Akumal villa rental - Casa De Acacia
Casa De Acacia
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Akumal Villa Rental Photos and Description
4BR Oceanfront Vacation Rental Akumal, Mexico

South Akumal (one and a half miles south of Akumal) has 25 homes (no hotels, condos, or time-shares) in a gated community rimming a very private, secluded, sandy-beach bay. It is the ideal place for the family who wishes to escape, be reasonably secluded, and achieve near-total relaxation with relative privacy.

Casa Acacia is ocean-oriented. The upstairs master suite and main living areas have the ocean as the primary focal point from each of its rooms (every room except the garden casita has a full view of the ocean and the reef). Sleep in air-conditioned comfort, or open the windows to hear the surf and feel the gentle breeze assisted by the ceiling fans. For the hardy, try the hammocks.

Maid-service, a change of linens, and all cleaning is included. Have Maggie fix your dinners for you (three are included in the rental; you cover the groceries), or dine at some of the finest, nearby restaurants on the Riviera Maya.

Shopping for necessities, groceries, and the like are within one and a half miles of the house.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 219595 in Akumal, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Casa de Acacia
average rating of 4.9 based on 49 reviews
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Fort Morgan, Alabama, USA
5

WOW!! We almost stayed in Cozumel again. Are we ever gald that we didn't !!

WOW!! We almost stayed in Cozumel again. Are we ever gald that we didn't !!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
In years past we've visited Cozumel and we almost did this year, but are we EVER GLAD THAT WE DIDN'T! Because we wanted to visit a number of places on the mainland we decided to try to reserve Casa Acacia. What a perfect place !!! Everything in the description and pictures are exactly as described and shown ..no "puffing", no "hype". I've never met an owner more helpful than Pete. He just eased us right along and made the reservation a nice experience. The information package which he sent was informative, detailed and specific. (You can't get lost.)

When we arrived the home was clean and ready for us (keys exactly where expected). The housekeepers, Doris y Gabriel, were truly kind, efficient and always helpful. My sister having found a coconut on the ground asked Gabriel if he could open it. We made a video of him doing so with a machete to the delight of our friends in the states. Don't forget to let Doris prepare a dinner for you. It will be delicious !!

For transportation, we used a limousine service to and from the Cancun airport and Casa Acacia. While in Akumal we used a local taxi for close by places like restaurants and Xel-Ha. (The guards a your gate will help you get one.) We also had a rental car delivered right to our door at the casa and picked up there when we left.

All of the restaurants in Akumal were enjoyable. Local attractions which we particularly enjoyed were Xel-Ha and the Tulum ruins.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Kennewick, Washington
5

Perfect Winter Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had visited the Akumal area on an excursion in the past and loved the people and the small community and decided we would like to stay there when we returned. After searching on the VRBO website and found this perfect property. It had everything we needed for our party of 5 adults including plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms. The beach was just a few steps from the back door and most mornings our group would be the only ones out there on the entire stretch. We spent countless hours snorkeling and exploring the coral reef and all of it's wonders just yards from the beach.
Doris our housekeeper visited daily to make sure the house was clean and fresh. The grounds keeper was there also every morning to groom the yard and rake the beach. In addition the Property Manager came by once a week or so to make sure we had everything we needed to make our vacation the best it could be. While we were there during the 15 day stay we had a couple of maintenance items that needed addressed which were taken care of immediately.
Doris cooked for us a few times and the food was so tasty we ate until we could eat no more.
We have been to this part of Mexico a few times and have seen most of the local attractions so this time we stayed close to the house and just enjoyed all it had to offer. For those new to the area we definitely recommend eating at La Buena Vida and Lol Ha in Akumal, our favorite restaurants. Also, close by are the Tulum and Coba ruins and Xcaret Park which are incredible. I highly recommend the night show at Xcaret.
This was the last vacation I was able to take with my best friend of 30 years before she lost her battle to Cancer. She thoroughly enjoyed herself the entire stay, our days were filled with happiness and laughter. What a wonderful memory it made for all of us fortunate enough to share the time with her in Mexico.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Chris; We are very sorry for the loss of your dear friend.
But this is might be a time to remember why we named our home, "Casa de Acacia":
Acacia is the name of our miracle baby--she was born with HIV in her system, but after 3 years Stanford could no longer find the virus (in spite of having previously cultured the virus from her blood). At 18, they finally gave her a clean bill of health. Unbeknownst to the doctors was the fact that our church and the Bible class at the local Christian high school had been praying for her to be healed. So, Casa de Acacia has become for us a place of refuge. It is a place to celebrate life--to forget about death and dying, and to focus on life and the vibrant relationships which it affords. At the same time, it is a constant reminder to us of our Great Healer, who is the author of life; who can heal our afflictions, restore life and revitalize our relationships.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
5

Better than expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family of 3 just returned from 10 days at Casa de Acacia and are already planning our return visit next winter. The pictures on the site don't do the place justice. Doris who holds a dual role of personal chef and housekeeper took very good care of us and the incredible meals she prepared were a highlight of our trip. Gabriel kept the outside of the house pristine and always took time to visit with us. He was exceptional with my 9 yr old boy and was patient with all his questions. The snorkelling right out front was amazing. I took my son out many times and never feared for his safety in the reef sheltered bay. One of the highlights of our snorkelling was having a 5ft spotted eagle ray casually swim by us, about 30 ft from shore. We also enjoyed paddling around the bay in the 2 person kayak. We walked to the town of Akumal a few times and it is only 20 min down the beach, walking at casual pace soaking in the sights. You can pick up most small grocery things in town. Gabriel is also very helpful in arranging taxis and even knows people at some of the local attractions. My wife went to "Indiana Joe's" and despite the name she found it to be not over run with people or too "touristy". All in all Casa de Acacia is money very well spent and we will definitely be returning next winter. A big thank you to Pete, Gabriel and Doris.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Silver Spring, MD
5

Absolutely Amazing Week in Akumal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
It's hard to know where to begin when describing our stay at Casa de Acacia. The house is wonderful, with nicely decorated and comfortable bedrooms and living spaces. The staff keeps the house and grounds remarkably clean and the manager is very helpful. But as great as the house is the real reason to come is the beach.

The beach here is beautiful and it's right outside your door! The yard and beach feel very secluded and private even when there are people next door. The water is warm and clear and the snorkeling right outside the house is as good as anywhere else around. The reef means that the water in the protected bay is almost always very smooth and easy to swim in, a definite plus.

One of my favorite things about this house is the rooftop patio. Do yourself a favor and get up before sunrise and head up to the patio. You will not regret waking up a little early, the sunrise over the Caribbean that you are rewarded with is well worth missing a couple hours of sleep. And then be sure to visit the patio again at night and take in a view of the stars that a city dweller like me never gets to see.

Our stay at Casa de Acacia was one of our best vacations ever. I will never stay at a hotel again. Having your own house on your own beach, can't be beat, even if it is just for a week. I am looking forward to my next visit to Casa de Acacia. I will be back to this little piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Hi Pete, just wanted to send you this quick message to say thank you for the opportunity to rent your villa in Akumal. Thank you! We had a great time and the experience was everything we hoped it would be! Gabriel cooked us 3 delicous meals, He was just great. One night some of us sept up on the 3rd floor viewing deck and just loved the night sky full of stars! The beach was fantastic! There were 4 adults and 2 kids (age 13 & 10), and all in all it was well worth the expense. I willl, and already have recommended it to people I know.
Best of luck in the future,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Traskwood Ar USA
3

Get a way

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Positives: We loved the views, the beach, the snorkeling and the staff. We really enjoyed the fact that we could snorkel anytime we wanted right out our back door. Gabriel was a great cook.
Negatives: The house was smaller than we thought, especially the kitchen. Some of the furniture and beds were not very comfortable. The information the owner emailed to us didn't have the address of the villa and the contact info regarding the manager was also incorrect. The owner needs to update his guest information.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was difficult to communicate with 3 different couples at the same time. No one noticed that I forgot to attach our B4UGo file. Hearty apologies were extended, but by the time we discovered the problem, the damage had already been done.
As to the size, we give pictures of each room, plus a floor plan (to scale) of the villa. In the future, if we have only 6 days available, and the guests want one week, I will not recommend that the party stay at the Ritz Carlton before arriving.
The Guestbook has been updated with new information.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
fresno, ca
5

A Wonderful Week at Casa de Acacia and Akumal Sur

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
we've been back a month and I finally have the time to write about our wonderful vacation experience and what a great time we had at Casa de Acacia on our Mexican Riveria vacation.

the house was great! the 3 rooms worked out perfectly for our party of 7. the 3 girls in the downstairs room with the queen and single beds, two adults in the other downstairs room, and my wife and i in the upstairs master.

the kitchen was great. and maggie was an awesome cook. her 3 meals consisted of 2 shrimps and 1 fish meal, with soups to die for. and we loved the roof/patio and the view from it (it was a full moon!).

the snorkeling off your beach was super, with a great assortment of fish and beautiful coral. and the kids enjoyed kayaking around the reef.

we were so glad to be 80 miles away from Cancun and the hustle and bustle. we loved the town of Akumal and snorkled there several times, with everyone loving to see turtles!! plus, stingrays and a wide assortment of beautiful fish. and we loved the fruit smoothies, and bakery goodies at the Turtle Bay Bakery in Akumal.

we spent 1 day in cozumel where we rented 4 mopeds and went around the island stopping at beaches to snorkel! our biggest adventure was travelling nearby into the jungle and swimming at Cenote Xunaan Ha. we went 3 times!! each time bringing with us another member of our party. we also thoroughly enjoyed traveling to Tulum, and swimming at the beautiful beach there.

but I must tell you Pete that your suggestion to rent a van was invaluable! the best advice possible. we would have been sunk without our own tranpsortation, especially with 7 of us and one of them 80 yrs old! we were able to be foot-loose and fancy free and go anywhere, anytime.

thanks again for your hospitality of your wonderful akumal sur home, and we definatley look forward to renting your place again and doing more exploring of mexico, including a drive to Chichen-itza and snorkeling with whatle sharks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Marietta, Ga. 30064
5

Sixth wonderful vacation at Casa de Acacia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
When I walk through the door and see the beautiful view of the bay I always say "I'm home". This year I actually went out and snorkeled in Akumal Sur and Akumal Bay. Had a huge sea turtle swim under me about 6 inches away. Now that was a once-in-a-lifetime event!
After 5 previous vacations at Casa de Acacia, we still find new exciting things to do along with our favorite activities. This year we tried some new restaurants and visited Tulum. The ziplines at Aktun Chen were even more fun this year. Our group of 50 and 60 year olds were hanging upside down flying through the jungle. Great guys at the ziplines kept us safe but let us have fun.
But the best activity of all.... seeing three sea turtles coming on the beach to lay their eggs. We would bring chairs down to the beach every night and just watch, wait and soak in the peacefulness of the waves and wind. Exciting and relaxing. We felt very safe and secure at the villa. The guards walked the beach all night making sure everything was okay. Sweet Maggie made a feast for us on our last night. Chicken, Shrimp, rice, black beans, guac, salsa...and taco soup! The villa smelled devine while she cooked.
You can expect the house to be spotless, the pool to be clean and the beach to be "raked" each morning. Now that is a dream come true.
Even though there were two TVs, we never turned them on. It was like being in our own safe paradise while the world was possibly falling apart elsewhere. What a relief to not be blasted with all the problems of the world whether imaginary or real. A refreshing calming way to recreate.
Would I go there again? You betcha!! Have I already started planing next years trip? Yes! Thank you Pete for allowing me to feel totally at peace in this beautiful slice of heaven. I really miss just watching the water and getting lost in a lovely dream.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Boyce, Virginia
5

Happy Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband and I, along with my son, his wife and their two sons, enjoyed a perfect week. We have stayed in houses all over the Caribbean and this was the best by far. Others have been more elegant, others with better views, but this one had everything.

WE loved our day at EXPLOR and spent two days at the beach club at Ana y Jose in Tulum. The Loha Restaurant in Akumal was great as were all the others there. The snokeling on that beach was fabulous and one morning we saw over 20 turtles!!

I want to go back!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Exactly right, Linda!
We don't claim to be the most opulent nor elegant home on the coast, but we have the views (ocean), the location (our own bay, the nearby cenotes, and the close-by ruins) and we have the beach (white sand from our door to the shore). With all that, it's pretty hard to go wrong with a vacation home.
pete
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa de Acacia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219595
408 358-2678
Akumal Quintana Roo
Canada
5

Great Stay! Pictures do not do it justice.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed here with 4 adults & 5 kids over the March break. What a place! We never did use the guest house, I never even went in it. We had 2 adults stay upstairs, 2 adults stay on the main level and 5 kids in the 2nd bedroom on the main level. We had the double bed from the guest house brought in and made one big room of beds for the kids. Our kids all said this was their dream house. It is in a secured neighbourhood with a dozenish homes. We decided to not rent a car & we got along just fine. We walked to Akumal a couple of times via the beach, walked out to the main road, flagged down buses & took taxis. We did not find this inconvenient at all & it cost us less than renting a car.
The main level kitchen is actually just a fridge and sink, but perfect for keeping the beer/juice boxes cold! The second level has a kitchen, dining area, bedroom, balcony & 2 bathrooms. The views are amazing! The upper outdoor level also has breath taking views. We all commented how it would be the perfect spot for a hot tub :)
The house has air conditioning but we never used it. The breeze you get through the house from the patio door is amazing. We had brought door stops with us because we were staying in a hotel prior to coming to the house and I am an extra cautious mother. I am glad we had them because the ones at the house needed replacing and the doors slam HARD due to the breeze, we ended up leaving them there.
At night time we would turn off all the lights and wait about 10 min & then let the kids go out to look at the crabs all over the yard. It was a great memory.
Maggie seemed very nice, but did not speak a word of English and we do not speak a word of Spanish so we were not able to communicate with her. She did cook us garlic shrimp one night (I pointed at the menu) and it was very good.
The pool - I am surprised we did not have any injuries over the week. It is very pretty to look at but I cringed every time the kids jumped in due to the design. One day at 3pm the neighbour came over & said they were trying to nap & our kids were too loud at the pool(they were only as loud as you would expect 5 playing kids to be). We were very embarrassed & brought the kids the few meters to the ocean. We told Kristen (manager) & she advised us to go about our business as long as we were at a normal noise level we should not worry about it, so we didn't :) Kristen is GREAT & very helpful. We hope to return one day. We loved the secluded location. What a great vacation!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jodie for your thorough review--we very much appreciate our guests' input.
We also are happy that you felt comfortable moving sleeping arrangements around to suit you.
Maggie & Jorge have been our best caretakers to date--and they do understand finger language. We always try to keep an English/Spanish dictionary in the home, but we also find that the Google translator on our laptops works quite effectively.
I apologize for the pool--yours is the first comment on its shape. It is intended to have a larger hexagon added in the future, when/if we have some consecutive-week vacancies. For now, we just like to use it to cool down and soak, and its size has been ideal (and safe) for our grand-kids (6, from 11 to 2) to learn to swim.
I'm glad you are adventurous enough to have made it work without a car. I have tried explaining that to many guests, but most prefer to get their own vehicle. Thanks for your support.
pete
Helpful votes: 6/6