Captain Cook apartment rental - patio
patio
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1BR Oceanview Vacation Rental Captain Cook, Hawaii USA

Imagine sitting at a table or reclining in a lawn chair, perched on the mountain side above Kealakekua Bay, looking over the southern Kona coastline with an unobstructed view at the 1200 ft elevation. 'Wow', you say, 'the view is incredible!' A veritable slice of paradise, with ocean glistening to the west and mountain slopes to the south. Your soul is at peace. Red cardinals and yellow finches are scampering for food. A canoe race or fishing tournament just might be happening in the ocean near the coastline.

We have such a place - a one-bedroom vacation rental on our working macadamia nut and coffee farm. This is where the South Kona Macadamia Nut Company processes its succulent nut products. The grounds around the rental have citrus and banana trees, but the orchard of coffee and macadamia nut trees comprise the commercial aspect of the farm.

The rental is in the lower level of the main house; a screened-in porch has a kitchenette and futon sofa. Very private.

Open another screen door and the avocado green walls of a large bedroom, complete with a queen-sized bed and tropical furnishings, greet you. The bathroom has a large shower. With a separate entrance, your privacy is assured.

Located on Napo'opo'o Road in Captain Cook on the big island of Hawaii, you are minutes away from the famous Kealakekua Bay and other Hawaiian sites of interest. Swim, snorkel, or kayak; drive around the island; visit the national parks; or, just stay put and soak up the view! Shopping centers are close by as are fine restaurants.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 220215 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

SK Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.652174 based on 29 reviews
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2007
  • Stayed: May 2007
SK Vacation Rental offers you simple elegance, convenience and comfort--and did we mention the awesome view of Kealekekua Bay?! Experience life on a working mac nut farm (yum!) in the beautiful rural ambience of South Kona. Awaken to the dawn chorus of myriad birds, and fall asleep to the gentle pattter of Kona's famous misty rain (where all that green comes from!).
Your hosts Brad and Meris will do everything they can to make you comfortable. (And Brad can give you a lot of inside information on the history and sociology of South Kona). Co-hosts Blackie and Kai will be your best friends if you bring them the occasional biscuit.
While in South Kona be sure to: (1) visit Pu'uhonua O Honaunau (Place of Refuge) and snorkel at Two-Step (Honaunau Beach), (2) rent a Kayak from Ehu & Kai's on the bay (follow the signs) and paddle to the Capt. Cook monument where you can beach the boat and snorkel (and if you are lucky, the dolphins will come swim with YOU), and (3) have a down-home Hawaiian-style dinner at the Manago Hotel (we recommend the famous pork chops).
Helpful votes: 20/26
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
4

a lovely place, great views, good hosts

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
a lovely place, great views, good hosts
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Boise, ID
5

Comfortable spot with a beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved our stay at SK. It is so peaceful and quiet with a stunning view. We arrived a day late because of a dental emergency so I was not feeling very well and this was the perfect spot to recuperate. The main living space is a screened in area where we spent most of our time. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and we either prepared for picnics or ate all of our meals there, which not only saved us a ton of money but having a meal with this view was just perfect.

Meris and Brad are such interesting people and were so kind and helpful - they were genuine in their interest in us as guests. We loved learning about the macadamia farm and my husband even spent some time helping out with sorting, which he was delighted to do - a rather unusual experience.

If you do any sewing then be sure and visit what certainly is one of the best fabric stores on the planet, H. Kimura in Kealakekua. Very reasonable prices.

If you want peace and quiet in a rural setting this is a rental we would highly recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
3

great place, not too far from all the beaches

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
this place is great for a short to medium stay; you get everything you need as far as 1 bedroom apartment. There were a few things which I would like to point out: first there was no stove (as it was advertise) to cook our meals; just an electric plate, and several small kitchen alliances no capable of cooking a full meal. We like to prepare our own breakfast and dinner. To boil a tea kettle it took at least 15 min. let alone cooking rice or pasta !!!!. An electrical rage cost less then $ 400.00 !!! Second: There was no wifi connection despite all the efforts and attempts made by Meris and Brad to install a faster internet device. Probably there is too much distance between the source and the apartment below. Third: Our AT&T iPhone cellular connection was sporadic at best and there is no land line in the unit to use in case of an emergency or to make local calls. Considering the fact that this rental unit is almost always full at $ 100.00 x day it would not be too expensive to install an electrical range and provide a real wifi connection. Meris and Brad provided a full range of very helpful advises on sites , place to shop ect.. Beside these inconveniences this place is a perfect in every other aspect.
Owner's Response: I appreciate your honesty in evaluating your stay at SK Vacation Rental. I am trying desperately to remedy the WIFI situation, tho the past 3 guests have had success in accessing the internet. Sometimes it's the difference in manufacturers which inhibit good reception. Not being tech knowledgeable to remedy the situation myself, I have to rely on those who are.
As for the stove, it is against Code to put a full stove in that space, so that's why there are smaller appliances for cooking. I will replace the hotplate, but the other appliances seemed to have worked fine for others. I didn't realize it was an issue with you as you left very early in the day and came back after dark and never mention it to me directly.
All the guests have had their own phones but our hardline one upstairs is always available should it be necessary to use. It has not been an issue with previous guests.
I'd like to stress to those who read this review response that your comments and concerns are always welcome while you are here so I can explain what I can't fix (stove) and try to correct what I can. Your enjoyment of our space is top priority.
Aloha, Meris Farwell
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Awesome place to explore the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I stayed at Brad and Meris' place for four days in March of 2012 and it was fantastic. The place is essentially the ground floor of their house but its completely private (aside from the occasional patio visit from the two wonderful house dogs).

Brad is an excellent resource for exploring the southern part of the Big Island. He's knowledgeable not only about amazing local snorkeling spots but also about local businesses at which equipment can be rented.

The condo is pretty basic but quite comfortable. The screened in, open-air kitchen is suitable for cooking your own meals (a solid grocery store is a short drive up the hill) before taking in the view on the patio. And you should DEFINITELY take in the view from the patio. Words fail and pictures don't do it justice.

We HIGHLY recommend Brad and Meris' condo and will book it again next time we go back to the Big Island.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

A Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We thought we might have died and gone to heaven! What a lovely space to spend a week. This vacation rental is simple and so thoughtfully designed. Whether in or outside; in the screened and glassed kitchen/living space, the bedroom, or on the patio I felt surrounded by beauty with a view of the ocean, the hillsides, the stars, and Mauna Loa. Maris and Brad are gracious and interesting hosts who made us feel most welcomed, were available and respectful of our space. The rental is simply equipped for cooking, fresh fruit hangs on trees outside the rental, and our hosts have great information and gear available for all possible interests. We enjoyed being away from the throngs but very near the roads to the water, historic sites, and all the Kona Coast has to offer. If a main purpose of your get-away is relaxation I can’t think of a more perfect spot.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
4

Wonderful little oasis!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a wonderful, peaceful place to "load your batteries"!
I enjoyed the sounds of the countryside; the birds, an occasional dog bark, a rooster and the wind! The view is a relief to rest your eyes on, just sitting on the lanai (porch) or the terass at night watching the moon is an experience on its own. And still near to a lot of things to do! Meris & Brad are absolutely great people!

Looking forward to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful stay in Captain Cook. The location is fantastic and the view amazing. The area is very quiet allowing us to relax, and the temperature is very comfortable, especially at night. We really enjoyed the proximity to amazing snorkeling. The owner took very good care of us, making sure we had everything we needed and providing us with useful information on the area.
The kitchen is located in a screened porch, providing an amazing outside experience, so we ended up cooking ''at home'' every night because it was so much fun and relaxing.

Thank you!

Anne-Karine and Martin
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

FANTASTIC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great house, magnificent views, awesome people, lovely dogs and exquisite Mac nuts. Highly highly recommended!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SK Vacation Rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220215
808 323-3696
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Great Jumping Off Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Lovely place to serve as your starting point to discover the Big Island. We were only here for 4 days and it definitely wasn't long enough.

Brad & Meris have a lovely apartment rental that has wonderful views, is clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. Since we'd never been to these parts before, we did head up to Kailua-Kona to check out the Ali'i Drive area. We are so glad we picked here! No crowds or noise! Would definitely recommend this property to singles or couples. Owners were very gracious.
Helpful votes: 1/1