detail, a truly exceptional day out and one that will stay with us for a lifetime. Monster Truck Safari, in Puerto Plata is also a fantastic day out, do it towards the end of your trip, as they are open top trucks and the sun is always beating down. If you wish to experience a little slice of Dominican life then this trip is not to be missed!! Diving, we have left contact details in the villa handbook, I personally did not go diving but our children's godfather who stayed with us and my son did, DIWA Dominicana are an excellent outfit, very welcoming and provided a number of exceptional days out.

Finally my personal thanks to Stephanie, we were lucky to have her staying near by during our stay, her knowledge, sense of humour and genuine affection for the Dom Rep is clearly evident, I think this is reflected in her obvious love she has placed upon Villa Reyna, and this is what makes it such a special experience. Hopefully it will not be too long before we return.
Best Wishes Mark, Mandy, Jake Chloe and Michael
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Baltimore/Washington, DC
5

Villa overexceeded my expectations in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Villa Reyna is total paradise. I stayed with my best friend and as 2 girlfriends in need of a relaxful vacation, the Villa overexceeded our expectations in every way, but would also be perfect for a couples retreat, family vacation, large group of friends, travelers of all ages, etc.

The villa is in a very safe gated community in Costambar, in Puerto Plata, about 20 mins fromt he airport. I enjoyed this b/c you get a real feel of the Dominican Republic rather than staying at a tourist resort. Villa Reyna was perfect in every way for us. We plan to come back regularly every chance we get!

The Villa is absolutely spotless and so beautifully decorated. Pictues and video could NEVER do this place justice. The pool and hot tub are wonderful, there are plenty of areas inside, in the front area and in the back cabanas to lounge or eat. There are some good places within Costambar to eat within walking distance or a short and inexpensive taxi ride away, but we preferred to go to the market and have delicious home cooked meals the most.

The beach is literally right outside the house, and the chairs are dirt cheap to rent. The water is very calm and enjoyable, but we loved the pool at home the most. We had a relaxful stay and loved hanging out in the house. It's very hot so you won't want to do TOO much running around, but the last night (Friday) there was a beach party out front with kareoke with all the local friends we made, which we loved.

The staff was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Pedro speaks no English but he is helpful in every way. He cooked us wonderful Dominican meals we will NEVER forget and made us feel right at home, always catering to our every need. He is truly a wonderful and sweet person and we miss him already. Dilcia came by to cook us breakfast and clean every day and she was an absolute pleasure as well. We were pampered and treated very well the entire time, and actually made friends with the staff. We were also lucky enough to have one of the owners in town while we were there, and she was also VERY helpful and sweet.

Dominicans are very warm and friendly people, and there is so much to do in the Puerto Plata region. We took a trip to Sosua (40 mins away) to shop and eat one day, and also rode the cable car to the mountain top (called Teleferico) which was very inexpensive and absolutely BREATHTAKING. We'd advise everyone to be careful while outside of Costambar though.

Overall, PERFECT IN EVERY WAY! WE MISS YOU ALREADY VILLA REYNA!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
New Lothrop, Michigan
4

March 2010 Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The villa is all that is stated. You will be very comfortable and enjoy the beautiful layout and outside landscape. The backyard with pool is absolutely wonderful and peaceful! Enjoyed our stay immensely! Vacationed with our family and everyone enjoyed the villa! The staff is very helpful and friendly. Pedro is a delight, we enjoyed his company! He can cook you up some great rice dishes! We also visited the 27 waterfalls and highly recommend if you are up for a challenge! Great restaurants as described by Stephen, the local pizzaria, Sole Mio was friendly and delicious. Also try Stephen and Natalies for a very tasteful and upscale Italian dining!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221395
+1 4165676406
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
South Berwick, Maine, USA
5

Beautiful! Attentive owners/staff, affordable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We rented this home to take our family on vacation as a Christmas present for my sister, in-laws, and our 2 young boys (ages 4 and 7). It was beyond our expectations. The house is amazing - right on the beach. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. Pedro, the groundskeeper/security man, even cooked us some Dominican meals and helped us with transportation and sightseeing. The locals on the beach were very friendly and provided many activities for us at VERY low prices (they even built us a private bonfire on the beach one night). Everything you need is right there in the village. A wonderful spot for people with kids. Snorkeling, horseback riding ( a local arranged this for us and brought the horses right to the house!), the beach, the pool at the house, very private. Ocean World is a very inexpensive 10 minute taxi ride away and is worth the trip for any lover of the ocean. My in-laws were treated to a trip to Pedro's village where they then purchased beautiful amber and larimar jewelry at good prices. We travel quite a bit and this was by far our best vacation yet. The owners were wonderful throughout the entire planning of the trip and very fast with returning deposits. They truly want your experience at their home to be unforgettable. What you see is what you get with this rental. No hidden fees or taxes, a beautiful private home in a wonderful location! If you are even considering a rental in the Dominican, honestly, look no further. It was great to be in a home in a village rather than a resort. The immersion in the local culture was priceless, especially for the kids. We will be returning to this home in the future to visit with the wonderful friends we made in the Dominican!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6