Austin house rental - HOUSE: Living Area with Vaulted Ceiling and Comfy Couches
HOUSE: Living Area with Vaulted Ceiling and Comfy Couches
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 31 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-10 with apt)

T H E G A R D E N S T R E E T H O U S E and APARTMENT

It's like home. But better.

You could stay in a colorful, historical remodeled home built in 1912 with original wood floors and unique homelike atmosphere on the edge of downtown Austin. Great family environment or groups up to 6 Upstairs Apartment (#315883 vrbo) can be rented (if available) for a combined rental for up to 10 people.

THE Garden Street HOUSE INFO:

Vaulted ceilings, wood floors, big front porch just east of downtown, near hike and bike trail and Town Lake/Lady Bird Lake. Furnished very comfortably.

MASTER bedroom (large room) with KING size bed, private bath/shower, cable TV, ceiling fan, wood floors, antique rugs, empty closet and dresser, large comfortable easy chair, very private.

MIDDLE bedroom, queen size bed, ceiling fan, wood floors, cable TV, closet and shelf space.

FRONT bedroom with Queen size bed, empty antique dresser, closet space,

ceiling fan, cable TV, wood floors, antique rugs.

Additional full size futon couch in office.

1 Twin Size blow up bed also available.

Check online calendar for house availability. On this site #198508.

Apartment availability - contact owner or go to vrbo #315883 for calendar and more info. Addt'l charge for apartment of $99/nite.

Includes wifi, cable tv, linens, towels, and a great location!

SPECIAL RATES for SXSW and ACL. See rates.

________________________________

THE Garden Street APARTMENT INFO:

Live in the Trees! Fully furnished 'treehouse' apartment, private entrance through side yard to backyard private deck. Can be rented separately or with downstairs house. Great for romantic getaways or for people who love unique places. Red wood floors with upscale urban modern furnishings. Colorful and fun with angles and cubby holes.

Go to vrbo #315883 for calendar and more info on apartment. Or contact owner.

One queen bed, one full size bed in living room area. Clawfoot tub and shower, fully furnished kitchen, gas stovetop, microwave/convection oven.

Comfortable for 1-3 people.

Contact owner for availability.

SPECIAL RATES for SXSW and ACL. See rates.

Rentals include wifi, cable tv, linens, towels and a great location!

House and apartment together has 4 bedrooms and 3 baths with 3 additional sleeping areas. Please contact me for availability of apartment. Two calendars on this site not available.

The Garden St. House and Apartment is located one mile to downtown, 6th street and Austin Convention Center. Bus stops very close for University of Texas, Downtown and Convention Center. 7 minutes from the airport.

Walking distance to Downtown is 15-20 minutes. Parks and hike and bike trail are very close.

House only has Washer/Dryer

House and Apt. have Iron and Ironing Board.

Local phone available with national long distance.

Professionally cleaned after each group of guests.

Very unique and comfortable set-up.

People have loved staying here and write wonderful things in my guestbook. I have been renting ongoing for about 4 years.

International guests welcome as well. Come enjoy the

GARDEN STREET HOUSE and APARTMENT. Great for large groups up to 10 people.

See you soon,

Connie Leaverton

owner

Paypal and credit card accepted.

Rates include all paypal fees, cleaning fees, wifi, cable TV, linens, towels and Coffee and Tea Set-ups.

Registered with the City of Austin,

License #2013-002341 OL

Keywords: House, duplex, house and apartment, downtown, east

More Details
Hide Details

Hi! I own and cherish the Garden St. House and Apartment. I love this house! My name is Connie, but I also go as Paprika, a nickname of 20 years or more.

The house and apartment have quite different personalities. Downstairs, the house has antiques, original wood floors from 1912, overstuffed couch and chair with arches, colorful walls and character.

Upstairs in the Treehouse Apartment, the design is modern, with red wood floors, curvy purple couch, a full size bed and a platform queen size bed with 3 skylights that connect you to the trees and the world outside. The skylight over the shower is the best! The glorious deck is surrounded by trees, and it truly does feel like living in a treehouse.

Come stay at the Garden St. House and Treehouse Apartment! It's a wonderful space for a few or for many. It feels like home, and has all of the comforts and more!

Connie 'Paprika' Leaverton purchased this house in 2001

I bought this wonderful house in 2001 to live in because of the nearby parks, lake and its close access to downtown, 6th street and everything cool! It was built in 1912 and has original wood floors, which I found during renovation after peeling up layers of carpet, vinyl and tar paper. Joyous to find! They are beautiful pine floors that give the house an old country house feel.

I have since renovated it, taking out walls, adding arches and adding vaulted ceilings...and the apartment upstairs. It is now a combination of new and old. Bold colors complement the various rooms of the 1800 square foot downstairs house. The 'treehouse' apartment upstairs is an additional 700 square feet including a private deck in the trees with a modern urban design and red wood floors.

The big covered front porch of the downstairs house reminds me of the slower simpler days of the early 1900's when neighbors used to spend alot of time outside drinking lemonade to stay cool in the hot Austin summers, waving to neighbors and enjoying the occasional rainstorm while sitting under the protected large porch. Don't worry, I now have central AC/Heat to keep you cool and warm in winter...but you can still enjoy the rain and wave to the neighbors on this wonderful porch.

The upstairs apartment I built for myself so I could start renting out the downstairs area for vacation rentals. So the apartment is very nice! Now I live elsewhere and rent the apartment separately and with the house.

The apartment has high grade red wood floors, texured ceilings, peach and blue interior colors along with high end urban modern furnishings. The private entrance and private balcony in the trees give this apartment a treehouse feel. I lived there for about a year, and then have since started my own family and moved to South Austin.

That is why both the upstairs and downstairs are now vacation rentals but with a homelike feel. Downstairs you find the big country home with antiques, and upstairs you find hip, cool treehouse with a modern design. They can be rented together or separately depending on your needs.

Thank you for visiting my Garden St. House and Apartment Site. Hopefully I'll see you here soon!

Many smiles,

Connie

46 Reviews of Property 198508 in Austin, Texas

3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
average rating of 4.847826 based on 46 reviews
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Brenard, N.C.
5

Very Comfortable, interesting and attractive.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Connie-
Juggling the various arrival times of our family members and being able to easily entertain their many (almost comic) local destinations, made staging in your Garden St. Home the perfect choice. Very comfortable, interesting and attractive. We look forward to renting here again.

Thank you for everything.
Mary Beth and Don
Brenard, N.C.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am very happy you enjoyed The Garden St. House! The great location close to the airport and downtown makes for a good meeting ground when coming from multiple destinations. Many thanks!
Connie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Everything we needed and wanted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My wife and I visited Austin for a ten-day Christmas vacation with our two adult children. This rental provided us with a terrific base. The house was spacious -- plenty of privacy, with three bedrooms and two baths. The kitchen was very well appointed (tons of cooking utensils, pots, pans, plates, toasters, all of that). There was good internet service, which was great, because all of us were poking away at laptops and iPads and smartphones. The beds were very comfortable, and there were plenty of towels. There was also a very convenient washer and dryer.

The house is located in what I would consider a quiet, working-class family area. It's a very easy walk to the parks along Lady Bird Lake and the shops and restaurants along Cesar Chavez Street, the main drag through East Austin. (There are some food trucks along East Austin and East Sixth Street that are world class -- you have to check out Vera Cruz and East Side Kings.) The more high-end restaurants are further away.

Though there are many places walkable from the house, I'd strongly recommend having a car. Getting downtown is about a mile and a half, and you have to pass under I-35. Getting to downtown, to the LBJ Library, to University of Texas, and to the South Congress Street restaurants are all very quick ten- or fifteen-minute drives -- but most days, you wouldn't want to walk that far. (Then again, we were there in the winter, and it was on the chilly side most days, so that may have influenced our decision to drive.) You'll also need a car to get to supermarkets. (Don't miss the experience of going to the Whole Foods downtown!)

The owner was very accommodating and easy to deal with. And I'll mention that the backyard seemed very nice and spacious, but the weather didn't lend itself to our using it much.

We'd be happy to return in the future. And Austin is a great town that you can to to time and time again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
austin
5

great family space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
there was plenty of room at the garden street house and divided into distinct spaces also so we all had room to roam. we used the bar b sue two nights and we also rented the upstairs apartment which gave my senior uncle and wife their own space to decompress in. the house was very clean and the furniture funky and comfortable. the place is absolutely convenient to downtown to the entertainment areas and to the airport. there's a grocery a few blocks away. the lake is a few blocks. the AC held it's own during a serious texas heat blast. when my family visits texas again, the garden st house will be the first stop.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
4

Very cool house in family neighborhood

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
All of us thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, spaciousness and homey feeling of this house. It was fun staying with good friends in a house instead of box hotel rooms. We could have coffee together, sit on the porch together. It was great. Very clean. We enjoyed walking and running along the Colorado river nearby and walking to nearby stores and restaurants. Thanks so much!
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the house and porch. The old southern style porch is my favorite aspect of the house. I liked it so much I added a back patio and an upstairs deck that goes with the apartment. The hike and bike trail near the river is gorgeous! Glad you found that. There are also canoe, boat, kayak rentals nearby if that interests you for the future. Thanks for taking such good care of the house!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Fort Worth
4

cousins and friends

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Really enjoyed the house and the neighborhood. A short walk to Cezar Chavez got us a great and inexpensive taquiria (sp) fare. Not a fancy house and fortunately not all cutesy. But most functional and fun. We made good use of all the common/entertainment areas, especailly the front porch and back patio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Chicago, IL
5

Nice house, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My 3 friends and I had a great 5 day stay at the Garden House for a "Guys" weekend over the President's Day holiday. The house is spacious and the bedrooms are comfortable. We grilled out back and entertained a few local friends for dinner. The openness of the Kitchen/Dining/Living area made for a great space to each, chat and play games. The south facing front porch got great morning sunlight while the covered back porch was great for an evening drink. The house is in a great neighborhood with the Lady Bird trail only a block away and downtown only a 20 minute walk. We are so glad we stayed here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect rental for laid back guests

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
First of all, Connie was very flexible with check-in/out times. Which was great.
The house is definitely lived in but clean and whimsical. We rented both house and apartment. The apartment was super cool and is great for a couple in a budget.
It was so nice to be able to wake up in a house, get breakfast tacos and coffee, and just relax. Who wants to do that in a hotel room.
The neighborhood seemed typical Austin friendly and is a short bus ride to downtown. Buses are $1 and $2 for a24 hour unlimited transfer. No brainer.
Lastly, Garden House is only a mile from the Liberty bar which had my favorite food truck in all of Austin.
Would totally stay here again.
Thanks Connie!
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the house and neighborhood and many of the special things about the area, especially the Liberty Bar food truck! Such great mexican food and breakfast tacos within walking distance to many places including Juan in a Million. The bus is close and very reasonable, I'm glad you discovered that. And yes, the house is whimsical with all the colors, arches and vaulted ceilings. The apartment has a very different feel from the downstairs with a more urban modern approach with 3 skylights and a nice size deck with chairs and tables. Thanks again Eric. Come back!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Wizard Wells, TX
5

Comfortable and relaxed in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I have stayed at the Garden Street House a number of times over the past several years. The owner is friendly and responsive; she keeps a good house: clean and comfortable with all of the amenities I need to feel at home for a few days. The neighborhood is a slice of Americana, very safe; I've never had a problem when I've stayed there. If I could live in Austin, I would hope to have a home like this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Matt, Thank you so much for your repeated visits to the Garden St. House. I'm glad you find it a wonderful alternative home for you here in Austin. I always appreciate you coming in and taking such great care of the place. I love the neighborhood as well. It's eclectic and charming and the many artist lofts and colorful houses give it a real Austin flavor. Many of the guests love bicycling in the neighborhood and catching the hike and bike trail just 2 blocks away which follows the Lady Bird Lake and River. Come back anytime!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Seattle
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I love this house. It's big, with tall ceilings, in a real old Austin neighborhood, easy access to downtown, quiet, and super cool. The decor is funky (in the good way) and fun. I was comfortable and relaxed, as it is well stocked, and well maintained. It is wonderful, at the end of a long day of meetings, to pull right into the driveway, and be in a real house. No elevators, no parking garages, no people in the hallways, no shared walls. Very roomy and private, it was the smartest thing I did for myself on this trip, and I am looking forward to coming back!
Owner's Response: Nancy, I'm so glad you enjoyed the wonderful Garden St. House during your visit to Austin. It is a great alternative to hotels for sure! It's nice having a house with a kitchen, comfy beds and antique and retro furnishings and a large front porch to greet you as you stay in your home away from home. I hope you got a chance to cook in the fully furnished kitchen with the coffee set ups and nice dishes, pots and pans and all the things you need to cook a nice meal. Thanks again Nancy, and I look forward to your return to Austin.
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
traveling buff
5

fun colorful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I really enjoyed the feel of the house, the vaulted ceilings, and the old house but new energy about it.
I also thought the neighborhood was interesting, rather old world and hispanic. Great owner, fun person
and ready to help at a moment's notice. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Patrice, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Garden St. House. I vaulted the ceilings when I remodeled the entire house to give more vertical space, but also to hang my silk trapeze from the beams because I am a professional circus performer. It's also great for juggling, and I do use this space for my practice when I don't have guests. This house is precious to me. I nurture it and take care of it even though its more than 100 years old last year! It does have wonderful character and charm, and the neighborhood is extremely artsy with a wonderful mexican influence. Thanks for your rental. I enjoyed having you all as guests. Feel free to visit again!