Submitted: March 15, 2013
Stayed: February 2013
When we arrived at our holiday home in February we found the pool and hot tub badly neglected. A section of the concrete seating area of the hot tub had crumbled, its jets didn't work properly and both spa and pool were full of debris. We were unable to use either for three days while some of the remediation was in progress despite the fact that we'd paid an additional heating and set-up fee.
All of the outdoor garden lights were broken or didn't work. The fire pit had refuse in it and the barbecue was caked with charred food.
The inside of the house reflected the same lack of attention and care. Carpets were soiled and a bedspread stained. The finish on the wood dining room table was seriously damaged. A hole had been punched through a bedroom wall and left unrepaired and the shower in the master ensuite was ringed with black mildew. The furniture and features were worn, approaching shabbiness and no proper pre-cleaning had been done in preparation for our stay despite what was promised. To their credit the owners refunded the cleaning deposit and addressed some of the initial issues as presented however this was during the time we were supposed to be enjoying our relaxing vacation.
All this said, it's a pretty little house with real possibilities and is very well located. But it desperately needs TLC and is not by any measure as advertised, "luxurious".
Owner's Response: We take great pride in our property and the exceptional service we offer to our guests before, during and after their stay – and we love what we do. From the moment this group arrived, it was clear that their negative disposition toward both us and our property was not caused by our home, but rather rooted elsewhere. We strived to appease them during their 2-week stay, and we are sorry that we were not able to satisfy them despite our numerous efforts. We are shocked by the unjustified, misleading comments they have written about our home and we encourage you to read the 33 other sterling reviews to get an idea of our home and commitment to our guests’ enjoyment of this property! The pool/spa are professionally maintained on a weekly basis – the “debris” was a cluster of leaves that had blown into the water from the surrounding trees, which we netted out easily upon this group’s arrival. We demonstrated the spa jets (all operative) and removed one burned log (referred to as “refuse”) from the fire pit. Our professional cleaning crew cleaned the whole house, including the BBQ, the morning before arrival. There was no “charred food” on the BBQ grates, but because they asked, we happily cleaned it a second time. These guests pointed to one small spot on the carpet, which we were able to remove instantly with carpet cleaner. They also pointed out a small stain on the Queen duvet cover, which we kindly offered to replace during the arrival walk-through. We then purchased a new duvet cover and shams, returned to the home and remade the bed before their first night’s sleep. There is no mildew in either bath, nor are there “holes” in any of the walls – these are fabrications that are inexplicable. Three weeks after departure, we were surprised to receive an email requesting a refund of the cleaning fee as there had been no prior discussion about this; however, in a final effort to appease them we issued the refund, wished them well and expressed our sincere hope that they would remember their stay with a smile. Our highest priority is our guests’ comfort and enjoyment, and we feel (as do so many others!) that our home is beautifully maintained and presented exactly as advertised. Most of our guests tell us that it is even better in person than in online photos. Please consider the overwhelmingly positive feedback from other reviewers when deciding on our vacation property as your home away from home. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guests! CJ & Jamie
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?