Santa Fe house rental - Great Room looking toward front door with 13 foot ceilings,big beams and corbals
Great Room looking toward front door with 13 foot ceilings,big beams and corbals
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 
Special Offer! 20% OFF thru 3/15/15 -

Santa Fe House Rental Photos and Description
New 5 bedroom/4 bath, sleeps 15, on Palace Ave! a short walk to the Plaza!

Casa Bonita is the largest New luxury vacation home in the Historical District and is on Palace Ave a short walk to the famous Plaza and Canyon Road. Palace Ave. got its name from Spanish times around 1610 and the fact that the Palace of the Governors is on the Plaza and on Palace Ave.. Casa Bonita is a 8 - 10 minute walk to everything you came to Santa Fe for. Most 5 bedroom homes are 30-40 minute drive out of town! This totally remodeled new home with its 13 foot beamed ceilings,hand plastered walls and granite kitchen is perfect for large groups and reunions. Casa Bonita comfortably accommodates up to 15 people with 5 bedrooms,4 bathrooms, a queen sofa sleeper and large couch and a private in door hot tub. This vacation rental house makes Santa Fe the perfect vacation spot!

Casa Bonita is ideally located. Whatever you choose to do; you can stroll to museums, galleries, churches, restaurants, go shopping, or the grocery store. In the winter, ski 1/2 hour drive up the mountain at ski Santa Fe, or go sledding in the park. Come home and relax in the big bubbling hot tub with foot massage jets before you gather for drinks on the front patio. You can save $200-$1000 per day by cooking in our beautiful granite kitchen rather than staying at a hotel and eating at restaurants

Casa Bonita has 5 bedrooms. There are 2 king bedrooms, 2 Queen bedrooms and a down stairs bedroom with 2 double beds. There is also a queen sofa sleeper and a large couch in the great room. We can comfortable sleep 15 people. There are 4 bathrooms in Casa Bonita, two of which are en suite. We have original art by New Mexican artists and richly colored Oriental rugs that brighten our beautiful oak floors. We also have a large wood fireplace and sitting area in the great room that adds ambience in the winter. Everything is new!

We have 4 flat panel TV's. There is a 55 inch flat panel HDTV in the great room. There are 3 - 40 inch flat panels TV's in 3 bedrooms. Two are in the up stairs king bedrooms and one in the downstairs bedroom. There are music CD's, and a collection of movie DVD's. We also have a large collection of board games.

Casa Bonita is approximately 3600 square feet, plus the large front portal. Our spacious great room has 13 foot ceilings, huge beams and corbels. The large open granite kitchen is beautiful and large enough for multiple cooks to prepare elegant meals on our large gas cook top and in our double oven! Every thing is new! The kitchen is fully equipped with cooking utensils, pots and pans, place mats, and lots of plates and glasses.The laundry room has a washer and dryer, detergent, ironing board and iron.

We have a 2 car garage, a large driveway and on street parking for multiple cars on El Alamo Ave.. Parking is never a problem which in Santa Fe is rare!.

Come home and relax in our big bubbling hot tub before you gather for drinks on our beautiful breezy portal. You can then barbecue on our gas grill and dine outside in our private walled garden.

We are on one of the most famous streets in Santa Fe, Palace Ave! A short walk to everything! We are a short walk from the La Posada Hotel and their famous restaurant, El Fugo! La Posada is also on Palace Ave. If you are attending a wedding at La Posada stay at Casa Bonita and save!

Fun Things to do while in Santa Fe: Casa Bonita is on the road to the ski basin for the skiers and snow boarders. Santa Fe Ski Basin is 20- 30 minutes from Casa Bonita.

Other activities you can take advantage of in the area include hiking, rock climbing, golfing, fishing, hunting, wildlife viewing, river rafting and kayaking on the Rio Grande, horseback riding, shopping, restaurants, museums, downhill skiing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, and sledding. We love to go to the Bandelier National Cliff Dwellings site which is 45 minutes from Santa Fe. There are over a hundred cliff dwellings at Bandelier dating back a thousand years. You can climb ladders to a number of the cliff dwellings!

The annual Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque in October is a bucket list experience! You arrive just before the sunrise and watch over 100 hot air balloons take off!

You can also drive to Taos and ride in a hot air balloon into the Gorge, land on the river and take off! Another bucket list must do!

We also enjoy taking the Cumbres and Tolec Scenic Train from Chama to Osier in the summer. It is an old classic steam train from the mining and logging days. We recommend lunch at Osier and then a return on the train to Chama. The lunch at Osier is great! It is a day long trip and a lot of fun. The views are stunning. We have seen large herds of Elk while riding the train. Unlike the Silverado, Colorado train you are up high with great views!

Restaurants: We have the best location in Santa Fe and are a 8-10 minute walk to the famous Plaza and Canyon Road. There are many art galleries on Canyon Road. If you come out the front door of Casa Bonita and turn left and walk a half block you are at the Santa Fe River. You can walk across the bridge to the Compound Restaurant for dinner. It takes about 10 minutes. If you continue past the Compound you are on Canyon Road and a 5 minute walk to El Farol Restaurant. These are two of our favorite Santa Fe Restaurants. El Farol is the oldest restaurant in Santa Fe. The southwestern food is the best I have ever had!

There are also lots of galleries on Canyon Road which are fun to stroll through.

If you come out the front door and go down Palace Ave. you are a 8-10 minute walk to the Shed Restaurant. They have great lunches and dinners. If you continue down Palace Ave. you enter the Famous Plaza which has lots of galleries and several great restaurants. For breakfast we suggest the Plaza Cafe. It has a great menu.

Wineries & Casinos: There are numerous Wineries and Casinos near Santa Fe. As you leave Santa Fe and head north towards Taos there are a number of Casinos & wineries/ tasting rooms along the highway. You can spend a fun day just stopping at the tasting rooms and trying their wines and enjoying the Casinos. The Casinos have full Las Vegas style gambling and shows!

In the summer there is the world famous Santa Fe Opera. It is a 15 minute drive from Casa Bonita. The Operas are some of the best in the country!

You can also go rafting on the Rio Grand during the summer. There are several rafting companies in Santa Fe to choose from.

License # 11-00036834

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Registered Investment Advisor. I provide clients will high rates of return with minimum to NO risk.I also offer income for life products and financial planning! I manage pension plans, 401K's, IRA's and personal stock and bond accounts. Ask and you will receive!

Bonita is a registered assistant. She grew up in Santa Fe and we love the ambience of the city. It is the second oldest city in the United States and was the capital of the Spanish South West. It was started in the Early 1600's.

Bonita or Doug purchased this house in 2008

Bonita grew up in this home! We completed a $700,000 remodel last year and Casa Bonita is beautiful! This is the largest rental home in the Historic District of Santa Fe and the closest to the famous Plaza!

Location, Location, Location and everything is new! We are the only 5 bedroom, 4 bath rental home in the historic district and it is an 8 - 10 minute walk from the famous Plaza and Canyon Road. Everything is new and we have the best location in Santa Fe!! We are on famous Palace Ave! If you walk down Palace Ave. you enter the famous Plaza after a short walk. This is the center of Santa Fe and where the wagon trains would end their journey after months of travel from Missouri on the Santa Fe Trail. This occurred from 1821 to around 1880 when the Santa Fe Rail Road reached the out skirts of Santa Fe at the town of Lamy.

Casa Bonita is only 20 - 30 minutes from the Santa Ski Basin! Great skiing from Thanksgiving until the middle of April!

11 Reviews of Property 219683 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Wonderful Week in Santa Fe!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at this lovely home for a week in early April.....we traveled with 2 other couples and we all found this home totally met our needs. The location is perfect!~ We were able to walk to many of the areas we wanted to visit.....the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants,etc. Everyone had their own space....bedrooms were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, the great room area was so spacious that we could watch tv and still have room for private conversations.....the kitchen was well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The caretaker was helpful and courteous. The owner called midweek to see how everything was going . We felt we were able to experience what that part of New Mexico had to offer. We took day trips and it was really nice to be able to come back "home" and relax in such a lovely setting. Thank you Bonnie and Doug for sharing your home with us!
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Pueblo Co
5

Casa Bonita Santa F

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Fairly close to square. We drove most of the time. Would not want to walk it at night, sidewalks fairly uneven.
Great kitchen, lots of staples, coffee etc. which was a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed our girls reunion imensely. We had replanted on8 but only had 7. Beds were good. Beautiful home. Clean well kept.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Baltimore, MD
5

Wonderful Times in Santa Fe!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a fabulous time at Casa Bonita. The 5 bedrooms were perfect for our group of 9. We took full advantage of the fully stocked kitchen and grill outside to serve up several dinners during our stay. The walk into town and to Canyon Road was perfect -- a great way to get some exercise and to learn more about the neighborhood at the same time. After long days sight seeing and hiking we fully enjoyed the hot tub and the beautiful outdoor courtyard to relax and have a cocktail before dinner. Although we did a lot, much remains on our "to do" list. Future trips to Santa Fe are in order!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Novato, California
5

Wonderful Family Reunion and Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for my mom's 75th birthday celebration. Our family of 12 stayed in this spacious, comfortable ,VERY clean and family friendly home for 5 days in October. We had ages ranging from 10 - 80 years old relaxing inside and outside of this beautiful home, playing ping pong and enjoying the jacuzzi tub. We took daily walks to Canyon Road, to the square and to the park - very convenient and accessible. The owner checked in by phone when we arrived to make sure that we were comfortable and our dealings with them were professional and welcoming. Every room in the house was warm and inviting but we especially enjoyed spending time cooking for our big group in the modern and immaculate kitchen. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to family and friends. We plan on returning in the spring!!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
austin and marfa, texas
1

The Devil is in the Details

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Having lived in Santa Fe throughout the 1980's my wife and I come back for an extended stay over the summer and almost always use VRBO. This property was as advertised except there was some damage when we arrived due to a previous large group and the refrigerator gave up the ghost three days before we left. And it never got adequately fixed. This was too bad since we had three other couples with us, two of whom had never been to Santa Fe before.
Along with the refrigerator failure, the owner never returned the damage deposit. In all the many VRBO homes we have rented all over the world, this has never happened before.
To recap: Property is Excellent, Appliance repair was POOR and owner interaction is EXTREMELY POOR.
Owner's Response: Our apology.We did return the damage deposit but it was a litte late since we were out of the country. We offered Don 3 free days next year to make up for the frig problem. That is a $2700 credit. We had our appliance guy work on the frig while he was there but he had to order parts which took several days.The parts arrived after he left and the frig was repaired.We just completed a $700,000 remodel on the propery last year and it is beautiful!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Santa Fe
5

A great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented Casa Bonita for our destination wedding. Our whole family was able to stay together comfortably. It was a wonderful experience. The house is spacious and beautiful. We even had a ping-pong tournament! It was absolutely lovely - fully stocked with everything you might need. Thank you for the wonderful memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Summer Family Reuinion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is in a wonderful neighborhood of Santa Fe; very close (nice brief walk) to Canyon Road and everything going on there and very short and easy drive to the square and capital buildings. There is so much to do in Santa Fe.
The house itself is large, modern and comfortable with lots of private spaces for guests and a wonderful back yard and covered patio area where we spent every evening relaxing, eating and talking. The kitchen has been completely remodeled and has everything you would need to stay in and cook or simply enjoy having a few food stuffs to make mornings easy.
Loved our stay and would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. Casa Bonita and Santa Fe are very special! We love our location.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
West Fargo ND
5

We'll Return!!

We'll Return!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Thank you for lending us your lovely home. We had driven by it last spring while on a scouting expedition, but it didn't prepare us for the inside amenities. We are a very diverse family and everyone agreed that this was the best home that we had stayed in. Part of the charm is the location so near downtown Santa Fe with such varied activities, but mostly it was our home itself. It worked out well for adults and children alike. When the kids had gone to bed we were able to gather to play games. We were pleasantly surprised on how well the house was stocked. We brought so much that we wouldn't have had to bring.

Thank you again for allowing us to bring our dog Gryphon. He loved the backyard and spent most of his time there eluding the grandchildren. We tried to leave no trace of him in the house or in the yard.

If we ever vacation in Santa Fe again we will rent with you again if the house is available. This is the first time that all of the kids have expressed an interest in returning to the same house in the same city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Chicago, IL
5

Beautiful Home; Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
We recently rented Casa Bonita for a big group family vacation. The home is spacious, nicely remodeled and is decorated with a charming local flair. The location is perfect - very close to the plaza area (lots of options there for food, shopping, site seeing). Bonnie and Doug were very helpful, not only regarding the details of our actual house rental but also regarding the local area, things to do in the season, etc. I highly recommend Casa Bonita!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Palace Ave House, 8 minute walk to Plaza and Canyon Road!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219683
+1 949 716-1020
Santa Fe New Mexico
Stillwater, Oklahoma
5

Family fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
The Palace Avenue house is family friendly. The home is nicer than the pictures shown. We had age range 2 - 87 and enjoyed getting together in the open kitchen - family room area. The kitchen could handle several cooks and spectators --- it was fun. Our skiers didn't mind the drive and then we were close to shopping and eating out.. If our family goes to Santa Fe again, I would look for this house...(Also enjoyed the fireplace as we were there in Feb) --- I'm sure the outdooor area is nice in the summer and fall...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 3/3