Moneta house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description
4BR Lakefront Vacation Rental Moneta, Virginia USA

Our Smith Mountain Lake home is located on a quiet, deep water cove, which can be enjoyed from the large deck or the downstairs covered patio. Swimming and fishing can be enjoyed from the dock as well as sunbathing from the sundeck.

The upstairs has a fully equipped kitchen, with bar. The living room and dining area look at the lake through sliding glass doors which open on to the very spacious, fully furnished deck with 2 picnic tables with umbrellas and a gas grill. There are two bedrooms and a bath, with the master bedroom opening onto the deck through sliding glass doors which offers a beautiful view of Smith Mountain Lake. Our home is conducive to total relaxation and fun for the entire family.

The downstairs opens to a covered patio from the den. This patio is amply furnished and also has a picnic table and gas grill. There are 2 bedrooms providing beautiful views of the lake as well as a full bath and a utility room containing a washer, dryer and refrigerator.

The owners furnish a 2 man canoe,paddle boat and p: The house has central air and heat. There are ceiling fans in all of the bedrooms. The owner has added and included for the renters pleasure a paddle boat, 2 man canoe, and a pingpong table on the lower patio.

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 219550 In Moneta, Virginia

Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219550
+1 540 384-6958
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

family reunion at SML

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
we rented "making memories" and "jordan's chalet" during the same week. we had 11-16 people between the two houses - with family coming and going. we rented to run-a-bouts and had great fun sharing adventure, good food, and excellent camarderie!! Hopefully, we will get the chance to do it again. Accommodations at both houses were wonderful. We particularly enjoyed the ample sleeping arrangements and jumping off the upper docks at both houses. Both coves are remarkably quiet and offer extremely pleasant views. We love SML!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the lake,the house, the cove and we too,love Smith Mtn. Lake. We hope you will come back. Thanks,Ann and Jack
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219550
+1 540 384-6958
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Made Our Own Memories - Manassas, VA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Wow, where do I start? First, the owners were very responsive, friendly, and helpful. The reservation process was painless.

The house itself was clean, comfortable, and well-stocked with linens, books, games, and even water toys (noodles, floaties), sunscreen, and citronella candles. All you need bring is toiletries and paper products (paper towels, etc.). There are 2 tables and plenty of chairs on the deck and patio, and more chairs and loungers in the dock area. The second fridge in the dock area made it easy to grab ice and drinks while we were down there without having to go all the way back up to the house. There's also a fire pit and wood (on the side of the house) that we liked to roast marshmallows over.

The location can't be beat. (The map on my display of this site doesn't show the location for some reason.) Bridgewater Plaza and Parrot Cove Marina are about 10 or 15 minutes by water and by car. We rented a boat and jet ski, and the person driving the car arrived back at the house about the same time the person bringing the boat did. There's a grocery store and gas station about 10 minutes away, too, which made food runs very convenient. Bridgewater Plaza has a restaurant, pizza place, shops, a bar, arcade, mini golf, and a midway with a rock climbing wall and games. Great for kids and adults.

The home's setting is almost magical--situated on a quiet, deep cove right off the main channel. It's safe for swimmers and paddleboaters, yet convenient for power boats/jet skis. Early mornings and evening sunsets were gorgeous! We spent a great deal of time swimming and jumping/diving off the docks.

Be aware that there is no sandy beach-type access to the water. If you have a non-swimmer in your group, he/she can still cool off in the water via concrete steps into the wading area, but I'd suggest water shoes as the shore is rocky. Also, you'll get a good workout going up/down the steps between the house and dock.

There's no WiFi, but our cell phones worked fine. If you need internet to check email, you'll need a cell. I brought my Nook thinking I'd download a magazine/book, but a.) didn't have the connection, b.) there are plenty of books/magazines in the house, and c.) didn't have time anyway. I was having way too much fun with other things!

The house lives up to its name, and we definitely plan to return next summer. We had a fabulous time; and I would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your review made all our efforts to offer a great vacation spot for our renters well worthwhile.Our family has made so many wonderful memories at the lake and we hope others do also. The pedal boat, as well as the canoe are for our patrons to use. We love tooling around the cove - watching the sunset. Thanks again for your review and we look forwarding to hearing from you next summer or before... Thanks, the Wimmers.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219550
+1 540 384-6958
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Suffolk, VA
5

A Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The house was exactly as presented, was clean and in great condition. I would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219550
+1 540 384-6958
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Vacation 2008

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This was a great location and wonderful experience. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the place was perfect.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Making Memories -located on Roanoke mile marker R 26
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219550
+1 540 384-6958
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Washington, DC USA
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Making Memories was like going into a fully furnished home. Everything that you needed was there and waiting for your arrival - plenty of towels, bed linens, and sugar in the sugar bowl! The view of the lake was truly spectacular and there were lots of chairs on the deck for family and friends to enjoy the sunsets. The house has a separate area downstairs with 2 bedrooms and a bath with a slider to an outside deck. You could tell that the owners wanted you to have a good time and be comfortable. The children enjoyed jumping off the multilevel decks at the lake's edge and swimming to the platform. Be aware that there are fairly steep stairs leading to the water and the driveway is steep. Also you have to take your trash to the transfer facility as there is no trash pickup. We rented a pontoon boat for 2 days and tooled around the lake towing the children behind on a tube (a common activity on SML) - they had a great time. We did too! A beautiful and relaxing getaway place.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/14