Tambor house rental - Watch beautiful sunsets from our beach
Watch beautiful sunsets from our beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Tambor House Rental Photos and Description
2BR Oceanfront Vacation Rental Tambor, Costa Rica

This is a simple and rustic beach bungalow set upon one acre of lush, tropical beachfront property. Wake up to the sound of howler monkeys, go for a walk on the beach outside your door and end the day with a cold beverage as you watch the dramatic sunset. Our bungalow is perfect for those who wish to escape TV, traffic and polluted air and won't staying in rural Costa Rica.

This bungalow is located in rural Costa Rica and is octagon shaped with a tropical hardwood deck that overlooks a grassy, coconut tree lined yard and the beautiful Playa Tambor and Ballena Bay. Tie a hammock between two trees and spend the afternoon reading a book in the shade. Let the sound of waves lullaby you to sleep each night in this truly one of a kind paradise!

Activities such as surfing, hiking, zip lines, river rafting and fishing nearby.

7 Reviews of Property 219735 in Tambor, Costa Rica

Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
4

A wonderful relaxing experience.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
The house was beautiful and situated on the beach which we enjoyed on a daily basis. Neisy and Robert made us feel very welcome as did the local village people. We enjoyed the shows at the local resort called the Barcello and going to the wildlife preserve. The water was warm enough to swim everyday but was to cloudy to scuba dive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you had a good time in Costa Rica and enjoyed the friendly locals. Sometimes after it has rained, the ocean water gets cloudy but clears after some time.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
4

Not knowing what to expect

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
If you like maid service, breakfast included and within walking distance of action....then this place is not for you. It is more like a cabin than a house. So why would you stay here?

It is not in a tourist area. It is quite. You can eat the mangos and coconuts right off the trees. You may be the only person on the beach. The ocean is about 50 yards from your deck. The neighbors dogs are very friendly and love to hang with you. You can shower in the buff outside everyday if you want. The fishing village on the opposite side of the bay sells lobsters for $5 each. The little village of Pochote has a grocery store the size of your walk in closet but it had what we needed. All-in-all a great place to go if you want to get away from the crowds or tourists.
The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because the chef knives are very dull and I cut my finger. You need sharp knives for the mangos :-)

Thank you Angie for a great place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
4

Puchote Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My girlfriend and I greeted 2012 at this, as advertised, beach bungalow hideaway in Puchote. The pictures are fairly accurate but the place is actually even more cozy and homey than what's shown. Our goal was to begin our much needed vacation as close to the beach and as far away from other tourist visiting the Tambor region of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica as possible. Right up until the moment we drove into the yard I was a little nervous as to what we had gotten ourselves into (more about that later). But I can honestly say the place exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it without hesitation.



First the good - location, location, location. 10 minutes from Tambor airport. We rented a car (Toyota Rental) that met us at the little airstrip. Spacious interior - the downstairs bedroom is cozy, upstairs more room w/ 2 full size beds and a hammock chair, view of the bay....the sound of the waves hitting the shore at night was especially perfect from the loft bedroom, where even a slight opening of the window made for a sea breeze: sublime. Twenty minutes to Montezuma another 20 to Malpais. Backyard beach access...every morning we'd wake up and stroll out to the beach for a morning swim and walk... we were usually the only humans around... the bay is perfect for swimming.



Next... the stuff we would have liked to have known, but that didn't spoil our stay - dogs! apparently there's a real issue with abandoned dogs on the peninsula.... when we drove up to the house we were greeted by half a dozen dogs of various sizes...at least 2 were the neighbors.. expat from the US... the others were neighborhood strays... in fact part of the challenge of getting to the house is to avoid locals walking and on bikes, potholes, dogs and cats running and laying in the dirt road. Also lizards, fairly big ones in the trees and strolling around the yard. All the dogs were friendly... the lizards were not, they'd run away or up the trees when approached. Security...local petty theft occurs...have to make sure the door is secure and not to leave things on the porch.... delicate plumbing, especially upstairs.

No nightlife or restaurants within walking distance.

Again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... and despite the unconventional payment arrangement...by check only. We may have gotten a little more than what we paid for.

Thank you! Larry, Neisy, Regino, Angie, and Johannes.

D & P
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
canada
5

A great week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
What a great place. Right on the beach. A great quiet kick-back destination. Had some great times fishing off the rocky point across the river, caught Jack's & Red snapper from shore. Saw several large turtles. My kids loved it as well (age 19 & 21) Thanks
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
NY
5

GREAT VACA!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
THE HOUSE WAS AWESOME. 4 OF US WENT AND THERE WAS PLENTY OF SPACE. THE HOUSE WAS CLEAN AND SAFE. THE YARD WAS LARGE AND THE BEACH WAS LESS THEN 100 YARDS AWAY. IT WAS GREAT TO STAY IN POCHOTE, IT WAS A QUIET TOWN, THE BEACH DID HAVE MORE THAN PEOPLE ON IT AT A TIME. WE WENT TO ALL THE SURROUNDING AREAS AND IT WAS GREAT TO COME HOME TO PEACE N QUIET. OUR NEIGHBORS WERE VERY NICE AND HELPFUL. I WOULD DEF GO BACK TO THE SAME PLACE AGAIN. I MISS IT ALREADY. THE OWNER WAS A BREEZE TO DEAL WITH AND THE CARE TAKERS WERE ALWAYS AVAILABLE.

LOVE COSTA RICA!!!!!
I RECOMMEND THAT YOU RENT A CAR AND DO IT ALL YOURSELF. WE TRAVELED MOST OF THE AREA AND WE WERE ABLE TO EXPERIENCE EVERYTHING WITHOUT TOUR GUIDES OR TOURISTS. MET MANY LOCALS AND FOUND LIL SPOTS THAT MANY TOURS DONT TAKE YOU TO.

THE DRIVE FROM SJO TO THE HOUSE WAS NOT BAD AT ALL, I SUGGEST YOU TAKE RT 27 NOT 1.... AND GET URSELF A DECENT CAR BC THE ROADS BY POCHOTE ARE BUMPY BUT A GREAT ADVENTURE TO TRY TO DRIVE IT IN A CLOWN CAR!!!

ALL IN ALL 5 STARS ALL THE WAY!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
Montreal, Qc, Canada
5

the little house in heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We wanted and needed to be disconnected and away from "world" for a week. This house and location gave us exactly what we were looking for. We had this huge beach for ourselves for 4 days and shared it with a maximum of 40 people in the week end.
The house is very cute and functional, we really felt at home.
Except of the rocking chairs in one of the photo the description is very accurate. House was spot clean when we arrived and Don Rejino and Nessy were very friendly and provided us with good information and help.
One of the review mentions a near by restaurant, it's not a restaurant anymore it's a musical school but you hear nothing.
The house is very remote from bars and restaurants and that's exactly what we wanted, do grocery and stay, at home, far away from party people.
Beach and ocean are literally 20 secs away from the patio.

Although very cold the owner gave us all the information we needed.

One complain though, the owner has no paypal account; requiring a check to be sent to a P.O. Box. It made the transaction look a little bit weird and until arrival we weren't sure this wasn't a scam. Good thing it is legit and house exists. A paypal account would definitively ease the renting process when the customer is outside of the U.S.

To summarize, "Paradise" and "Heaven" were 2 words we used a lot while quietly enjoying the sound of the waves and birds in the hummocks.
We will definitively rent this house again and the sooner the better. We highly recommend it for people wanting to be away from TV and internet, rest and disconnect.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219735
+1 360 378-4223
Tambor Puntarenas
Montreal, Quebec
5

our best trip in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Despite arrival in the very small and poor Pochote can be shocking, your stay here will be nothing less than perfect (if you tolerate being waked up early by scarlet macaw calls just on the terrace overlooking the beach and many iguanas. Very friendly and reliable neighbours. Excellent snorkeling just few hundred yards away (rock point out of the river worths many expensive snorkle trips!!!) you can't imagine a more warm and charming beach house. Trully our "Coup de coeur" in Costa Rica. Really Great welcome by Neisy. Real Pura Vida is here. Typicall and local flavored Tambor makes Manuel Antonio feel like a fade overcrowded and stressfull americanized resort.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13